Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Defects???? How can a quick detailer hide a diesel engine? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Defects???? How can a quick detailer hide a diesel engine? :pac:

Sorry, I can't hear you over those rattling wastgates :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »

Someone get the burn cream quick! :pac:

while i was working away on the 900 today i tried to polish up the exhaust as best i could, used a pot scrubber soaked in kerosene to get the tar off, dried it and used autosol metal polish then, still dull as hell but none the less, so can anyone point me in the direction of what to do?

29gcxp0.jpg

whl7ac.jpg

whl7ac.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »

Sorry, I can't even hear the wastegates over the clatter of that yoke :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

Nahhh Metz...put the shovel down! ;)

Fine Grade steel wool with metal polish, then finish down with metal polish and a microfibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Codpeas

Curran wrote: »
    Fine Grade steel wool with metal polish, then finish down with metal polish and a microfibre.

What he said...

Example of results I got with that combo on exhaust tips that hadn't even been spat at in 5 years or so...

344699.jpg

ExhaustSxS.jpg

• Moderators Posts: 12,385 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Autosol + microfiber + elbow grease:

Before:
    IMAG0548.jpg

After:
    IMAG0561.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

^Ratio of Elbow Grease to Autosol ; 1000:1.

Excellent work.

(BTW, we've broken through the 3000 post mark with this thread, and over 178,000 views in less than two years. Not bad considering there were people who thought Car Detailing wouldn't generate enough interest/traffic to warrant it's own sub-forum!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

vectra wrote: »

2015-04-07%2B18.22.23.jpg

That is spectacular. I'm sure it was spectacular before perfection, but I don't suppose you've a pic? :)

Yeah that car is very well catered for.

Vectra - give us the history, what did she have by way of a correction detail and so on. Very, very nice example.

And oh, what ye paid for it :pac: (joke) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,590 ✭✭✭✭vectra

To be fair now lads it looks a bit too good there. Up close it has its scars and chips but nothing serious.

Polishes used.

Wolfs:
    Correctional utility
    Medium
    Jeweler

Started with a Das 6 pro but got rid of that when the first cut was around 3/4 dont and bought an EP801. rotary.

This got through the rest a lot swifter.

The Bonnet had a good few stone chips so these were cleaned with IPA and filled with paint and lacquer, then wet sanded and polished.

I had a sample bottle of Wolfs Hard body and got most of the car done with that, I also had some Body wrap lying around so used it on the rest for the car. The reason for this was she was going to be untouched for a while and needed some protection.

This was stripped back and the ep801 was used again to Refine some more, this time a black Hex pad was used with Gtechniq P1 polish.

Car was treated to 2 coats of Soft 99 Fusso
    Then topped with a coat of Soft 99 King of Gloss.

After that!
    Just regular washing and a squirt of perfection.

As for cost??
    Guess? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Serious work and effort gone into that, what kind of man hours are on it?

At least 40 hours, that's putting it mildly.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

oh my that BMW. Want to sell it. :)

vectra wrote: »
    At least 40 hours, that's putting it mildly.:o

I would have guessed at more

As I said.
    Thats putting it mildly.. very mildly.
    I suppose in hindsight, I spent half that doing the bonnet alone..:o

Puts a detailers work into perspective....most cringe at hearing the prices detailers charge....but what would you expect for a weeks work at the jobs you do!!
    Obviously not every detail is 40+ hours!

Puts a detailers work into perspective....most cringe at hearing the prices detailers charge....but what would you expect for a weeks work at the jobs you do!!
    Obviously not every detail is 40+ hours!

Exactly correct.
    I would be close on handing mine in to get it done in the future LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭RobTheLad

Right so with the weather not as nice today as during the week, I wanted to get stuck into cleaning before any showers, and whilst doing so, forgot to take a few before photos.

Got a small delivery off Detailing Shed yesterday of a DryMeCrazy towel & some Collinite 845.

Right so started off with a snowfoam, rinse, then 2BM'd the car, cleaned the wheels with my wheel woolies, and Bilt Hamber korrosol. Dried using my new towel(amazing piece of kit compared to a cheap Kent towel I had a few years!), as my car is white, it is a fcuker for showing up tar deposits, so a full body de-tar was next, rinsed, 2BM'd again, fully dried, 2 layers of Collinite 845 - 1 layer on the alloys, buffed this off, dressed the tyres with OAC Glitz and finally cleaned the black exterior plastics with some Chemical Guys plastic dressing I picked up a few years ago. Car is absolutely shining, far cleaner than when I picked it up in the garage last year!!

Will add some photos later, phone is playing up on me at the moment!

Washed it today 2bm. A coat of Blacklight and went over that with speed seal and after a few hours a quick splash of V7. Tyres dressed with 50cal cammo dressing which I gave to say really impressed me

Big up to detailingshed for meeting me Friday with some supplies!

