Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

land beside oldshopping centre in dundalk

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭not1but4

Just seen this posted on Facebook
    1173684_1426616287564541_1092327168_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

Almost there.

This video is private??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

kbell wrote: »
    This video is private??

It wasn't when i posted it a month ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭dm09

not1but4 wrote: »
    Just seen this posted on Facebook
    1173684_1426616287564541_1092327168_n.jpg

There was a cinema in this side in the 80s, I've vague memories going to it as a kid, wonder is there anything left from it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

dm09 wrote: »
    There was a cinema in this side in the 80s, I've vague memories going to it as a kid, wonder is there anything left from it?

That big hole is the Casino cinema lol. Doubt there was much left of it as i'd say it became a storage area after closing. Saw Superman 4 for my last visit circa '88 i think - closed not long after.

There will be plenty of videos & photos floating about online shortly judging by the amount of people with cameras/phones that were about the place today.
    Everyone loves a demolition it seems. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭Motor-Ed

There will be plenty of videos & photos floating about online shortly judging by the amount of people with cameras/phones that were about the place today.
    Everyone loves a demolition it seems. :pac:

Amazing how bright that junction is with half the building gone, must be great in McD's

Stolen from Talk Of The Town :)
    For decades it stood,

was the hub of the town

but time took its toll

now they’ve pulled it all down

As the shops started closing

people drifted away

it had seen better years

but was great in its day.

Cafes and a cinema

there was nothing it lacked.

People came from all over,

at weekends it was packed.

I loved to walk round

browsing shops at my leisure

meeting friends at weekends

are all memories i’ll treasure.
    (http://talkofthetown.ie/2013/09/03/an-ode-to-the-dundalk-shopping-centre/)

Some great memories,poetry,craic & photos going on @ -

https://www.facebook.com/groups/laurenceol69/?fref=ts

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

1209072_585175918208669_1485596278_n.png

1234715_748233895193427_214798569_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭cargo

They have started piling on the opposite side of the SC to where this demolition has taken place. Not in the new yard but rather in the car park spaces that were down along the back of Tesco. You cant walk down that side of Tesco anymore, it's railed off.

I heard from someone in Tesco that they wouldnt be moving into the temporary store until after Christmas but it looks like it would be ready long before this. Anyone have any info of the move?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭hellboy99

cargo wrote: »
    I heard from someone in Tesco that they wouldnt be moving into the temporary store until after Christmas but it looks like it would be ready long before this. Anyone have any info of the move?
    I heard the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Is it just me or is this temporary store just to keep unions happy and overall a huge waste of money?

Could staff not be redeployed to The Long Walk and customers redirected to The Long Walk during the construction phase.

Granted, I am not a regular user of Tesco but any time I've been in either, they've hardly been busting with customers !

I suppose they are afraid of people fecking off for 2 years and not coming back from Dunnes / Lidl etc or wherever they do their shopping in the meantime.

cargo wrote: »
    I suppose they are afraid of people fecking off for 2 years and not coming back from Dunnes / Lidl etc or wherever they do their shopping in the meantime.

But they wouldn't have to.

Surely The Long Walk with the exception of peak times like Christmas etc can cater for Dundalk.

I've been quite confused about this move since I've heard about it to be honest.

MugMugs wrote: »
    But they wouldn't have to.

Surely The Long Walk with the exception of peak times like Christmas etc can cater for Dundalk.

I've been quite confused about this move since I've heard about it to be honest.

I thought it seemed a good idea but anyway I suppose everyone's shopping habits are different. (I use that Tesco a bit)

mod9maple wrote: »
    The only holdouts other than Tesco are a chemist shop and a butcher. I wonder where they'll relocate...
    Crucially there will be retail units for the non-Tesco retailers that had shared the shopping centre with the supermarket giant.

http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/lifestyle/entertainment/scene-and-heard/demolition-hails-a-wave-of-nostalgia-for-the-old-shopping-centre-1-5474753

• Registered Users Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Waitsian

“What will happen is that a the old building, which is there since the seventies, is going demolished piece, by piece, while the section of the shop as is will still function and will be functioning thoughout the build.”

