Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pet friendly bars/cafes

• 25-06-2013 2:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭

Howdy folks

Heading to Waterford this weekend with the missus camping. Bringing the dog (well behaved, always on a lead, etc... the dog that is...).

We'll be based in tramore but just wondered if there's any cafes, bars, etc that have seating outside and/or allow pets. City or tramore?

It's not a deal breaker or anything... Just looking at options for a quick (non campsite) bite to eat, coffee or who knows... Somewhere I could catch the rugby sat morning?

Wishful thinking, I know!

Cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

the vee bistro/cafe in tramore would have outdoor seating. the vic (victoria house) pub has an outdoor area in back of pub where they may be cool with you walking thru to back with dog, cant say.

In the city centre, even more difficult, due to the nature of buildings and in general people dont like seeing dogs in restaurants. However, the Munster Bar on the Mall do great food and have a small area on front of pub (2-3 tables) where im sure you could sit no hassle with Towser. There will be a bit of activity that way as there is a concert on Friday, saturday and Sunday night, not far from the Mall. Also there is a rally staging getting set up Saturday night and the marathon is on around city also Saturday.

Conclusion, outside pubs is really your best bet, i have no experience of asking to bring a dog into a pub/cafe. I cant think of anywhere where there is an outside/smoking area TV suitable for yourself and dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭sillysocks

There's a cafe in the park in city with outdoor seating where I'd imagine you'd have no problem with a dog. Great selection of cakes and treats there :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭ex_infantry

there do be many types of dogs out on a sat night in town

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

just got back from walk with dog, had a coffee outside little cafe/restaurant down around the corner from the HiB, the new touristy place across from the menapia building. They do food too. The park as was mentioned has a little coffee shop, with some small bites available. Directly across the road the three shippes do a decent fare and they have picnic benches outside, just down the road is the Marina Hotel, the restaurant is out back and they have an outdoor seating area beside the marina. I've been to all these with my madra and she's always been welcome.

(uptown there's O'Briens, the coffee stop in the square and BerFranks on the quay and out the road the uluru has a large outdoor area with TV and good food too)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Hooked

Jaysus ye really are a helpful bunch!

I had no idea there was a marathon, rally stage and so much going on. Plenty to keep us occupied this weekend!

Thanks everyone

pharmaton wrote: »
    just got back from walk with dog, had a coffee outside little cafe/restaurant down around the corner from the HiB, the new touristy place across from the menapia building. They do food too. The park as was mentioned has a little coffee shop, with some small bites available. Directly across the road the three shippes do a decent fare and they have picnic benches outside, just down the road is the Marina Hotel, the restaurant is out back and they have an outdoor seating area beside the marina. I've been to all these with my madra and she's always welcome

Can I ask... Do you have a big dog or small dog? You know yourself, some places see big dog and think... Problem dog. Just curious as our lad is a 70lb Siberian Husky. But as quiet and well behaved as a toy dog you'd put in your bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

Hooked wrote: »
    Can I ask... Do you have a big dog or small dog? You know yourself, some places see big dog and think... Problem dog. Just curious as our lad is a 70lb Siberian Husky. But as quiet and well behaved as a toy dog you'd put in your bag.

I have a little dog but I don't think your fella would be a problem in most of those places but personally I'd try to avoid the ones that were busier just for comforts sake. The marina is usually quiet, it has easy access to the restaurant so you could order food and they will bring it out, it's a nice location (the dog will like it) and they nearly always have the match on the tv in the bar so you can keep close to commentary.

I think of tramore as a large open air restaurant anyway, you could always go get a chip on the prom and eat it down on the strand :)

• Registered Users Posts: 52 ✭✭zzdp

surfshop cafe in tramore, they even have water bowls for the dog!

you don't happen to live in kill st lawrence by any chance?? coz we have a problem husky every sunday at the back of us howling non stop for twelve hours every week without fail

I'm afraid I'm in Limerick and you can't hear my dog howl from Waterford... Because he doesn't!

Our lad is exercised for 2 hours - twice daily, walks, runs or pulls the bike (bikejoring) and is only ever alone for 3-4 hours. Ive neighbours both sides at home all day. Never a peep. He's part of the family, hence bringing him camping to Tramore and on all other trips. And he sleeps indoors. Soundly.

I don't know who to feel more sorry for... You or that poor bored/wound up husky. They're a high energy working dog that need the exercise and company of a 'pack'.

I'm gone all gay now off on a doggy tangent... Thanks again for all the info above. Looking forward to a blah or 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

If you're going into town, Lily O'Brien's café just off the main square in the city has outdoor seating and a friend of mine always goes there with her dog. She said one of the guys in there always brings out water for him and is very nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

What?! I find those toy dogs are the most nastiest, vicious, snappiest little things.

Finnbar01 wrote: »
    What?! I find those toy dogs are the most nastiest, vicious, snappiest little things.

Ah ok, I'll stretch a point... Some are quite yappy and snappy.

How bout as well behaved and quiet as a 'stuffed' toy dog?

