Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

taxi experience

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

LOl

what all of ye are failing to see is that the taxman was trying to locate the house. It was the OP that decided he wanted to leave the taxi after smugly telling him how to do his job. It was the OP's choice to leave the taxi. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

LOl

what all of ye are failing to see is that the taxman was trying to locate the house. It was the OP that decided he wanted to leave the taxi after smugly telling him how to do his job. It was the OP's choice to leave the taxi. :D

The Driver should have known where the house was before picking up the fare, or called dispatch as requested by the passenger. Not aimlessly drive around with the meter running.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 leitmotiv

"The Non-fatal Offence against the Person Act 1997 provides that a person shall be guilty of false imprisonment who intentionally or recklessly:
    ( a ) takes or detains, or
    ( b ) causes to be taken or detained,
    ( c ) otherwise restricts the personal liberty of another without the other person’s consent.
    In civil Law false imprisonment is defined as “The unlawful and total restraint of the personal liberty of another, whether by constraining him or compelling him to go a particular place and confining him in a prison or police station or private place or by detaining him against his will in a public place”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

LOl

Read the op again.He was "trying" to find the house? Or aimlessly wandering around running up the meter thinking he could screw the "foreigner" for a few more €?

I suggest op visits here and gets this driver off the road before he does the same to someone else.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/public_transport/making_a_complaint_about_spsv_in_ireland.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭PinkLemonade

the OP asked to leave the taxi - leave without paying. The taxman is in the right to bring them to the police station. Its like going to a restaurant, having your starter, main course, not liking the dessert and deciding not to pay.

He was driven to the area, the taxman was looking for the exact house. the OP clearly didn't bother ringing the house himself for directions. The op wanted to leave the taxi without paying. Taximan brought him to the police.
    The end. If the taxman wants to pursue it, he can.

thats the way it is - like it or not.

It's nothing like your restaurant analogy. You want him to pay call out and sit in charge where he'd have to get another taxi, hence pay for it again, and pay for the portion of the journey where the guy wandered around. If he hadn't ordered the taxi to a specific place it would be a different story. If the taxi driver stopped the meter while searching it'd be a different story, if he offered to knock a few euro of the meter for wondering around for ages, again a different story, if he didn't abuse the guy.....

I had a similar issue once before in a taxi. 4 years on and I'm still terrified of taxis, not fair on the good ones I know

• Registered Users Posts: 42 Irish Musician

In my opinion, a partial service should receive partial payment - put yourself in his situation. I don't understand the all-or-nothing view - smacks of entitlement, something that's a huge issue in society .

Taxi was booked to take the person to an address. Taxi driver couldn't find it. Taxi driver is at fault. Taxi driver didn't like being questioned about lack of ability to do a job that he is being paid for and gets nasty. My next request would be to drive to the nearest cop shop.

Why did the taxi driver expect to be paid for an unfinished job which was down to his own incompetence? The fact that the cops didn't make the OP pay is probably they were unsure about the situation,or sided with the OP.

If a driver takes a job. He should be able to do it. I would have complained to the carriage office about the guy. The least that could happen is it get filed and then if someone else complains then see if action is taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Gerry T

the OP asked to leave the taxi - leave without paying. The taxman is in the right to bring them to the police station.
    I would agree with you if a Taxi brought me to a road and was looking for the number but couldn't see it. And I kicked off and ended up at a police station--that's my fault.
    Its not that simple, from what I have read the Taxi didn't know where the road was, not the house. I'm not suggesting the Taxi was deliberately trying to up the fare by driving around but it's not the OP's fault the Taxi man doesn't know a city centre street. The OP shouldn't have to pay extra for the Taxi drivers ignorance.
    The key point is this was a very simple issue, one the Taxi driver could have handled if he just kept a cool head and offered some means of rebate for the delay. The Taxi driver lost the head and got physical, bang out of order. Lets say this was your daughter in the Taxi and she came home upset, having being shouted at, her bag grabbed and locked in a car and taken by force!!! you wouldn't be saying "poor taxi driver" would you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

The taxi driver should have known where the destination was, or been able to find it without running up the meter.

However, the OP made things more difficult than they could have been. Firstly, by his lack of tact and diplomacy in telling the driver that he should know local addresses, before suggesting that he use satnav. Had he just suggested using satnav or calling dispatch and left the criticism out, the taxi driver probably wouldn't have gotten so aggressive. And secondly, by not making any effort himself to locate the destination. Ok, it's not the passenger's job to do this, but as most people have Google maps on their phone, it's a simple enough thing to do and again, it would have diffused the situation before it got so heated.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

omega666 wrote: »
    Well clearly he is able. I've heard it been done a few times for non payment's of fare, the cops don't seem to have a problem with it.

