Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

What? :confused:

Iron cleanse, I'm referring to, not tar..?

I was told that I should leave it for a while and the general consensus on here at the time (from what i recall) is that I wasn't leaving it on for long enough. So I took a break from detailing for a half an hour to get something to eat, etc. and did the iron cleanse before i went. Came back about 30 minutes later and all I got was this lousy t-shirt

70BE81EE8E80410C8DDE777DB1FE85AF-0000333410-0003483770-00800L-AA5D598CB22C43CF9CBAB52683C648C3.jpg

Hadnt you already done a hit of Iron Cleanse diluted down, only a few days before hand. ..so it would have removed a certain amount and not a whole lot left to react with on the 2nd attempt.

Curran wrote: »
    Hadnt you already done a hit of Iron Cleanse diluted down, only a few days before hand. ..so it would have removed a certain amount and not a whole lot left to react with on the 2nd attempt.

I did, but not on that wheel. That wheel was the spare wheel (that I skipped over the first time around).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I did, but not on that wheel. That wheel was the spare wheel (that I skipped over the first time around).

Well in that case it would very rarely have been used so there's your answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Day 3. Only got a fairly small bit done today because I had college due :rolleyes:

Step one was take the car out of the garage and wash it to get rid of all the remaining polish residue. For the craic I put an nice of APC into the snow foam lance and filled it to the top with warm water. Doing this produced a nice thick long dwelling foam (though not as long as snow foam). Might be worth trying for the people having problems with their foam. Was just the Lidl stuff that I used, it might help diagnose is the problem is with the foam or the lance :)

Here's a few snaps of it out in natural light after washing it down.

F695BA2A4450461E8BC94F82553498BE-0000363222-0003483768-01024L-4AC21DD5BBFC4A5CABBC8805DEA135D3.jpg

7F99825D10284ED2A1AF6A29FD6DF46B-0000363222-0003483767-01024L-7CD30409C6194AB1BDFE70EEF6C0869E.jpg

9F762FCD482B460080A64103530D2A05-0000363222-0003483765-01024L-A078D5B85D374D1AA5CC5D9C106E73F6.jpg

Tail light polished up and looking lovely.

B5AE60F226F54774AEBD470673D61946-0000363222-0003483766-01024L-4EBD8F999ADB497581172DD3E357DDD5.jpg

Then I got a bit lazy and washed the wheel arches out with the wheels on. I wanted to get it back in the garage ASAP as it looked a bit like rain for a while and if the car is in the garage I could just take the wheels out and wash them.
    I still washed them out fairly well though :)

5B7D0EA18939467AB06AFFABD3213B6D-0000363222-0003483769-01024L-4A86934A44E84C3D952FA00A7F693808.jpg

Then heres a wheel before.

38FC6B5940D247058FC8F82309B9054F-0000363222-0003483764-01024L-FB9C4CF86DDE40C78BE237B6661F5FFC.jpg

6AC5BD88CABF4D8D9181BDDE07D44931-0000363222-0003483763-01024L-12652060945342AC96362503398FF370.jpg

Washing with wheel cleanse. The reason I'm using a broken brush it because I drove over it :p

92A0BC476348480E85A96AB4BC22E540-0000363222-0003483762-01024L-A83F78BA017E416588EC8B30A678AA57.jpg

Scrubbing the tyre down.

B1F2B85259014FC7A039077D724BF251-0000363222-0003483761-01024L-24EBD019221640F28E283C12D9EBC1B5.jpg

Iron cleanse.

881F4BEC1F584BEAA108DD18AC5CA7FD-0000363222-0003483760-01024L-3E8CCCD8DC2841168B0661C6953A2780.jpg

Clay

EEDF57EFEEAE48FBB2B8453121F103D2-0000363222-0003483759-01024L-8510D66983134DE0AF301EB2F3988C25.jpg

Note that I painted the wheels myself and did a fairly shoddy job (still way better than they were before though) so the surface is pretty rough and didn't come 100% clean. I'm still fairly happy though :)

The next thing I turned my attention to is the brake caliper. Scrubbed down with wheel cleanse, rinsed and then dried. Nearly put CG wheel guard on them but didn't clean them well enough and didn't want to dirty my applicator pad!

FA2DF7D5720D4ED4B69BA0D50D361D76-0000363222-0003483758-01024L-047252CE2F1F4291B2E8DB52F5A25AB9.jpg

After.