Excuse my ignorance or lack of understanding maybe but....what?

loiw.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 10 keithf7975

Is it just me or is this temporary store just to keep unions happy and overall a huge waste of money?

Could staff not be redeployed to The Long Walk and customers redirected to The Long Walk during the construction phase.

Granted, I am not a regular user of Tesco but any time I've been in either, they've hardly been busting with customers !

U seem to be the kinda tool that just hates progress and has something to say about fook all. These guys r creating employment and creating numerous jobs in the future. Just as as a matter of interest, how many jobs have u created. I wud venture a guess and say fook all...i gladly will stand corrected. In the last yr, how many jobs have u ceeated??????

keithf7975 wrote: »
    U seem to be the kinda tool that just hates progress and has something to say about fook all. These guys r creating employment and creating numerous jobs in the future. Just as as a matter of interest, how many jobs have u created. I wud venture a guess and say fook all...i gladly will stand corrected. In the last yr, how many jobs have u ceeated??????

I love thrash talk Sundays :D

Yeah Mugs,how many jobs have you created this week? ;)

I thought myself that it seems a waste to build a temporary store tbh - then i thought well hey if Tesco wanna pay for it who am i to question, they can afford it and are paying people to build it and demolish it in due course. Pity it wasnt the Long Walk getting the wrecking ball, always hated that place and i have no idea or reason why.

Yeah Mugs how many jobs have you created? and ye cant include jobs created by the day to day things like doing your shopping, using any type of service, or paying taxes that contribute to subsidising the likes of paypal to set up shop...you you bad bad person..................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

keithf7975 wrote: »

Jeez Mugmugs answer that in the same tone and style using no more than 100 words. :)

Where was opposition to progress or employment mentioned?
    I too wonder why the TEMPORARY store is being built when they could have TEMPORARILY used the long walk.

Keith, what are you ranting about? Go back to Cobh and open a business there employing hundreds. I know a guy who will sell you a reliable van. ;)

Wow.... Eh, my sincerest apologies for my lack of innovation with respect to job creation. It's been on my "to do" list for some time now but I haven't gotten around to it.

With respect to my aforementioned quoted post, I did suggest that staff were redeployed to other areas during the construction phase. Granted this is job sustainment however I can only imagine that the number of individuals effected by the lack of a temporary store would be minimal.

Anybody know if there is a compulsory demolition order for when the new building opens, or is there a chance Tesco could apply for retention of the 'temporary' building for additional store units or storage. Could be a way of sneaking a few extra units (not the tesco variety) for rent that may have had the local town centre business community baulk and then object if all done in one whack. Im thinking of the B&Q complex in Newry where there are a few restraunts/takeaways (drive-through?) accross from the anchor tenant. Couldnt be bothered lookng for planning conditions and still see it as a waste so is there a method to the madness. Hill St bridge will go eventually leaving that building as a roadside front build too, right on a link road that will go almost straight to the M1 one day????

See Mods even keeping trying to keep the thread on topic ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 shinners9

I use this Tesco regularly and there are always lots of customers in it. I would think if they didn't have the temporary store,people wouldn't be bothered go up town to the Longwalk,they would just head to Dunnes in the Marshes instead-it's what I would do! There are just too many customers from the local area to loose out on. There are a hell of a lot of estates in the immediate vicinity to cater for.
    It's bound to pay off in the end and I'm sure this is something the planners would have looked at!

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭5.11 Tactical

Is that hump back bridge going to be there for ever as I know the story behind it but man is it a pain in the behind.

Does anyone remember the other one on the Alphonous Road (Cant Spell)

Is that hump back bridge going to be there for ever as I know the story behind it but man is it a pain in the behind.

Does anyone remember the other one on the Alphonous Road (Cant Spell)

A man and his family have lived there for generations and you reckon he should be just thrown out because the levelling of the bridge will get you home near 30secs earlier than it will now?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

A man and his family have lived there for generations and you reckon he should be just thrown out because the levelling of the bridge will get you home near 30secs more than it will do now?

Is that the house the other side of the road with the two dogs in the garden?

petes wrote: »
    Is that the house the other side of the road with the two dogs in the garden?

Yep,he has (Good)dog compounds and a caravan there also.