Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Anglo Irish Tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭johnty56

Why don't people take to the streets? The ****ers in charge realise that the world is changing, and they won't be able to keep passing the jobs around between themselves and their families like they have been doing since the foundations of the state and now all pretence of fairness is gone.. they really don't give a fuk anymore, they are knee deep in the trough trying to get as much as they can.. to get as rich as they and their families can whilst the chance is in it..

People need to get out on the streets, day in day out until they do something. even a small thing like having these two ****ers arrested and charged with something, anyone of a number of offences which they must be guilty of would be a start, a move in the right direction.. they are afraid to make this move in case people expect it to take on a momentum and lead to real change in the way Ireland is run, and they would have to relinquish control.. come on to fuk, look at Dail Eireann.. half of them are inbred ****wits who are only there because its the family business..

I suggest a protest, either in front of the home of Bowe, the worst of them, or Dail Eireann on Friday or Saturday this week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Nothing is ever going to happen regarding justice while FG are still in power because they too are up to their necks in sh1te and it's only matter of time before more crap comes out.

the real problem is we have no one worth giving a vote to

FF - well no need why they should never see the light of day again
    FG - dodgy to a point , but far to inept IMO
    labour - would sell their grannys to get elected - really could not trust them
    Sf - BANG BANG , dont open the closet :eek:

and the independents - well , what a bunch of tax defaulting , chip on the shoulder , ranting tin foil hat wearing nut jobs

so that leaves .........................................

So Denmark , Norway fancy a little island ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Not a bit surprised by all this. As my old Pottler account, I banged on about what a massive scam job the bank bailout was and was generally told to stfu. Best laugh is, the only outcome from this will no doubt be an enquiry, which will achieve SFA apart from further enriching a lot of Barristers, "expert witnesses" pfft, and Politicians. The gravy train will roll merrily along. Dissenters will be dismissed as Loons and hippies, as per usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

It makes me laugh when they are described in newspapers as most hated.
    If that was true how could they get senior positions according to linkedin in charity addiction organisations or dealing with health sector, and were there 2 Sean Fs in Anglo or who is the one listed in HR???

How many people have mental or physical health issues as a direct result of the disregard they portrayed for Ireland?

Joke if it wasnt serious
    "raise awareness of the extent of the problems,
    the resulting widespread suffering and the stigma"
    "persuasive and acomplished communicator
    significant capital raising experience "

"under the terms of payment we say no" - "No NOT APPLICABLE" "HAHAHA"
    :mad:
    :mad:

Ireland, this laugh's for you :eek::mad::eek:

http://www.irishtimes.com/blogs/gallery/files/2013/02/drumm1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

So lets be clear on this. The bank bailout which has cost the Irish people billions was/is fraudulent at best a scam at worst? I think whoever claims social welfare in this country is the real problem would want to cop on frankly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

steddyeddy wrote: »
    ........... I think whoever claims social welfare in this country is the real problem would want to cop on frankly.

You've lost me here, what? :confused:

Boombastic wrote: »
    You've lost me here, what? :confused:

Every second thread on AH is an attack on the social welfare system in this country. It's clear to see its not the real problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Every second thread on AH is an attack on the social welfare system in this country. It's clear to see its not the real problem.

Ah, I get it I read it as in those claiming social welfare were the problem, not those claiming that those claiming social welfare are the problem...if ya get me........:) I agree with you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It's the parallel social welfare system for the elite of the speculation industry and the cronies that we need to wind up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Not a bit surprised by all this. As my old Pottler account, I banged on about what a massive scam job the bank bailout was and was generally told to stfu. Best laugh is, the only outcome from this will no doubt be an enquiry, which will achieve SFA apart from further enriching a lot of Barristers, "expert witnesses" pfft, and Politicians. The gravy train will roll merrily along. Dissenters will be dismissed as Loons and hippies, as per usual.

A lot of people banged on about how it was a scam, but almost all of them claimed the politicians were in on it, and it was "corrupt", all of which looked like, and often was, no more than meaningless reflex cynicism.

The real tragedy here is that you've got two muppets who don't think any further than helping "save their company" - don't think anything of the fact that it's taxpayers' money they're getting poured into their broken bank - facing off against a bunch of clueless regulatards who hadn't an inkling that anything was wrong in the banks they were supposed to be regulating.

99.9% of those who were busily banging on about it being a "scam" missed the point, as ever, and blamed on conspiracy what is ever more clearly a combination of incompetence and complete failure to think. The two jokers on the tapes aren't cunning conspirators, but they've got the drop on the people they're negotiating with, because those people have spent the previous decade in an even happier haze of wishful thinking and problem denial.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Scofflaw wrote: »
    A lot of people banged on about how it was a scam, but almost all of them claimed the politicians were in on it, and it was "corrupt", all of which looked like, and often was, no more than meaningless reflex cynicism.

