Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masters in TEFL

• 11-06-2013 6:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭

Hi everyone,
    Not sure if this is the right forum to be posting in, but I'll give it a lash anyway. I graduated as a secondary school teacher a few years ago and I moved abroad to teach English last year.

At the moment I am considering doing a Masters in English Teaching in a French university, but I am wondering if there is any point in doing this? Most TEFL jobs that I have seen look for native English speakers, or for CELTA. There is the option to get into the French system but there is an awful lot of commitment and dedication afterwards and you cannot get out of contracts, etc. I am still in my 20s and want to travel a lot, however I want to keep building on my experience rather than taking a TEFL job "that anyone who is a native speaker" can do, as well as moving up the payscale somewhat, as much jobs I have seen just tend to be €1200 per month more or less.

My question is, would there be any point in me doing this masters if I already have an education degree and TEFL experience? Or would I just be doing a lot of work to move a bit further up the line for the same job as anyone with a degree? :rolleyes:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭RingTheAlarm!

Sorry could this be moved to Teaching and Lecturing please? I posted in the wrong forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

If I understand you correctly, you want to do this course to help your career.

In that case I would advise against it, and advise you to do a MBA or similar instead.