Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland v Pharoahs 07-06-13 ko 19:45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭brianregan09

himself and mccarthy would be fantastic in the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Caution has to be had here the Faroe League is in its early stages so unlike the Irish who just have finished a grueling season the fresh Faroe legs could catch the defence out.

You forget our subtropical climate which will suck the energy from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Hoolahan's contribution is being remarkably overstated.

Against a top side, i.e. not these guys, you can't have Keane and Hoolahan in the same side. Keane is a finisher and must play. Hoolahan is a good player and a nice option but no use to us in the centre of midfield against a decent side.

Hoolahan should be on the first team given the passing options he gives us. Keane is a major liability against the stronger teams and really should only get a look in from the bench at the 70th or 80th minute. He offers nothing else other than his "finishing" skills and they are not the greatest either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Kirby wrote: »
    Georgia aren't a top side by any means, but they are better than this lot.....and hoolihan had a great game vs them. He also plays against top teams in the premier league and looks like he belongs.

He should start every game for us if fit.

Georgia were with ten men for most of the game. Hoolahan plays off a front man for Norwich for the most part, not where he is playing this evening in a deeper area.

Would you play Hoolahan against the Swedes and Austrians and if so, who would you leave out to accommodate him?

I think McCarthy and another, most likely Whelan, have to play deep against those teams and if Hoolahan is to play, then that means Keane would have to be dropped. Not something I would consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Cox is poor.

Bring on Sammon ... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Georgia were with ten men for most of the game. Hoolahan plays off a front man for Norwich for the most part, not where he is playing this evening in a deeper area.

Would you play Hoolahan against the Swedes and Austrians and if so, who would you leave out to accommodate him?

I think McCarthy and another, most likely Whelan, have to play deep against those teams and if Hoolahan is to play, then that means Keane would have to be dropped. Not something I would consider.

I'd play him against everybody. Him and McCarthy are our best passers by an absolute mile. I would drop Robbie to accomodate him and play three men in midfield. 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1 whichever you prefer.

Keane should be an impact sub against any team better than us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

drop robbie?

Good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭klose

Release the sammon

drop robbie?

Good idea.

Yes I would drop him. What makes him great is his movement off the ball. This drops off significantly after thirty minutes due to his age. Let him be at his peak when coming off the bench and be dangerous. Long has to start, as does McCarthy and Hoolihan. Its just that simple.

Jaysis scotland beat croatia away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Marc Wilson wouldn't get a game for the Pharoahs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Yes I would drop him. What makes him great is his movement off the ball. This drops off significantly after thirty minutes due to his age. Let him be at his peak when coming off the bench and be dangerous. Long has to start, as does McCarthy and Hoolihan. Its just that simple.

Id have to agree, bring keane on near the end where he'll have fresh legs against tired legs.

I'd play him against everybody. Him and McCarthy are our best passers by an absolute mile. I would drop Robbie to accomodate him and play three men in midfield. 4-3-3 or 4-2-3-1 whichever you prefer.

Keane should be an impact sub against any team better than us.

Well the only way I can see a place for Hoolahan working is by dropping Keane, and to me dropping the team's best finisher is akin to an army going into battle without its finest swordsman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Shane long captain last game and can't even get on here, makes no sense.

He's suspended, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

He's suspended

Hed be doing well to get on considering hes not on the bench.

Think hes suspended

Hoolahan is a decent player but some are getting carried away. He's Christy Brown. Better than Whelan tho?, abso feckin lutely. McCarthy and Hools from here on in. Cox to the wilderness else play him as a striker he cannot play wide. Good man trap take off the only guy who can play wide and bring on another winger. F me.

joe316 wrote: »
    He's suspended

My bad, totally messed that up so I did, I accept full stupidity for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

He's getting married isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

suspended

Id play Robbie every game, hes our best finisher. Just has a knack for goals.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Anyone know if Long is suspended?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

............................................________
    ....................................,.-'"...................``~.,
    .............................,.-"..................................."-.,
    .........................,/...............................................":,
    .....................,?......................................................,
    .................../...........................................................,}
    ................./......................................................,:`^`..}
    .............../...................................................,:"........./
    ..............?.....__.........................................:`.........../
    ............./__.(....."~-,_..............................,:`........../
    .........../(_...."~,_........"~,_....................,:`........_/
    ..........{.._$;_......"=,_......."-,_.......,.-~-,},.~";/....}
    ...........((.....*~_......."=-._......";,,./`..../"............../
    ...,,,___.`~,......"~.,....................`.....}............../
    ............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-"
    ............/.`~,......`-...................................../
    .............`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....,__
    ,,_..........}.>-._...................................|..............`=~-,
    .....`=~-,__......`,.................................
    ...................`=~-,,.,...............................
    ................................`:,,...........................`..............__
    .....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
    ........................................_..........._,-%.......`

That goal in the last minute really will cost us, with Austria winning tonight, we would have been in pole position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Sammon did excellent for that to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

What an assist from Sammon in fairness. Great awareness!

Well done Robbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

Hat-trickkkkkkkkkk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Ah, he's some man in fairness.

That goal in the last minute really will cost us, with Austria winning tonight, we would have been in pole position.

1 game would have got 9 points to pass germany in pole?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Fair play Keane and McClean and Sammon did well there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

The Sammon of knowledge did well there!

garv123 wrote: »
    1 game would have got 9 points to pass germany in pole?

Good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

After Sunday and tonight, I'd say Robbie Keane thinks Connor Sammon is a great bloke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Delighted for Keane. Good stuff from Sammon as well. :P

Hat-trick hero.

Good man.

Not having the brightest of days today are we? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

I love that man, top 20 all time international goal scorer that is some achievement.

Think hes a wasteful git sometimes but that record has to be applauded

Legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Another very good goal. Great hold up play from Sammon. And Keane was always gonna be there to get the hat trick. Fair play to him, unlikely to see another player hit (nearly) 60 goals for Ireland

Not one idea at corners, no pace on the ball just lob it in and expect a miracle....

garv123 wrote: »
    Not having the brightest of days today are we? :D

Ah here did you really think I meant first place? That is out of sight, I meant runners up.

Once again good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Fair play to Keane, always around there to score.

Need to up performance hugely for rest of the campaign though. Takes us 80 minutes to finally realise the aim of the sport is to score goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

How many hattricks for Ireland has he now?

I can think of vs San Marino and Malta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭yomtea98

Robbie wouldn't pass to no one.Men in the box but when he couldn't score himself it didn't matter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

RikkFlair wrote: »
    How many hattricks for Ireland has he now?

I can think of vs San Marino and Malta

Two. And while this may seem extremely knowledgeable on my part I have to confess to seeing the statistic on the telly right after the goal.

Anyone notice keane hiding behind the keeper there hoping he'd drop the ball to kick it out.. sneaky as ever :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,548 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Sweden got a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Shout out to Coleman too who has really added another dimension to our attacking outlet when he's allowed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Sammon has done well since brought on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

murpho999 wrote: »
    Sweden got a goal.

Thanks, Aertel.