The real tragedy here is that you've got two muppets who don't think any further than helping "save their company" - don't think anything of the fact that it's taxpayers' money they're getting poured into their broken bank - facing off against a bunch of clueless regulatards who hadn't an inkling that anything was wrong in the banks they were supposed to be regulating.

99.9% of those who were busily banging on about it being a "scam" missed the point, as ever, and blamed on conspiracy what is ever more clearly a combination of incompetence and complete failure to think. The two jokers on the tapes aren't cunning conspirators, but they've got the drop on the people they're negotiating with, because those people have spent the previous decade in an even happier haze of wishful thinking and problem denial.

cordially,
    Scofflaw
    My goodness, the heavy guns are out this evening. Scofflaw no less. The same Scofflaw who told me at the time of the bailout that "this was the only recourse for the Government", that "anglo was indeed systemic". "What other course of action was there??" Indeed.

Cowen playing golf with his buddy was of course just a social occasion, the Minister of Finanace choosing to ignore expert opinion and take the opposite course of action was just him being "decisive". Quinn getting nicely shafted and his business stripped from his control. All the lousy, scaldy gamblers getting paid back in full out of the public purse. Not one penny of the EU/IMF bailout money being used to bail out the banks -killing any recourse to re-negotiation, The NPRF being systematically plundered into private hands..

I said at the time it was the biggest robbery in Irelands History, the biggest transfer of Public, state, taxpayers monies into private coffers. And it was. These jokers are laughing, because they are on one side of the game -the side that never loses, no matter what. The rest of us are on the other side - the sucker side. And we are going to keep on getting suckered for decades. Well may these lads have laughed. Some other establishment mouthpiece will be on now in a minute telling me how wrong I have got it all and what an eejit I am. No need boys, I know i'm an eejit, I realised it all too well as I signed the cheque for my household charge to go towards paying for this bloody shysterism.

My goodness, the heavy guns are out this evening. Scofflaw no less. The same Scofflaw who told me at the time of the bailout that "this was the only recourse for the Government", that "anglo was indeed systemic". "What other course of action was there??" Indeed.

Cowen playing golf with his buddy was of course just a social occasion, the Minister of Finanace choosing to ignore expert opinion and take the opposite course of action was just him being "decisive". Quinn getting nicely shafted and his business stripped from his control. All the lousy, scaldy gamblers getting paid back in full out of the public purse. Not one penny of the EU/IMF bailout money being used to bail out the banks -killing any recourse to re-negotiation, The NPRF being systematically plundered into private hands..

I said at the time it was the biggest robbery in Irelands History, the biggest transfer of Public, state, taxpayers monies into private coffers. And it was. These jokers are laughing, because they are on one side of the game -the side that never loses, no matter what. The rest of us are on the other side - the sucker side. And we are going to keep on getting suckered for decades. Well may these lads have laughed.

I said at the time exactly what I'm saying now - that the problem was not whether Anglo was "systemic", but that the government didn't have any way of knowing whether it was or not, because it had spent the previous decade rolling bank regulation back so as not to interfere with the banks making money.

As to whether letting Anglo collapse would have immediately brought on market shut-out for the other Irish banks - yes, I think it would have done. The problem is that that happened anyway, because the levels of incompetence in the other banks were barely lower, and their regulation exactly equivalent.

The tapes do show very neatly that the collapse of confidence in Irish banks was deserved, and that the simultaneous and related collapse of confidence in Irish bank regulation was equally deserved. It's still completely meaningless to talk about it as if it were some kind of thought-out crime rather than a calamitous mess of idiocy. People did morally repugnant things - like luring the CBI and taxpayer into supporting a bust bank - as a result of the collapse, but none of it was done cleverly with an eye to profit. Instead, it was done in a flailing witless panic by people who had dropped themselves into 20,000 leagues of brown stuff because they thought they were very much cleverer than they actually were, and who tried to save themselves by duping people even less clued in, and none of whom had the wit to realise, or perhaps the courage to say, that their business wasn't worth saving at the cost of the country.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

Well of course they were just incompetent idiots. They managed to make fortunes during the good times and passed the buck to the public when the arse fell out of it.

Yeah idiots lol.

Nothing to see here people move along.

Joshua J wrote: »
    Well of course they were just incompetent idiots. They managed to make fortunes during the good times and passed the buck to the public when the arse fell out of it.

Yeah idiots lol.

Nothing to see here people move along.

