Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loves dogs, but hates his job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

anniehoo wrote: »
    You don't have to go to a pound to be helpful though. I take photos because i live really near to the pound my charity is involved in.There's only 8 (!!) of us out of 20k people who do, so don't feel bad.

When i can't do photos, i do transport runs (helping dogs get from the pound to fosterers/forever homes/vet checks etc); i also homecheck;fundraise;promote on facebook/twitter; petsit for fellow fosterers.....the list is endless.

I only properly got into "rescue/pound" work 2 years ago, 2 years......believe it or not. I was doing random stuff for years, but decided on 1 charity 2 years ago and have stuck with them.

Are there 7 gazillion other charities? Yes! Do i feel bad i haven't picked more than one? Yes ....and also No!

Yes, because there are so many worthy causes out there and there are so many suffering animals.... But...NO because i'm only one person, and the small bit that i can help with is ALL i can do. :o

2 years later, i'm still learning about the "rescue" world,even more so the Pound world and i'm very glad i have volunteered.It sounds cheesey but "every little bit helps"! I haven't fully immersed myself into the rescue world, because i can't and I'm ok with that.

It's OK, to do "just a little bit" because not everyone is able for it. I'm certainly not. As long as you know the pets/animals you are responsible for are well looked after.......anything you do after that is a credit to you ;);)

I agree, I do what I consider a teeny tiny amount of volunteer work for a local rescue, I first started with another rescue and was dog walking and up there every day but I just could not handle it, it was overwhelming and dreadfully upsetting, I just had to accept I couldn't do it, so I adopted a dog from them and said I couldn't come back! I got involved with another, much smaller rescue and do home checks, help at fundraising and adoption days, sometimes transport, like I say it's a teeny tiny bit in the grand scheme of things, especially when you consider the people who run rescues literally live and breath it, but I like to think I'm doing my bit, small as it is, plus I also took a dog in as a foster for this second rescue (ended up keeping her..ahem, moving on..)

So I would say anyone who wants to do something but isn't sure they can handle it, just do what you can, every small bit makes a difference, you don't even have to go to the shelter if you can't handle it, there's plenty other things you can do.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Can I just say, as someone who runs a rescue, albeit a small one, there is nothing teeny tiny about what the posters above do! Having someone to transport a dog from the pound to me, or to its foster home, or wherever, is a HUGE help. Someone to answer emails, or calls, or update the site, or look after the facebook page, is a HUGE help. I can't even start to tell ye what a difference it makes.
    So, don't underestimate what you do, because what you're doing is of significant benefit to the animals. To anyone who has thought of doing any of the above but discounted it because it doesn't seem like enough... Think again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

All my life, the dogs I've had and have were taken in from the pound, or destined for - example, my Staffy "Molly", who's been with me for the past 5 years.

She was a stray, who has evidence of being used for dog fighting [tear marks on her right back leg], when my sister found her. But due to the landlord she was with she wasn't permited to keep the dog for long, so asked me if I would take her... to which I did. She's been a real joy; Absolute sweetheart, playful and loyal with a lot of cute quirks [Such as always having to find a soft spot to sit, even if it were just a cloth on the ground..., always zoning in for anything that gives off heat, even if it were your foot to sit on..., etc.].

And had my sister brought her to the pound instead, I wouldn't want to think of it...

With that being said, I'll always favor getting a dog from the pound. Dogs from there would genuinely shower you with love for saving them.

And on a side note, and I may be ignorant for not knowing otherwise... but unlicensed breeders SHOULD be fined, since they're a big culprit for these unwanted dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

but buying a pup does not automatically = bad.

I agree. I'm certainly not just pro-rescue and anti-breeding at all. It's not that black and white for me. There are plenty of good ethical breeders out there aswell as plenty of people taking the time to source their dog the right way.

I just wish everyone would take the time to stop and think before they take on an animal, any animal. Far too many people don't and there are people out there taking advantage of this fact and churning out puppies with no forethought or care resulting in the "disposable dog" culture we seem to now have in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Agree.

Buy a dog, kill a dog.

A genetic mutant does not give you status.

