Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russian Mafia Operating In Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

faustino1 wrote: »
    Judging by the responses here, you deserve to have your country destroyed.

When you're sobbing about the criminality, take a look in the mirror you inbred useless *****.

And what do you believe should be the correct response on here?

"Oh My Lord Sweet Babby Jesus, Mary, the donkey and wholegrain toast, fúcking furriners coming over here, taking jobs away from our own gangs?"

As I have already said, your links between what was seen and what you think happened is tenuous. I'm not denying that there are criminal gangs, both homegrown and imported, operating here. The Gardai are well aware of said gangs, with Operation whatever (seriously, who names these? Operation Wireless dealing with Triads?) ongoing. Apart from reporting suspicious behaviour, what more do you want plain jane and honest john citizens to do? Start lynching anyone that speaks with an accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

On a serious note, anybody know how Russian or Chinese gansters can even get into this country?
    Would they been known gangsters back home before they come here?

Gangs suggests a large number, not just one or two

This is a country that had Prawo Jazdy as the main culprit of driving offences, up and down the country.

If someone wants into a country, they'll get in. See, the thing about criminals is that they don't necessarily play by the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

How could you tell that they were speaking Russian? The average Irish person could not distinguish the Russian language from Polish, Lithuanian, Czech or any other slavic language.

Of course they could. I don't speak any of those languages but I've met enough Poles, Russians and Lithuanians through my job, to be able to distinguish one from the others. Russian is very harsh sounding, Lithuanian is much softer. If there's lots of "tak", "dobry" or "kurva" then it's easy to tell that it's Polish.

The average Irish person must be very slow in your eyes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

How could you tell that they were speaking Russian? The average Irish person could not distinguish the Russian language from Polish, Lithuanian, Czech or any other slavic language.

Lithuanian isn't slavic, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Lithuanian isn't slavic, is it?

It's a Baltic language which is a sub-branch of Balto-Slavic. Basically it comes under the Slavic family tree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Have they not taking over the doors of some establishments in North Dublin?
    Pushing out some of the Irish crims that no longer want to get their hands dirty.
    Crims

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Paul Williams
    <3
    this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

OP has closed their account. Wonder if they were got to. :eek:

The plot thickens.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,283 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Some Russian speaking Latvians probably got them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Ding ding ding! Welcome to 2013, OP. You think Ireland is the only place with foreign criminals and that it's gonna be like a crime headquarters?

The real gangsters are taking over Ireland, showing the weak Irish gangs how its done. The Mexicans will be here soon. Get used to seeing beheadings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

grenache wrote: »
    It's a Baltic language which is a sub-branch of Balto-Slavic. Basically it comes under the Slavic family tree.

Isn't it rather that the Slavic family tree is parallel to the Baltic language tree?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 179 ✭✭Encrustment

There's a casino on North Main street in Cork that always has dodgy Soviet looking fellas hanging outside it. Smell of Mafia off the place.

Anyone know the one I'm on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm not sure there's enough tenuous links on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

In soviet russia, drugs push you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Have they done any successfull heart surgeries yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭Meritocracy Wins

I hope the OP is ok.

Mental thread, I am glad I sleep at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

There's a casino on North Main street in Cork that always has dodgy Soviet looking fellas hanging outside it. Smell of Mafia off the place.

Theres a cream for that, apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Didnt read the entire thread and I'm sure someone said this already but Russians can sound like they are having serious disagreements and fighting when they are just talking together as friends. I had Russian speaking girlfriend and was convinced she was fighting every time she took a phone call, then she would start laughing showing the conversation was light hearted, it was very strange to an Irishman. Its just a harsh language, its possible the 2 girls were only talking. As for the mafia, there are certainly crime gangs here, any Russian lads I met that she knew were the shadiest fu**ers ever, and ultimately was the reason we're not together now. They were into passport scams mainly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

i think the real lesson here is to buy your drugs from irish people only, come on lads in this economic climate we all have to pull together ,

fact is there is of course russian as well as many other non nationals organised crime gangs operating in ireland , why the frack wouldnt they , we have a police force trained and equipped to deal with half arsed irish gangsters from the 80s, and a justice system that is a laughing stock in thier home countries ,
    the worst possible case for some one who is caught is move to another province or leave the county and come back in with a new name .
    euro style cooperative policing is the start of an answer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

There's a Lithuanian mafia here anyway and they're quite the hardy chaws. They're only getting settled at this stage, it's all new and shiny for them so they're still at the "getting comfy" stage. Give them a couple of years and they'll be nicely settled in. I know a few of them, their main hobby is "gym", steroids and money and they spend a lot of time at their hobbies. They are also used to a level of violence back home that really is off the scale for Ireland.

The Gards are hamperd in dealing with them by a few issues - 1.Gardai havn't any idea who the hell is who and all the names sound the same and they speak a "funny" language. 2.They are quite good at thinking of new and wonderous ways of making money. 3. They actually work really, really hard at being a criminal, it's not part time like our own lads. 4.Getting shot, stabbed and mutilated is no biggie - an err, acquaintance of mine was shot with a shotgun, stabbed and then had pit-bulls set on him - the result is that below the neck his skin looks like someone put him in a blender, but that's no biggie.

Another "acquaintance" has no problem at all driving cars over opponents and considers it a valuable secondary benefit of motoring. Another was hurled off a seventh storey balcony back home - luckily he landed on grass and only broke his back, ie-no biggie and he has not let it hold him back and no, he is not in a wheelchair either - fully bipedal.

Stick around Ireland, cos soon these fellas will be fully settled in, that should be fun.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Did you ever wonder about all these Italian chip shops in Ireland? A front for La Cosa Nostra maybe? :pac:

Utter nonsense and scaremongering. They're the N'Drangheta, not Cosa Nostra. Cosa Nostra is now the Systema and has better things to be doing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

When all these nationalities blend together, i wounder what the new breed of mafia would be called.?

Cuntry Folk?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

i do know of a few irish travelers who inter breed with Nigerian and other criminals , they will surely produce some form of unholy super knack, capable of committing then crimes at the same time while double claiming the dole and resistant to pepper spray and battons

i tremble at the thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I once watched Eastern Promises. Does that count?

Naomi Watts is purdy

I once watched Eastern Promises. Does that count?

Naomi Watts is purdy
    That was about the Vors - Vory Y Zakonye, they're a rarer breed and again have bigger fish to fry than Ireland - we just get the "overflow" who spill out of the UK and Spain, sort of a bit second rate but still exotic by our standards. They think they've died and gone to heaven when they see the way our Law operates. And our welfare..

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

In fairness we along with the Italians exported gangsters on a widespread scale, It's only right now that we get repayed the favour. :pac:

The Russians in Italy would be funny though considering the greaseballs phobia of other cultures. I've never seen anything like them for pure unadulterated hatred. The racial element is a bit dirty to say the least, when I visited the San Siro in Milan racist graffiti in relation to Ballotelli lined the walls of the racetrack next door. A nightclub we visited that evening had a no black policy, we were badly treated too because we were English speaking.

I found the southern cities to be similar in many regards, up their arse and stereotypical Italians. Unlike us they really don't give a sh1t about what anybody thinks of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,386 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

My last ex was estonian. Ethnic russian though. all 4 grand parents were russians So she, like 1/3 of estonians, spoke fluent russian. She had loads of estonian friends who spoke russian. I could, before this, identify russian. It is possible. But there's no way i could have been able to tell if they were estonian/russian etc...

The couple the OP saw were probably estonian and were probably having an argument. Thinking they're russian maffia is like thinking that when you hear two people with northern accents arguing must be IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

They're a massive organisation so probably do have dealings in Ireland, same as the Chinese and others. Just a natural progression of things.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Chad Suave

dsmythy wrote: »
    They're a massive organisation so probably do have dealings in Ireland, same as the Chinese and others. Just a natural progression of things.
    Don't let the IDA hear that or they'll be offering them grants and tax-breaks to relocate more of their activities here. Probably build them a nice big building somwhere in the Midlands.