Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sex Assault on Special Needs Girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭AnneElizabeth

Can't believe they haven't found him yet. I live on one of the streets mentioned, absolutely terrified..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Candie wrote: »
    I know what you're saying, but there is something especially evil about preying on someone vulnerable.

It's human nature to be more repulsed by crimes against children, or small animals, the elderly, or the vulnerable like this poor girl. It goes against the protective instinct inherent in most decent people towards those less able than themselves.

Anyone who is more repulsed by a crime against a small animal compared to any human has serious mental issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Anyone who is more repulsed by a crime against a small animal compared to any human has serious mental issues.

Then I have serious mental issues. I would be more repulsed by a gang doing harm to a defenceless animal, eg;

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/puppy-taylor-fights-on-after-having-throat-slashed-and-left-for-dead-in-portlaoise-28955378.html

Than a gang of knackers targeting another gang of knackers and doing harm. Infinitely more repulsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,954 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Depends.

Can't say I am bothered when members of gangland shoot each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

First of all, could people please stop using this horrible act to push agendas? The attacker race, religion, country of origin etc have zero to do with what he did.

I sincerely hope this sick individual gets whats coming to him. Of course every sexual assault is horrific but there is something truely sickening about target the most vulnerable people in society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭pabloh999

I think it's the defenseless part which repulses people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

pabloh999 wrote: »
    I think it's the defenseless part which repulses people

And yet we have seasoned posters making smug comments slagging disabled people and getting away with and another being banned for saying n*%ger .. Usual boards.ie double standards, it's not what's said sometimes but rather who says it.

Despicable crime. If a non irish citizen they should deported immediately and charged . If a citizen then a stiff sentence is required, though I doubt it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

thebullkf wrote: »
    And yet we have seasoned posters making smug comments slagging disabled people and getting away with and another being banned for saying n*%ger .. Usual boards.ie double standards, it's not what's said sometimes but rather who says it.

Despicable crime. If a non irish citizen they should deported immediately and charged . If a citizen then a stiff sentence is required, though I doubt it!

Can you pm me with examples of seasoned posters getting away with stuff please and anything else you find that crosses the line. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 BerryBlue

Nimrod 7 wrote: »
    I hope he gets caught and gets locked up for the rest of his sick, sad life.

Absolutely cowardly and inhumane act to assault a helpless person.

AGREE AGREE AGREE

- But, does it matter who an assault / rape was done to? Is it worse if it was done to a special needs person or to an able bodied woman/man - I just can't see how its deemed worse based on who the victim is - its a monstrous crime whoever the victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Frito

BerryBlue wrote: »
    AGREE AGREE AGREE

- But, does it matter who an assault / rape was done to? Is it worse if it was done to a special needs person or to an able bodied woman/man - I just can't see how its deemed worse based on who the victim is - its a monstrous crime whoever the victim.

Of course rape is a monstrous crime, but I suspect the allusion regards the psychological development of the person concerned. For example, an able-bodied man or woman will experience trauma, but they are in a better position to identify, articulate and seek help in resolving the trauma than someone who is disadvantaged by a learning disability.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,696 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

When I was a student one of my lecturers spoke about having conducted forensic interviews with people with an intellectual disability after they had been abused or assaulted. He was actually a bit more sound than some of the other lecturers and I'm wondering if this is because his experiences were more real world and that he was ultimately more compassionate. Anyway, I think with the right skills and experience someone like him can draw out what has happened. This might vary depending on what a person can articulate and they may not be able to speak in court, but at least they can disclose it and hopefully get support.

This is some of the research he's been involved in. http://www.childrensdatabase.ie/irish-child-health-database/document.asp?DocID=351

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

First of all, could people please stop using this horrible act to push agendas? The attacker race, religion, country of origin etc have zero to do with what he did.