D49BA1D62CD540F0A1A5B73FD2D28DF4-0000363222-0003483757-01024L-1E0E066623794183932C06D44D348B2B.jpg

Next it was the wheel arches. They were cleaned earlier so I put a bit of tyre dressing on them to blacken them.

71A989353BAE4DC59CD0A9B9FC849728-0000363222-0003483756-01024L-506E02EA75F443F283ED77888F3661B9.jpg

5818BB0D32A1494E954E910C8F30F607-0000363222-0003483753-01024L-FB193ABC828B42B8ABF922CCD2A23417.jpg

At the same time as doing the wheel arches it turns out that wheel guard doesn't cure when it's 0ºc :(
    Into the kitchen it was :D:D

A9E2929545824B81B85B1263911DAE1E-0000363222-0003483755-01024L-D839BEAAF3E642D0BED353420AFFA5FF.jpg

THen it was center cap time. They were beside the car and got a lot of polish sling on them.

457C366AA96D4350B9604830A6AD9844-0000363222-0003483750-01024L-0EB7A3BDAF3F43DD830CB515254EC9C1.jpg

They were cleaned whit wheel cleanse too and then treated to wheel guard. 3 coats, same as the wheels :D

The finished result!

0AD7516305D644E08FA16D18CA4E598F-0000363222-0003483749-01024L-5B7525F362664F9BBD02E4D559936383.jpg

I also did 3 coats of Extra gloss protection on the paint. I'm thinking of doing a couple of more… Do you think that's excessive or a good plan?

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I also did 3 coats of Extra gloss protection on the paint. I'm thinking of doing a couple of more… Do you think that's excessive or a good plan?

There's no harm, but its a case of diminisihing returns putting on more and more coats. 2 or 3 is generally enough. And the 3rd would be more a case of ensuring that you've got 100% coverage, as you'll generally miss a few small areas doing each coat.

Well in that case it would very rarely have been used so there's your answer!

But that was my most extreme case of purple-ness, including the wheels that were on the car all the time.

(the spare wheel had definitely been used in the past, by the way, it was filthy when I first looked at it after buying the car. I spent ages cleaning it before I did that few days of cleaning the Rav as a whole)

But that was my most extreme case of purple-ness, including the wheels that were on the car all the time.

(the spare wheel had definitely been used in the past, by the way, it was filthy when I first looked at it after buying the car. I spent ages cleaning it before I did that few days of cleaning the Rav as a whole)

OK, I give up :pac:

It may have been filthy, but probably didnt see a whole lot of time fitted to the car!! ;)
    Could have been put on, used for a day or two in bad weather and never cleaned when put back on the back, and dirt was baked in!!

My brothers car hasnt been cleaned in ages, and the front wheels are caked in brake dust. If I get a chance, I'll use Iron Cleanse on them at the weekend and take pics of the reaction at 1:1 and at 1:3

There's no harm, but its a case of diminisihing returns putting on more and more coats. 2 or 3 is generally enough. And the 3rd would be more a case of ensuring that you've got 100% coverage, as you'll generally miss a few small areas doing each coat.

OK thanks for that, I think I'll put 1 more on though :D

Now I'm off to clean 3 more wheels in the rain :(

• Registered Users Posts: 336 ✭✭bazery

Quick question I'm trying to pick up tar cleanse and collinite 476. Where are ye getting them from? I've only just started getting the detailing itch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭vectra

bazery wrote: »
    Quick question I'm trying to pick up tar cleanse and collinite 476. Where are ye getting them from? I've only just started getting the detailing itch

Right here.
    And welcome. :)

Tar Cleanse

Collinite 476

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

I'm thinking of getting Collinite 845 as I'm hoping to get a a DA polisher, and I could apply it fairly easily by sticking an applicator on the polisher yes?

That would be my main reason for choosing the liquid wax, along with the good things I've heard about it. But what do you guys do? I'm thinking of Pete's 53 and Collinite 476 as well if they're any better?

Well you wont be able to attach an applicator to the polisher, but you will be able to get a pad soft enough to do the job....but I wouldnt use a machine to apply anything, unless you've done the correct prepartation; mainly de-tar and claying.

