Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Taste of Dublin - who's going?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Heroditas wrote: »
    I also can't understand how people can say something like this could be "free".
    Somebody has to pay for it - for the tents, the staff, the insurance, printing of brochures etc.
    Then the restaurants have to send staff to cook food and dish it out to punters, instead of cooking on their own premises where they make money.
    Are people expecting them to just show up and give away food for 6 or 7 sessions to thousands of visitors out of the goodness of their hearts? :confused:

If it was free in the restaurant would be charging for the food, with a portion of that going to the organisers, so they would be charging more per plate but free in. That is not ideal as it would be too busy. So a ticket price must apply. I think the ticket should come with a certain amount of florins and then everything would be fine. But paying 28.50 in (which is more than an early bird at any of these restaurants really) and then paying 6e for a small potion is not the best. You do get a good range and novelty but enjoying a meal in a good restaurant is better. You will spend 120e at this for two people easily. If they included some florins in the ticket I'd love to go. These restaurants are here to promote themselves, that has costs like for every other business, advertising. So that's not a great view to take, every business has these costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I got a free ticket through work so popped down at lunchtime today. I didn't exchange any cash for florins and got loads of free samples. Jaysus there is a lot of free wine if that's your thing!

Nearly every stall was offering free tasters and it was nice to potter around and sample different things. Didn't spend a penny, stayed for about an hour and really enjoyed it.

In saying that, I wouldn't pay full price for a ticket - it's way too expensive for what it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Went yesterday and really enjoyed myself actually - the weather and booze definately helped though. The food can be slightly overpriced and some of the portions are miserable but there are bargains there too - especially with the booze. Good a lovely big portion of muscles from Matt the Threshers for €4, a lovely half-lobster tail for €7 from (I think) the Lobster Pot and stuffed myself on the free samples. The steak and chips portion from the Chop House was a bit miserly for €7 but was cooked well and really enjoyable. Best thing I ate though was a heaping plate of spit-roast pig from the Paris Bakery, great value at just a €5 too.

As for the entry fee it's is too much and if it's the same next year I'd really think about it. Charging €25 with a tenner's worth of their currency would be much easier to swallow.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭Heroditas

If it was free in the restaurant would be charging for the food, with a portion of that going to the organisers, so they would be charging more per plate but free in. That is not ideal as it would be too busy. So a ticket price must apply. I think the ticket should come with a certain amount of florins and then everything would be fine. But paying 28.50 in (which is more than an early bird at any of these restaurants really) and then paying 6e for a small potion is not the best. You do get a good range and novelty but enjoying a meal in a good restaurant is better. You will spend 120e at this for two people easily. If they included some florins in the ticket I'd love to go. These restaurants are here to promote themselves, that has costs like for every other business, advertising. So that's not a great view to take, every business has these costs.

Agreed. It would be nice to get a few florins in the price.
    I ordered the tickets for my work's sports and social club - I was only charged €20 per ticket. No Ticketmaster charge because I went directly to the organizers.
    Ticketmaster really do make a killing on admin charges.

Of course it's nicer to eat in a restaurant and be waited on, relax over a glass of wine but this is a once-a-year novelty and, as a result, I enjoy it.

Bear in mind that, AFAIK, the restaurants have to pay to be there anyway so yes, it would form part of their marketing/advertising budget but the people who grumble about having to pay for food are living in cuckoo land.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭paudgenator

Went today as had won tickets for the 12- 4 session. Enjoyed lots of free samples of food and drink, and bought some cocktails at €6 (florins). One of the stall holders said it cost €3,000 for the stall, €1, 000 for lighting and €1, 000 for 2 stools for the staff. And when they cash in the florins at the end, they lose 10% of the value to the organisers! So they are certainly paying to be there.

But we got chatting and realised at 4.10pm we still had 7 florins and no-one would accept them, even though lots of people were still sitting around finishing their food/drinks! Eventually finally found one stall which did.

Personally, I didn't like the idea of having to leave...we were having fun and would have continued spending if we had the option to stay.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

mozattack wrote: »
    This person has serious issues, Taste of Cork was incredible value.

