Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burritos !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭kfrp

Where is the Food Dudes placed located?

Is Badass nice?

Which one is better as its my first ever Limerick burrito? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭vkid

This is really like a group of kids fighting over a ball..
    Don't know how anyone can point the finger at anyone...be it the council, Badass or the mexican dudes...no-one really knows the full story. Certainly no-one here.

Does anyone have a link to the rules Badass are talking about with regard to the urban garden and rate payers, business in the city etc? Surely this is available somewhere..

All I can find is http://www.limerick.ie/council/casual-trading

Interestingly it says on this link:

Note: The acceptance of an application by Limerick City and County Council cannot guarantee the granting of a licence.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

kfrp wrote: »

Is Badass nice?

That question has to be put in the Burrito on-topic thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭kfrp

Is Badass nice?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,997 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I think it's safe to have 1 thread on this again so I've merged the off topic thread back in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭MillField

kfrp wrote: »

Is Badass nice?

I can't speak for Food Dudes, but Badass is amazing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

MillField wrote:
    I can't speak for Food Dudes, but Badass is amazing!

She treats the guacamole like it was cocaine or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭MillField

She treats the guacamole like it was cocaine or something

It could well be.. !

• Registered Users Posts: 405 ✭✭L.T.P.

It sounds like the council have a few questions to answer!

Its a pity the Limerick Leader don't seem to be capable of investigative journalism, our city badly needs a new paper (And radio station)!!

Fair play to the lady from Badass Burritos for standing up for herself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭TonyCliftonEsq

L.T.P. wrote: »
    Its a pity the Limerick Leader don't seem to be capable of investigative journalism, our city badly needs a new paper (And radio station)!!

This times a thousand. The media in Limerick is a glorified PR mouthpiece for a handful of businesses. Don't expect any serious questions asked except for the rarest of occasions.

And if it is to do with a business, the council or a local politician then forget it.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

Badass do a much superior burrito to the Mexican Food Dudes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Was down in Casa on high street twice in the last 4-5 days. I think I have developed a taste for hot sauce. Really nice beef burrito on both occasions. The one I got today was a crazy size altogether.

Not sure if there are new owners but it's a big step up in terms of quality of meat since last year. Really hit the spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭mitresize5

Are they doing Pork now?

Found it amazing that someone would open a burrito joint and not do pork because of religious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭salamanca22

mitresize5 wrote: »
    Are they doing Pork now?

Found it amazing that someone would open a burrito joint and not do pork because of religious reasons.

Nope, no pork.

Got the beef burito yesterday from there. Was very disappointed to be honest. it was minced beef and I don't think they seasoned it at all. Very tasteless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Minced beef in a burrito? Was it an Old el Paso stand?

Which place did that? Christ that's shocking.

Barbacoa is the nicest meat for a burrito.

Some of these people seriously need to go to Mexico and see what mexican food is (A burrito as we know it is American, but using minced beef is manky).

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    Minced beef in a burrito? Was it an Old el Paso stand?

Which place did that? Christ that's shocking.

Barbacoa is the nicest meat for a burrito.

Some of these people seriously need to go to Mexico and see what mexican food is (A burrito as we know it is American, but using minced beef is manky).

To be fair, they are still operating out of a stand so probably cannot do proper do their meat Barbacoa style properly.

But yeah it was minced beef. I was kinda taken a back when I bit into it. Won't be going for it again.

I will give them another chance and get a chicken on maybe this evening or tomorrow. Hopefully that is better. People seem to be liking it so they must not have been getting the beef :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Are ye all talking about the same place in the last few posts? Casa? Stand?

Probably should have mentioned it :P

It was the mexican food dudes.

I like the buzz of the Mexican taquerias. You're probably not allowed to include a little marian shrine here in case you offend someone.

Probably should have mentioned it :P

It was the mexican food dudes.

Yeah. Quoting and responding to a post about casa nova was confusing. Burritos are serious business man, no margin for slips like that!!!! (Joking)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Thought minced meat was standard?

bigpink wrote: »
    Thought minced meat was standard?

In taco's it is but not usually in a burrito. Burritos are usually carne asada which is strips of steak. Also, when minced beef is used it is seasoned well, which mine was not :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

In taco's it is but not usually in a burrito. Burritos are usually carne asada which is strips of steak. Also, when minced beef is used it is seasoned well, which mine was not :(

Nah. Maybe in those gammy hard shell tex mex tacos from old el paso, but real tacos never use mince. I would have asked for a refund if I was given minced beef in a taco or burrito.

tacos-al-pastor.jpg

Those are proper tacos (Al Pastor).

Whatever about burritos, but tacos should be al pastor, suadero, fish, carnitas, tinga de pollo, carne asada in a soft shell corn tortilla and served with onion, red and green salsa and limes and cilantro(coriander).

Otherwise it's just muck!:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭mitresize5

jasus your an awful show off :-)

Badass Burrito, in the park, sun shining.... it could almost be San Francisco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

WTF !!

48 pages on a thread in a Limerick forum dedicated to burritos ????

whats going on? am i missing something here?? please fill me in

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    Nah. Maybe in those gammy hard shell tex mex tacos from old el paso, but real tacos never use mince. I would have asked for a refund if I was given minced beef in a taco or burrito.

tacos-al-pastor.jpg

Those are proper tacos (Al Pastor).

Whatever about burritos, but tacos should be al pastor, suadero, fish, carnitas, tinga de pollo, carne asada in a soft shell corn tortilla and served with onion, red and green salsa and limes and cilantro(coriander).

Otherwise it's just muck!:p

I agree but so many places here seem to follow the Old El Paso recipe.

Tacos here are more like that stuff or Taco Bell than real authentic Mexican cuisine.

fryup wrote: »
    WTF !!

48 pages on a thread in a Limerick forum dedicated to burritos ????

whats going on? am i missing something here?? please fill me in

You missed the great Limerick Burrito War of 2016. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,490 ✭✭✭stefanovich

mitresize5 wrote: »
    Are they doing Pork now?

Halal burritos? Madness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100