Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Making stuff from pallets

• Registered Users Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭Keeks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

This was taken after coating with the vinegar/wire wool solution, I really like the finish it gives.

The wire wool had only been soaking for 24 hours, but could probably do with leaving longer.

fbi8v9.jpg

Just wanted to say thank you for the heads up about using the vinegar stain.
    I made this yesterday
    null_zps20beb0f1.jpg

And then applied your solution of white vinegar steel wool and some rusty nails(they add colour) and this happened!
    null_zpsb7d0088f.jpg

It's so mad the way the different woods react to the stain!
    I'm gonna go over it once it's dry with some briwax(Jacobean) like I did wit this wine case I made a few weeks ago. It comes up so well
    null_zpsd113ba2e.jpg
    null_zps9b69b5fb.jpg
    null_zpsa589f162.jpg

So again, cheers for the staining idea. It's deadly:)
    Wonder is there other things you can use for different effects?

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Collibosher

I tried a few different bought wood stains, and to be honest I prefer the result from the vinegar and wire wool solution.

It looks more natural than some of the expensive ones I tried :rolleyes:

Nice unit! :)

It's finished :) now I have to build two small side tables to match it.
    Oh the horror! :)

Really pleased with these. Managed to make them all match up:)
    null_zps49077d66.jpg
    null_zpsb358c19b.jpg

Whitewashed this table and washed it all off. Gonna wax it for a nice deep low shine
    null_zpsd0db6427.jpg

Made a spacepod table. All pallets. Though I think I'm gonna turn the feet/landing gear the other way.
    Lots of sanding to do tomorrow then painting and light installation.
    The exterior is going to be white and the inner loop deck(which runs clear all the way through) is going to be an intense orange.
    Gonna paint over with a phosphorescent UV paint I'm getting from New Zealand. Nerdy

1954D2B0-438B-4578-9C8F-AB71060EAB08.jpg
    6A1587A8-441B-4EFB-9A55-62E6EB68E43D.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 46 madwidow

got the link in another post. Would anyone direct me who sells or can make crates as on Page 4 for a reasonable price as im trying to get my hand on around 10. unvarnished/unpainted..
    Tanya

madwidow wrote: »
    got the link in another post. Would anyone direct me who sells or can make crates as on Page 4 for a reasonable price as im trying to get my hand on around 10. unvarnished/unpainted..
    Tanya

Tanya
    Www.facebook.com/woodenideas75

I can probably do it but you can buy old crates from France for €15 or so but they do be very old and almost unusable.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 madwidow

david75 wrote: »
    Tanya
    Www.facebook.com/woodenideas75

I can probably do it but you can buy old crates from France for €15 or so but they do be very old and almost unusable.

Hi David,
    would you have a link? i could only find some from UK, 20 a piece and who knows how much shipping.
    Not looking for vintage per se, i'd like to build a wall for the attic tetris like due to the slant of the roof.. How much would you look for a piece, even good ol timber would do me.. ? Nothing fancy
    il_570xN.405874230_7daq.jpg

Message me at www.facebook.com/woodenideas75
    I'll have a look

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Kildare2014

Have had a good read through all the posts here. Some amazing pieces made! Wow!! Well done. I am looking at making a deck from pallets. Can anyone advise me on paint or varnish or what kind of finish they need before I lay it down. It will not be a permanent structure as we rent. All the garden is weeds but we are clearing a patch (3x4m) and putting down our 'deck'. Should I put something on the soil before the deck to prolong the life of the wood. I can't put gravel or anything that can't be removed easily. I am new to all this but trying my best!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

Hi Hildare2014,
    It's a nice idea in principle to re-purpose pallet wood for decking but it really isnt a suitable use for the wood. Decking boards are generally pressure treated softwood (southern yellow pine) or a more expensive tropical hardwood, regardless of the wood type the decking will be milled on the face to give a slip resistant finish, free from splinters. Pallet wood is rough sawn generally, full of splinters and because it is not milled will be very slippery and hazardous when wet (even a proper decking board will be slippery when wet!). I have seen people advertise old decking on Adverts.ie etc free to take away and maybe that is something you could consider?

• Registered Users Posts: 256 ✭✭ciarang85

This thread has inspired me too give it a go at making something!
    The stuff previous people have posted are amazing looking,
    I only tried making a window box, it's nothing amazing at all but glad i did it!

The colour has come up much darker since i finished painting it

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

Savage thread lads. Broke down a pallet last night and have the timber lined up to make a nice little table.
    Just wondering what ye use for initial heavyish sanding. I've seen people talking about orbital sanders. Are these good, they seem like they'd take an eternity to sand down a decent edge.

delaney001 wrote: »
    Savage thread lads. Broke down a pallet last night and have the timber lined up to make a nice little table.
    Just wondering what ye use for initial heavyish sanding. I've seen people talking about orbital sanders. Are these good, they seem like they'd take an eternity to sand down a decent edge.