7zCXL6.jpg

Difference between glossworx glaze and Blacklight.... Night and day, I've had so many people compliment the car today in work, with the glossworx glaze it just looks clean and shiny but with Blacklight it looks slick and wet. I'm much happier now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Did some work today because its perfect car cleaning weather! Cloudy and warm, although the sun did rear its sunny face once or twice when I was drying :( Been about two weeks but as soon as you wet the car - the HydrO2 gets to work, it really was well worth the money and hassle ;) Curran!

First of all, I organised my car cleaning products, and took a picture:
    IMG_20150413_113859_zpsm6bwfisl.jpg

Before pic with one of the front wheels bleeding :D Used Bilt Hamber Auto Wheel
    IMG_20150413_113923_zpsvvd4ejso.jpg
    IMG_20150413_113930_zpsdabedyeb.jpg

Then some foam (used ValetPro PH Neutral Snow Foam) and gave it a bit of a rinse, you can see the beading on the car after washing the suds off. Beading is from CarPro HydrO2 applied two weeks ago.
    IMG_20150413_115234_zpsnvdjasgd.jpg
    IMG_20150413_115249_zpsxgflyrgw.jpg
    IMG_20150413_120149_zpsvjl6s215.jpg
    IMG_20150413_120157_zpsz3oil7s0.jpg
    IMG_20150413_120209_zpsseboh727.jpg

Finally, dried with a Microfiber Madness drying towel, applied some Orchard Autocare Tyre Glitz. Cleaned the wheels with Wheel woolies - they are a great purchase.
    IMG_20150413_141659_zpsiehz7rrt.jpg
    IMG_20150413_142107_zpsflyntu7d.jpg

Cleaned the inside too with some 50cal Interior Dressing and 50 cal Berry Bomb Air Freshener.

Said I'd throw up a video - I was mighty impressed with the foaming from the PH Neutral foam from ValetPro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Darraghmh91.

The past while Iv been meaning to take the tints off the car so today I got the hair dryer out and peeled them off .. Took bloody ages to do but I'm happy there off now as there was a bad job done on them before hand when it was in Japan I think and they had air bubbles and ripples on them so my oem look is better now with them gone

205EF8AF-3970-44C8-8637-0F3185201153_zpsoznixm24.jpg

CD808D9D-4D74-424B-985E-DF7FDA715EDA_zpsi0fmswpq.jpg

6F619493-EA4F-4148-AAB1-280B001294B5_zpsnwuo5ev0.jpg

9EF37423-42E2-4A09-9524-72B1D001BCFA_zpsc9ib4auk.jpg

FC417E3C-417A-43C2-8324-7B47198D3643_zps7lusemlt.jpg

88930560-3827-4F72-805E-E168C48CDDF1_zpst0os2qnw.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i was soooo worried you were going to take the parking permit off too :P

looks great darragh!

Is that what the thing on the side window is man
    I always thought it was the jap insurance or tax of some sort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

yup, it must have been parked on street over in Japland! bit of info here http://www.reinventingparking.org/2014/06/japans-proof-of-parking-rule-has.html

Noway that's mad ha a load of jap cars must be on the road then ha
    Thanks for that more useless but great info for me ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭*Kol*

Mc Love wrote: »
    Said I'd throw up a video - I was mighty impressed with the foaming from the PH Neutral foam from ValetPro.

Where did you buy the foam? What type of lance are you using? Great job btw.

*Kol* wrote: »
    Where did you buy the foam? What type of lance are you using? Great job btw.

Got the foam from The Car Company NI

and the foam lance from Curran at Detailing Shed

Thanks - the CarPro HydrO2 deserves a lot for the protection it gives, made the job easier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭JAMES VTI S

My buddy in Cork city wanted his dads BMW 3 series convertible detailed as it was looking a bit weathered and faded, the car is used only on the weekends and has covered only 30,000 miles in its lifetime, taking that into account I advised on the following:
    • Soft top restoration.
    • One stage polish.
    • Polish Angel Escalate lotion and Master sealant.
    • Trim restoration.

After a thorough wash, de-tar, clay I got on with the roof.

This picture is during the cleaning process.

01-DSCF1101_zpsbfz33gdh.jpg

Lots of green algae being lifted from the fabric.

I rinsed the whole exterior once more and dried it in preparation for the re-dying of the soft top.

02-DSCF1121_zpsiz9qlooe.jpg

This picture shows the difference, Left is before re-dying and Right is after re-dying.

After drying for twenty four hours I app-lied a fabric sealer to lock in and protect the nice, clean and revived fabric.

Next I focused on the paint work, being over a decade old it was in good condition but could be much much better.

03-DSCF1111_zpsozfqsxww.jpg

This is a 50/50 of the boot lid after the one stage polish.

Next i machine applied Polish Angel Escalate Location and let it sit for 40 minutes, after that i applied the protection which was Polish Angel Master Sealant and again this was applied via machine.

