Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Pubs not like it if you drink on your own ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Lots of people come into our bar and drink alone, it's great when if is quiet because its lovely to sit down and chat with them. I would never look at someone and judge them for doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I actually think it's a good measure of a pub. Would you feel comfortable in there having a pint on your own reading a book or checking the internet on your phone. I've realised that all my favourite pubs I have no problem on my own and have been there many times on my own.

Good luck these days (in Dublin central anyway). You can bank on there being a loud sound system or 55million inch TV blaring sports news!

Chaplins, kehoes, mulligans, bowes, dame tavern, palace bar off the top of my head with no tvs. In fact, its pretty tough to find a decent place to watch a match in Dublin city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He could have said he was 'waiting for a mate'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Jumboman wrote: »
    I've a freind whos a bit of an alco who spends a lot of time in pubs on his own he told me he was asked to leave dandelion because he was spending too much time there on this own. Its unlikely the barman would know hes drinks a lot because he would never drink more than 3 pints in a pub before he goes on to the next one. Hes very quite and does not cause any trouble he just sits in a corner or at the top of the bar and has a few pints and is able to handle his drink without coming across drunk.

Surely in the current recession pubs would welcome anyone as long as their not causing any trouble ? I cant see why my friend was asked to leave when he never causes any trouble.

That bit in bold is why your mate got asked to leave, any bar man worth his salt would know what an alco (your words) looks/acts like. In a quite normal bar it would be grand but I guess Dandelion is aiming for a more up market crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

That bit in bold is why your mate got asked to leave, any bar man worth his salt would know what an alco (your words) looks/acts like. In a quite normal bar it would be grand but I guess Dandelion is aiming for a more up market crowd.

yep that's about the size of it,why anyone would go to Dandelion for a solo sup is bizarre.its just not that kinda place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

Was in the pub on my own for a beer yesterday evening. It was the first time I'd ever had a pint on my own and I must say, I quite enjoyed the solitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Chaplins, kehoes, mulligans, bowes, dame tavern, palace bar off the top of my head with no tvs. In fact, its pretty tough to find a decent place to watch a match in Dublin city centre.

At least 3 of those pubs have TVs but only turn them on for big matches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,840 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I have to say that there are few things that I find more relaxing that a quiet pint (or three) & a read of the paper. It has to be in the right kind or bar though & the Dandelion is not one of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

so you are only welcome in a pub if you are throwing down drinks and acting like a fool?
    The guy was having a pint in a pub, sitting down on his own and he was asked to leave for no reason, forgot that place id never give them a cent again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

so you are only welcome in a pub if you are throwing down drinks and acting like a fool?
    The guy was having a pint in a pub, sitting down on his own and he was asked to leave for no reason, forgot that place id never give them a cent again.

Agree, dandelion is the most overtated kip in dublin to drink in,
    Full of sh#theads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I don't know why anyone bothers to spend their money in pubs any more when you can grab a few cans or bottles of beer or whatever and sit out your back garden and enjoy some music on your own or with friends in the sunshine without being ripped off and treated like sh!t.

I gave up on pubs 15 years ago and never stepped inside one since, it's an old fashioned and out of date format. If your a smoker you have to stand outside like a dope. Feck the pubs, they'd never get a cent from me ever again.

I'm also happy to see more people leaving pub-life and enjoying themselves either in their own home or out in the garden instead of a dirty dry dark boring pub. :)

zenno wrote: »
    I don't know why anyone bothers to spend their money in pubs any more when you can grab a few cans or bottles of beer or whatever and sit out your back garden and enjoy some music on your own or with friends in the sunshine without being ripped off and treated like sh!t.

Part of the appeal is leaving the house or the surroundings thereof.

And if you want certain types of tasty beer it's often worth heading to the pub. I don't have any ale casks at home, unfortunately.

Ravelleman wrote: »
    Part of the appeal is leaving the house or the surroundings thereof.

And if you want certain types of tasty beer it's often worth heading to the pub. I don't have any ale casks at home, unfortunately.