I persume the same way as a shop keeper is able to detain someone if they catch them shoplifting while the cops are called.

Would that be due to the law degree and extensive law training the Gardai receive in Templemore?

In shops they are generally very reluctant to detain someone or even accuse someone without concrete evidence that an offence has taken place. There are strict rules on what they can and cannot do for example if they lose sight of the suspected shoplifter at all they should not intervene. Were they to detain someone in such a hamfisted way like this taxidriver did then the shop would be paying out claims left right and centre.

Fishy has been asked three times for a source for his claims that taxi drivers can forceably detain and remove a person from the scene. Please provide one. 'Yes they can' is not a response.

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭omega666

Gerry T wrote: »
    I would agree with you if a Taxi brought me to a road and was looking for the number but couldn't see it. And I kicked off and ended up at a police station--that's my fault.
    Its not that simple, from what I have read the Taxi didn't know where the road was, not the house. I'm not suggesting the Taxi was deliberately trying to up the fare by driving around but it's not the OP's fault the Taxi man doesn't know a city centre street. The OP shouldn't have to pay extra for the Taxi drivers ignorance.
    The key point is this was a very simple issue, one the Taxi driver could have handled if he just kept a cool head and offered some means of rebate for the delay. The Taxi driver lost the head and got physical, bang out of order. Lets say this was your daughter in the Taxi and she came home upset, having being shouted at, her bag grabbed and locked in a car and taken by force!!! you wouldn't be saying "poor taxi driver" would you ?

Well in fairness it sounds to me like the taxi man only got physical when the OP refused to pay the fare and most likely tried to get out of the taxi.
    Then again we are only getting one side of the story.

What the OP should have done was paid for the fare, got a reciept and the taxi man's details and the reported him.

Gerry T wrote: »

LOl, the dramatics of this post.

nobody was taken by force. the passenger was escorted to the nearest police station for failing to pay for a fare. If there was any "taken by force" involved I'm sure the police would have taken the taxi man for "kidnapping. However, this didn't happen. The taxman was correct in what he did.

Again, it would be very very interesting to get the correct version of events. Not the one-sided version.

Either way, taxman was right to bring a non-paying passenger to the police. It is up to him now to pursue the matter and get his fare back.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Would that be due to the law degree and extensive law training the Gardai receive in Templemore?

In shops they are generally very reluctant to detain someone or even accuse someone without concrete evidence that an offence has taken place. There are strict rules on what they can and cannot do for example if they lose sight of the suspected shoplifter at all they should not intervene. Were they to detain someone in such a hamfisted way like this taxidriver did then the shop would be paying out claims left right and centre.

Fishy has been asked three times for a source for his claims that taxi drivers can forceably detain and remove a person from the scene. Please provide one. 'Yes they can' is not a response.

i suggest you call your local police station or the taxi regulator.

nobody was taken by force. the passenger was escorted to the nearest police station for failing to pay for a fare. If there was any "taken by force" involved I'm sure the police would have taken the taxi man for "kidnapping. However, this didn't happen. The taxman was correct in what he did.

Again, it would be very very interesting to get the correct version of events. Not the one-sided version.

Either way, taxman was right to bring a non-paying passenger to the police. It is up to him now to pursue the matter and get his fare back.

Passenger was not escorted anywhere the passenger was LOCKED in the car (held against will) and TAKEN to police station, That's a very different set of circumstances to "escorted to station".

Also in all of your smugness where you claim to know the law so well it kind of surprises me that you can type taxi regulator but fail constantly in your attempts to type TAXIMAN:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭PinkLemonade

We're debating if given the circumstances the OP outlined was he right to refuse to pay, if he's lying its a different kettle of fish obviously, but as long as the drivers identity isnt revealed then theres no harm assuming the OP is telling the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

I'd urge you to make a complaint to the National Transport Authority about this.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/public_transport/making_a_complaint_about_spsv_in_ireland.html

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

So you make a claim and it is upto me to verify that your claims are correct? I am not sure it really works like that :D

• Registered Users Posts: 16,623 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'd like to know for how long (and costing how much) did the taxi driver drive round aimlessly? Are we talking 2 minutes or 10?

And when the OP wanted to leave, did they feel they shouldn't have had to pay anything up to that point, or were they willing to pay the portion of the fare which was run up before the aimless driving happened?

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    So you make a claim and it is upto me to verify that your claims are correct? I am not sure it really works like that :D

you seem to be the one questioning it - so its up to you to do the work if you want to find out what is allowed or not. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

FFS you said to the taxi driver to drive you to Mount Merion and that you don't know the exact address. He drove you to Mount Merion and was looking around for where you wanted to go because you didn't know yourself. Then you criticize that taxi driver and say he doesn't know how to do his job and didn't want to pay him for driving you four miles to Mount Merion? You Sir are a complete ****in moron who needs a good kick up the hole. I can't vent enough how gob****es like you annoy me!