Pete's 53 is a very nice wax, especially on darker colours. Collinite 476s is a very durable wax, a little harder to work with than Pete's 53, but great value for money. If you are going for the 845, it will be best to go with 476s to layer it...if that is your plan, rather than the 845 and Pete's 53. Something like JetSeal109 would be ideal for layering with Pete's 53.

Collinite 845 is a lot easier to apply and buff off as it's a liquid compared to 476S which is a paste. If you wanted to use your D/A to apply 845, you should use the black (finishing) pad at a speed of no more than 3. All you need to do is take the work out of applying by hand so there's no need to have it at a higher speed, lower it if anything.

Also, don't smother the pad in the stuff, a little goes a long way with this so only apply more when you're sure it needs it otherwise it will just create excess which is nothing but waste. Thin coats all the way, not thick ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭JAMES VTI S

I'm thinking of getting Collinite 845 as I'm hoping to get a a DA polisher, and I could apply it fairly easily by sticking an applicator on the polisher yes?

All you need to know about this wax is right here

Cheers lads. Great forum. Can't wait until I have some time on my hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

I don't see why everyone says 476 is hard to apply. If it is then you're using too much.

You just give the applicator a light twist in the tin and that should be enough to give the thinnest of coatings on about a square foot. I was sceptical the first time I did it as I figured there is no way such a thin coat will do anything, but once it was buffed it looked great.

Working like that it's very easy to use and you can cover the car very quickly.

All you need to know about this wax is right here

That's a great read! :)

Very easy to use, i think the lads are saying 845 is easier

That's a great read! :)

It's the best

Never tried 476 but I love the ease of use and results from 845.
    I always go back to it no matter what i buy.

vectra wrote: »
    Never tried 476 but I love the ease of use and results from 845.
    I always go back to it no matter what i buy.

Did you have to do all that messing with the water and sun to get 845 to the correct consistency? I've only used 476 and even though I love it, I find it can be tough to buff off even after making sure to apply in the thinest of layers.

Pre-mixed boss :D
    Easy on~Easy off..
    No mess~No Fuss :pac:

vectra wrote: »
    Pre-mixed boss :D
    Easy on~Easy off..
    No mess~No Fuss :pac:

Yeah but did you read the link James posted?

Guilty of not reading it. :o

** EDIT **

Just took a read of it there.
    Almost exactly as i do it myself, Except when I put it in warm water I transfer some in to as sample size flip top bottle.

I've only used 476 and even though I love it, I find it can be tough to buff off even after making sure to apply in the thinest of layers.

And to think last week you were calling me a pussy... :pac:

stimpson wrote: »
    And to think last week you were calling me a pussy... :pac:

Indeed! There's a huge difference between something being tough to buff off and something "being a bit easier on the arms" :P

Was the little layer of wax too much for you???

Seriously, a squirt of QD helps with removing excess wax.

Was the little layer of wax too much for you???

Seriously, a squirt of QD helps with removing excess wax.

LOL it had become more than a little layer :P

I find that especially with Collie 476, using QD only makes it worse and makes the cloth sticky and useless.

I've only used 476 and even though I love it, I find it can be tough to buff off even after making sure to apply in the thinest of layers.

ljmYF7S.jpg

Think about this, you swirl the applicator pad on the top of the paste and very often it can build up to thick on the area that you start with. Don't try to tell me that it's never happened anyone that has used 476 because the truth is, it has happened us all :P

And yes, I do lift ;)

I'll lift your head off your shoulders with a box :pac:

Think about this, you swirl the applicator pad on the top of the paste and very often it can build up to thick on the area that you start with. Don't try to tell me that it's never happened anyone that has used 476 because the truth is, it has happened us all :P

I'd say you're using too much wax. When you think there isn't enough on the applicator it's probably just about right.

I'm talking about when I first started using 476, I haven't used it since the god that is Gtechniq came into my life :D

I'll lift your head off your shoulders with a box :pac:

kg4R3hD.jpg

Ye junkies b****rd ye

Today I finished the car :D:D:D

So I started today by cleaning the other 3 wheels. I didn't put any more EGP on the body, just left it at the 3 coats.:)
    I then hoovered the interior and gave the seats a quick wash. To wash the seats I dissolved a bit of normal washing powder for clothes etc in a spray bottle. Spray the detergent onto the seats. Quick rub with an interior brush, hoover off. I have a Lidl wet and dry hoover which comes in handy! I didn't take any pictures of this because I'm sure that you've all seen hoovering before :P:P
    I took a bit of extra care cleaning the steering wheel. Over time the red stitching had collected a lot of dirt and had lost it's bright red colour and when you looked closely you could see the dirt ground into it.

