Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**2013 English Paper 1 official thread**

12346»

Slow Show wrote: »
    Really agree with this on a personal level. I think it's very subjective, like there's writers that'd be suited to speeches and more formal writing and then there's other writers that would be more informal and more flow-y, and not that one type is any better than the other, but I think today's paper really suited the former. I'm the kind of writer that tries to add humour as much as I can and would have a fairly light-hearted easygoing style which tbh I think is quite enjoyable to write and read, but no essay titles or QB's today suited that, I had to act half-depressive in my essay which really is not me. So maybe it wasn't a harder paper, but it was definitely harder for me, and I guess I'm not alone. :/

I'm not trying to be all 'Oh the SEC's out to get me' but I'm just a bit disappointed that looking back every year, there was always a QB and essay title that really suited me. :o

A talk to your class had potential to be humorous? I did that at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

ahmdoda wrote: »
    yea man that was a big let down i was really hoping for one they ended up giving us 1 article only and i had no choice but to do it

Same here! What a yucky title, rural versus urban living, is that meant to be serious or lighthearted? Do you use stats and facts or make it personality driven. Worst essay I've written in a while? Why SEC hast thou forsaken me?!

• Registered Users Posts: 36 MusicChick94Xx

Did anyone do the short story on the reunion? If so, what did ye write about? I wrote of a man who had everything in his life he could ask for, money, power, success. He owned a record company. He had everything but the love of his life who he hasn't seen for eighteen years. They reconcile for a night but there's a twist - she was only using him to try and get her a son a record deal. When he tells her he couldn't help them, she leaves him, shattering his heart into a million pieces once again.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 hiiiisam

Did anyone do the short story on the reunion? If so, what did ye write about? I wrote of a man who had everything in his life he could ask for, money, power, success. He owned a record company. He had everything but the love of his life who he hasn't seen for eighteen years. They reconcile for a night but there's a twist - she was only using him to try and get her a son a record deal. When he tells her he couldn't help them, she leaves him, shattering his heart into a million pieces once again.

That sounds really good! :) Mine was... Girl & guy going out, his father starts having an affair, they follow him one night and the guy shoots the woman, turns out to be his girlfriend's mom. (:eek:) The whole reunion thing was him getting out of prison and she was there waiting for him cause she loved him too much to be angry at him.

Wrote the same story for the pre and got 85/100, just added in the reunion thingy at the end!

hiiiisam wrote: »
    That sounds really good! :) Mine was... Girl & guy going out, his father starts having an affair, they follow him one night and the guy shoots the woman, turns out to be his girlfriend's mom. (:eek:) The whole reunion thing was him getting out of prison and she was there waiting for him cause she loved him too much to be angry at him.

Wrote the same story for the pre and got 85/100, just added in the reunion thingy at the end!

I feel like I've watched that movie :P

HugsiePie wrote: »
    I feel like I've watched that movie :P

Oh feck, seriously!? Hahaha great, I'll be done for plagiarism :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭0mega

A feature was just on the news there. Everyone seemed happy enough, a teacher said the phrasing of some of the questions was difficult which I agree with.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭RabbitHearted

LOVED the paper, wrote an 8 page personal essay on the storytelling in music(basically just Florence + the Machine), really liked the passage on Grand Central station, and got loads written for the question B; I argued that the internet was making radio obsolete(mentioned radio gaga etc.) and brought in stuff like netflix and the internet when watching tv. hopefully it went well :D

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭Maidhfinden

Did mine about a guy who has a split personality. The normal side is paramount at first, doing normal stuff, then he notices a murder happened that morning and all this craic. Shock horror at the end it turns out it was the other "side" of his split personality that committed the murder! But I never actually say that out loud if you get me.. I hope I wasn't too subtle! And at the end I made it that it was a reunion of both sides of his split personality kinda... a bit too watery on the reunion end of things?!

• Registered Users Posts: 15 dave2610

Everything went well for me. Except question B misread the question and didn't realise I was talking to my classmate, so it is really formal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

I've just seen that thing on the news too. Even though I thought the paper was fine for the most part I would agree that some of it was a bit awkward, the question started off one way, thinking they were going to ask you one thing but asking you something different in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭ahmdoda

Same here! What a yucky title, rural versus urban living, is that meant to be serious or lighthearted? Do you use stats and facts or make it personality driven. Worst essay I've written in a while? Why SEC hast thou forsaken me?!
    haha im with you man i mean my teacher says they try to pick titles that interest us young people da flip i want to do with rural life?! lets hope paper 2 wont be as bad :D

I've just seen that thing on the news too. Even though I thought the paper was fine for the most part I would agree that some of it was a bit awkward, the question started off one way, thinking they were going to ask you one thing but asking you something different in the end.