I use a desalt orbital sander and never have any problems. Depends on what look you want really? Kind of no point using pallets if you're gonna bring them to a point where it looks like plain old timber if that makes sense? But again that's down to personal taste.

Just don't use any blue red or treated wood!! If it has MB stencilled or branded on it, avoid it. Bad carcinogenic chemicals used to preserve the wood, not something you want to be sanding or having in your house really.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

You would really need a belt sander to get the wood smooth. Have you a jack plane ? - a sharp plane would be cheaper in the long run.

some bits n pieces ive done recently..
    11659380_527097657438610_5836078256582360466_n.jpg?oh=1690a944fc06e0b583203e2e60af09ad&oe=56195185

11667382_525540747594301_8933403990327264868_n.jpg?oh=5aeab07998102e524f1ab6e91c9e7c99&oe=5616850B

11390211_515579241923785_6563886536802422130_n.jpg?oh=1863c75bdefa229d1093ab91de3b4041&oe=560F3997

11203098_512552475559795_1820092858387054240_n.jpg?oh=125b47d874d4edbeaa2b984301e8286e&oe=562C0AD3

11041691_504163266398716_6291438800756547810_n.jpg?oh=7d6a79e4d405762e7e3a5e2294ac59d0&oe=56172CF8

11218830_503488856466157_3890428450628893876_n.jpg?oh=b2ae5f0b52de1b0f443405cbbb20f42e&oe=561DDC88

11053340_490142187800824_1848723356611015147_n.jpg?oh=e5a7e1bb7c52dabae77b0aa023fb2d21&oe=5627F2B6

10444733_487514578063585_5587751888597240182_n.jpg?oh=f5f87633a57b67b519f782902e15f5ba&oe=562D53B7

11059496_487189254762784_444373399716018701_n.jpg?oh=ac05e74ea2d6d739095c1931d935ce67&oe=5614AE26

11081334_487189231429453_5015403018339852666_n.jpg?oh=564d279bbfb70b3de746a4fdaf32a534&oe=5611BE4F

11081430_480347205446989_2450598770570314090_n.jpg?oh=1800896c75d2e8c222eca42fb0be80cd&oe=5617B38C

11070443_478620128953030_2581829274408279813_n.jpg?oh=545308b04b964c7e02dd293a5f10b4c0&oe=5631028F

10845942_429633753851668_8966304085673739494_n.jpg?oh=8ac016d29ceaa7e35e5c231cece7969e&oe=5617C97B

10444618_430670843747959_6423660283348021938_n.jpg?oh=116a785daba6fb0f6f796045867d56a8&oe=5625CD58

1981892_414776735337370_7670921150978685104_n.jpg?oh=f7f413b7c915771f16c45623ca8eb51c&oe=5626DA84

• Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

recipio wrote: »
    You would really need a belt sander to get the wood smooth. Have you a jack plane ? - a sharp plane would be cheaper in the long run.

I'm on the lookout for a plane but know very little about them. Can you recommend one or link a good reasonably priced one?

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

Some really good stuff been made there folks! Any hints ir tips as to where one would find a few pallets going spare?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,529 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

fair play ta yea lads. some fantastic work there. impressive. keep it up

gumbo1 wrote: »
    Some really good stuff been made there folks! Any hints ir tips as to where one would find a few pallets going spare?

Industrial estates are good place to find them, but make sure to ask before taking any.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭gumbo1

Industrial estates are good place to find them, but make sure to ask before taking any.

I know the blue ones are on hire an to leave them alone!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

I'm on the lookout for a plane but know very little about them. Can you recommend one or link a good reasonably priced one?

Well done, I like the bed.
    A good plane is a joy to use and a bad plane is a dog. I would search around online for second hand bargains because they are not cheap. If you can rise to a new plane the Quangshen range is a high quality plane made in China but for a change is actually up to European standards.
    I might invest in a dedicated matching countersink and plug cutter - you can hide all those screws and bolts and the piece will look a little more refined.

Wasnt sure i wanted to make this, but my pal wanted the herringbone design on it and pushed for it...
    12278756_579604222187953_8880750808001194752_n.jpg?oh=65fec8845faaa353320fc3787e54f39f&oe=56E1108E

didnt like it..then i stained it and changed my mind completely :)
    12278806_579604228854619_3467654050520277919_n.jpg?oh=0310354e256e33caa248b3b088ec8e92&oe=56D6A86C

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,634 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i think i prefer the unstained version.

Nice work, prefer it unstained myself too. :)

It wasnt for me, it was for a customer and the stain was the last of the problems i had with it, but im happy with it now..once its had a few more coats itll find itself.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,634 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

is the top glued on or nailed on?

Both