Before

B915F6B3F87A4125960DC87C397E39FC-0000363222-0003484107-01024L-F4C3C5BEFB0440F898C5BE29F64E152C.jpg

After

495B83BDC0BC43F28BD537C1BABBEFD9-0000363222-0003484106-01024L-1F8A8C433F744031881DDE3187FE2F02.jpg

The next thing after that was to apply back to black to all the exterior trim including the wiper arms, window rubbers, door and boot seals and various other pieces of trim.

BLAAAAAAAAKKK

91DC6F3565464EB8BFD0389C4236ADFB-0000363222-0003484105-01024L-91021994DBE14EBC9B3DFBE486FE7832.jpg

And then finally it was done! Here's the after pictures you've been waiting for!!!!

575E0DC056AB45B993A72C7A4653EE17-0000363222-0003484104-01024L-190ACB94AB3F4DA18889FBC2B1273EE8.jpg

1B5BD6D8F5A04F3CAC76B5B1941E03FD-0000363222-0003484103-01024L-8D1BCA5884F84B68AB331DCC3F457D15.jpg

And it was dark :P. Proper after photos tomorrow folks :)

Be sure to post "proper" after shots tomorrow, or when there's a break in the weather......probably need a wash again when that comes about! :p

Steam on the steering wheel stitching ;-)

Be sure to post "proper" after shots tomorrow, or when there's a break in the weather......probably need a wash again when that comes about! :p

Will do!
    Steam on the steering wheel stitching ;-)

I don't have a steam cleaner so I just used a bit of APC and a brush. Still came out well :)

OK, I give up :pac:

That was the general consensus at the time, too.

Maybe I'm just being a bit hard on the previous owner - Perhaps he was detailer-mad and iron cleansed it before I got it :pac:

Here's some better afters, some with the over night dew/rain on it and some after a drive. Unfortunatly when I was out driving I curbed a wheel and the exhaust fell off…. You just can't win :rolleyes:

8C69AD3BDD2448F7AC2B74020BAF5796-0000363222-0003484371-01024L-DE75FF89385D49A69B1F5A240EE4AE1F.jpg

BAF6C29E7CFA4B6FB739478E02B3FCCF-0000363222-0003484372-01024L-69D8124991C64E1896D2F70AAAF0DD71.jpg

F7CAC50CBDB640709E7D8ACAA16DC685-0000363222-0003484373-01024L-F3FACE76A8944545AB25553625E676AE.jpg

After the drive

E5F4539CDFEE4F2EA0A93B10D7B5CD19-0000363222-0003484369-01024L-E48202515BEF4962BE0F2E647533ADDA.jpg

A66562B55F69467689C58BCA0C087121-0000363222-0003484368-01024L-DEC36753D9C948BE9BFA96B132AF15A1.jpg

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    F7CAC50CBDB640709E7D8ACAA16DC685-0000363222-0003484373-01024L-F3FACE76A8944545AB25553625E676AE.jpg

This needs to go on the Beadophiles thread

^ Great job.

9D63kuT.jpg

Nice to see a minded jap sports car for a change.

Thanks man :)

I should be able to repair the wheel tomorrow and the mechanic is getting in an exhaust mount so that should be done this week :)

I respect a person when they keep the car as it should be, modding is good but to a point big stupid wheels, low to the ground, camber to the sky ECT ECT ECT ......... it's so boaring

The same recipe again and again and again on and on and on, why make a car into something it's not and never will be.

Keeping it real ;)

Fair play Sean.

Seen the car when Sean picked up a few bits and I agree, its a very nice one. Very tidy for the age/mileage!

Keep it up! ;)

Nice n clean Fair play.

I have a cheap rotary buffer. What are yer opinions on them. I'm thinking of using it to buff off the collinite 476. Or are these rotary buffers a no go

Thats literally all they're able to do; buffing....but to be honest, they're that big an clumsy that they're not worth the hassle.

bazery wrote: »
    I'm thinking of using it to buff off the collinite 476.

:confused: Why oh why would you use anything other the a microfiber cloth to rub clean 476 ....

Is someone taking the p!$$ :pac: