Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**2013 English Paper 1 official thread**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Thought the comprehensions were quite difficult myself, must have spent at least an hour on them. Got over a page on them all I think. B question was okay and I flew though it. Short story titles weren't the best but thought I had a good beginning and middle to my story, ended quite weak due to the time constraints. Didn't get to read over my paper at the end either.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

I dont think I ever wrote an article before..
    But I did one today.

*This is not a good thing

• Registered Users Posts: 439 ✭✭RML

deise_girl wrote: »
    I dont think I ever wrote an article before..
    But I did one today.

*This is not a good thing

Ditto!
    Did you do informal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

RML wrote: »
    Ditto!
    Did you do informal?

Do you mean the tourist one? I did that and mine is very informal and light hearted. :/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Am I the only one to do an article on urban and rural living?

I thought twas grand! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

I didn't like the paper tbh. That's not to say I did badly, I think I did grand but I too hope I got the balance between formal/informal right for my QB (introduction). Comprehension was alright, wrote loooads for them but the 20-marker I did felt a bit shaky, was a bit messy, and I haaaated all of the essay titles but I think I did alright in the end with what I settled for.

No idea how I did! Not too badly I hope.:p

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭hitchcock

Yes I did that too! Did you take a light hearted or serious approach to it? :)

Ditto!
    Did you do informal?

Omg I didnt even think of that.
    I did 2 articles today.. My first and 2nd, oh god >.< :pac:
    Both my B (and Q6) were pretty formal tbh, tho my B less so, with a few sarcastic and silly comments along the way.

Im on a bit of a downtrod after this tbh.. However Ill remain hopeful for tomorrow

I did the article on the rural and urban lifestyles. Mine was informal and light hearted too :o
    I basically pointed out the reasons of the advantages of rural and urban lifestyles... Was I going on the wrong path?

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭YoursSincerely

Am I the only one who did a descriptive essay on glimpsed moments? I had done an essay that fit that title so perfectly i practically wrote it word for word, I'd say half the country did the talk on Tv/Radio, But still I'm quite happy :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Simples! Got to recycle the only A1 essay I ever did.
    I got carried away though I literally wrote the last word on my paper when she said time up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Glee_GG

Do you mean the tourist one? I did that and mine is very informal and light hearted. :/

i did the same, mine was pretty casual, didn't use any formal language tbh

was pretty happy, did first comp wasn't thrilled with my style answer but sure what can ya do. Did the first essay on the unheroic world and disagreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

An alright paper. Composing was, so was section B. Thought the comprehensions were tricky enough though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I did that too

deise_girl wrote: »
    Omg I didnt even think of that.
    I did 2 articles today.. My first and 2nd, oh god >.< :pac:
    Both my B (and Q6) were pretty formal tbh, tho my B less so, with a few sarcastic and silly comments along the way.

Im on a bit of a downtrod after this tbh.. However Ill remain hopeful for tomorrow

I asked my teacher whether it was formal or informal and she said either of them would be correct for a popular magazine. How long was your Q6?? I only managed to do 3 and a quarter pages, ran out of ideas :o

I did the article on the rural and urban lifestyles. Mine was informal and light hearted too :o
    I basically pointed out the reasons of the advantages of rural and urban lifestyles... Was I going on the wrong path?
    No yours sounds right! I said I was writing for a fashion magazine so my target audience was twenty something fashionistas, haha, what have the exams done to me? :P

I asked my teacher whether it was formal or informal and she said either of them would be correct for a popular magazine. How long was your Q6?? I only managed to do 3 and a quarter pages, ran out of ideas :o

Mine was four and a half but Id have slightly larger than average handwriting! My friend did it too and she wrote just under 4 pages so Id say a lot of people struggled to get much length out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I think my essay was too short, 3 pages 10 words a line?

• Registered Users Posts: 25 A Funky Unicorn

Did the article loved it :)

hitchcock wrote: »
    No yours sounds right! I said I was writing for a fashion magazine so my target audience was twenty something fashionistas, haha, what have the exams done to me? :P

Hmm my target audience was for newly married couples to old aged people :rolleyes:

They'll accept any target audience because of "popular" magazine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

My essay was almost 7 pages!
    I've slightly large writing but tbh I got carried away with the story and I'm fairly confident with it, it's a real

Cliff hanger ;)

No seriously if I ever write the word cliff hanger again I will puke

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭Lcstudent2013

I done the introductory to the book, never done one before so don't know if I done it correct or not. I thought it was a bad choice of QB's !
    How much pages did ye all do?
    I done One page each for the comprehension, 2 pages on QB and 4 pages on my personal essay about the treadmill

I done the cliff hanger comprehension, was alright. What did everyone else think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭shootie

I really hated that story telling theme. I hoped for something about identity or unity. I did the Q A on the text with the short story author and my B on the role of TV+Radio in young people's lives. I was really happy that story telling in music question came up, I could of wrote for days on that!

Overall pretty chuffed. I think I did quite well to get around 11 pages in altogether. Reckon I B'd it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Equil

I did the talk on television and radio for question B, question A from text 3 and the personal essay about the treadmill of life. Got the timing perfect.
    2 pages for question A, 3 pages for B and 5 for the essay.

Quality before quantity :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 124 ✭✭007driver

I liked the tv and radio question, it was like the question in the french mock, I just had to write a lot more on it. Hopefully paper to stays easy like paper 1!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭11Charlie11

I done the introductory to the book, never done one before so don't know if I done it correct or not. I thought it was a bad choice of QB's !
    How much pages did ye all do?
    I done One page each for the comprehension, 2 pages on QB and 4 pages on my personal essay about the treadmill

I done the cliff hanger comprehension, was alright. What did everyone else think?

I did the treadmill essay aswell how did u find it? What did u write about .. I think I did it wrong :(

Lads, I referenced 50 shades of Grey, Geordie Shore and porn (slightly, never explicitly stated) I think you'll all be fine :P

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭Lcstudent2013

Equil wrote: »
    I did the talk on television and radio for question B, question A from text 3 and the personal essay about the treadmill of life. Got the timing perfect.
    2 pages for question A, 3 pages for B and 5 for the essay.

Quality before quantity :)

What topics did you talk about in the treadmill of life essay? And what did they mean by "gilded of life?" :p

• Registered Users Posts: 184 ✭✭RoutineBites

Well that was grand. I can attest that NOTHING is more annoying than having someone with a runny nose sitting next to you in an exam hall, but apart from that it was absolutely fine. :D