Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Navy's new ships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Cienciano wrote: »
    But what happens when they become self aware and turn on their masters?

When that happens to a few TDs I'll worry about the ironmongery. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

This is Ireland, they will emigrate not turn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

LE Tit Be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

LE Mammy and base it in Athlone ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Merch wrote: »
    why dont they just get a few drones? cheaper, less manpower

And ultimately pointless unless it is backed up by something with a few guns on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

LE leithris
    and
    LE caca milis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

God bless her, and all who sail in her.

FYP ;)

Please not the ban hammer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

LE Go tobann

LE Croissant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

syklops wrote: »
    FYP ;)

Please not the ban hammer!
    Yeah, I know, but I always thought people should sail on a ship, not in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

And ultimately pointless unless it is backed up by something with a few guns on board.

What if we used Globalhawk as our drones?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

So they just went ahead and publicised the fact that the top speed is 23 knots....

time to buy a boat that can do 24 knots! :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

So they just went ahead and publicised the fact that the top speed is 23 knots....

Or just one that outruns everything...

http://www.boattest.com/images-gallery/News/drugboat_small.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

El Guapo! wrote: »
    How embarrassing is it that the article keeps describing them as having "Star Wars" technology?!

i.e. hit them in one spot and they explode?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Girls names eh?

LE Enda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Something sinister and evil would surely be better?

LE Medusa, LE Gorgon, LE Dragon, LE Scorpion... something like that.

A vicious animal, a powerful mythological being.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

mawk wrote: »
    Girls names eh?

LE Enda

Names of female characters from Irish mythology, actually.
    keith16 wrote: »
    Why are you all giving them names in a French accent?

*facepalm*

It's a prefix. LÉ as in Long Éireannach(Irish ship)

HMS - Her Majesty's Ship
    USS - United States Ship
    RFS - Russian Federation Ship
    HMNZS - Her Majesty's New Zealand Ship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

badly needed and we need at least half a dozen more, we have 2,000 miles of coastline most of which is completely unprotected from every form of gun-runner, drug-dealer, smuggler, illegal fisher on earth

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

rossie1977 wrote: »
    badly needed and we need at least half a dozen more, we have 2,000 miles of coastline most of which is completely unprotected from every form of gun-runner, drug-dealer, smuggler, illegal fisher on earth

True, the INS currently only have 7 ships which is just around half of what it actually needs. 8 or 9 would be the absolute minimum number of ships required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

The Irish Navy is actually quite busy patrolling our coastline and does great work intercepting drug runners, clamping down on illegal fishing, etc. They're well entitled to their dinner imo. Great that they're getting two new and modern ships.

http://www.needafishingboat.com/photos/abc3lJSUUH1h.jpg

so that's who is responsible......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

What about the cannon that can fire a 3inch round at you at a rate of 1760 knots?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Nimrod 7 wrote: »

*facepalm*

HMS - Her Majesty's Ship
    USS - United States Ship

lol were not all ship nerds, fml :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

chughes wrote: »
    Also in time honoured tradition what would After Hours call the other boat?

LE Zig and LE Zag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

LE Patty & LE Selma

LE pepe
    LE peu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Yawlboy

True, the INS currently only have 7 ships which is just around half of what it actually needs. 8 or 9 would be the absolute minimum number of ships required.

Actually they currently have 8 http://www.military.ie/naval-service/fleet

LE Emer 1978, LE Aoife 1979, LE Aisling 1980
    LE Eithne 1984
    LE Orla 1985 (ex-RN), LE Ciara 1984(ex-RN)
    LE Roisin 1999, LE Niamh 2001

6 of which are in service since 1985 or earlier and should be replaced by next year as Naval ships are supposed to have a service life of 30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

LE Prince Ojuwadde Ngaly and LE Chian Mien Thiep.
    Just to confuse everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Why are they all named after women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anyone wrote: »
    Why are they all named after women?

Eddie Stobart is the Admiral.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The LE Mary Harney, two ships are needed just to carry her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Until drones know how to hand-cuff a drug smuggler, we will still need ships :D

There are already ships, manned for that

extend their ability for less cost by having a more capable, longer ranged land based drone capable of being controlled from land or ship.

(I see these craft can launch drones, but what size and how capable are they compared to land based drones? and recovering them, especially in poor weather could be fraught with problems and cost)

Do we really need to spend the money on two ships? and crewing them?

Im sure its great for the navy and maybe for those that would like to serve on them, but there are downsides, cost notably.

Drugs still need to be landed and Id say most are brought here in containers not in speed boats ala miami vice, for the fewer instances of this a drone could be used to direct manpower at sea (existing) and on land where it will be among the worst positions for a smuggler to be in methinks.

(and monitor a larger area more rapidly and respond to demands for monitoring a new target further than a ship can respond rapidly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

The Irish Navy is the only navy in the world where you can go home for your dinner every day.

You're wrong.Thats the Irish Army.

The Irish Navy are the only Navy in the world where if you fall overboard,you would get nettled.

great, lets get some then
    oh hang on, so we'll be ruled by drones then too??

*facepalm*

HMS - Her Majesty's Ship

USS - United States Ship

How does that explain the federation? surely it cant be USS too?? :)
    I'd also vote against that, so we can be ruled by drones or Romulans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Yeah but their boat has big guns :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

The Irish Navy is the only navy in the world where you can go home for your dinner every day.
    You're wrong.Thats the Irish Army.

The Irish Navy are the only Navy in the world where if you fall overboard,you would get nettled.

