Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tom Clancy's The Division

• Registered Users Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    That's something I haven't given thought to yet but really have to, builds. I have loads of gear sets, not usre if I have a full set but never looked into the stats with each, just what had the highest score (and highest health mostly). Will need to go through them and find what suits my playstyle.melted the enemies, definitely the way to go over solo.

There's definitely top tier builds and those that aren't so great. I'd put Nomad, Striker, D3FNC and Reclaimer in the top tier but some of this is personal preference. Sentry/Hunter's faith are very good if you're a sniper and capable of hitting headshots. Final Measure is a top tier set in a team. There's no bad set except maybe Alphabridge which is wrong on so many levels but can be fun and the 6th piece of Tactician and Firecrest are poor.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,841 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

gimli2112 wrote: »
    There's definitely top tier builds and those that aren't so great. I'd put Nomad, Striker, D3FNC and Reclaimer in the top tier but some of this is personal preference. Sentry/Hunter's faith are very good if you're a sniper and capable of hitting headshots. Final Measure is a top tier set in a team. There's no bad set except maybe Alphabridge which is wrong on so many levels but can be fun and the 6th piece of Tactician and Firecrest are poor.

I definitely have to take a look at what gear I have, see what I want to start building out and making a few different loadouts. Definitely like the sound of Nomad.

Also, when ye are all going on about Lexington, was that just for GE or is it some kind of hotspot for quick/easy loot?

Nomad's probably my favourite . Have around 8700 firearms with the rest into stamina to unlock some gun talents. You really have (a minimum of) two lives so your health can be fairly low.
    Lex is probably the fastest way to farm GE credits outside of Clear Sky but clear sky requires some co-ordination and communication, these are in short supply running with randoms. My communication with teammates in Legendaries/Incursions is normally "What are you doing here, why are you doing that, don't do that, ah ffs....."

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Rob2D

Decided to try make it to PvP rank 99. I think I'm at 42 now.

Why do I do these things to myself? :(

Just remembered on one of my Dragon's Nest runs the boss fire engine dropped an exotic. I eagerly ran to it only to be disappointed by a golden rhino. Never mind I thought as I opened my exotic cache to earn a golden rhino. RNG at its finest.

New legendary mission, must be up on the PTE on PC. Haven't looked at this but they wipe inside the first minute. Sounds like fun.

Rob2D wrote: »
    Decided to try make it to PvP rank 99. I think I'm at 42 now.

Why do I do these things to myself? :(

I only gave DZ a proper go in my mid twenties. Found some great gear but got wrecked trying to extract it. According to my trophies, I have never extracted a DZ item :( Might go back now as I have a nice setup currently.

I used to do all my extracting in DZ 9. Then the gank squads moved to DZ 9 and I now have to run about a bit. Half the fun and all the stress come from trying to extract something you really want.
    Read a painful story on Reddit about extracting a house. I've fast travelled in the DZ before and lost classified gear but this is worse.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/The_Division/comments/83f6u3/i_fcked_up_lemme_tell_you_about_it/

I used to do all my extracting in DZ 9. Then the gank squads moved to DZ 9 and I now have to run about a bit. Half the fun and all the stress come from trying to extract something you really want.
    Read a painful story on Reddit about extracting a house. I've fast travelled in the DZ before and lost classified gear but this is worse.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/The_Division/comments/83f6u3/i_fcked_up_lemme_tell_you_about_it/

Ha that's gas, I didn't realise you could take a breather in the checkpoints. I remember losing my direction in there before and heading to LZ instead of DZ and being annoyed becuase of an extra few seconds of loading time going back in, can't imagine the rage of losing a rare weapon like that.

What skills are people using? I never use seeker mines or the shield, have used the same health regen and pulse with instat health regen as sig skill. I tried mine and shield a few times and never had success but maybe didn't give them enough time. Can the seeker be a good option if you buff yup your skill stat? I usually have it low to favour health and damage.

Support box immuniser. This gives better burst heal than the first aid skills if you explode it or can be used to counter status effects and a small constant heal. Run this on all characters.

Pulse is probably my second. Even at lower electronics builds it gives around 10% crit hit chance and 15% crit hit damage. On the electronics builds it makes a huge difference. +40% CHC and + 50% CHD.
    Use the flashy bomb a lot as it's great for getting at enemies behind cover, shield eejits and hunters.
    Use revive first aid a lot when running with randoms in legendries or incursions.

The offensive skills aren't great unless you are running an electronics build. There was a time when smart cover was king, they nerfed it but it's still criminally underused. I'm guilty of not using it myself.
    Shield is required for a D3FNC build where it really shines. I found it really useful in the game mode ranking up. Always ran it with the support box, in the end.

Thanks will change my health regen to support box. Is that the one that sends out a green circle and heals/revives everyone in it? Nearly every group i ran with the last week had that, wasn't sure what it was but was very ****ing handy to just crawl into it.

Yup that's the one. There's three choices. Revive box which revives anyone in the circle (although the other two revive you manually if you hit square at the box) and has a faster health regen than the others. Immuniser which protects from status effects and the ammo box which doesn't take ammo from your clip when you reload inside the green circle.
    The reclaimer box is mental. It has 100% health regen on the 6th piece, includes all the specific attributes (revive, immuniser and ammo) and you can mod it so the circle of influence is huge. If you are running reclaimer you're best to pick the revive box which gives you the faster regen, I think.