I quite liked the paper also. If you had an interest in technology and music, you were sorted really. Kind of like the Junior Cert Paper 1 of 2010, every question related to music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

I quite liked the paper also. If you had an interest in technology and music, you were sorted really. Kind of like the Junior Cert Paper 1 of 2010, every question related to music.

I seriously loved that JC 2010 Paper <3, the whole music aspect calmed me down. Although I do remember writing my debate on sport!

As soon as I saw that personal essay on music and the storytelling aspect I knew immediately it was the one I'd go with. The rest of the titles just seemed dreadful to me. The texts didn't really give much inspiration or thought-provoking material though.

I seriously loved that JC 2010 Paper <3, the whole music aspect calmed me down. Although I do remember writing my debate on sport!

I HATED THAT PAPER(Really more so for the shams of an essay I wrote for it, I remember looking at the titles and thinking oh god what am I supposed to do with these they are the worst titles ever)

I then found out everyone was delighted with the essays bar me

As soon as I saw that personal essay on music and the storytelling aspect I knew immediately it was the one I'd go with. The rest of the titles just seemed dreadful to me. The texts didn't really give much inspiration or thought-provoking material though.

Yeah I felt that there was nothing really that linked to the essays! Was weird as my teacher always encourages "creative modelling" and for us to take our own spin on a point in the comprehensions. I was going to go for the other personal essay as it kind of related to one I got an A1 on before but I didn't understand it fully so I left it haha!
    I did the music review in '10 and reviewed Paramore's album! Then mentioned them again today, the SEC will be well versed in the art of 'emo' rock.
    I HATED THAT PAPER(Really more so for the shams of an essay I wrote for it, I remember looking at the titles and thinking oh god what am I supposed to do with these they are the worst titles ever)

I then found out everyone was delighted with the essays bar me

A lot of people did not like the paper.. As was mentioned by someone, they thought the tasks were very specialist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭SeanyboyQPR

The majority of my story focused in a soldier preparing to return from Afghanistan to his family, there are several hints to suggest that something is wrong with him, but it remains unknown till late in the story. He worries that his family dynamic and routine will be affected and that they will struggle to accept him now. At the end he meets them and they know what's wrong and are completely understanding, but the actual "reunion" is only mentioned in the final paragraph as he arrives at the airport. With so much build up and so little on the actual specified title will I lose out marks wise?

Mine was the same. We'll be okay I'd say! My essay title in the pre was something about saying goodbye and I didn't bring that in until the end either. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14 _JustGav

I did question A on the second comprehension, question ii was a bit rough, asking if you agree with his last statement? managed to get a page on it agreeing and disagreeing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Same here! What a yucky title, rural versus urban living, is that meant to be serious or lighthearted?
    I would imagine you could have taken either route, but I haven't seen the actual question. (Strange that it's not up on the SEC website actually, Home Ec is up all right.)

• Registered Users Posts: 36 MusicChick94Xx

Did mine about a guy who has a split personality. The normal side is paramount at first, doing normal stuff, then he notices a murder happened that morning and all this craic. Shock horror at the end it turns out it was the other "side" of his split personality that committed the murder! But I never actually say that out loud if you get me.. I hope I wasn't too subtle! And at the end I made it that it was a reunion of both sides of his split personality kinda... a bit too watery on the reunion end of things?!

that sounds really interesting, I'd love to read it haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭ray2012

_JustGav wrote: »
    I did question A on the second comprehension, question ii was a bit rough, asking if you agree with his last statement? managed to get a page on it agreeing and disagreeing..

I thought the same. I mis-read the question first and wrote a full page on how he expresses his strong views. Luckily I saw that I answered it wrong, so I re-did it, but it was a fairly awkward question. I was thinking maybe I was suppose to agree with it and mention that his language persuaded me.. :S

But yeah, I said I agreed, give a few lines on it and then mentioned that he persuaded me through his use of... etc Awkward question overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

ray2012 wrote: »
    I thought the same. I mis-read the question first and wrote a full page on how he expresses his strong views. Luckily I saw that I answered it wrong, so I re-did it, but it was a fairly awkward question. I was thinking maybe I was suppose to agree with it and mention that his language persuaded me.. :S

But yeah, I said I agreed, give a few lines on it and then mentioned that he persuaded me through his use of... etc Awkward question overall.

I kind of restated in my own words what he had said using quotes to back it up, then tore into a rant about how the "entertainment-hungry public" are not taking risks on books as much as they used to- there's less of the going into bookshops and exploring, now it's all about googling reviews and buying bestsellers. I balanced the argument a bit by saying that not all best sellers are rubbish and "glossy" though. I hope I didn't go off the point, I kept referring back to his original statements to show that I was actually relating them to his argument and not just going off on a tangent. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭wow exuberant

For anyone who did the Cliffhanger comprehendson, was I the only one who mentioned that the semi colons the writer used so frequently acted as miniature cliffhangers?

Wrote it down as filler but maybe I was onto something lol