Above normally slobbered into Smithwicks that is full of half masticated Tayto and by people who couldn't serve in a fit

Yeah but their boat has big guns :pac:

yes, but if the QM? (naval version?) issue ammunition like they issue other stuff, they will be long gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭burke027

extend their ability for less cost by having a more capable, longer ranged land based drone capable of being controlled from land or ship.

(I see these craft can launch drones, but what size and how capable are they compared to land based drones? and recovering them, especially in poor weather could be fraught with problems and cost)

Im sure its great for the navy and maybe for those that would like to serve on them, but there are downsides, cost notably.

Drugs still need to be landed and Id say most are brought here in containers not in speed boats ala miami vice, for the fewer instances of this a drone could be used to direct manpower at sea (existing) and on land where it will be among the worst positions for a smuggler to be in methinks.

(and monitor a larger area more rapidly and respond to demands for monitoring a new target further than a ship can respond rapidly)

Pull ur head out of the clouds. What the defence budget is so small in the big scheme of things really stop giving out about money. The fact is there proven to intercept drugs end of. Now if u want more n more drugs on the streets and the country and people getting more distroyed by them keep giving out otherwise open you eyes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

Interesting they have drone capability. Ironically I'd say land-based drones will be an ever increasing option for a small navy like ours. 20-30 large drones could probably cover our entire coast. Something like a Predator drone works out about 4.5 million US dollars with a range of 1800km. It can't arrest, but it watch and pinpoint a ship to a suspect. The maintenance bill is a lot less than a whole ship and realistically you need to train only about 2 or 3 operators per drone. I think it would be a logical way to go about policing our coast. That said I'm sure the bleeding heart brigade would be in hysterics making comparisons to drone strikes in Afghanistan and how morally reprehensible it would be to endorse such a vehicle.

fierce bang of seagulls from this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Where are they getting the cash for these? Or are ze Germans paying for them and they flogging the old ones on Done Deal trying to raise the cash to pay them back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

In honour of all ther ecent knacker threads,

Ship 1: JA-CIN-TA

Ship 2: COOM-IN-FER-YA-TAAAY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Where are they getting the cash for these? Or are ze Germans paying for them and they flogging the old ones on Done Deal trying to raise the cash to pay them back :)

These were ordered years ago and are desperately needed.

it would make sense to scrap the Pilatus PC9s to save a few quid, but not these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

what will change is crew from one of the older ships that will be retired will move to this ship no extra cost.

If I remember right, they're named after Witches (mostly of of Irish Legend.)

I propose LE Elphalba & LE Hermione.

burke027 wrote: »
    Pull ur head out of the clouds. What the defence budget is so small in the big scheme of things really stop giving out about money. The fact is there proven to intercept drugs end of. Now if u want more n more drugs on the streets and the country and people getting more distroyed by them keep giving out otherwise open you eyes

Im pointing out obvious stuff, we cant cover all our coastline with just two extra ships, Im suggesting instead the PDF operates a couple of drones, why is that not sensible, why are you having a go at me?

If you can provided these facts you claim prove that extra ships keeps drugs off the street, well provide them. Two ships can only cover a limited area, compare that to two drones. Id say you cant because Id suggets only a fraction is stopped now anyway.
    Id say more resources for the Gardai would stop slightly stem the flow of drugs more than two ships, I dont think most drugs arrive here dumped off a trawler and collected by someone locally, but for instances like that drones are going to be more successful than ships. Id hazard a guess that most stuff comes in legitimate containers and the INS cannot stop and search every ship, you could have a few lads on the dockside for that.
    So whats the problem where you feel you need to have a crack at me, do you get to play with these toys?

Id suggest investing the money in social programmes would benefit drugs not being an option more than what two ships or two drones can stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

great, lets get some then
    oh hang on, so we'll be ruled by drones then too??

How does that explain the federation? surely it cant be USS too?? :)
    I'd also vote against that, so we can be ruled by drones or Romulans

[Nerd] USS in Star Trek stands for United Federation Of Planets Star Ship [/Nerd]

These were ordered years ago and are desperately needed.

it would make sense to scrap the Pilatus PC9s to save a few quid, but not these.

Yes, Id say they are a waste, they should never have gotten rid of the marchettis, Ive even seen a turboprop marchetti used as a chase plane.
    At this point it would lose money getting rid of the PC9's after investing in them.
    When the AC has gotten some aircraft I dont think a correct evaluation was done of the cost and usefulness of them, compared to other types operated.
    shanec1928 wrote: »
    what will change is crew from one of the older ships that will be retired will move to this ship no extra cost.

Fair enough, I can see the re-crewing element wont cost or that much on the basis most of the crew are in place already but the ships arent for free, and not talking just about initial cost, possibly there is cost saving in modernising in that the ships over time pay for themselves if they casn be run at a lower cost than if the existing ships were kept in service.

I still think we cant cover our coastline with just two extra ships, drones would be a much better, I imagine cheaper over the longterm, choice for longrange monitoring of our waters.
    You dont need to stop and search, just monitor where everything is going, international cooperation with other police agencies/customs/coast gaurds.

[Nerd] USS in Star Trek stands for United Federation Of Planets Star Ship [/Nerd]

Thank you, I was kidding, clearly, I cant be that much of a nerd if I didnt know it, but you seem to think thats an insult anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Thank you, I was kidding, clearly, I cant be that much of a nerd if I didnt know it, but you seem to think thats an insult anyway.

i was actually calling myself a nerd FOR knowing it! :o

Ok, I thought it was meant as an insult, I dont consider its one myself