Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

We should stick all the successful purchases in the OP. :)

If that's the case, myself and Truckermal bought LS460's thanks to this thread :P

And I've turned a few people off some of them in here too thanks to viewing them :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,854 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Congrats man, youve been very patient. I do barely any driving now, thought is paying max tax rate ridiculous with virtually no driving. But that car is on another planet to anything else , in my opinion, at that budget... Visually it certainly is with amg body kit , alloys and facelift headlights...

My next car , will be a facelift s500 or the 350. There is no comparison in terms of bang for buck in my opinion. The only thing id say wow to is exotic , which would be massively more expensive to own ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

If that's the case, myself and Truckermal bought LS460's thanks to this thread :P

And I've turned a few people off some of them in here too thanks to viewing them :o

I was looking at a LS myself on here last year and insurance increase me short. So it could have been another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,580 ✭✭✭jmreire

They are, I am contemplating this but itll be bottom of the list, sounds and fridge are first.

Edit - rear blind and bluetooth fixed now �� , simple bits

Well wear, thats some car for one car !!! Long may you live in it...... :D
    For the phone, go into the phone menu and delete the existing phone from the car, and likewise from the phone, Then start the connect set up again, let the bluetooth search and pair. That's what sorts it out in mine anyway when it behaves like yours.. and it has done too in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Congrats on purchase, looks gorgeous. What I'd love to know is how much the 10k bills would have cost if you DIY'd them.
    My Luxobarge man-maths is thrown off when I hear of 10k bills.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Congrats on purchase, looks gorgeous. What I'd love to know is how much the 10k bills would have cost if you DIY'd them.
    My Luxobarge man-maths is thrown off when I hear of 10k bills.

I've a Lexus RX, the sensor for the auto levelling lights went. It's a known fault in them, they go after 12 years or so.

Lexus want €730 (VAT included) to put a new one in. Part was €30 on Ebay and €30 to install it as I didn't have the software for it.

Then there'e the batteries. Used to cost thousands to repair until some guy in Cork put up a detailed method on how to repair them. They are effetively 12 modules and each can be clipped out and replaced. They cost around €40 on Ebay and about 4 hours work to take the boot apart and replace it.

Most common issues now have full instructions on Youtube or various dedicated forums. I'd have no issues picking up another Luxobarge as long as it's about 18 months into its production run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭Time

I've been following this thread for a while and am at a stage where a second car that won't do mire than 8k a year is needed. Ye have me all convinced a luxobarge is the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25469022

06 W221, LWB, electric rear seats, looks quite well with the black on black, it’s been a Limo since 2013.

€3950.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭traco

Fair play to ya Eric and best of luck with it.

We're gonna need an updated Cartman fleet picture soon, it surely looks even more like a senior mafia members get together now.

Nice - well wear!!

Dumbo will be back on the road Sept 01 so I'm up for a socially distanced barge meet. We can all sit the back and watch the peasants pass by.

I Was VB wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25131265

New set of registration plates and a €1750 price increase.

It’s baaaaack

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25490788

It’s made it down to cork now, €4650

This is the 3rd time it’s been on DoneDeal in the space of 6 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,297 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That's been passed around by curb side dealers more often than a dose of the clap on student's rag week.

He must have a different options list than I have, not poverty spec but not loaded either and that front passenger tyre will need replacing to start.
    I can't see the mileage and no mention of turbo / valves being done, oil seals replaced or the fuel line seals. If those jobs were sorted recently then it could be a decent buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

It’s baaaaack

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25490788

It’s made it down to cork now, €4650

This is the 3rd time it’s been on DoneDeal in the space of 6 weeks.

What price did it start at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

traco wrote: »
    He must have a different options list than I have, not poverty spec but not loaded either and that front passenger tyre will need replacing to start.
    I can't see the mileage and no mention of turbo / valves being done, oil seals replaced or the fuel line seals. If those jobs were sorted recently then it could be a decent buy.

theres 310,000km on it, possibly more now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,854 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Nice - well wear!!

Dumbo will be back on the road Sept 01 so I'm up for a socially distanced barge meet. We can all sit the back and watch the peasants pass by.

This gave me a good laugh! Ive been given the finger and wanker gesture from the haters, its things like this , that make paying the running costs worthwhile :D

Mostly its people admiring the car though , had one lad at a cross roads in rathfarnham , bowing down to it repeatedly, like he was worshipping it, infront of it at a packed cross roads :D

Then the time the gf was in the car saw a load of lads looking in at multi lane lightcontrolled roundabout , initially she thought they were checking her out... she should have known better :D

Lwb, electric rear seats, nct’d and taxed

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25499818

€3900.

got myself an official iPod kit for 43 quid from Lithuania. Does anyone know a merc specialist around Dublin who has the tools to code it in for me ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭ooter

Slightly over €5k but would appreciate any feedback on this car from the knowledgeable folk on here, seems too good to be true.
    21,000 miles in 6 years?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda-2014/25490175

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,536 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

ooter wrote: »
    Slightly over €5k but would appreciate any feedback on this car from the knowledgeable folk on here, seems too good to be true.
    21,000 miles in 6 years?
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-panda-2014/25490175

I'm not sure i would describe it as a luxobarge but the mileage might be genuine. it doesnt look like it has done a lot of miles. I would be looking at the service history stamps to confirm it.

as an aside does anybody know what the City button in pic 9 does? does it sharpen up the steering?
    ETA: i really should have googled it first. It lightens the steering to make parking easier. nice idea.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Kilboor

I'm not sure i would describe it as a luxobarge but the mileage might be genuine. it doesnt look like it has done a lot of miles. I would be looking at the service history stamps to confirm it.

as an aside does anybody know what the City button in pic 9 does? does it sharpen up the steering?
    ETA: i really should have googled it first. It lightens the steering to make parking easier. nice idea.

