Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**HL Maths Paper 2 before/after**

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭sganyfx

Raeral wrote: »
    Not sure if we talked but I just remember this really loud lad who did a lot of mouthing. Guess it was you so. What are the chances :pac:

I done the Olympiad at Maynooth as well and remember that loud person, so annoying :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

There was a 3.5 minute report on RTE.
    Complete with our very own pin-up boy! :cool:
    I know, I don't like wasting time on this issue as well, it's just we're all annoyed, obviously!
    I know, and that's very understandable.

I'm just saying to you and to all the previous people arguing about how the examiners will deal with it: let them at it, it's not their first time dealing with such issues, and while there may not be any perfect solution without time-travel, they will come up with the fairest one they can.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Raeral

Prodigious wrote: »
    Bit harsh, but I can see where you're coming from :P There were only like 5 people who talked at all!
    Good times :')

Did you make it past the first test? I remember half the class disappearing after that.

Nope :P I didn't even look at any of the notes we were given apart from at the lectures (not even the night before the test). Went in on the day, managed about three questions, didn't have a clue about the rest :L kinda regret it now cause feel I probably coulda done a lot better :P how'd you get on with it?

Not sure if we talked but I just remember this really loud lad who did a lot of mouthing. Guess it was you so. What are the chances :pac:
    sganyfx wrote: »
    I done the Olympiad at Maynooth as well and remember that loud person, so annoying :(

Ah jaysus now!

Unless ye're prepared to out yourselves and stick up names / pics, don't be having a go from behind the ditch!! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 39 matt007

Q5 does, in fact, have two answers. It's called the ambiguous case as one possible angle is acute while the other possible angle is obtuse.

Ah well. Back to school for me! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

sganyfx wrote: »

Ego's taking a bit of a bruising :D There was a group of us, and we weren't actually that loud in fairness. We had the craic anyway, which was the main thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 PaulR666

Hmmm.. Maybe. I'm getting the impression from others that the 30 marks will b awarded to everyone which will cancel the question out, basically, and in turn will lead to changes in the marking scheme. i.e. making it stricter/harder , so as to maintain the normal distribution of grades. But maybe not. It doesn't really matter I don't think , They'll get the marks back of us somehow.. We love you SEC...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Shane has been on rte news now 3 times in the last 15 minutes

For real? Must turn on the tv :D

Slow news day I guess

Youv been on again since I last posted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Youv been on again since I last posted

Nothing weird about you watching him over and over....

Im in bed and the sleep timer on the tv is about to kick in, about 2 minutes time :P

Worse, you're watching him in bed?!! :D

Ah lads !

Ah lads !
    Well, at least I didn't go for the copper pipe joke ... ;)

Oooops!! :o

Oh lord.

• Registered Users Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Parawhore.xD

Worse, you're watching him in bed?!! :D

The username makes sooo much sense now... :P

Poor old CP when he logs in tomorrow! :pac: :D

Mind you, given his comments elsewhere in the forum, Prod can't be saying much about what anyone chooses to watch in bed! ;)

Edit: Oh, wait, you meant mine? :D

You should have been around when last year's smutty lot were in residence! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Yer man demanding his porn to be unblocked by 3 is a LC poster too is he not, we really have a great bunch over here.

Mind you, given his comments elsewhere in the forum, Prod can't be saying much about what anyone chooses to watch in bed! ;)

Now now, I've always been a strong advocator of refraining from inappropriate material!

• Registered Users Posts: 29 nunchuks

peekachoo wrote: »
    Can we just take a moment to stop whinging and realise that said mistake may be the one thing that means people like me pass the exam and do not have to repeat next year...(hopefully) :D
    Amen.
    seriously, if this gets me enough marks to let me pass it might just make me believe in a higher power after all. i don't mean ^3 either

• Registered Users Posts: 18 alan56

For the stats long question, please tell me I wasn't the only person to not include the dont knows? Ruined my paper!

alan56 wrote: »
    For the stats long question, please tell me I wasn't the only person to not include the dont knows? Ruined my paper!

No you weren't. Afaik most people left them out and I don't think the SEC wanted you to include them either as there's no clear way of finding out how many of them were or were not satisfied with the service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭bpb101

No you weren't. Afaik most people left them out and I don't think the SEC wanted you to include them either as there's no clear way of finding out how many of them were or were not satisfied with the service.

What was the stats question

Edit yea I see it now
    You had to include them .
    The questions were if somebody was selected a random what is the prob that he was satisfied

If you picked somebody out they may not know

Is this what you's mean
    I'm only droping in and out of these covos

bpb101 wrote: »
    What was the stats question

Edit yea I see it now
    You had to include them .
    The questions were if somebody was selected a random what is the prob that he was satisfied

If you picked somebody out they may not know

Is this what you's mean
    I'm only droping in and out of these covos

Hmm Perhaps I misinterpreted Alan56's post. It is true you had to include them for the total number of people surveyed but you didn't include them in the number of people who were dissatisfied with the service.

I love how the SEC are saying students will not be disadvantaged by the screw up. It's a tad late now.

Anyway, Joe duffy will be going on about the mistake today apparently (Mammy says so) so shtick on the radio if you're at home !

Hmm Perhaps I misinterpreted Alan56's post. It is true you had to include them for the total number of people surveyed but you didn't include them in the number of people who were dissatisfied with the service.

Oh for the 70% thing
    Yea I included it
    Judgement call I'd say

Anyway, Joe duffy will be going on about the mistake today apparently (Mammy says so) so shtick on the radio if you're at home !
    Ofc he will!

Any opportunity for the "Isn't it terridble, Joe ...!!" brigade!

joe didnt have anything on about it.

What question wasn't on the syllabus

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0611/455857-leaving-cert/