Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was Ireland's proudest moment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Enda finally tearing the Catholic Church to shreds with that speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

I am pie wrote: »
    why cringe?

Sycophantic lies generally cause me to cringe a bit is all. Being proud of your country by singing England's national anthem? Riiiiiiiight. I dunno why but there's always a similar comment in these kind of threads, kind of like that kid at school who sucks up to the bully who gave him ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Those foreigners Irish dancing on the Late Late. I shed a few tears.

''What Irish connections do you have?''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Wattle wrote: »

That's the most important speech given in Dáil Éireann in many years. Kenny will leave a legacy.

This is the most wonderfully progressive (and that's not saying much) Government we have had in this State for decades.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,254 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Zig & Zag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,876 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Sycophantic lies generally cause me to cringe a bit is all. Being proud of your country by singing England's national anthem? Riiiiiiiight. I dunno why but there's always a similar comment in these kind of threads, kind of like that kid at school who sucks up to the bully who gave him ****.

I didn't nominate that because people sang it. Who ever sings another country's national anthem?

I said that occasion because we finally had the maturity and decency to respect another country's national anthem, despite the "800 years of oppression" and all the politics and history and other stuff/guff that went with it.

I was there that day, and after all the build-up and anticipation and winding-up that went on in advance of it, it was honestly one of the most hair-raising few minutes ever. For me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Time for bed I think. I read that as "Enda finally tearing Charlotte Church to shreds".

Night night folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yes. That was sweet and well deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭Israeli Superiority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

At least if you're going to try and go against the title in a sarcastic way, hyperlink properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

When Fr. Ted aired for the first time, 9.30, channel 4, Friday night, mid to late 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

Sergeant wrote: »
    Joining the EEC in 1973.

Ha, ha, ha!! How I laughed..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I didn't find that one bit funny at all.
    The lad could have received a very bad injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ugh. All the stupid, mediocre sport stuff in here. Ireland getting knocked out of the world cup or playing a rugby game against England. Load of shite. What about Boyle's Law or the island's contribution to world-renowned literature and music? Or are tricolour wigs and inflatable hammers our crowning achievements?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Sergeant wrote: »
    That's the most important speech given in Dáil Éireann in many years. Kenny will leave a legacy.

This is the most wonderfully progressive (and that's not saying much) Government we have had in this State for decades.

Are you his love child Sergeant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

John-joe going on the late late toy show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Scylla wrote: »
    John-joe going on the late late toy show.

I love the way he laughs and says "a horologist". So cute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

In recent memory: The five part Con Houlihan magazine supplement in the Saturday edition of the Irish Independent.

A beautiful tribute to one of Ireland's great writers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭WakeUp

I know our politicians have made a mess of things for the present and forseeable future though a couple of things we can be proud of...

In the 50s Irish foreign minister Frank Aiken pioneered the cause of nuclear disarmament and non proliferation at the UN. In 1959 the UN adopted the resoultion put forward by Ireland. Recognising Ireland and Aikens contribution his was asked to be the first signatory of the NPT.

Another diplomat Sean MacBride co founded Amnesty International and played a pivitol role in drafting the European convention on human rights.

A couple of really important diplomatic achievements that benefit so many:)

Fianna Fail TD Ned O'Keeffe lobbying to get the film Babe banned in Ireland as he reckoned it would effect the sale of bacon in Ireland!:pac:

Oh and Lisbon treaty for jobs and stability, remember that one?:pac: Oh, oh, and The bank bailout, the cheapest bailout in the history of the state!!:pac: You couldn't make the stuff up!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭jeni

Irish fans in Poland :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Getting bailed out by the Troika. Seeing how a country should be run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

I'd agree with the poster who said the foundation of the state and add to it the fact that in a time where many in Europe were turning toward the ideas of Totalitarianism, Communism and Fascism, we established and maintained a functioning democracy. A Rugby or Soccer match aren't even 0.0000001% of the importance of that achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I'd agree with the poster who said the foundation of the state and add to it the fact that in a time where many in Europe were turning toward the ideas of Totalitarianism, Communism and Fascism, we established and maintained a functioning democracy. A Rugby or Soccer match aren't even 0.0000001% of the importance of that achievement.

Bit dower tho? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The Queens visit 2 years ago.

It proved that bar very small minority people want to move on from the anti British crap of the past

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,792 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

colm911 wrote: »
    As a nation I think the proudest moment is the fact we're Irish. Tell me one country in the world that doesn't like us or everybody in it.

You are a bit off the mark there bud. We aren't liked half as much as we seem to think.

One example are the Aussies. A lot of Aussies are fairly pissed off with our youth going over there and vomiting all over that nice country of theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Ugh. All the stupid, mediocre sport stuff in here. Ireland getting knocked out of the world cup or playing a rugby game against England. Load of shite. What about Boyle's Law or the island's contribution to world-renowned literature and music? Or are tricolour wigs and inflatable hammers our crowning achievements?

Sport is something that can unite a village, a city or a country. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being proud of these achievements. Some of my proudest moments in my life are following my hometown football team the length and breadth of the country and abroad. Just because you don't agree with it doesn't make it "stupid" or "mediocre".

