Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you think my chances are of getting mortgage approval?

Options
  • 12-06-2013 6:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 38

I am a primary school teacher, permanent 6 years on a salary of about 40k. My boyfriend is an electrician. He was working in England for the last two years and returned home at Christmas. He is working as a maintenance electrician for the last 4 months. He takes home about 500 per week. His job would be fairly stable but isn't called permanent as such a thing barely exists anymore. Between us we have no debts and 65k in savings.

However I have a record of being overdrawn since 2010, a problem I could have fixed ages ago that I stupidly thought wouldn't affect my credit rating. I was steadily saving and living on my wages, just in the red. Anyway, I have just topped up my account so that I am not in arrears. We have seen a house that we love and want to put an offer on it. I am afraid my bad credit rating will affect our chances. I know I could give myself 6 months to show a better credit rating but Im afraid the house will be gone. Also, I haven't been living on credit really because Im still only using the same amount of money. Do you think with a permanent job, good savings and now with no arrears, we might still stand a chance?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

was it an approved overdraft?

roughly how much are you considering trying to borrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 38 misshoney

yes, it was an approved overdraft. we would be looking to borrow about 200