I sincerely hope this sick individual gets whats coming to him. Of course every sexual assault is horrific but there is something truely sickening about target the most vulnerable people in society.
    It could have everything to do with what he did, no point being blind to it, in the UK we are starting to notice a trend of gangs of muslim men grooming underage white girls , should we just ignore religion or race if it could lead to a better understanding of why this Is happening and how to stop it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

gallag wrote: »
    It could have everything to do with what he did, no point being blind to it, in the UK we are starting to notice a trend of gangs of muslim men grooming underage white girls , should we just ignore religion or race if it could lead to a better understanding of why this Is happening and how to stop it?

Considering no one knows the ethnic background of the guy yet, yes, researching a link between the offender and his religion would be pointless.

I'd argue that researching a link between the mentl state of the individual who committed the crime and the crime itself would be far more benefitial to society, but every time I do, I'm shouted down in favour of more blood-thirsty (and massively inefficint) solutions.

But if it turns out he's Muslim? Oh yes, then we must look into his background and make sure that we take logical and effective steps. And at this point the agenda has been changed to immigration and not sex-abuse. Which is annoying, because it devalues the ordeal of the current victim and does nothing to help the next victim.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

....there also seems to be a link between groups music teachers, irish catholic priests and aged tv stars.....I await your interest in all 3.

Nodin wrote: »
    ....there also seems to be a link between groups music teachers, irish catholic priests and aged tv stars.....I await your interest in all 3.

Keep your head in the sand if you wish, muslim men are overly represented in sexual attacks on children making up 27% of the offenders while only making up 7% of the population. Are music teachers, priests and aged tv stars represented in these numbers or is that just you deflecting from the inconvenient truth as per usual?

Keep your head in the sand if you wish, muslim men are overly represented in sexual attacks on children making up 27% of the offenders while only making up 7% of the population.....

...a source, if you would?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Spot on and what is more worrying is the fact it was ignored for years for fears of been seen as racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

BerryBlue wrote: »
    AGREE AGREE AGREE

I totally understand your point that the crime is the same, but personally it is more empathy towards the victim. I mean obviously you would empathise with ALL victims, but if you put yourself in the shoes of a child or person with intellectual disability being unaware of what was happening, shuddering to think.. again, this is not undermining abuse to those who are aware- it is such a ****ed up subject..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,295 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You forgot the swimming coaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

This thread turns my stomach anytime I see the thread title while I'm scrolling down.

I thought it was common knowledge asian men are over represented in this particular crime?

Really......
    The report found that police, social services and charities were failing to properly investigate this issue[12] and that
    a quarter of offenders reported for child grooming since 2008 were Asian, a
    disproportionate figure compared to population figures.[13] But Peter
    Davies, the head of CEOP, was quick to clarify that the findings did not provide a national picture because of incomplete data, and cautioned against extrapolating anything from the results.
    He added that "looking at this issue through the lens of ethnicity does not do the victims any favours
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derby_sex_gang

You forgot the swimming coaches.

....didn't everyone.

I knew you would do that, take one line out of all the data, ill get you the radio 2 interview where the same guy admits that asians are over represented in sex crimes on children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

I knew you would do that, take one line out of all the data, ill get you the radio 2 interview where the same guy admits that asians are over represented in sex crimes on children.

In terms of grooming gangs? Possibly, yes. In terms of all types of sex assaults on kids? I would doubt it.

http://englishdefenceleague.org/edl-news-2/1920-radio-2-interview-following-the-latest-oxford-muslim-grooming-gang-convictions

I know you will complane about the site being from the EDL but it has the radio 2 interview.

In terms of grooming gangs? Possibly, yes. In terms of all types of sex assaults on kids? I would doubt it.

The Child Exploitation and Online Protection Centre published a report in 2011 and the data shows 27% of sex attacks on children are by asian men who only make up 7% of the population.

I don't think you'll find many people willing to click on a link to the EDL.

http://englishdefenceleague.org/edl-news-2/1920-radio-2-interview-following-the-latest-oxford-muslim-grooming-gang-convictions

I know you will complane about the site being from the EDL but it has the radio 2 interview.

