Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rainbow Cake - Colouring advice

Options
  • 06-06-2013 11:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭

I'm planning to make this Rainbow Cake for my daughtesr birthday in a few weeks http://www.whisk-kid.com/2009/08/say-it-with-cake.html

I think i need to use Wiltons Gel Colouring in order to get a really strong colour, ebay seems the cheapest. Can anyone tell me if there would be a difference between using the Wiltons Gel Food Colouring & the Wiltons 'ICING' colours, it seems most shops sell the gels for icing.....will these work as well if adding into a cake? I've never used these before at all.

Any advice would be great, if someone can suggest other brands of food colouring that would be just as good, please let me know (website)
    Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,179 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I've used the gel for coloured cakes, it's excellent. I've bought packs of 8 different colours for 10 or 12 euro in homestore and more, great value

Edit: meant to say, it's perfect for icing too, not sure what the difference is between the 2 products you mention? The gel seems to be a good all-rounder

• Registered Users Posts: 453 ✭✭Lobsterlady

dee_mc wrote: »
    I've used the gel for coloured cakes, it's excellent. I've bought packs of 8 different colours for 10 or 12 euro in homestore and more, great value

Edit: meant to say, it's perfect for icing too, not sure what the difference is between the 2 products you mention? The gel seems to be a good all-rounder