Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ascot Day 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Bright and sunny where i am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

ROYAL ASCOT 14:30 NORFOLK STAKES (GROUP 2) 5f
    Coach House @ 3.00 (GP)

ROYAL ASCOT 15:05 RIBBLESDALE STAKES (GROUP 2) 1m 4f
    Riposte @ 9.00 (GP)

ROYAL ASCOT 15:45 ASCOT GOLD CUP (GROUP 1) 2m 4f
    Rite Of Passage @ 8.00 (GP)

ROYAL ASCOT 16:25 BRITANNIA STAKES 1m
    Secret Talent @ 17.00 (GP)

ROYAL ASCOT 17:00 TERCENTENARY STAKES (GROUP 3) 1m 2f
    Shikarpour @ 7.50 (GP)

ROYAL ASCOT 17:35 KING GEORGE V STAKES 1m 4f
    Eshtiaal @ 9.00 (GP)

Rainfall radar

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/radar/

http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/weather/uk/se/se_latest_radar.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Going to stall off for another 2 hours before placing my bets in case the weather does turn, but at first glance I'd be throwing a few quid e/w on Green Door in the Norfolk (especially seeing how Spencer is not in the plate), Rite Of Passage as he owes me nothing & Last Train in the Gold Cup, Alive Alive Oh (obviously) to win the Ribblesdale with a saver on Riposte, Won Diamond looks nicely plotted by Mick Halford in the Brittania, I backed Kitten On The Run LTO on his British debut so I'll give him a small e/w bet in the 5.00 and I'm backing Spillway in the last, he finished a nose in front of Kitten On The Run at Newbury and I think this mark is well within his grasp... Could change my mind completely if the rain arrives in spades of course....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

I need rain for Simenon.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/2635167#extra-uk-content
    UK Warnings

Weather Warning

Thursday 20th June 2013
    YELLOW WARNING of HEAVY SHOWERS for southeast England, East Anglia and the East Midlands.
    There is a low risk of isolated thunderstorms breaking out across southeast England, East Anglia and the east Midlands during Thursday from the early hours onwards giving some intense downpours. These could give 15-20 mm of rain within an hour and 40 mm within 3 hours very locally. However many places could stay dry.
    The public (& HORSES!!) should be aware of the risk of localised surface water flooding.
    Valid from 0001 to 2359 on Thursday.
    Thursday 20th June 2013
    YELLOW WARNING of HEAVY RAIN for southwest England.
    Outbreaks of heavy and, at times, thundery rain are likely to move northwestwards across parts of southwest England during Thursday. Some 15-20 mm of rain could fall within 3-6 hours with perhaps over 30 mm locally. The public should be aware of the risk of localised surface water flooding.
    Valid from 0300 to 1800 on Thursday. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭rockycelt

if there was lightening in the area, I'd assume racing would be delayed until it passed?

I doubt it will even come to that. They've escaped everything so far. Ground hardening all the time (:().

http://www.sportinglife.com/racing/news/article/465/8784842/good-to-firm-at-ascot

Im beginning to warm to the chances of Remote in the 5.00 @ 11/4

Seriously impressive last time out, and faces some rivals with decent form, namely Indian Chief and Chopin who's form ties in well with the Derby, but Remote could well be good enough to win this. The way he beat a decent horse in Baltic Knight last time was very impressive and the time was good. He'll also love the good to firm going if it stays like that, and the same cant be said for a few of the other fancied runners. Remote seems to be improving at a rate of knots and hopefully he can improve past some good horses here.

Currently around the 11/4 & 5/2 mark in places, he's obviously priced on potential and i'll be hoping he drifts a bit near the off as at the the currents odds he's probably under-priced given the form of some his rivals. If he's 3/1 or bigger i'll have a nice bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I've expressed before my liking for o briens coach house. Took the 3/1 pp offered last night. Good to see the money coming now 7/4 in places.
    Also like many gone for Alive Alive Oh @11/4. A small double as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Gone for:
    Coach House
    Alive Alive Oh
    Simenon
    Chopin (ew)
    Space Ship (ew)

And different multiples of these.

Tenpted to go with Wentworth in the 4.25 given he should've won his race last time out bar Hughesy getting him in a bad position and getting stuck in traffic. Find it hard to see value in it at 4/1 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Couldn't have Coach House at all in the first at the prices.