Exactly, go to a friends beer garden BBQ. I just don't see the appeal in sitting in a pub on day's like this, but that's just me, and of course, if a person has kids that person would more than likely want to go to the pub away from the home. I just think the pub scene has faded in it's enjoyment these days, but again, that's just my opinion. Ale can be home-brewed as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭symbolic

Exactly, go to a friends beer garden BBQ. I just don't see the appeal in sitting in a pub on day's like this, but that's just me, and of course, if a person has kids that person would more than likely want to go to the pub away from the home. I just think the pub scene has faded in it's enjoyment these days, but again, that's just my opinion. Ale can be home-brewed as well.

I think the pub scene is getting better these days with so many great new pubs around dublin. Brewdock, against the grain, black sheep etc.. And lots of the other pubs taking on the craft beers.

Great food. Great beer. Comedy nights. Music nights. Quiz nights. The rotation cask taps and draught taps.

Well, you are posting in a thread about having a pint on your own in a pub so the whole being alone part would surely exclude going to a bbq in your friend's house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Plenty of other pubs if they're stupid enough to not want business.

I like a few pints solo in s pub. It's different to drinking at home and the two are not interchangeable.

Plus in the era of shartphones, you're not often alone. You're as likely to be chatting to a friend online or browsing a forum.

There are certain places where doing a certain activity (in this case, The Dandelion, drinking, quietly on your own) are suspicious.!

As opposed to being dressed like a twat, baying loudly and doing shots with a bunch of Goys 'N Gals.

Ravelleman wrote: »
    Well, you are posting in a thread about having a pint on your own in a pub so the whole being alone part would surely exclude going to a bbq in your friend's house.

Thanks for bringing me back down to earth :)

I just get thick sometimes with some publicans. It happened to me twice before many years back and it feels degrading being told to leave, or when you finish your pint being told... I think it would be better if you didn't come back here in future... for absolutely doing nothing but having a pint and reading the paper, you are spending your money there but they don't seem to want it.

I know a lot of people on their own get this in some pubs, a couple of friends told me about their encounters with these arse-hole publicans. I wouldn't give any of them the steam of my p$*%. Greedy publicans is all they mostly are from what i have seen over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭kalych

anncoates wrote: »
    As opposed to being dressed like a twat, baying loudly and doing shots with a bunch of Goys 'N Gals.

It's not that, it's just that they do not see themselves as a "pub" as such and do not want to be associated with regular pub-goers. Screw them, i'd say and go and spend my money elsewhere. It doesn't mean that this sort of business has no right to exist or "try" to be selective about their clientèle. Another one of such places is the no name bar above Hogan's, just don't give them your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭kalych

Thanks for bringing me back down to earth :)

I just get thick sometimes with some publicans. It happened to me twice before many years back and it feels degrading being told to leave, or when you finish your pint being told... I think it would be better if you didn't come back here in future... for absolutely doing nothing but having a pint and reading the paper, you are spending your money there but they don't seem to want it.

I know a lot of people on their own get this in some pubs, a couple of friends told me about their encounters with these arse-hole publicans. I wouldn't give any of them the steam of my p$*%. Greedy publicans is all they mostly are from what i have seen over the years.

I haven't met an owner working in his own pub in years, so kinda doubt the "greedy publicans" line, actually does anyone know of any privately owned and run place in Dublin city centre these days? Just bad management, like with any business, hurt them where it counts, the tills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wannabecraig

kalych wrote: »
    actually does anyone know of any privately owned and run place in Dublin city centre these days?

Ryan's in Queen's street for a start.

My friends family own and ( he) rmanages a well known pub in Dublin City Centre so they definitely exist.

It's very much a student, alternative place though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I haven't met an owner working in his own pub in years, so kinda doubt the "greedy publicans" line, actually does anyone know of any privately owned and run place in Dublin city centre these days? Just bad management, like with any business, hurt them where it counts, the tills.

Not quite city centre but my boyfriend does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

You say it's bad management, I'd be more inclined to say that it's a management decision that you don't agree with.

By the OPs admission, yer man is a bit of an alco, and says he wanted a quiet pint. But in a bar like Dandelion, that gets the after work cocktails, and "Ya, ya, I know, riysh" crowd, a solitary drinker might be enough to put people on edge.

It's not just that one person that the bar man has to accommodate, it's also the 000's others, and the reputation of the establishment. One solitary, bit of an alco, drinker can quickly turn into a bunch, driving out the hard won over, disposable income crowd, that happily spend over the odds on ****e drinks, just to be seen in a place.

Plus there's a ****ton of other bars I'd drink in, before Dandelion.