Things don't have to be exciting crimes to be serious problems. And they still need to be fixed, long after the mob have gone happily home from the lynching.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Things don't have to be exciting crimes to be serious problems. And they still need to be fixed, long after the mob have gone happily home from the lynching.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Just piss on their heads and tell them it's raining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

cordially,
    Scofflaw

Nobody has been lynched yet save for Padraig Nally, garlic man, and a heap of TV licence evaders.
    The folks without connections.

The bankers and politicos wouldn't know what a rope burn even feels like.

not quite right - a lot of threads are about fraud of the system , that spin into **** storms , but fraud is fraud , does not matter who does it or for how much.

but there is no telling some people - it always boils down to " forget what the little man is doing - look at what the bankers done " well thats half true.

if you are not going to be speaking out of one side of your mouth , then BOTH have to be tackled - and forget the robin hood rubbish

you cant call for these guys balls while scamming the social at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

These people & the likes of Drumm & Dunne & Fitzpatrick should have their passports revoked. They worked against the state & should not have any benefits of being an Irish citizen.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

You don't have to be cunning to orchestrate a scam. The people who were banging on about it being a scam were perfectly right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

I said at the time exactly what I'm saying now
    You were a spoofer then and you are a spoofer now.

Yours,

Drumswan

dj jarvis wrote: »
    not quite right - a lot of threads are about fraud of the system , that spin into **** storms , but fraud is fraud , does not matter who does it or for how much.

but there is no telling some people - it always boils down to " forget what the little man is doing - look at what the bankers done " well thats half true.

if you are not going to be speaking out of one side of your mouth , then BOTH have to be tackled - and forget the robin hood rubbish

you cant call for these guys balls while scamming the social at the same time.

Yes both have to be tackled but both havent been tackled. There are people in jail for committing social welfare fraud yet not fraud on a massive level. Yet social welfare fraud is complained about most on here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Those anglo f**kers deserve one of these

250px-Knot-hangmans-noose%281%29.jpg

OU812 wrote: »
    These people & the likes of Drumm & Dunne & Fitzpatrick should have their passports revoked. They worked against the state & should not have any benefits of being an Irish citizen.

Drumm roll, HAHAHA
    sean3.jpg

:mad:;):eek::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Courtesy Flush

Dont forget also how AIB managed to use Bailout money to shore up their pension funds, think it was around a billion.
    AND THE GOVERNMENT DID NOTHING :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

How did the conversation get recorded?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

My blood is boiling over this, these knobs have me and the rest of the country in the crappy position were in now :mad: ...

:eek: Did you hear the reporter on the six one news that was talking to Sharon Ní Bheoláin trying to justify/play down what was said on the tapes :eek:

Why?

Joshua J wrote: »
    Just piss on their heads and tell them it's raining.

Sure if I gave them someone's head on a plate while I did it, they'd make me pope.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

How did the conversation get recorded?
    all internal phone calls were recorded. Such was their disregard, that didnt even bother them.

Rolling in the years

wil wrote: »
    all internal phone calls were recorded. Such was their disregard, that didnt even bother them.

Rolling in the years

I wonder if the Indo is getting them only now because the detectives have finished with them?

cordially,
    Scofflaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

wil wrote: »

Rolling in the years

How would one get access to these recordings?:confused:

Sure if I gave them someone's head on a plate while I did it, they'd make me pope.

cordially,
    Scofflaw

For selling your soul?. How apt.

I wonder if the Indo is getting them only now because the detectives have finished with them?

cordially,
    Scofflaw
    Apparently there is thousands of hours of them and yes prob an unofficial "leak". Hardly FOI?
    Maybe detectives dont have enough resources on their own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Leiva wrote: »
    I was no fan of Brian Lenihan or FF, but the man must be turning in his grave today.

When you see what he was up against when trying to deal with these creeps.

It must have been like trying to catch an eel with boxing gloves on when trying to get a hold of what was going on at Anglo and other gambling banks.

infuriating stuff.

Might not be able to catch it but a swift blow to the head would kill it. ;)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

the real problem is we have no one worth giving a vote to

FF - well no need why they should never see the light of day again
    FG - dodgy to a point , but far to inept IMO
    labour - would sell their grannys to get elected - really could not trust them
    Sf - BANG BANG , dont open the closet :eek:

and the independents - well , what a bunch of tax defaulting , chip on the shoulder , ranting tin foil hat wearing nut jobs

so that leaves .........................................

So Denmark , Norway fancy a little island ?
    I think this pic of me, in front of the US Embassy is appropriate right about now...

