Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wicklow Way run from Marlay to Roundwood - July 6th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Air Traffic Control Tower - also known as Mrs. Yifter.

I'm assuming Mrs.Yifter is not a Boards aficionado...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

belcarra wrote: »
    We'll all be sprinting up Kilmashogue afterwards!:pac:

Not for long though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,027 ✭✭✭opus

Would love to & by coincidence will be in Dublin the following two weekends in July but sadly not that one :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

I'm assuming Mrs.Yifter is not a Boards aficionado...:pac:

Not that I'm aware of but I could be wrong :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Don hannon is doing the solo out and back on friday night...fb page

ultraman1 wrote: »

All the goading of Enduro on here (and elsewhere i'm sure!) and Don comes out of leftfield to steal the thunder!
    I'd assume we're talking approximately 50 hours or so for this??
    Fair play to him if he gets anywhere close to completion.

I'd assume we're talking approximately 50 hours or so for this??
    36 afaik

36 afaik

• Registered Users Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Fair play to him. Looking forward to seeing him off from Marlay, I hope the weather plays ball for him. Wet conditions will make it hard going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

All the goading of Enduro on here (and elsewhere i'm sure!) and Don comes out of leftfield to steal the thunder!

Betcha Enduro sneaks out tonight and runs it before Don :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭Enduro

HA! :D

No, I'm doing my own madness this weekend. A very short notice Bob Graham round attempt, with Billy Reed and newly local superstar Paul Tierney. Only put together yesterday.

That'll extend my run of big ultras every 2 weeks to 4!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Enduro wrote: »
    HA! :D

No, I'm doing my own madness this weekend. A very short notice Bob Graham round attempt, with Billy Reed and newly local superstar Paul Tierney. Only put together yesterday.

That'll extend my run of big ultras every 2 weeks to 4!

Ha. "A very short notice Bob Graham attempt."

Any time targets in mind?

Just to finish in under 24 hours. Will probably target 22 for "insurance".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Enduro wrote: »
    Just to finish in under 24 hours. Will probably target 22 for "insurance".

Best of luck. Good guides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

What's the expected ETA in Roundwood?

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    What's the expected ETA in Roundwood?
    ... Meeting Friday (tomorrow night) 11.15 PM
    Depart Marlay park 12 Midnight.
    Crone Wood Car Park. 22k approx 2.30 am. Distance Covered 22km
    Glendalough 29k: 5.30am Outside Hotel Entrance. Distance Covered 51km
    Iron Bridge 28k: 11.00am Distance Covered 79km
    Dying Cow 21k: 1pm Distance Covered 100km
    Raheenakit 11k 2.pm Distance Covered 111km
    Clonegal 16k 4pm Distance Covered 127km

Back ( all complete guess work of course)
    Clonegal 4pm
    Raheenakit 16k 6.30pm Distance Covered 143km
    Dying Cow 11k 8.00pm Distance Covered 154km
    Iron Bridge 21k 11.00 Distance Covered 175km
    Glendalough 28k: 2.30am Outside Hotel Entrance Distance Covered 203km
    Crone Wood Car Park. 29k approx 6.30 am. Distance Covered 232km
    Marlay park 22k 9.30 for Breakfast Distance Covered 254km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,535 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Name|Definite|Maybe
    Belcarra|Definite|
    Blockic|Definite|
    Sideswipe|Definite|
    Statss|Definite|
    DogSlySmile|Definite|
    Micilín Muc|Definite|
    Vader MLK||Maybe
    Drquirky||Maybe
    PaulieYifter|Definitely...|...Maybe
    nerraw||Maybe
    jeffontour||Maybe
    BeepBeep67||Maybe Baby
    career_move||Maybe|
    b.harte||Maybe|
    KielyU||Maybe|

Taking my name off the list, as unfortunately it clashes with a work trip. I'll try and find some hills in Minneapolis instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Was just told Don is going great ATM:D

3km away from Clonegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

He is on his way back now :D

Iheard on the Wicklow way fb page that After 210km Don had to abandon his run due to severe blisters, with about 40k still to go.

Too bad he couldn't finish but its still an amazing run.

Name|Definite|Maybe
    Belcarra|Definite|
    Blockic|Definite|
    Sideswipe|Definite|
    Statss|Definite|
    DogSlySmile|Definite|
    Micilín Muc|Definite|
    Vader MLK||Maybe
    Drquirky||Maybe
    nerraw||Maybe
    jeffontour||Maybe
    BeepBeep67||Nope
    career_move||Maybe|
    b.harte||Maybe|
    KielyU||Maybe|

I'll be Grooving

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I'll be Grooving

Some interesting acts that I wouldn't mind seeing there on the Whelans stage Beepbeep. I'm sure we could be back in Bray by mid afternoon if that suited ya??

