Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

History Accounts :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9 w.hussain

Wiefi wrote: »
    I've heard it's a pretty bad idea. Best to stick to paragraphs and full sentences c:

even in people in history??

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭Wiefi

w.hussain wrote: »
    even in people in history??

Our teacher told us that we'd get very little marks for writing them in that form. Paragraphs and full sentences are the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 w.hussain

Our teacher told us that we'd get very little marks for writing them in that form. Paragraphs and full sentences are the way to go.

alright, thanks again

The Anglo-Irish Treaty. 1921 (2012, 2010)

-Promised that Ireland would have its own flag and parliament
    -It was the best thing available without going to war
    -It was a stepping stone towards becoming a Republic

-Negatives included that Ireland would still be part of the Common Wealth
    -Ireland would still have to remain loyal to the king
    -It did not make Ireland a republic and would partition Ireland into two states

The Civil War 1922-23 (2011, 2006)

-Began when Micheal Collins bombarded the four courts with artillery borrowed from the British
    -When TD's voted for the Anglo-Irish Treaty De Velera, Micheal Collins and others left the party as the disagreed
    -Arthur Griffith replaced De Velera
    -Irregulars were anti-treaty while regulars were pro-treaty
    -Irregulars took over four courts

-Civil War led to families being separated
    -Special Powers Act
    -900 killed and 30 million worth in damaged
    -Micheal Collins ambushed and murdered, Arthur Griffith died of a stroke

The Holocaust (2010, 2005)

-Mass genocide of Jews as organised by Himmler as approved by Hitler
    -6 millions Jews died as a result of the Holocaust
    -Jews, disabled people, gypsies and homosexuals rounded up and sent to concentration camps
    -Concentration camp examples included Dachau, Auschwitz and Treblinka
    -At these concentration camps they were forced to work until they could work no more. When they could no longer work they were gassed in gas chambers
    -The gas they used was Zyclone B

The Easter Rising (2010)

-Occurred in 1916
    -People involved include Michael Collins. The IRB organised a mass rebellion against the British. This was done at this time as the British were busy with the war against the Germans
    -Roger Covenant was sent to Germany to get weapons. He returned with over 20,000 rifles, 10 machine guns and ammunition on a boat called the Aud. This cargo never reached the rebellion though
    -Irish seized buildings such as the GPO, Bolands Mills and Jacobs Biscuit Factory
    -A British gun ship called the Helga bombarded Dublin and British forces were sent in
    -Irish forces kept hold for 6 days before finally being forced to surrender

-Dublin was destroyed and the leaders of the rebellion arrested or executed
    -Led to the Rise of Sinn Fein
    -Hatred of the British increased amongst the Irish

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,188 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

The Easter Rising (2010)

-Occurred in 1916
    -People involved include Michael Collins. The IRB organised a mass rebellion against the British. This was done at this time as the British were busy with the war against the Germans
    -Roger Covenant was sent to Germany to get weapons. He returned with over 20,000 rifles, 10 machine guns and ammunition on a boat called the Aud. This cargo never reached the rebellion though
    -Irish seized buildings such as the GPO, Bolands Mills and Jacobs Biscuit Factory
    -A British gun ship called the Helga bombarded Dublin and British forces were sent in
    -Irish forces kept hold for 6 days before finally being forced to surrender

-Dublin was destroyed and the leaders of the rebellion arrested or executed
    -Led to the Rise of Sinn Fein
    -Hatred of the British increased amongst the Irish

You should mention the poor reception it got in Dublin, until the executions started.

spurious wrote: »
    You should mention the poor reception it got in Dublin, until the executions started.

Ah, okay! Thank you c:

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Gulfstream757

Home Rule crisis
    • 1910 British prime minister Asquith needed votes of Redmond's MP's to stay in power so agreed to give Ireland home rule
    • Home rule to begin in 1914, Unionists opposed Carson and craig organised demonstrations and rallies
    • In one day 500,000 unionists signed the solem leauge and cobenant act-stating any means would be used in opposing home rule
    • UVF wasformed, got guns from germany which landed at Larne
    • The UVF worried Asquith so he got Redmond to talk to Carson about partition-Nationalists opposed
    • 1913 IVF set up, brought in guns at howth, police attempted to stop them but couldn't
    • 1914 WW1 started and Home rule as postponed

I have all the Irish history accounts if you want them???? Also most of the International relations accounts???