/thread

Thinly veiled, "Im a taxi driver"......."

bumper234 wrote: »
    Passenger was not escorted anywhere the passenger was LOCKED in the car (held against will) and TAKEN to police station, That's a very different set of circumstances to "escorted to station".

Also in all of your smugness where you claim to know the law so well it kind of surprises me that you can type taxi regulator but fail constantly in your attempts to type TAXIMAN:confused:

ahh yes, when all else fails, attack the spelling. Love it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Spidermensch

Turtyturd wrote: »
    In this country taxi driving is a job for those incapable of doing anything else OP..it attracts the dregs of society, and it's a shame you had to experience it.

Condescend much?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭Gerry T

nobody was taken by force.

Locked in a car is being taken by force, I know plenty of edjits out there do shaft taxi drivers and the Taxi drivers resort to the police station trick, but if they were challenged on this in a court I would bet that the Taxi driver could be in serious trouble.
    This is very different, a taxi driver does not have a right to take a "long cut". Nor does he have a right to use threatening behaviour or verbally abuse someone. The job involves dealing with the public, you have to take a certain amount of crap, like being told you don't have a clue if you can't find a city centre road. If you can't take a little you shouldn't be working with the public.
    If you don't know the road you should have a Map/App/SATNav--very simple. Going to do a pick up at a house with the exact delivery address Road, you should look that up before picking up the passenger. Totally the Taxi drivers fault for not doing that.
    Slightly different if the OP was picked up at the side of the road, I would think it fair for a driver to set a Sat Nav or look at a map before driving, that gives the OP the opportunity to leave the taxi before any fare is clocked up.
    I can't see how this is anything but the drivers fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

After reading through this thread you seem to be the only poster getting noticeably riled up.
    And you seem to be completely misinterpreting the OP.
    You refer to the op as 'smug' and in the post I have quoted you say 'it would be very very interesting to get the correct version of events', assuming that the op's version is incorrect.
    I am not sure if you're a taxi driver or know a few personally but you need to take a step back and look at the issue objectively and stop with the passive aggressive insults.

ahh yes, when all else fails, attack the spelling. Love it. :D

Yet amazingly you yet again totally ignore the RELEVANT part of the post. It's ok i expected nothing less of you. That is what was called a small experiment and the results are in

fishy fishy = confirmed troll;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

OP, if I were you I would try and find out who this taxi driver is, and go and give the guy the few quid you owe him. The Gardai at Dundrum will give you his details Im sure. It is difficult enough as it is to try and scrape a living as a taxi driver. €10 or €15 will sort the whole thing out, right?

on the contrary - fishy fishy knowing that a person can be taken to the police if they refuse to pay the fare. Fishy fishy looking for the "other" side of the story. (there always is two sides, and the truth you know). Fishy Fishy not blindly believing everything posted on here. And finally other posters getting annoyed at fishy fishy because fishy fishy has a different perspective.

Know your rights before you go into a taxi. also know that if you refuse to pay you can be taken to the local garda station. (as the op admitted the driver did explain to him)

• Registered Users Posts: 37 leitmotiv

OP, if I were you I would try and find out who this taxi driver is, and go and give the guy the few quid you owe him. The Gardai at Dundrum will give you his details Im sure. It is difficult enough as it is to try and scrape a living as a taxi driver. €10 or €15 will sort the whole thing out, right?

You ARE joking, aren't you? I would put myself in danger's way, no doubt....

FatherLen wrote: »
    After reading through this thread you seem to be the only poster getting noticeably riled up.
    And you seem to be completely misinterpreting the OP.
    You refer to the op as 'smug' and in the post I have quoted you say 'it would be very very interesting to get the correct version of events', assuming that the op's version is incorrect.
    I am not sure if you're a taxi driver or know a few personally but you need to take a step back and look at the issue objectively and stop with the passive aggressive insults.

father len.

the day that "boards" begin to rile me up is the day that I will walk away from technology for good.

It's not that important to me to get riled up over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

It's all well and good telling the OP that s/he should have asked to get out and paid the fair up to this point, but s/he clearly didn't know where they were going either and I wouldn't be particularly comfortable getting out somewhere unknown to me. Especially if it was dark out.

Taxi-man should have been willing to work something out amicably like turn off the meter and get the OP to their destination as requested.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

As i asked before, are there any other service providers who, on failing to provide said service, are permitted to abduct clients for non payment?