Makes the steering lighter for easier parking...

I think Eric Cartman should have waited and picked up this Fiat Panda instead. Luxobarge pick of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

got myself an official iPod kit for 43 quid from Lithuania. Does anyone know a merc specialist around Dublin who has the tools to code it in for me ?

Probably a good time to visit aliexpress & get the cloned main dealer diagnostics, MBstar or whatever...save you a lot of heartache down the road.

Got the Honda HDS main dealer diag there and its great for pinning down faults.

Kilboor wrote: »
    Makes the steering lighter for easier parking...

I think Eric Cartman should have waited and picked up this Fiat Panda instead. Luxobarge pick of the year.

He could have put it in the boot as a spare??

Do you still have my old W220, traco? Having sellers remorse lately of barges that I sold.

Still have it in storage. Turned the key in it a few weeks ago and fired no bother, settled down and ran smooth. I let her fully warm up and get some charge into the battery. Insurance is transferred to the W221 which I will put on the road on September 01 for 3 months as the Boxster is coming off at end of August.

Don't know what to do with the W220 to be honest. I love the way it wafts around so may use it for Dec, Jan and Feb. NCT is out on it also because of lockdown and SORN'd so i should address that.

Juggling insurance and tax really messes up multi car ownership in this country.

Still have it in storage. Turned the key in it a few weeks ago and fired no bother, settled down and ran smooth. I let her fully warm up and get some charge into the battery. Insurance is transferred to the W221 which I will put on the road on September 01 for 3 months as the Boxster is coming off at end of August.

Don't know what to do with the W220 to be honest. I love the way it wafts around so may use it for Dec, Jan and Feb. NCT is out on it also because of lockdown and SORN'd so i should address that.

Juggling insurance and tax really messes up multi car ownership in this country.

It’s a great example of a w220, herself loved it too which is a surprise, she’s not impressed with the 740, or as she calls it “the grizwald mobile”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Some chancer in front of me today, thought he owned the road! :pac:

KVV3Reg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Ah that bollocks :D Typical Merc driver tbh, indicator being the exception.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭b.c

Pass anything except a petrol station ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-740i-automatic/25600186

MGNmNzg2ZDEwYzAyMTMyNTRjODlkMGE0Y2EwY2EzYTWi87YPYj_q0eypn9JeYk9taHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTM0MjA4MzF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

740i with low miles and NCT til next year for €2950

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

It's fairly rough though especially the interior!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

That's a Naas Rd Autos kinda car ;)

silver outside on grey interior has to be the most awful combo I've seen.

spec is alright but jaysus the colour combo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Truckermal wrote: »
    It's fairly rough though especially the interior!

Everything about that ad seems wrong. Terrible description, dirty interior/exterior, rubbish on the ground, pictures taken down the back of the Lidl carpark.

It screams of being run on a shoestring.

A wash and Hoover, pics taken in a nice location (surely he could've driven 15 minutes up to the Phoenix Park or over to Dalkey) and a proper description would make it vastly more sellable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

A wash and Hoover, pics taken in a nice location (surely he could've driven 15 minutes up to the Phoenix Park or over to Dalkey) and a proper description would make it vastly more sellable
    Agreed. Trash in the front & back, and saying "full option" doesn't say much. Lack of a shot of the dash always hits me as suspicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,297 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I see John the seller of the 740i and 10 other cars must be sharing his forecourt with Lidl. :)

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25603894

What scam is being pulled here for 636 tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Nexo

It’s down as a 1.8 engine on the VLC 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 36 Nexo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

The wheels, aaaggghhh my eyes!!!!

Nexo wrote: »

Needing some engine work, the asking price is what it would be worth fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

Needing some engine work, the asking price is what it would be worth fixed.

That quilted floor.. :eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Padre_Pio wrote: »
    That quilted floor.. :eek::eek:

Saw that alright. Seller says it's a Limo, the flooring looks like a clip in covering to protect the original carpet, which isn't a bad thing.

The wheels don't look too bad IMO, either way, they are easily swapped. The rear lights look shlt IMO.

Either way, I wouldn't have the cojones to touch that unless a mechanic I know could fully diagnose the problem and assure me that spending X amount of Euro's would fix it permamently.

I'll be selling the Lexus soon and was looking at E65 and W221's. But the more I look at them, the more I think of getting a pre-'96 W140 with a V8. Just easier to diagnose and fix. Of course, you could get lucky as with Eric C and get something really nice, but I like fiddling with them myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭b.c

from the drips of oil in the pics id say the oil cooler seals are gone, if that was the case id say its overpriced, not a really hard job but loads of hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Bit odd alright.
    Old unregistered stock sitting in some garage I wonder? Looks clean for the mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Casati

Bit odd alright.
    Old unregistered stock sitting in some garage I wonder? Looks clean for the mileage.

S Class isn’t usually a stock car is it - Id imagine most are factory orders? Could it be a ringer?

Casati wrote: »
    S Class isn’t usually a stock car is it - Id imagine most are factory orders? Could it be a ringer?

Clever man - worth checking the reg on motortax or cartell for the gallery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

With such low number in Dublin? I doubt that, the buyer waited for first day of 2010 to be registered IMHO....

It is possible that on the wave of Celtic Tiger someone ordered one, but bubble bursted and they couldn't collect.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭jharr100

Merc Ireland would have a few I imagine even in bad times that'd do the rounds at dealers countrywide.