• Registered Users Posts: 7 enutrofnnelle

Anyone have a cold war account please ?[/QUOTE

JFK president early 1960's totally opposed communism
    cold war crisis between usa and ussr
    americans policy of containment
    tried overthrow communism defeated at bay of pigs
    ussr trade link with cuba
    secretly placed missiles in cuba to prevent american attack
    easier launch missiles from cuba destroy more cities
    us found missiles using u2 spy planes
    kennedy set up a senior advisor's committee to decide what to do
    placed blockade on cuba any ships travelling in or out would be shot
    they placed cuba in quarantine said they would attack ussr if any missiles shot from cuba
    ships continued war seemed likely
    both sides had nuclear weapons this was very dangerous
    JFK sent his brother to negotiate with the soviet ambassador
    reached compromise
    soviets withdraw missiles from cuba
    us withdraw secret missiles from turkey
    agreed to co operate
    hotline set up between white house and kremlin
    partial test ban treaty set up
    both parties agreed to stop testing nuclear weapons

these notes can be used both to describe an event during the cold war and a leader during a major cold war crisis in people in history (leader being Jhon F kennedy) i hope these help :)

yes please for the irish history i am ok on the international relations stuff. even just the main ones like the first inter party goverment and the rise of sinn fein and that kind of stuff

our teacher told us to write in full sentences but if u r running out of time write down bullet points and u can still get most of the marks as long as you have all the right information

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Would you people reconmmend learning about the Jesuits? I find it boring and somehow I just can't absorb any significent information on them besides the fact they had a major role in South America ... would you say a paragraph quesiton on them will come up this year? :o

It came up last year in section five so I doubt it'll come up again. There's always a choice with the paragraphs though so if you know the other reformation stuff you should be grand! C:

Yer, it won't come up this year, just seen it. I hate the reformation .. the only thing I know is Martin Luther XD. I spent all day today learning mind-maps, I have like 20 already learnt and like another 10 left ... :pac:.

• Registered Users Posts: 30 kaylee101

For the Ulster Plantation account on the effects on Culture and Customs is talking about new towns being set up relevant or would that be more Political Control?

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Heno97

Any predictions for question five and six?

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭abcdefghijkl

I'm a little nervous about the 1st/2nd year Q.6 option. I hope it's something I know well, 'cause I haven't even taken a glance at the Irish section or Social Changes section in my book, and don't plan to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭cfc.forever

Why wouldn't you plan too? You have the oppourtunity now to get a good grade in History and you're throwing it away. Study man :)

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭claryfray

Yer, it won't come up this year, just seen it. I hate the reformation .. the only thing I know is Martin Luther XD. I spent all day today learning mind-maps, I have like 20 already learnt and like another 10 left ... :pac:.

Feel like uploading them..? ;)

Why wouldn't you plan too? You have the oppourtunity now to get a good grade in History and you're throwing it away. Study man
    I can get a good grade by doing the 1st/2nd year section and World War II+Cold War section in question 6. I just don't have a backup plan if something isn't to my taste. However, I think it's a wiser choice to go over everything I plan on doing tomorrow, rather than beginning to study something new that isn't necessarily needed. Revising everything from 1st year, 2nd year and World War II today, will hopefully decrease the chance getting a scare in question 6, as I'll hopefully know my stuff well enough to stick to my plan.

claryfray wrote: »
    Feel like uploading them..? ;)
    The effort! ;) If you want me to write a sample answer or two, just ask :).