Coulstys maiden is working out quite well with the 2nd and 4th winning next time out. I'll take him each way at 7/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Johner wrote: »
    Couldn't have Coach House at all in the first at the prices.

Coulstys maiden is working out quite well with the 2nd and 4th winning next time out. I'll take him each way at 7/1.

Don't like coach house either.

I've had a small each way bet on Saayerr.
    Unbeaten and showed last time that he'll battle all the way to the line.
    Trainer won this a few years ago with a similarly campaigned type

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I wasn't convinced with Coach House before but he looked really top class st the Curragh, quickened up really well and they finished nicely.clear. bit short but a deserved favourite.

I would be a bit worried about Alive Alive Oh on quick ground but she looks very very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Alive Alive Oh set to be a NR!!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Letyourselfgo

alive alive oh about to be a nr

Alive Alive Oh is being pulled out according to ATR :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭slaneylad

alive alive oh is a non runner :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Was powers NRNB last couple of days? Know bet365 were. Thinking of the amount of people that backed her!

d-gal wrote: »
    Was powers NRNB last couple of days? Know bet365 were. Thinking of the amount of people that backed her!

Exactly what I'm wondering..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

Do doubles with alive alive oh become singles or void?

Thanks.

tonic wine wrote: »
    Do doubles with alive alive oh become singles or void?

Thanks.

singles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Alive Alive,

Oh.

:(

I backed AAO 2 days ago and got my stake back there so must of been NRNB

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Just been refunded by both Paddy and Boyles.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Actually a little surprised at how much I had on her haha. Had been reinvesting a few quid every day the last few days.

Ah balls :(

Boyles have refunded me too, money returned better than money lost outright I suppose but it's still a pain in the bollix... I hope Weld doesn't follow suit & pull Rite of Passage too or this could be a very dull day for me...

I think weld should pull out rite of passage :)

An already weak looking Ribblesdale has just turned into the worst group 2 I've ever seen. Very very nice opportunity for fillies to get some black type

What's the story with ground now lads? Any rain likely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Coulsty 9/1 with hills and 365, I can't let that go.

Late decision going to be made on Rite of Passage

Ah for fck... Weld is stalling on his decision :) Already had a saver on Last Train so might go in again just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Looks like Rite of Passage may be a NR too, Weld leaving it to the last minute

Weld leaving ROP decision to last minute per ATR.

Ground bone dry over there.

Saddlers Rock will love the quick ground in the GC.

Might be worth keeping an eye on some of the American bred horses they are bred to run on roads the turf breds

Cape Peron will surely be pulled from the Brittania given that the ground is that firm??
    Also just realised that having backed Riposte and Last Train, I'm looking for a broodmare (Rainbow Lake) to produce 2 horses to win at Royal Ascot on the same day, don't think that's ever happened before but couldn't swear to it...

Will Weld pull Big Break tomorrow too if ground remains the same? :(

Wards no say never. Gave a good word on ATR there 15 min ago.

jimjamcos wrote: »

To be fair, I wouldn't blame any trainer for pulling them out if it gets too hard. They will water after racing if no rain comes today.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Saddlers Rock will love the quick ground in the GC.

His day in the sun has arrived! Come. On. My. Son. :D

To be fair, I wouldn't blame any trainer for pulling them out if it gets too hard. They will water after racing if no rain comes today.

Ah yea, couldn't blame a trainer for looking after their horse. I'm just being a selfish punter! :P

Bet they water this evening and the heavy rain will arrive during the night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Viztoria too will prob be a NR

Slattsy wrote: »
    Bet they water this evening and the heavy rain will arrive during the night..

They'll have no other option other than to water it though, even if it's still promising rain. Worst case scenario for clerk is big trainers pulling their horses because of ground risk.

By default, im going with Coach House in the opener #****it

Small bet on Franks horse too at 16s

Ah yea, couldn't blame a trainer for looking after their horse. I'm just being a selfish punter! :P

Nothing wrong with that!

If Frank Spencer was on Green Door & Crowley was on the filly I'd have no hesitation in switching my bet, I refuse to let that gimp carry any of my money anymore. As it stands I'm happy to stick with Green Door, form looks solid enough, trainer reckons he works better than the horse he sent out to win the Windsor Castle on Tuesday & yer man Redvers the owners rep gave it a good shout on the Morning Line... Cue the Ballydoyle horse hosing up now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Hope it doesnt rain,in fact i hope they tarmac the course, shebebi in the britannia will love the going : )