The fantastic literature and music that has been produced in this country is, of course, a fantastic thing, but that doesn't mean that people shouldn't be allowed to value sport highly. I'm sick of the condescending argument that sport is only followed by Neanderthals and that true intellects will only value the very finest of arts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,611 ✭✭✭✭josip

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    When Fr. Ted aired for the first time, 9.30, channel 4, Friday night, mid to late 90s.
    Not a bad choice but if it was such a proud moment why can't you remember what year it was? Or make the effort and google it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,611 ✭✭✭✭josip

BattleCorp wrote: »
    One example are the Aussies. A lot of Aussies are fairly pissed off with our youth going over there and vomiting all over that nice country of theirs.

You're actually in agreement with colm. The Aussies like Ireland and everyone in it. Especially when we're all "in it" and not travelling abroad and vomitting outside the Cock and Bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭scary

The end of the famine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

Manchester United beating Bayern in 1999 to bring the European Cup home to Ireland for the first time since Celtic beat beat Romania in that penalty shoot out against Italy in Poland. Up the ra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Enda kenny becoming Taoiseach .

The Queens visit 2 years ago.

It proved that bar very small minority people want to move on from the anti British crap of the past

Yeah, we must have the shortest memories on the planet when you see the Queen being welcomed like a long lost aunt the most of the population would vote for Fianna Fail again come election time.
    Sheeple, that's all people are now, can be herded like sheep by scare mongering and bully tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Not at all a fan of Enda's politics, but I have to say, I've been impressed by his surprising backbone in engagements with the church a few times now.

It's perhaps sad how surprising it is to hear language so uncompromising in Irish politics. I wouldn't mind hearing more of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Blueshirts getting shot to pieces (by friendly fire) in Spain's Civil war.

Wish I was there to video it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Ulysses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Realtivity

Geldof and Live Aid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

colm911 wrote: »
    As a nation I think the proudest moment is the fact we're Irish. Tell me one country in the world that doesn't like us or everybody in it.

Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

And was replaced by um... Cowen... who wasn't even elected as Taoiseach.

Proudest moment?

What's more he resigned mainly due to the Lisbon referendum... :pac: :D
    Was that his reason :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭davetherave

The Skibbereen eagle telling the Tsar of Russia that they would be keeping an eye on him has to be up there.

Otherwise I think the GFA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

inmyday wrote: »
    Why not be proud of a small country like ours producing Champions like Katie and Sonia?
    Is the Olympics and world championships not prestigious enough for you?

In Italia 90, we scored 2 goals in 5 games. And failed to win anything. The best thing about it was the p!ss up.
    Not saying it wasnt a major moment for a lot of us, but not our proudest.

That's your opinion & you're entitled to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Katie Taylor's win.

The temporary relaxation of Rule 42 at Croke Park and the Ireland v England rugby game that followed - we truly came of age as nation that day.

Grand Slam 2009

The Good Friday Agreement.

Independence 1948

The visit of Queen Elizabeth

Live Aid

The Special Olympics

Lighten up!

Why should we not celebrate our sporting heroes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

25 years ago, Euro '88, who put the ball in Englands net?:) First time most of the nation were cheering on a national team that was doing good at something. Yes sport, it tends to bring people together to celebrate an achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Paz-CCFC wrote: »
    Sport is something that can unite a village, a city or a country. There is absolutely nothing wrong with being proud of these achievements. Some of my proudest moments in my life are following my hometown football team the length and breadth of the country and abroad. Just because you don't agree with it doesn't make it "stupid" or "mediocre".

The fantastic literature and music that has been produced in this country is, of course, a fantastic thing, but that doesn't mean that people shouldn't be allowed to value sport highly. I'm sick of the condescending argument that sport is only followed by Neanderthals and that true intellects will only value the very finest of arts.
    Lighten up!

Why should we not celebrate our sporting heroes?

Nobody said you can't celebrate "our" sporting "heroes" but not a single thing any of them ever have achieved would rank amongst Ireland's proudest moment for me. Not a hope. Which do you think people will remember one hundred years from now: Dracula or John Aldridge yelling at the fourth official in USA 94? Think carefully before you answer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

When the British Empire who controlled two thirds of the world at the time asked for a truce from our small island. Unfortunately it all went to sh!t pretty quickly after that.

Nobody said you can't celebrate "our" sporting "heroes" but not a single thing any of them ever have achieved would rank amongst Ireland's proudest moment for me. Not a hope. Which do you think people will remember one hundred years from now: Dracula or John Aldridge yelling at the fourth official in USA 94? Think carefully before you answer.

First off don't be so patronising.

Secondly, I suppose there is no possible way anyone could remember both?

Again you need to lighten up and bit and leave the snobbery behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Tzar Chasm

Paz-CCFC wrote: »

what saddens me a little is that most people don't seem to know about any of the other great achievements made by irish men and women, people seem to fixate on the Rare sporting success and elevate it to some dizzying height, as if being able to kick a ball or run fast were the crowning glory of human achievement.

most 'proud patriots' in the pub could name the italia 90 squaf

ask someone to name 3 irish noble prize winners tho and see how much they know about our national heritage.

I would be utterly amazed if any of them named Ernest Walton, who imo is responsible for one of the greatest inventions of all time, the particle accelerator, which is the great grandaddy of the large hadron collider at cern today.

course Walton couldn't play football so he's relegated to the footnotes of history

That was a failure, we missed our intended target.

How about the day we got full independence from Britain.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Ireland_%28island%29

I hear it's much better than the old Ireland.