Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

True Detective [HBO] [** Spoilers **]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Characters were all too similar.

Story was a bit all over the place.

The ending shows promise though, I think it will get better. Farrell was excellent too.

id prefer as well if they released it all in one go like netflix

• Registered Users Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Roquentin wrote: »
    id prefer as well if they released it all in one go like netflix

Yeah HBO don't put any of their shows on Netflix though. They should offer a pay per view system of their own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

Yeah HBO don't put any of their shows on Netflix though. They should offer a pay per view system of their own.

yeah i think when you get used to what netflix do, you kind of wish that HBO did the same. the thing netflix gives you is control. i can watch a show when i want to watch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Characters were all too similar.

Story was a bit all over the place.

The ending shows promise though, I think it will get better. Farrell was excellent too.

Funnily enough I thought the ending was the weakest part.
    The part when they all 'meet' for the first time and exchange glances was a bit cringey to be honest. Like they all hate each other but have some sort of connection... ugh, its all a bit too cheesy for my liking, but I'm keeping an open mind.

The singer in the bar was too OTT for me too.

Thing about the original was it really felt like a real-world cop drama, everything was very believable despite being somewhat surreal. This is just a bit too noire/cliché so far...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

fitz wrote: »
    I'm half expecting him to be the actual attacker of Farrell's ex-wife...

That wouldn't surprise me. I'd be pretty sure whoever Vince's character fingered for the attack wasn't the culprit anyway.

Also, who's yer wan in the Ferrari?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

.ak wrote:
    Thing about the original was it really felt like a real-world cop drama, everything was very believable despite being somewhat surreal. This is just a bit too noire/cliché so far...

Honestly I'd imagine something becomes a cliche because it is based off reality.

I don't see how the characters don't come across as real world or believable as last season. Maybe that's just my opinion. But a divorced cop with a drinking problem and struggling relationship with his son, a shady corrupt business afraid of his image being exposed, a cop with family issues, and a former military person with PTSD, all seem like things you find a lot in the real world and hence probably the reason they are cliche or overdone to an extent.

Finally though I don't mind cliches once I find something entertaining, and although the characters are cliches on their own I struggle to think of too many shows I have seen with all those characters as an ensemble which brings the originality and interest to me.

We know Farrell and Vaughn have connections and I imagine we will discover more connections within the four characters that they themselves might not even know yet.

Its one episode so can't say it will be awesome or terrible but I can say the first episode showed a lot of promise in the acting and story department and I can't wait to see how it unfolds.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭oleras

Also, who's yer wan in the Ferrari?

A vessel to get the CHIPs character suspended.

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Honestly I'd imagine something becomes a cliche because it is based off reality.

I don't see how the characters don't come across as real world or believable as last season. Maybe that's just my opinion. But a divorced cop with a drinking problem and struggling relationship with his son, a shady corrupt business afraid of his image being exposed, a cop with family issues, and a former military person with PTSD, all seem like things you find a lot in the real world and hence probably the reason they are cliche or overdone to an extent.

Finally though I don't mind cliches once I find something entertaining, and although the characters are cliches on their own I struggle to think of too many shows I have seen with all those characters as an ensemble which brings the originality and interest to me.

We know Farrell and Vaughn have connections and I imagine we will discover more connections within the four characters that they themselves might not even know yet.

Its one episode so can't say it will be awesome or terrible but I can say the first episode showed a lot of promise in the acting and story department and I can't wait to see how it unfolds.

Farrell's character is believable, but the bike cop and VV and the girl all just seem a bit too CSI-ish for me, too 'cool'.

One of the reasons I thought season 1 came across more realistic was the use of dialogue, the cops were using cop-shop dialogue you'll only really here in shows based on real-life based shows like the Wire. They're all so boring with brown suits and crappy shirts, all with ego issues, nothing overly exciting.

In this you have a mysterious high-way patrol man, all too broody, and a heroine with a taste for knives and marshal arts and then a nice guy mobster who runs the world as we know it. All a bit too far fetches and glamorous compared to the first one. But I get it, they're going for the noire element - but it is in no way close to the ground at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

In reality most criminals are stupid and the cops are not far behind in lack of interest. Love / Hate nailed that perfectly. Unfortunately, it makes for good comedy and poor drama. Take a look at the "Junkies on my doorstep" thread over in Dublin City for proof.
    Slick mastermind criminals like VV and Michael Corleone do exist - they mainly don't make the papers, hold elected office and pardon each other. They do not meet with cops who would have been drummed into a mental home long ago.
    Now back to the drama, the made up stuff, the fairy tale - it went well - Colin Farrell does the accent thing as we know he can, and he had thoroughly researched the drinking bit. VV wasn't in it long enough to merit any judgement. CHIPS lad seems to be there to discover things and have showers.
    I have high hopes for David Morse - never seen that man turn in a less than show stealing performance. Running a religion while neglecting the brats - it's an easy role to have fun with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

.ak wrote: »
    But I get it, they're going for the noire element - but it is in no way close to the ground at all.