Once again - thanks for all the replies. Looking forward to the weekend in Waterford now.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Brianne

Just curious does the dog not howl any other day or is he not there any other day.

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭lewisdhead

I'm gone all gay now off on a doggy tangent... Thanks again for all the info above. Looking forward to a blah or 2!

Blaa!;)

lewisdhead wrote: »
    Blaa!;)

My most humble apologies... I'll blame the auto correct on my phone!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

My most humble apologies... I'll blame the auto correct on my phone!

No way would auto correct spell blaa wrong boy! :pac:

Brianne wrote: »
    Just curious does the dog not howl any other day or is he not there any other day.
    he was howling today for bout two hours, but its just generally every sunday from 11 until 11 at night, the other neighbours are getting pissed off by it now also, i'd nearly go down and ask the fella could i walk the dog for him as i used have an alaskan malamute years ago and know how to take care of them

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

I've heard that husky type breeds are the most likely type of breed of dog to be abandoned.

People think they are cute and adorable but they need plenty of exercise and an experienced handler/owner.

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭Brianne

he was howling today for bout two hours, but its just generally every sunday from 11 until 11 at night, the other neighbours are getting pissed off by it now also, i'd nearly go down and ask the fella could i walk the dog for him as i used have an alaskan malamute years ago and know how to take care of them

You'd be doing a good deed for the man and the dog and by all accounts the neighbours! Worth a try.

Brianne wrote: »
    You'd be doing a good deed for the man and the dog and by all accounts the neighbours! Worth a try.

Not trying to upset a thread (or posters) that helped out a visiting Limerickman...

But that husky needs 2 walks a day. Everyday.

A husky is a full time job. Trust me, I know. The odd walk just won't cut it. As another poster above mentioned, they're abandoned in droves after the novelty of owning one wears off!

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭thrilledskinny

Pet Friendly Bars or Cafe's or restaurants any where in Ireland, you must be joking? We are not progressive enough... I was in Munich earlier this year and people could bring their dogs with them every where and any where...through shopping centers, trains stations, on trains, in cafe's, shops and apartments !!
    Here you cant even step in side the local PO with out being told no dogs allowed, so you have to tie them up outside and hope they wouldn't be stolen.
    Thankfully pet friendly b&b's and hotels are just starting to exist in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

Pet Friendly Bars or Cafe's or restaurants any where in Ireland, you must be joking? We are not progressive enough... I was in Munich earlier this year and people could bring their dogs with them every where and any where...through shopping centers, trains stations, on trains, in cafe's, shops and apartments !!
    Here you cant even step in side the local PO with out being told no dogs allowed, so you have to tie them up outside and hope they wouldn't be stolen.
    Thankfully pet friendly b&b's and hotels are just starting to exist in Ireland

Nothing to do with the bars / restaurants - its the owners of the dogs. On the continent, dog owners are VERY responsible.

Whilst many owners here are very responsible, far too many are not and would allow their dog foul inside bars/restaurants, thus very few bars / restaurants publicly permit dogs.
    On the other hand, many dogs are better behaved than most children and adults!

In my experience, if you ask politely and they see you are a responsible owner, there will never be an issue either in Waterford or any part of Ireland - our little "princess" stays in hotels that have a "no dogs" policy and we find it easy to eat in rural / small town pubs once they get to know us. (Sneem in Kerry is particularly dog friendly)

One of us will always go into the bar / cafe first and ask permission - in most cases its given or an alternative option is found.

sandin wrote: »
    Nothing to do with the bars / restaurants - its the owners of the dogs. On the continent, dog owners are VERY responsible.

Whilst many owners here are very responsible, far too many are not and would allow their dog foul inside bars/restaurants, thus very few bars / restaurants publicly permit dogs.
    On the other hand, many dogs are better behaved than most children and adults!

In my experience, if you ask politely and they see you are a responsible owner, there will never be an issue either in Waterford or any part of Ireland - our little "princess" stays in hotels that have a "no dogs" policy and we find it easy to eat in rural / small town pubs once they get to know us. (Sneem in Kerry is particularly dog friendly)

One of us will always go into the bar / cafe first and ask permission - in most cases its given or an alternative option is found.

Just checking up ony thread. Great reply sandin. Owners really are the issue and how the dog is 'reared'. We have a large 70lb Siberian husky. But, he is well trained, socialised and never off lead.

I'm on my tea break and was just going to ring a few places to see who might have us for breakfast and the rugby tomorrow.

Do you know, with the marathon, will I have trouble getting from Tramore to the city?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Just checking up ony thread. Great reply sandin. Owners really are the issue and how the dog is 'reared'. We have a large 70lb Siberian husky. But, he is well trained, socialised and never off lead.

I'm on my tea break and was just going to ring a few places to see who might have us for breakfast and the rugby tomorrow.

Do you know, with the marathon, will I have trouble getting from Tramore to the city?

there is temp road closures but you should be grand/diversions.
    http://www.wlrfm.com/news-and-sport/waterford-news/183611-waterford-city-county-council-temporary-closing-of-roads-for-waterford-vikingmarathon.html