3280857417_f4ed07dba5_z.jpg
    we have wmds invade us PLEASE by devoresphotos, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

I am fcuking raging after listening to that pair of ****.

And nothing will come of this. It will take them months to get this legislation together, followed by some bullsh*t enquiry that will take a few years and will inevitably lead to nothing but a colossal waste to the tax payer.

Instead of King Inda and Fisher Price head Eamon Gilmore actually making a statement of intent that the people of Ireland deserve, it's the same sh*te - "The incompetence of the Fianna Fail government at the time blah blah"...Just do your fcuking job and lead the country with some balls and integrity.

This "reporter" on the six one news http://www.rte.ie/playerxl/#v=10159563 at 5.30 is making me mad ... Why is he trying to play down this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

AND THE GOVERNMENT DID NOTHING :rolleyes:

The government didn't do nothing. It facilitated mass fraud.

DeVore wrote: »
    I think this pic of me, in front of the US Embassy is appropriate right about now...

PMSL :D

cordially,
    Scofflaw
    Naah, they're getting them now so that if by some miracle it ever does go to court, they can claim public release caused prejudice and the inability to get a fair trial. Or some other clever stroke that they are "too incompetent" to have thought up. Incompetent? That's like calling a Great White Shark cuddly. These guys are far, far from dumb. You'd cut yourself on them they're so sharp.

Could someone more knowledgeable than I take a look at the Sean F linkedin profile and determine is this genuinely the bankrupt SeanieF and if so, why is Bord Gais and Intel featuring on it?:confused:

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Naah, they're getting them now so that if by some miracle it ever does go to court, they can claim public release caused prejudice and the inability to get a fair trial. Or some other clever stroke that they are "too incompetent" to have thought up. Incompetent? That's like calling a Great White Shark cuddly. These guys are far, far from dumb. You'd cut yourself on them they're so sharp.
    I asked about that over on our Legal Discussion forum here : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85234262#post85234262
    Seems like it might not be a block on prosecution, though it certainly makes it tricky to introduce the evidence.

Jaysis, this Boards place is awesome altogether Ted. :)

I asked about that over on our Legal Discussion forum here : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=85234262#post85234262
    Seems like it might not be a block on prosecution, though it certainly makes it tricky to introduce the evidence.

Jaysis, this Boards place is awesome altogether Ted. :)
    Didn't see it, will head over for a goo. It might not block prosecution, but a good Barrister will be able to argue effectively that any trial is prejudiced against his clients and that a fair trial cannot be guaranteed as a result of mass media coverage(obviously with a totally wrong slant placed on his impeccable, pillar of Irelands economy, clients good names). It will gain traction with a Judge who already thinks it is a disgrace that these nice lads from clongowes/the rock have been inconvenienced by having to appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

dickwod1 wrote: »
    This "reporter" on the six one news http://www.rte.ie/playerxl/#v=10159563 at 5.30 is making me mad ... Why is he trying to play down this?

There was a Professor from Trinity also playing it down on the radio.

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    There was a Professor from Trinity also playing it down on the radio.
    Why though? and the RTE "reporter" seemed to be all down beat/bored and unexcited by the news !!!

I find it very strange :confused:

Yes both have to be tackled but both havent been tackled. There are people in jail for committing social welfare fraud yet not fraud on a massive level. Yet social welfare fraud is complained about most on here.

agree 100% , some balance if nothing else - anyone with a hand in this should do jail time , it goes without saying in my book

point i was making was that some posters think dole fraud is ok , because the bankers done worse :confused: , go figure with that logic

dickwod1 wrote: »
    Why though? and the RTE "reporter" seemed to be all down beat/bored and unexcited by the news !!!

I find it very strange :confused:
    Really? That's because RTE is utterly impartial, totally anti-partisan and does not have a huge sword of damocleas hanging over it with the funding issue? "Toe the line or we'll do a Greece on Ye." Hmm.

is that a little red dot on your forehead ???

Is that a Plaid shirt you're wearing Dev? Mother of God. I'm surprised a sniper didn't at least try and take it out.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Should read "We have Oil" but, I digress.

I'm not saying we should shoot them all...

Thats far too quick and painless. But unless someone knocks down the door and ties them up then forces feeds them euros until they coke then nothing's going to happen. Lynching just isn't fun when half your friends have emigrated and you're the last rat left on the Titanic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

This is why I left Ireland two years ago. I refuse to pay for this toxic bank. The only way to not do that is leave, or go on the dole so I left. It's a very sad state of affairs, and Ireland is the laughing stock of the world yet again. Certainly in America Ireland is reknowned for not prosecuting. Slag the states off all you want, call them fat, and so on, but they lock people up and throw away the key.