I look at my dog every day and shudder when I think how she could have ended up. It's incredibly rewarding having a rescue...they give back so much more than we give to them. She is my buddy, my sidekick, my co-piolt when I drive. She adores me. When I was away last year she sat at the kitchen window for 4 weeks waiting for me to return. Best friend.

It's sad when you think that all these dogs who are destroyed have the potential to be just like her.

What's not to love?

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Agree.

Buy a dog, kill a dog.

A genetic mutant does not give you status.

If you want to go down that road, all dogs are genetic mutants.
    But if you're referring only to purebred dogs as being "genetic mutants", where do purebred dogs in the pound stand? Surely nobody would want to rehome a genetic mutant? Nor should anyone encourage a person to do so, surely?

they give back so much more than we give to them. She is my buddy, my sidekick, my co-piolt when I drive. She adores me. When I was away last year she sat at the kitchen window for 4 weeks waiting for me to return. Best friend.

I had a dog like that too. I bought him as a pup. Or, were you suggesting that only rescue dogs are capable of all you describe?
    I think this business of chastising people for buying a dog, IF it's from a reputable breeder, is just snobbery. Shoving a guilt trip at people is such a bad road to go down... The only attempt at status-acquisition I can see by doing this is high-horse, holier-than-thou status. Very offputting for anyone looking for a balanced view.
    Such ire needs to be saved for the breeders that are churning out pups, not at those who do things right.
    By the same logic, everyone should stop having babies and adopt an orphan instead! I can only imagine the reaction you'd get if you seriously suggested such a thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bluecherry74

Both my dogs came from the pound and my cats came from a small cat charity (who I still support with donations whenever I can). My previous dog came from a breeder though, and so did some of the family dogs we had growing up.

There are a lot of breeds that I love and admire and would like to share my home with some day. So while I think my preference would always be to rescue/adopt, I will probably end up buying a dog from a breeder at some point in the future. There's nothing wrong with that. :) I think the problem is with people who:

1) buy a dog from a dodgy breeder and inadvertently contribute to the back yard breeding problem, or
    2) buy a dog without researching the breed and end up with a dog that doesn't fit with their lifestyle, or
    3) buy a dog without giving much thought as to where they'll be in a year or 3.

On point 1, it's worth mentioning that both my dogs were handed in to the pound as pups by their breeders. That to me screams of a breeder who is pushing out as many pups as they can and then off-loading the ones they can't sell, so that the cost of keeping them doesn't eat into their profits. :(

It's also worth mentioning that a good breeder probably wouldn't sell to the people in points 2 and 3.

DBB wrote: »
    If you want to go down that road, all dogs are genetic mutants.
    But if you're referring only to purebred dogs as being "genetic mutants", where do purebred dogs in the pound stand? Surely nobody would want to rehome a genetic mutant? Nor should anyone encourage a person to do so, surely?

I had a dog like that too. I bought him as a pup. Or, were you suggesting that only rescue dogs are capable of all you describe?
    I think this business of chastising people for buying a dog, IF it's from a reputable breeder, is just snobbery. Shoving a guilt trip at people is such a bad road to go down... The only attempt at status-acquisition I can see by doing this is high-horse, holier-than-thou status. Very offputting for anyone looking for a balanced view.
    Such ire needs to be saved for the breeders that are churning out pups, not at those who do things right.
    By the same logic, everyone should stop having babies and adopt an orphan instead! I can only imagine the reaction you'd get if you seriously suggested such a thing!

It was a reference to the incredibly high levels of incidents of genetic disorders that come about as a result of inbreeding.

I am not in search of any status, I'm happy that I found my dog when I did and she is so important to me - thats not "holier than thou" thats just fact!

There is no snobbery attached to rescuing a dog.

There may be reputable breeders and those that "churn them out" but all are responding to a demand in the market. Simply put, if people stop buying, there will be no demand.

I dont remember suggesting that pedigrees are not capable of love and devotion, just pointing out that mutts who have had it tough are.

Both my dogs came from the pound and my cats came from a small cat charity (who I still support with donations whenever I can). My previous dog came from a breeder though, and so did some of the family dogs we had growing up.