If anyone else like me is just thinking about sets now, found a handy pic showing all the bonuses, should make it easier to see what you might want to look for although I think it might be take what you get for a while.

d2oOn9N.png

I only gave DZ a proper go in my mid twenties. Found some great gear but got wrecked trying to extract it. According to my trophies, I have never extracted a DZ item :( Might go back now as I have a nice setup currently.

No I mean PvP rank not DZ rank.

Those new Legendary missions actually look really easy. In the sense that they're so straightforward. The reason they keep wiping is because they could afford to play carelessly.

Rob2D wrote: »
    No I mean PvP rank not DZ rank.

Those new Legendary missions actually look really easy. In the sense that they're so straightforward. The reason they keep wiping is because they could afford to play carelessly.

Sorry dunno why I read that as DZ!

Also, this game could do with a companion app for item management

Sorry dunno why I read that as DZ!

Also, this game could do with a companion app for item management

Post on reddit asking what you want for division 2 and this is all I could think of. One guy went into great detail. Make it grindier so people can't get good gear, get rid of fast travel, weapons degrade and you have to repair, only carry a realistic number of weapons...... It was just one bad idea after another, let's hope the devs take none of it on board.

Left out the worst one. A hardcore mode so when you die you perma die and lose everything. Started shaking when I read it.

Jesus no fast travel???

My main wish for 2 is Survival gets expanded. Easily my favourite mode but I can't commit 40 to 60 minutes with the possibility of coming out with nothing. I'd love if they had a longer version of Survival with a bigger story that you could save. I know it kind of goes against the whole survival thing a bit but I love the basic weapons, crafting clothes to stay warm, getting sicker.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Post on reddit asking what you want for division 2 and this is all I could think of. One guy went into great detail. Make it grindier so people can't get good gear, get rid of fast travel, weapons degrade and you have to repair, only carry a realistic number of weapons...... It was just one bad idea after another, let's hope the devs take none of it on board.

Left out the worst one. A hardcore mode so when you die you perma die and lose everything. Started shaking when I read it.
    worldburn-top.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭_CreeD_

If that is all they wanted they could just delete their saves/characters to achieve most of it. What they really want is to be able to be able to tell people that they play Iron Man mode.

Personally I'd like to see weapon specialisation play a bigger role. Where the number of kills you have with any one weapon increases it's stats slightly, with no limit just a diminishing return as you go over the normal max. Something similar to Borderlands, with both a class of weapon and specific weapon buff being earned over time, and exclusive weapon skins associated with the tiers. Even if it got to the point you were just getting 1% every 10k-20k kills or so, where it might take you a couple of weeks to earn a point.

Headed into the dark zone, came across 2 lads who after sussing me out, invited me to their group. Followed them on a loot hunt and extracted my first DZ items. All headed back to checkpoint and noticed all my items were ****. They then took their items gear sets and left on the ground in front of me. They were lower stats than I already had but it was a lovely gesture.

So how are you six set classified noobs getting on with your new striker/reclaimer or should you run it Sentry Gear Sets :)

I certainly noticed a big difference once I started getting them but even more so when building and optimising the required talents. The div tech grind is the time consuming thing but this should change in the April patch.

I'll tell you when I get the final pieces :(

Ran some underground last night and finally killed some hunters after getting slapped around by them twice.
    They certainly make you work for the kill, sweaty moments galore.

Pretty good GE for Paddy's weekend. Nomad, D3FNC and Predator are all builds I run.
    Yeah Hunters are pretty fun, particularly in a group when one or two of your team mates go down early. I'm always baffled when they kill me but you do need to be careful.

Pretty good GE for Paddy's weekend. Nomad, D3FNC and Predator are all builds I run.
    Yeah Hunters are pretty fun, particularly in a group when one or two of your team mates go down early. I'm always baffled when they kill me but you do need to be careful.
    Yeh the first time me and a randomer in the group went down first after killing 2 of the hunters, ****er shocked me and then gave me a dig to kill me.
    We had the shock ammo directive on as well so that was hampering us a bit for DPS.

No classy drops from them though

Hunters rarely drop decent stuff for me but they do sometimes. With the shock ammo if you have an immuniser you can keep firing without any status effect. It drives me mental with randomers when that modifier's on and I see them drop a revive box, like literally full on mental.

That actually explains why it wasn't happening when Dude dropped his Reclaimer super box, we were mainly using it to keep the ammo count up

Tazzimus wrote: »
    We had the shock ammo directive on as well so that was hampering us a bit for DPS.

Sentry doesn't have that problem :)

Yeah hunters are for real. I remember the day Survival came out and I did my first run. Got to extract and my HUD went all scrambled. I didn't know they could do that! I'd never been so scared in the game before.

I've never actually faced a hunter, what would the immuniser have to do with using shock ammo? I think I'll try actually finish a game of Survival tonight, if time allows. If anyone is on tonight about 10 and fancies giving it a go with me gimme a shout.

When the shock ammo modifier is on you get shocked after firing your gun for more than a few seconds. If you drop an immuniser box on the ground and stand in the circle you don't get shocked.