I'm fairly certain they drive past a Mullholland Drive sign post in it actually!
    I like noir but unless you change it up a bit its a mined out genre Raymond Chandler was writing about porn rings and coke heads in the 30's (his stories are a great easy read) and its been reinvented so many times, while there had been a fair bit of southern gothic but not the same amount.

I hope this season doesn't get too predictable (ironically I sort of liked the first seasons ending because it was a happy ending and rust "finds god/meaning" thing to me was unexpected)

oleras wrote: »
    A vessel to get the CHIPs character suspended.

I meant the actress..

• Registered Users Posts: 12,004 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I meant the actress..

Ashley Hinshaw

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Fairly sure that people weren't massively enthusiastic after the first episode of Season 1. People are in danger of judging the entire body of it against it - not so much here but definitely elsewhere.

And realistic characters in the first season? Excellent acting performances but I'd have hardly called Rust's nihilistic ramblings a realistic example of a cop.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,174 ✭✭✭batistuta9

is there no love for what has been done to this

nick cave version

• Registered Users Posts: 86,489 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is the kid not biologically Farrell's but his wife's rapist?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

Looks that way, unless Farrell has some freckly ginger grandparent or something

• Registered Users Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

I liked it. Looking forward to next week's episode already!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

ixoy wrote: »
    Fairly sure that people weren't massively enthusiastic after the first episode of Season 1. People are in danger of judging the entire body of it against it - not so much here but definitely elsewhere.

And realistic characters in the first season? Excellent acting performances but I'd have hardly called Rust's nihilistic ramblings a realistic example of a cop.

Yeah his character traits made him a very unrealistic cop but no one cared about that as he was just so damn entertaining.

Also people saying the characters are clichéd is a bit much as Marty in season one was a character we have seen many times before in cop dramas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

JP Liz V1 wrote: »

There is a very very slim chance that the kid is Farrells, but he's decided not to do the paternity test and treat him as his kid, which really speaks to his character given the kid is a ginger.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,489 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I am kinda thinking Paul or Frank will turn out to be gay or bi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Thought Farrell was excellent, as were Kitsch and McAdams, with Vaughan's character easily being the most intriguing - the man has got screen presence.

Hopefully the shot of McAdam's arse has fulfilled the hbo sex scene stipulations as it really is just annoying at this stage how they can't make an hour of drama without such a scene - it's not edgy, or avant garde, or even realistic, it's just predictable and pointless. And then obviously to counteract the consequent cries of sexism we have to endure Taylor Kitsch in all his manly glory. F**king hbo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭beardo81

Thought it was a very decent opener to the series. Farrell excellent and looks like Vaughn could turn in a good show when he gets to act; he didn't have much to do in the first episode.

The other characters will come into their own too I am sure, this will be a slow burner no doubt, but there should be some cracking moments. TD1 had some amazing scenes.

Comparing it to the first series was always going to happen, and I think it compares against the first episode of TD very well. I remember thinking how preachy McConaughey's character was and he was going to annoy the hell out of me; how wrong I was!

Just bloody hate waiting a week for the next one!! :mad:

ixoy wrote: »

I never said it was. I was more pointing out woody's character and the other cops in the station. That's why rust is such a stand out in the station and nobody likes him, that's why everyone keeps telling him to mind himself. The other cops and bosses are perfectly boring and average, including the present day dudes doing the interview.

The dialogue for the cops is almost directly lifted from David Simon's Homocide, the use of cop shop talk indicates they were very much going for the realistic cop - which as I said gives the perfect backdrop for rust's complex character.

Personally I loved season 1 from the first episode.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

JP Liz V1 wrote:
    I am kinda thinking Paul or Frank will turn out to be gay or bi

Ah here, we've only seen one episode, it's way too soon to be using the characters' actual names!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

given the kid is a ginger.

Might be no co-incidence that Kelly Reilly is also a ginge, possibly the rapist could be her brother.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭TheChevron

I enjoyed the first series and I thought the first episode of this series was pretty good. I'm looking forward to the rest of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

.ak wrote: »
    This is just a bit too noire/cliché so far...

That could be to do with the director and his Fast and the Furious connection.

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭macpac26

I thought it was a good opener to the season. Absolutely detest the constant use of music. It seems way more over the top than in season 1. Can they not just let a scene play out without it?

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

tumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo1_250.giftumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo2_250.gif

tumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo4_250.giftumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo3_250.gif

tumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo6_250.giftumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo5_250.gif

tumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo7_250.giftumblr_nqctgzBWVH1rpotpgo8_250.gif