Ha ha I understand! One of these maybe?
    The Reign of Terror (2008)
    Reasons for the failure of the 1798 Rebellion in Ireland (2008)
    Reasons why the Industrial Revolution began in Britain (2008)

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭EnmxLP

i'm loving these, keep them coming i'm ****e at history

claryfray wrote: »
    Hey! So here's a list of all the History accounts that came up from 2005 - 2012

I was thinking we could help each other out,
    I'll type out a few sample answers and someone else can type out a few etcc :) That way we can see what we're leaving out, and what info other people have blah blah and hopefully improve our answers!
    (I'll put the account in bold when someone has answered it)

Note: The list doesn't include accounts of the Cold War, European Unity Q's etc or Social Change

• The Council of Trent (2012)
    • The Court Of Inquisition (2012)
    • The Jesuits (2012, 2009)
    • Duties of the lady in a castle (2012)
    • Training of a medieval craftsman (2012)
    • Life of a serf in a manor (2012)
    • The Anglo-Irish Treaty. 1921 (2012, 2010)
    • Life in Ireland During The Emergency (2012, 2008)
    • The Civil Rights Movement in Northern Ireland (2012, 2010, 2008)
    • Nazi Propaganda (2012)
    • Nazi Economy (2012)
    • The Nazi's and the Jews (2012, 2008)
    • The Industrial Revoluton; Housing and Diet, Health and Leisure, Education (2011)
    • Celtic Ireland; Housing, Food and Clothing, Work Arts and Crafts (2011)
    • The Civil War 1922-23 (2011, 2006)
    • Achievments of the Cumann na nGaedheal government 1923-32 (2011)
    • The First Inter-Party Government 1948-1951 (2011)
    • Achievements of the protuguese voyages (2010)
    • Conflict between European Powers as a result of the voyages (2010, 2005)
    • The Spanish Conquest of Mexico or Peur (2010)
    • The Renaissance; Architecture, Science and Medicine, Sculpture, Printing (2010, 2005)
    • The Easter Rising (2010)
    • The Economic War 1932-38 (2010, 2005)
    • The defeat of France 1940 (2010)
    • The Battle of Britain (2010, 2007)
    • The Holocaust (2010, 2005)
    • Operation Overlord (2010)
    • Plantations In Ireland; Religion, Political Control, Language and Customs (2009)
    • Calvins Church in Geneva (2009)
    • Henry VIII and the Reformation in England (2009)
    • The Home Rule Crisis 1912-14 (2009)
    • The Irish Free State 1922-32 (2009)
    • Ireland under De Valera 1932-39 (2009)
    • Seán Lemass as Taoiseach 1959-66 (2009)
    • Causes of the American War of Independence (2008)
    • The Reign of Terror (2008)
    • Reasons for the failure of the 1798 Rebellion in Ireland (2008)
    • Reasons why the Industrial Revolution began in Britain (2008)
    • Living conditions in industrial towns (2008)
    • Improvements in transport during the Industrial Revolution (2008)
    • The First Dáil 1919 (2008)
    • Mussolini's political achievements 1922-1939 (2008)
    • Education and Youth Control in Nazi Germany (2008)
    • The impact of the Reformation on Ireland (2007)
    • Religious Wars in Europe (2007)
    • The Counter Reformation (2007)
    • Ancient Civilization outside Ireland (Rome/Egypt etc); Clothing and Food, Arts Crafts and Work, Burial Customs and Religion (2007)
    • Political Developments in the Republic of Ireland during the 1950's (2007)
    • Political Developments in the Republic of Ireland during the 1960's (2007)
    • Political Developments in Northern Ireland 1963-1974 (2007)
    • Operation Barbarossa (2007, 2005)
    • Operation Overlord (2007)
    • The Impact of the Famine on Ireland after 1850 (2006)
    • Problems faced by Irish emigrants (2006)
    • Contrasting Lifestyles between rural Ireland and industrial England around 1850 (2006)
    • Problems faced by town dwellers in the Middle Ages (2006)
    • The life and training of a craftsman in a medieval town (2006)
    • The Dublin lockout (2006)
    • Relations between the Irish government and the UK 1932-39 (2006)
    • The 1950s in Ireland (2006)
    • Terence O'Neill (2006)
    • Italy under Mussonlini up to 1939 (2006)
    • Britain between wars (2006)
    • The Soviet Union under Stalin up to 1939 (2006)
    • The invasion of Poland 1939 (2006)
    • The Battle of Stalingrad 1942-43 (2006)
    • The Fall of Berlin 1945 (2006)
    • The Impact of Exploration on native populations in the New World (2005)
    • The benefits to European countries from such explorations (2005)
    • The Shannon Scheme (2005)
    • The Mother and Child Scheme (2005)
    • Ian paisley or John Hume (2005)
    • The Blitz 1940 (2005)