If it was just me yes, but will have the OH and kids so it's a day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Reesy

sideswipe wrote: »
    Count me in. Taxi back to Marley divided by 4 might be cheep enough? Looking forward to this, WW solo race 2014 here we come???
    You could maybe do a car split - leave 1 car at a bus stop, then go in the other car(s) to Marlay. When you get back, you have a car ready for you at the bus stop!

No, I won't be joining you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

IMRA are still looking for a Race Director for this event so the entry details will probably not come live until after that time. Keep an eye on the IMRA event page for updates.

FYI - Entry for this is now open

Hey guys : I'm not sure if I can manage the full distance, so depending on how I feel, I may loop back to Marley myself after we hit Prince Williams Seat if that's okay. If the pace is manageable though I could be fine, just cautious of overdoing it. Looking forward to it all the same :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

statss wrote: »

Where is the registration, don't see anything on the IMRA or runireland sites ?

When I log into my IMRA account, I get an option to purchase pold entry on the front "welcome X" page, the link is beside the "edit my profile" and "purchase race voucher" links towards the top of the page

Good spot. Is the date confirmed as the one on the site or is it being moved ?

Hey guys : I'm not sure if I can manage the full distance, so depending on how I feel, I may loop back to Marley myself after we hit Prince Williams Seat if that's okay. If the pace is manageable though I could be fine, just cautious of overdoing it. Looking forward to it all the same :)

Thanks for the DMP heads-up!

No worries about doubling back if you feel like it. We don't have to travel as one group anyways - I'm sure there'll be a few racing off ahead at some stage or other. I was speaking to Micilin Muc last night at Kippure race and he may be in a similar boat, although he is still thinking about doing the entire run also.

If you like you could make contact with the taxi guy to see if there are any options to pick you en route and then wait for the rest of us in Roundwood.
    Probably a long shot but PM me if you want his contact details to find out. In fairness he does sound very accommodating.

Thanks for the DMP heads-up!

No worries about doubling back if you feel like it. We don't have to travel as one group anyways - I'm sure there'll be a few racing off ahead at some stage or other. I was speaking to Micilin Muc last night at Kippure race and he may be in a similar boat, although he is still thinking about doing the entire run also.

If you like you could make contact with the taxi guy to see if there are any options to pick you en route and then wait for the rest of us in Roundwood.
    Probably a long shot but PM me if you want his contact details to find out. In fairness he does sound very accommodating.

Sound, I'll drop you a line next week. I'm doing my long run this Sunday around the Plod route so I'll have a better idea what distance I'm in shape for after that (as I'll be a little stiff after Saturday's 5mile race).

I was going to double back with you Statts but I realised that the IMRA Leinster Championship Fraughen Rock Glen race is on the next day which I want to give a go.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I was going to double back with you Statts but I realised that the IMRA Leinster Championship Fraughen Rock Glen race is on the next day which I want to give a go.

Do both!;-)

Ha, I knew someone would reply with such an answer ! As much as I'd like to, I think I'd be pushing it on the family pass front.

I could do with a long run on the WW though, first race in 3 weeks was last night and I'm feeling it this morning, plus it was my worse positioning in an IMRA race to date.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    plus it was my worse positioning in an IMRA race to date.

Don't worry about that. Lots of people in the same boat <ahem>. Everyone speedy seemd to turn up last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

I'm going to go for the Curtlestown to Roundwood option (23km).

Plan for me is:
    • Route 44 Dublin Bus to Enniskerry (buses on the hour from D'Olier Street)
    • Taxi from Enniskerry to Curtlestown Wicklow Way Carpark (5km shouldn't cost more than a €10)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Right with a week to go, what items (survival pack! :D) should one be bringing on this run seeing as it's going to be 4-5 hours long?

Backpack a wise option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

blockic wrote: »
    Right with a week to go, what items (survival pack! :D) should one be bringing on this run seeing as it's going to be 4-5 hours long?

Backpack a wise option?

Definitely a backpack - a light rainproof jacket, phone, money and food/drink.

I should have mentioned, I can bring some supplies with me to Curtlestown for you to consume/dispose of! A 5-litre bottle of water could replenish one or two Camelbaks!