There are a lot of breeds that I love and admire and would like to share my home with some day. So while I think my preference would always be to rescue/adopt, I will probably end up buying a dog from a breeder at some point in the future. There's nothing wrong with that. :) I think the problem is with people who:

1) buy a dog from a dodgy breeder and inadvertently contribute to the back yard breeding problem, or
    2) buy a dog without researching the breed and end up with a dog that doesn't fit with their lifestyle, or
    3) buy a dog without giving much thought as to where they'll be in a year or 3.

On point 1, it's worth mentioning that both my dogs were handed in to the pound as pups by their breeders. That to me screams of a breeder who is pushing out as many pups as they can and then off-loading the ones they can't sell, so that the cost of keeping them doesn't eat into their profits. :(

It's also worth mentioning that a good breeder probably wouldn't sell to the people in points 2 and 3.

True. I knew one who sold his dogs with a contract that said if the new owners could no longer look after the dogs, he would take them back and in fact he did end up taking one back. They also stipulated that some of the dogs could not be bred from, though I suspect this was to keep the niche market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Although I agree that where possible, adoption should be the most recommended way to get your new family member, there is some problems that I have personally witnessed with this.

I shall give the example of a friend of mine who is currently trying to adopt a small dog to live in the house she is renting with her and her partner. She contacted a local group and was called for an interview. At the interview she was asked had she had dogs previously (a fairly obvious question) she said she had, 6. She is in her mid 20's. Immediately the woman who ran the group that was doing the interview told her that that was too many and would not be complete the interview, asking her to leave. My friend was gutted and left in tears. The woman never even bothered to ask why there was that many dogs in her lifetime.

There was 2 in her family home when she was born, both old in age and did not last long after her toddler years, another got cancer and had to be pts, 2 other adoptees that were adults when her parents adopted them, one only being pts for old age last year, and the rescue dog her father currently has. None mistreated, all living to ripe old ages of double figures bar one who was humanely pts rather than left suffering. When dealing with people like that, people feel they are better off paying for a puppy as they more than likely will not have to justify themselves to people, who for the lack of a better term, have God Complex's.

To say for one moment that this is an indicator of all animal groups is a grossly incorrect generalisation, and of course there is no denying that many of the questions they ask are solely for the benefit of the dog and often the prospective adopter too. But for some, it is clear, they are not really capable of the job they set themselves.

My partner is a veterinary student. It is a requirement for his course that he go to different veterinary practices and do time with each. He has seem great cases of neglect, animals being brought in by different fosterers from different charities. But there is a consensus between all the practices that he has worked with, that many of those running these different group have God Complexes and feel as though they are more knowing than the trained professionals, and not just vets, dog trainers and behavioural specialists too. Now of course there are many in each field that are not great, but many of those acting as organisers of these groups haven't the foggiest of what they are doing and the ones losing out in the long run, are the animals and good prospective owners :(

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Although I agree that where possible, adoption should be the most recommended way to get your new family member, there is some problems that I have personally witnessed with this.

I shall give the example of a friend of mine who is currently trying to adopt a small dog to live in the house she is renting with her and her partner. She contacted a local group and was called for an interview. At the interview she was asked had she had dogs previously (a fairly obvious question) she said she had, 6. She is in her mid 20's. Immediately the woman who ran the group that was doing the interview told her that that was too many and would not be complete the interview, asking her to leave. My friend was gutted and left in tears. The woman never even bothered to ask why there was that many dogs in her lifetime.

There was 2 in her family home when she was born, both old in age and did not last long after her toddler years, another got cancer and had to be pts, 2 other adoptees that were adults when her parents adopted them, one only being pts for old age last year, and the rescue dog her father currently has. None mistreated, all living to ripe old ages of double figures bar one who was humanely pts rather than left suffering. When dealing with people like that, people feel they are better off paying for a puppy as they more than likely will not have to justify themselves to people, who for the lack of a better term, have God Complex's.

To say for one moment that this is an indicator of all animal groups is a grossly incorrect generalisation, and of course there is no denying that many of the questions they ask are solely for the benefit of the dog and often the prospective adopter too. But for some, it is clear, they are not really capable of the job they set themselves.