For some reason the 'EDIT' button isn't coming up, so I can't put them in bold..? :/

Alright, i'm starting to freak out. I think reformation will come up for Q6 A) by looking at the past papers. I can't find my notes on the Jesuits and Calvin and the City of Geneva.

Does anybody care to share 6 bullet points(facts) on both:
    -Jesuits
    -Calcin and the city of Geneva

I will trade notes if you want XD. I'm pretty loaded with history besides them two :)

• Ignatius Loyola founded the Jesuits.
    • He came from a noble family, and was a soldier but became wounded.
    • Whilst recovering, he read books about the lives of saints and decided to dedicate himself to God.
    • With seven companions, Loyola set out to preach to Muslims in the Holy Land.
    • A war prevented them from getting there, and they ended up in Rome.
    • Here Loyola founded the Society of Jesus or the Jesuits.
    • Their aims were to spread faith by missionary work and educate the young and poor.
    • The Jesuits were an army dedicated to the service of the pope.
    • The head was called the General.
    • He wrote a prayer book call Spiritual Exercises.
    • The Jesuits set up schools in many countries.
    • Jesuits missionaries went to Protestant countries to preach the Catholic faith and Catholic countries to persuade people to remain loyal to the Catholic faith.
    • The Jesuits travelled to America and Asia.
    • They protected native South Americans from exploitation.
    • St. Francis Xavier, a famous Jesuit missionary, preached Christianity in India, Sri Lanka, Japan and Malaysia.

Uh oh... that was a bit more than six. I suck at bullet points. :D

• Ignatius Loyola founded the Jesuits.
    • He came from a noble family, and was a soldier but became wounded.
    • Whilst recovering, he read books about the lives of saints and decided to dedicate himself to God.
    • With seven companions, Loyola set out to preach to Muslims in the Holy Land.
    • A war prevented them from getting there, and they ended up in Rome.
    • Here Loyola founded the Society of Jesus or the Jesuits.
    • Their aims were to spread faith by missionary work and educate the young and poor.
    • The Jesuits were an army dedicated to the service of the pope.
    • The head was called the General.
    • He wrote a prayer book call Spiritual Exercises.
    • The Jesuits set up schools in many countries.
    • Jesuits missionaries went to Protestant countries to preach the Catholic faith and Catholic countries to persuade people to remain loyal to the Catholic faith.
    • The Jesuits travelled to America and Asia.
    • They protected native South Americans from exploitation.
    • St. Francis Xavier, a famous Jesuit missionary, preached Christianity in India, Sri Lanka, Japan and Malaysia.
    Thanks, you're a life saver! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 30 kaylee101

Alright, i'm starting to freak out. I think reformation will come up for Q6 A) by looking at the past papers. I can't find my notes on the Jesuits and Calvin and the City of Geneva.

Does anybody care to share 6 bullet points(facts) on both:
    -Jesuits
    -Calcin and the city of Geneva

I will trade notes if you want XD. I'm pretty loaded with history besides them two :)

jesuits
    - also called the society of Jesus
    -set up by St ignatius loyola who,while recovering from an injury in war read
    a book on the life of christ
    -inspired him to Set up the jesuits which was approved by the pope in 1540(?)
    -wrote spiritual exercises to instruct his followers on how to behave
    -restored catholism in poland and Southern germany
    -built churches in baroque style
    -founded schools to teach sons of nobles who would later influence society