Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

benefits of NOT having a beard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭thiarfearr

Real Life wrote: »
    I wash and condition my beard everyday and also comb it numerous times throughout the day. Im probably the cleanest person i know so your argument is invalid.

Being the cleanest hippy you know isn't something to brag about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Triangla wrote: »

Sadly not here, you need to request to have one (thats what your told anyway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Are there any bearded men that grow their beard for a reason other than to establish their male identity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭V123

I am a women and my husband has a beard, always has since Ive known him.

when we were getting married, friends kept asking me if I was going to get him to shave it for the day! I was thinking 'no', 'why'

I don't get the problem with beards, I like them :)

also most women I know have at least admitted that they do like 3-4 day stubble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Duffelblog.com is satire btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Triangla wrote: »
    Duffelblog.com is satire btw

Whoops :o as you were, carry on :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Pj! wrote: »
    Are there any bearded men that grow their beard for a reason other than to establish their male identity?

Yes, it keeps me company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

It eliminates the need for an effeminate scarf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

IM0 wrote: »
    no its a testosterone thing, you cant teach testosterone, you cant teach manliness either, either you have it or you dont

Genetics are more relevant than testosterone levels. Africans have 20% higher testosterone levels than Caucasians but less facial hair (possibly due to the partial Neanderthal heritage of the latter)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

ITT: Neckbeards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I grew mine about 8 or 9 years ago at the request of my then girlfriend. Haven't looked back since. I love the feel of it, the look of it, the fact that I can stick pens in it.
    In fact, many of the complaints about beards on here are clearly coming from people who have never had a beard.
    For example, the only time I've ever had an itchy neck was on the one or two occasions when I shaved for whatever reason.
    Food in your beard? No, I manage to put whatever I'm eating into my mouth.
    Complaints from women? Quite the opposite in fact. I've been told I look far too young without it and one in particular enjoyed the brush of it across her nipples as i headed south.

Im glad there are so many haters though, It'd be boring if everyone had one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Genetics are more relevant than testosterone levels. Africans have 20% higher testosterone levels than Caucasians but less facial hair (possibly due to the partial Neanderthal heritage of the latter)

nothing of course to do with not needing one in africa

I grew mine about 8 or 9 years ago at the request of my then girlfriend. Haven't looked back since. I love the feel of it, the look of it, the fact that I can stick pens in it.
    In fact, many of the complaints about beards on here are clearly coming from people who have never had a beard.
    For example, the only time I've ever had an itchy neck was on the one or two occasions when I shaved for whatever reason.
    Food in your beard? No, I manage to put whatever I'm eating into my mouth.
    Complaints from women? Quite the opposite in fact. I've been told I look far too young without it and one in particular enjoyed the brush of it across her nipples as i headed south.

+1 most of this. Never liked beards. Loved the stubble. Then at the request of the OH I grew the beard now I can't ungrow it, or shave. The ability to wisely stroke ones beard is a facet of life I never want to lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

I'm certainly not a hater. Whatever you're into.
    Just never realised the psychological reasons behind so many men growing them.

I'll now eye each bearded man I meet with some more curiosity than before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,381 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

humbert wrote: »
    Women will talk to you.

this guy seems to be doing ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

IM0 wrote: »
    nothing of course to do with not needing one in africa

Did you intend to have a point somewhere here?

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Did you intend have a point somewhere here?

BEARDS! HAZAAH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Timmyctc wrote: »
    +1 most of this. Never liked beards. Loved the stubble. Then at the request of the OH I grew the beard now I can't ungrow it, or shave. The ability to wisely stroke ones beard is a facet of life I never want to lose.

Playing Civ V with a beard you can stroke as you make decisions is one of the greatest feelings you can have with your clothes on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

A bearded man is less of a man by growing a beard, he's just simply afraid of using a sharp razor!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Shaving's for women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'm so tempted to merge the two threads and not tell anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭erkifino

:o I read the thread title as 'benefits of NOT having bread'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Timmyctc wrote: »
    So many poor little guys unable to grow beards. Getting all riled up. Its okay though. Come, join us in the beard sanctuary and we will teach you the way of the beard.
    Unfortunately a lot of guys who cannot grow beards still attempt to, and end up looking like gobshites with their "knacker tash" bumfluff. Its as bad as combovers.

The benefit is not looking like a cunt, which many bearded & balding men do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

rubadub wrote: »
    Unfortunately a lot of guys who cannot grow beards still attempt to, and end up looking like gobshites with their "knacker tash" bumfluff. Its as bad as combovers.

The benefit is not looking like a cunt, which many bearded & balding men do.

.... must resist urge to compare hair around a hole.......

Shaving's for women.