I'm bringing a light Deuter 10lt bag which will have my raincoat, water, trail mix, and a few bars.

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/deuter-speed-lite-10l-rucksack-hydration-compatible/

Name|Definite|Maybe
    Belcarra|Definite|
    Blockic|Definite|
    Sideswipe|Definite|
    Statss|Definite|
    Micilín Muc|Definite|
    Vader MLK||Maybe
    Drquirky||Maybe
    nerraw||Maybe
    jeffontour||Maybe
    BeepBeep67||Maybe Baby
    career_move||Maybe|
    b.harte||Maybe|
    KielyU||Maybe|

Sorry but I'll have to miss this one lads. I have a fundraiser for the Bay2Bray run planned for that night so will have to get my long run done early in the morning. Thinking about doing a Shankill-Tallaght-Shankill trip on the DMW instead with an 8 o'clock start. Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

Name|Definite|Maybe
    Belcarra|Definite|
    Blockic|Definite|
    Sideswipe|Definite|
    Statss|Definite|
    Micilín Muc|Definite|
    Vader MLK||Maybe
    Drquirky||Maybe
    nerraw||Maybe
    jeffontour||Maybe
    BeepBeep67||Maybe Baby
    career_move||Maybe|
    b.harte|Definite|
    KielyU||Maybe|

Pass now has the official seal of disapproval which means it's not going to be revoked. :pac:
    Belfast on the other hand is getting scolding disapproval. :(
    I might be bringing 2 more with me subject to child minding arrangements, theirs not mine :D
    Even doing a nice warm-up in Kerry this Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Name|Definite|Maybe
    Belcarra|Definite|
    Blockic|Definite|
    Sideswipe|Definite|
    Statss|Definite|
    Micilín Muc|Definite|
    Vader MLK||Maybe
    Drquirky||Maybe
    nerraw||Maybe
    jeffontour||Maybe
    BeepBeep67||Maybe Baby
    career_move|Definite|
    b.harte|Definite|
    KielyU||Maybe|

No excuses not to so moving myself into the definite group :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

Name|Definite|Maybe
    Belcarra|Definite|
    Blockic|Definite|
    Sideswipe|Definite|
    Statss|Definite|
    Micilín Muc|Definite|
    Vader MLK||Maybe
    Drquirky||Maybe
    nerraw||Maybe
    jeffontour||Maybe
    BeepBeep67||Maybe Baby
    career_move|Definite|
    b.harte|Definite|
    KielyU||Maybe|
    mithril||Maybe|

Should be good for this.

Name|Definite|Maybe
    Belcarra|Definite|
    Blockic|Definite|
    Sideswipe|Definite|
    Statss|Definite|
    Micilín Muc|Definite|
    Vader MLK||Maybe
    Drquirky||Maybe
    nerraw||Maybe
    jeffontour||Maybe
    career_move|Definite|
    b.harte|Definite|
    KielyU||Maybe|
    mithril||Maybe|

Dropping BeepBeep off as he is boogying as mentioned a while back. Must be overlap along the line.

Anyway, never mind the runnning now, who is bringing the tasty snacks?

Ideas and details please! :D

on a related note, what footwear are you all planning? I've got trail runners (Adidas Kanadia) which I've rarely used, would you get away with (more comfortable) road runners?

blockic wrote: »
    Anyway, never mind the runnning now, who is bringing the tasty snacks?

Ideas and details please! :D

More importantly who is going to carry the tasty snacks ;)

on a related note, what footwear are you all planning? I've got trail runners (Adidas Kanadia) which I've rarely used, would you get away with (more comfortable) road runners?

The IMRA. site says road runners would be fine

More importantly who is going to carry the tasty snacks ;)

I'll carry them in my stomach if anyone wants me too! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭sideswipe

Looking forward to this now, legs a bit knackered after the Waterford 'Ultra':D on Saturday so will be taking it handy with the Stone Mad Ultra the following week.

The forecast is predicting a scorcher of a weekend so it'll be a first run out for my new camelback.

Are we going to take a vote on start time? personally the earlier the better for me....would 9 be too early for most???

9 is grand for me anyway :)

sideswipe wrote: »
    Are we going to take a vote on start time? personally the earlier the better for me....would 9 be too early for most???

As much as I would love to say 9am, it's a bit of a trek from kilkenny (for bad morning folk) and a bit too much for b.harte in Cork!

Even 9:30 or 10am would make a big difference. 10 would be ideal.

Career move is out running at 5:30 so 9am is lunch time for her! :)