Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Walking across the Grand Canyon on a tightrope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

He'll probably grab onto the rope and get rescued if he feels like he's about to fall.

They showed the clip of his grandfather falling, he stooped right down, looked like he could have easily wrapped himself around the wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

He's got but one tool in his medic box
    Some chalk

Why chalk? It won't be a murder investigation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

This is morbidly uncomfortable TV. When Evil Knievel jumped a row of buses, the scene was set, he jumped the buses, and we went back to watching That's Life, that was it. Discovery know that there is a sizable majority of people watching this to see if he falls, not to see if he makes it, and they are playing up on it big time.

I dunno who's more morally irresponsible here, that eejit for crossing the channel, the production team for airing it, or me for watching it.:(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Jayz....it's fierce windy there!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

They showed the clip of his grandfather falling, he stooped right down, looked like he could have easily wrapped himself around the wire.
    Was wondering that myself, he had enough time to grab the wire but made no attempt to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

Why am I watching this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,898 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

This is morbidly uncomfortable TV. When Evil Knievel jumped a row of buses, the scene was set, he jumped the buses, and we went back to watching That's Life, that was it. Discovery know that there is a sizable majority of people watching this to see if he falls, not to see if he makes it, and they are playing up on it big time.

I dunno who's more morally irresponsible here, that eejit for crossing the channel, the production team for airing it, or me for watching it.:(

He just spoke about it, guy walking wire. Played it all down as impossible to die on this wire, that if he quits or gets in trouble he will fall to wire and wait to get rescued ,That he's in no danger, that he would not take first step if he thought he was. Dam, he put me off watching now

BNMC wrote: »
    Was wondering that myself, he had enough time to grab the wire but made no attempt to do so.

Didn't want to drop that pole
    He loved that pole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

He just spoke about it, guy walking wire. Played it all down as impossible to die on this wire, that if he quits or gets in trouble he will fall to wire and wait to get rescued ,That he's in no danger, that he would not take first step if he thought he was. Dam, he put me off watching now

There is always that small nugget of hope that he wall fall, or an Eagle lands on him and pushes him of. Not that i want him to fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

ok so what have you suckers been sucked into watching for 2 hours so far? leme guess, how great the navajo national park is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

It's kind of sick that some people want him to see him fall and obviously die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Looks windy :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

decisions wrote: »
    Why am I watching this?

I'm done, I can't watch the guy possibly kill himself live on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

I'm just imagining this :pac:

actually :pac: should probably read: :eek:

It's kind of sick that some people want him to see him fall and obviously die.

but the funny thing is THEY WONT! its time delayed by 10 seconds to avoid that exact thing :pac:

anyway it makes no sense to time delay it. everyones a pussy nowadays

I'm just imagining this :pac:

actually :pac: should probably read: :eek:

man that is one of my favourite simpsons scenes ever!!!! the full scene with the ambulance ect I mean. Im pretty sure I never laughed at something so hard and much in my entire life.

IM0 wrote: »
    but the funny thing is THEY WONT! its time delayed by 10 seconds to avoid that exact thing :pac:

anyway it makes no sense to time delay it. everyones a pussy nowadays

Then how would they broadcast that
    He's walking on wire all is fine
    Then cut back to host
    'That's all folks'
    It will be shown the moment he loses balance and falls off wire
    They just won't follow him down to the canyon floor

Paramedic at the bottom,he'll be grand so... :pac:

Then how would they broadcast that
    He's walking on wire all is fine
    Then cut back to host
    'That's all folks'
    It will be shown the moment he loses balance and falls off wire
    They just won't follow him down to the canyon floor

no, because if they show that you know what is coming next, so the truama from seeing it not happen will still be the same except you wont even get to see it for all the 2 hours of crap they made you watch :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭shy_boy

If it is real he is BROWN BREAD no other way about it unless hes been in the circus half his life

which now i have learned hes a pole with him he might just do it he will do it actually ...think about it that pole is heavy he will have the advantage of being grounded to the rope and he is naturaly balanced person not a bother to him HE WILL MAKE THOUSANDSwhile he is at it

have yous seen the clip of his father doing the same thing and dying yet?

HURRY UP AND CROSS THE ****ING THING!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

IM0 wrote: »
    have yous seen the clip of his father doing the same thing and dying yet?

That's his great grandfather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,446 ✭✭✭Corvo Attano

shy_boy wrote: »
    If it is real he is BROWN BREAD no other way about it unless hes been in the circus half his life

Family business. Done it his whole life.

Will they ever just stick hime on the rope and be done with it

Blay wrote: »

same difference

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Sure if he falls he`s just going to try again on discovery +1 :pac:

But seriously I hope he makes it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Acme are sponsoring this apparently.
    Hmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

What time is he supposed to cross it?

Wife is ****ing hot !!!

12am :pac:

Half 2 I think

The wife just said he has a lot to lose.

No shit.:pac:

Blay wrote: »

Average,good at best, he did fall after all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I bet he'l back out, it'l be too windy or not bright enough or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

There are other, less dangerous, modes of transportation! :p

This is AH. Please provide a link to any claim you make.

Until this point, only a tightrope is the method of transport I'll believe in.

I bet he'l back out, it'l be too windy or not bright enough or something

Yea right, a last minute IQ test will call it off

4 mins so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

I bet they have a fan blowing her hair

What's the wife on about ?

Nick would never do anything that was dangerous :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SicklySweet

Wife: "I know he wouldn't do anything dangerous"

dafuq?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Buzz84

Festy wrote: »
    What's the wife on about ?

Nick would never do anything that was dangerous :confused:

They are morons . Supposedly walking across a 1500ft drop on a 2 inch tight rope isn't dangerous.

Wonder what they actually consider dangerous?

Buzz84 wrote: »
    They are morons . Supposedly walking across a 1500ft drop on a 2 inch tight rope isn't dangerous.

Wonder what they actually consider dangerous?
    Falling off it.

Anyone love to see a FR Larry Duff moment when his phone suddenly rings when he is out in the middle of the Canyon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Falling off it.

The fall doesn't do any damage really - it's more the sudden collision with the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭ShelTomato

Where is everyone watching this, Skywire is unavailable

Falling off it.

Its alright though they have a paramedic at the bottom seriously they do :pac:

Theres fellas that risk there lifes everyday on motorbikes COME OFF YOUR IN TROUBLE.. No1 ever talks about that in the news till someone has died.. Load of bull this is towards that....

ShelTomato wrote: »
    Where is everyone watching this, Skywire is unavailable

I'm watching it on justintv,it's on sky channel 520 if you have it.

Live official stream here: http://skywire.discovery.com/live.html

I'm in Canada so not sure if that'll work for you guys there.

and we're off :)