On to the trim and it was prepped and dyed.

04-DSCF1122_zps2c15mvkh.jpg

05-DSCF1145_zps3yrliiww.jpg

08-DSCF1124_zpskxntdded.jpg

09-DSCF1148_zps3kkyskjj.jpg

06-DSCF1129_zpsdixql1l2.jpg

07-DSCF1146_zpsirazsi8l.jpg

10-DSCF1132_zpsmud5rl5c.jpg

11-DSCF1149_zpsoeyxrvry.jpg

12-DSCF1137_zps67m3eggl.jpg

13-DSCF1151_zpsqfoscghx.jpg

14-DSCF1135_zpscl84z2nf.jpg

15-DSCF1152_zps45u2ch94.jpg

17-DSCF1139_zpsxqqqnswp.jpg

18-DSCF1143_zpscfnswmy4.jpg

21-DSCF1154_zpsveyn4kge.jpg

I also done the kidney grills but forgot to take after pictures, but they can be seen in the finished pictures.

Finished and looking amazing :cool:

23-IMG_2168_zpsdir0di2w.jpg

27-IMG_2193_zpsolvow0ai.jpg

24-IMG_2169_zpsw8pcwyf2.jpg

25-IMG_2197_zpsgnk7czdb.jpg

26-IMG_2184_zpskmbyn4pb.jpg

28-IMG_2186_zpshrwbsznk.jpg

29-IMG_2171_zps12jqarb9.jpg

30-IMG_2175_zps5eu5pcy2.jpg

31-IMG_2179_zps8xtlmltj.jpg

32-IMG_2182_zpshzmbazpy.jpg

33-IMG_2199_zps1vsynuzm.jpg

Best thing about this detail was driving this car too and from cork, roof down driving is my favorite way to go.

Super job man really looks the job
    What did you use on the trim there it came up very well and Iv a few bits that need doin

Thanks.

I used solution finish on the trim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Thanks.

I used solution finish on the trim.

Nice job and thanks for posting the pictures! Can you explain what this is?

It's a dye that is able to soak into the pours of plastic unlike silicone products that lay on top and come off after a few washes, like I said easy use, cost effective and is good at what it does.

It's a no brainer buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

It's a dye that is able to soak into the pours of plastic unlike silicone products that lay on top and come off after a few washes, like I said easy use, cost effective and is good at what it does.

It's a no brainer buy.

How long does it last for?

Haven't been using it long enough to tell, keeping in contact with the vehicle owners will give me a good idea.

Should be easy enough for you buddy to tell you when its gone off the car!
    Though that BMW is a low miler!

Would like to see some up close reflection shots on that bmw. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Today BMW washed my car for me :D

I know they probably did a terrible job and swirled the **** out of it, but it's not in good nick at the moment anyway so...

If it's not in good nik then happy days
    Free car wash ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I do see them washing new cars on lot with sweeping brushes soft brisels but still shocking.

Should be easy enough for you buddy to tell you when its gone off the car!
    Though that BMW is a low miler!

29k mls, it's a nice driver too.
    myshirt wrote: »
    Would like to see some up close reflection shots on that bmw. Nice.

I have a video I will upload to photobucket if you like ?

Gave the silver hearse a wash and dry today :D

2015-04-16%2B16.36.21.jpg

2015-04-16%2B16.36.10.jpg

2015-04-16%2B16.36.05.jpg

2015-04-16%2B16.35.26.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Perfection! Always thought you had a hatch vectra! Was it you that had your car written off, a red one? It was just after me joining here, so I'm not sure.

Sure did
    I had 2 Hatches

No. 1

[IMG][/img]EB30E77FCDAF4C249270C33E91CB1BD0-0000326183-0001985153-00800L-BCEE5AD5A8E245CD88C4C42FE99AF27E.jpg

No. 2

923415_459685514120046_1238495893_n.jpg?oh=91c1c755b7e09e823f6d479d58513206&oe=55A867B0

9 months old and 6k kms on it
    [IMG][/img]IMG_0069_zpsc9227037.jpg

NicksvRS_008_zps31b8f860.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Treated the arches on my OH's MINI today as part of a good clean as its being sitting in our mechanics for 6 weeks. Very impressed with my go to product Chemical Guys New look gel, however it doesn't last long on the car, think of investing in some c4 as the MINI has a load of black plastic!

17007773957_6b86e666b4_s.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

ShaunieVW wrote: »
    Treated the arches on my OH's MINI today as part of a good clean as its being sitting in our mechanics for 6 weeks. Very impressed with my go to product Chemical Guys New look gel, however it doesn't last long on the car, think of investing in some c4 as the MINI has a load of black plastic!

17007773957_6b86e666b4_s.jpg

Agreed, gives a great shine for a week or two and then back to looking like it hasn't been touched for months. Currently using wolfs blackout, finding it ok on the plastics but crap on the tyres