Shavers can feel pain and are not afraid of a bit of spilled blood like a real man, instead of beard wimps who cry at the thought of a sharp blade to the face!;)

gurramok wrote: »
    Shavers can feel pain and are not afraid of a bit of spilled blood like a real man, instead of beard wimps who cry at the thought of a sharp blade to the face!;)

well you got me there, one of the reasons of growing and trimming it is that I HATE the feeling of fresh stubble every day, and my face feeling like the way they say a babies arse does.

but I offset this by trimming it so tight in places you would think I used a razor at first glance, but not without having some nips out of my cheeks in the process, but never blood spilled, just a 'ah ya ****er' moment and on we go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

instead of beard wimps who cry at the thought of a sharp blade to the face!;)

i have a beard most of the time but when i do shave i use a cut-throat, not your womans mach12 with a million blades and 'comfort strip'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Actually, shaving is a tedious chore that takes far more time than I have patience for. Real men don't have time for any of that sissy boy, preening nonsense!

If a certain occasion calls for it to be shaved off then I shall pay a professional to do it right with one of those big cutthroat razors.

Then I will grow it back, headbutt an oncoming train and eat an elephant for dinner. Alive. Because that's how I roll, girly man. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

FatherLen wrote: »
    i have a beard most of the time but when i do shave i use a cut-throat, not your womans mach12 with a million blades and 'comfort strip'!
    Actually, shaving is a tedious chore that takes far more time than I have patience for. Real men don't have time for any of that sissy boy, preening nonsense!

If a certain occasion calls for it to be shaved off then I shall pay a professional to do it right with one of those big cutthroat razors.

Then I will grow it back, headbutt an oncoming train and eat an elephant for dinner. Alive. Because that's how I roll, girly man. :cool:

These two comments win everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

* Smashes down door of thread with axe

"I've travelled 500 miles to give you my seed........................... Rahhhhhhhh"

mikom wrote: »

"I've travelled 500 miles to give you my seed........................... Rahhhhhhhh"

the back door?

mikom wrote: »

FatherLen wrote: »

Do you use a samurai for shaving? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

...............................Ridin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Steve Jobs before he died?
    Richard Branson?
    Alan Sugar?
    Yeah because they own the company :rolleyes:

Do you use a samurai for shaving? :)

no, I prefer to sword fight with my samurai , bare chested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Yeah because they own the company :rolleyes:

The companies they built whilst stroking their beards in business meetings with developers, suppliers, buyers, employees, shareholders etc..........:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

Honestly I think men look best with a bit of stubble..
    Beards make most people look lazy tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

I used to have a beard. Then i got a real job

IK09 wrote: »
    I used to have a beard. Then i got a real job

as someones bitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

This whole thing of people not getting a job with a beard is rediculous. People say it to me all the time, you'll never get a job with that beard.
    Unfortunately for them i already have one. A beard shouldnt and generally doesnt matter in most areas.
    I can understand someone working in the food industry not being allowed have a beard but i dont see how a builder, plumber, mechanic, doctor, solicitor, accountant or in my case designer having a beard should be a problem.

Loads of other jobs could be added to that list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,710 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Honestly I think men look best with a bit of stubble..
    Beards make most people look lazy tbh

A well look after beard is a marvel to look at. The time and effort involved is far from lazy.

Stubble would be the lazy option, as they are neither shaving enough or dedicated enough to maintain a well kept beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Real Life wrote: »
    This whole thing of people not getting a job with a beard is rediculous. People say it to me all the time, you'll never get a job with that beard.
    Unfortunately for them i already have one. A beard shouldnt and generally doesnt matter in most areas.
    I can understand someone working in the food industry not being allowed have a beard but i dont see how a builder, plumber, mechanic, doctor, solicitor, accountant or in my case designer having a beard should be a problem.

Loads of other jobs could be added to that list

Irishmen who work in office jobs who are under the age of fifty rarely have facial hair, as far as I can see. Over the age of 50, facial hair seems to be less uncommon.

Ireland is a small place with a conservative outlook on fashion, and beards aren't very fashionable in this country.

I've found that it usually tends to be slightly alternative type girls who tend to prefer bearded men. That said, after the ex Miss Mustard got over her intial distaste for a beard I had previously, she grew to like it.

So overall, I would venture a guess that a beard may be a disadvantage in trying to pick up a more conservative type lady. Of which there are many in this conservative country of ours.

Master of the Universe

So overall, I would venture a guess that a beard may be a disadvantage in trying to pick up a more conservative type lady. Of which there are many in this conservative country of ours.

Why would anyone want a conservative lady? How boring. Freaky deaky all the way. :pac: /strokes beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Luckily for me i have no interest in conservative ladys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Beards win and you win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

As a woman, beards don't do much for me at all. A bit of stubble is grand but no more than that. My biological instincts must be borked :pac:

Ilyana 2.0 wrote: »
    As a woman, beards don't do much for me at all. A bit of stubble is grand but no more than that. My biological instincts must be borked :pac:

you must be a conservative woman then :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭JD DABA

(no beard)

You can stand outside a school without being questioned.

Master of the Universe

JD DABA wrote: »
    (no beard)

You can stand outside a school without being questioned.

That's because they think you're a pupil ;)