Go to MacDonalds so.

Some "foodies" on here are a laugh.

@ mozattack be warned - any more comments like these and you will receive an infraction.

The weather was so miserable last night!
    Got absolutely drenched until we found a tent to huddle in!
    Thought the food was very nice but thought there were less stands then the last time I was there.
    The food at the Jaipur stand was definitely my favourite.
    Enjoyed the night but am definitely suffering this morning!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭Mrs Fox

Enjoyed the night but am definitely suffering this morning!!!

Free booze? :)

Mrs Fox wrote: »
    Free booze? :)

Far too much booze!
    Bloody needed it to keep warm! I actually saw a few people wearing gloves last night!!

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Found it quite disappointing this year.

The standard of restaurant seems to have gone downhill in recent years, found €7 a bit rich for 3 cold chicken wings from Diep le Shaker. I notice none of the top restaurants were present, bar Bon Appetit....the rest seemed to be places that specialised in pub grub!

Also found this years festival to be very 'boozey'. I don't drink and couldn't get a non-alcoholic drink aside from €2 water anywhere. I was refused a glass of coke from one of the bars as the girl said she needed it for mixer.

Smash Hits were decent though, I would have paid the €28 just to see them!

Second time I've left this festival absolutely starving and headed to Camden Street for a burrito :(

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭ScottSF

I was happy with the number of restaurant choices and the quality of the food. Some a bit pricey I agree. There were definitely much fewer vendors/exhibitors this time. Last year I recall several places selling kitchen products and more Irish food companies giving out samples for free.

As for paid food, I tried the tender and meaty daube of beef from The Green Hen, the fresh tasting cod and chips from The Dylan, the creamy and delicious parmesan risotto from Il Primo, the peaches and cream dessert from Clodagh's Kitchen, and a perfect walnut cake from The Hot Stove restaurant.

The staff at The Dublin Wine Rooms (located at IFSC) were knowledgeable (as always) and very welcoming. A competitive selection of wines for 5 florins each plus DJ spinning tunes.

Fun music on the big stage plus jazz and roaming singers added to the ambiance. I also went to a good talk from the executive chef at the Merion Hotel where he cooked up a Irish Wild Salmon which I was told has not been on the market for years due to necessary conservation efforts.

Fortunately I went Sunday afternoon where the sun actually made a strong appearance and it was hardly crowded at all compared to last year. They didn't throw us our at 4pm either, perhaps due to the lower numbers. Hopefully next year they'll lower the admission (by including a few florins) and make it an entire day affair for all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

That risotto from Il Primo was amazing! Aniar were there too as well as Green Hen so don't know why people complaining "top" restaurants weren't there. The Wild Nettle Gnocchi from Clodagh's kitchen were superb too as was the Peanut Butter Parfait from Pichet.

Yeah they should definitely include florins in the price of a ticket and selling the florins in multiples of 5 yet having most dishes at 6/7 is a bit cheeky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

I agree 100%... dont get it, really don't especially in a forum for people who are meant to love food.

My advice, never go to a Michelin starred restaurant, never go ala carte and simply grow spuds in the back garden and eat them. Wow... life is fun

This makes no sense. Your advice would make sense if you had to pay into said Michelin starred restaurant but you don't as it makes no sense to pay into a restaurant for the privilege to pay for their food.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Far too much booze!
    Bloody needed it to keep warm! I actually saw a few people wearing gloves last night!!

Free?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

vicwatson wrote: »
    Free?

All the stalls selling wine were giving out samples, mostly fairly small but if you went to all of them it would add up, then you could repeat the cycle.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,340 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Got a nice phonecall there during the week from Knockranny House - I won the weekend away from the draw they had on their stall. Fecking chuffed and delighted my girlfriend insisted on going there just before we left to get the Rhubarb Cheesecake.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Got a nice phonecall there during the week from Knockranny House - I won the weekend away from the draw they had on their stall. Fecking chuffed and delighted my girlfriend insisted on going there just before we left to get the Rhubarb Cheesecake.

Congratulations :)