...in which presumably the disclaimer doesn't come up. Just because it doesn't get mentioned doesn't mean that it doesn't exist.

The Child Exploitation and Online Protection Centre published a report in 2011 and the data shows 27% of sex attacks on children are by asian men who only make up 7% of the population.

Peter
    Davies, the head of CEOP, was quick to clarify that the
    findings did not provide a national picture because of incomplete data, and
    cautioned against extrapolating anything from the results.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derby_sex_gang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

EDL aside, can you tell me where on that boradcast he says that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

mikom wrote: »
    CSI:Potato
    biko wrote: »
    I heard "Law & Order: Special Needs Unit" is on the case.

You should be ashamed of yourselves. Despicable posts, both of them.

thebullkf wrote: »
    You should be ashamed of yourselves. Despicable posts, both of them.
    One of the posters is a mod so he is hardly going to get a slap on the wrist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

Sorry to interrupt this fascinating demonization of Asian men, ladies, but the Asian man in question appears no longer to be a suspect - the Gardaí have been back on the streets around Portobello, with traffic and pedestrian checkpoints, and the man in question is no longer in custody.

One of the posters is a mod so he is hardly going to get a slap on the wrist.

They have and he did.
    Sorry to interrupt this fascinating demonization of Asian men, ladies, but the Asian man in question appears no longer to be a suspect - the Gardaí have been back on the streets around Portobello, with traffic and pedestrian checkpoints, and the man in question is no longer in custody.

he was released a few days ago. Be interesting to see if our friends are will be requesting the sme kind of background checks if it turns out he's an Irish Christian.

A 31-year-old man has appeared in court charged with the sexual assault of a woman in Dublin earlier this month.

The man who is from Pakistan was arrested by detectives at Kevin Street and brought before Dublin District Court.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0622/458220-man-due-in-court-following-dublin-sex-assault/

Is this the same man who was previously arrested and released without charge?

Once he serves his time he should be put on the first flight home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,933 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

According to RTÉ a 31 year old Pakistani man has been charged, anyone know why he is not being named, normally they name suspects once charged provided they are an adult.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0622/458220-man-due-in-court-following-dublin-sex-assault/

Once he serves his time he should be put on the first flight home.

Yes. Dropped home from about 30 thousand feet.

Is this the same man who was previously arrested and released without charge?

....presumably. Same age, same nationality. We'll know in time.

Odd that he was released the other day though.

According to RTÉ a 31 year old Pakistani man has been charged, anyone know why he is not being named, normally they name suspects once charged provided they are an adult.

Restrictions via the Judge. Might be because the one is special needs?
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/man-remanded-in-custody-over-rape-of-woman-in-dublin-1.1439832

Odd that he was released the other day though.

Waiting for the forensic results?
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/31yearold-man-charged-in-connection-with-rape-of-special-needs-woman-29365180.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

The person who is responsible for this attack is beneath contempt and if caught should get the longest possible sentence for this type of crime.
    I hope the poor girl makes a good recovery but I am shocked that anyone could commit a crime of this nature.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0614/456652-progress-in-inquiry-into-attack-on-woman-in-dublin/

I'd support the death penalty for this sort of offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I will be very interested to hear more about this man. Why was he here, where his papers in order etc.

Sometimes, if it comprimises the victim's anonymity, the identity can be withheld.
    woodoo wrote: »
    I will be very interested to hear more about this man. Why was he here, where his papers in order etc.

Why so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

What does it matter about his papers or his reasons to be here? I'm more interested in justice being done and that the girl recovers mentally and physically from this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,481 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The number 1 person here is that poor Girl. I dont give 2 ****s what happens that savage that did this attack other then he gets justice, but I hope that poor girl can move on in life someday again.

Does anybody care about that when it's a white Irish person accused of a crime?

Doesn't matter where the wretched man is from, he could be any race, colour or creed, because bad people come in all shapes, colours, sizes and creeds. Just like good people do too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Why so?

I'd be interested to know his background in Pakistan does he have previous. If so what the hell was he doing here.