My partner is a veterinary student. It is a requirement for his course that he go to different veterinary practices and do time with each. He has seem great cases of neglect, animals being brought in by different fosterers from different charities. But there is a consensus between all the practices that he has worked with, that many of those running these different group have God Complexes and feel as though they are more knowing than the trained professionals, and not just vets, dog trainers and behavioural specialists too. Now of course there are many in each field that are not great, but many of those acting as organisers of these groups haven't the foggiest of what they are doing and the ones losing out in the long run, are the animals and good prospective owners :(

Agree with you on this point, they can be super militant at times (whether its a hardening or a reaction to time wasters etc I dont know) but I've been really embarrassed by one in the past. A while ago a colleague was getting a new dog and I suggested a particular shelter (she was going to buy one originally and then came round to the idea of adopting when I recommended this place). Anyway, that was grand so off she went to pick a dog...there was so much red tape and jumping through hoops, home checks etc that she ended up completely exasperated and bought one! I dont blame her, she said it was worse than trying to adopt a child. I hope the people working in the shelter were happy they had deprived one of their dogs of what could have been a wonderful forever home.

I have worked in one and it was as if they went out of their way not to rehome. One dog started exhibiting behavioural problems from being cooped up too long - he was a listed breed and hard to rehome - and their solution was to isolate him completely. They would also routinely destroy 20 or 30 cats if one showed signs of flu. Yet if there was a whiff on an oil leak on a canal they'd be all over it like flies on sh1t trying to get snapped. Total media whores. (Sorry, off topic rant!)

I have no personal experience homing from shelters, mine all seem to come to me before they reach that stage - must have "mug" tattooed on my forehead ;)

My friend felt humiliated, she prides herself in her ethics and though she is not anti_breeding she most certainly would rather an adoptee than a bought puppy. She lives in Cork so she has considered just going to the free ads on the local paper on a tuesday and getting a heinz 57 pup instead. Sad really as they are a great couple who would care for a dog properly.

Sure dogs get dumped at vets galore, needless to say my fella is a sucker for big brown eyes. It kills me when I say no to anymore family members for a while. After this year we want to get a ex racing greyhound. poor fellas have terrible lives :(

My friend felt humiliated, she prides herself in her ethics and though she is not anti_breeding she most certainly would rather an adoptee than a bought puppy. She lives in Cork so she has considered just going to the free ads on the local paper on a tuesday and getting a heinz 57 pup instead. Sad really as they are a great couple who would care for a dog properly.

Sure dogs get dumped at vets galore, needless to say my fella is a sucker for big brown eyes. It kills me when I say no to anymore family members for a while. After this year we want to get a ex racing greyhound. poor fellas have terrible lives :(

We did that before. My Dad was sitting in traffic one day and this huge but emaciated greyhound was running around. He leaned over and opened the passenger door and the dog jumped in and fell asleep on the passenger seat, totally exhausted. She was an ex racer belonging to a syndicate. We managed to trace them with the tattoo but of course nobody "knew anything about her". I used to be ashamed walking her because she was in such a bad way. We had her for a while and I found a lovely lady who lives in Dublin 8 who has contacts in the UK where she sends greyhounds for re-homing. They seem to be a little ahead of us in this regard. Anyway, her OH and kids fell in love with the greyhound and wouldnt part with her. She sent me photos a few months after of her gang of misfits and I couldnt get over it - totally different dog. Amazing condition, shiny coat and looking super happy. Greyhounds make great pets - they're happy to be taken out and burn loads of energy...and then sleep on the couch for 8 hours lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 838 ✭✭✭bluecherry74

She lives in Cork so she has considered just going to the free ads on the local paper on a tuesday and getting a heinz 57 pup instead.

Has she been to the pound in Mahon? They always have loads of dogs for adoption as they work with a charity to re-home their dogs, and they're not as strict as most other charities. She would just need to fill out a questionnaire and pay the adoption fee.

Not sure who she was dealing with. I will tell her to talk to them. She has no problem with home checks and questionnaires, so long as they are more understanding that a person in their mid-20's can actually have had more than a dog or two in their life! She is a sucker for the little scruffies that no one else thinks are cute so no doubt there is a little guy out there for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I think anyone who is considering getting a cat or dog should visit a pound. They are such heartbreaking places and you just wish that you could take every animal with you there and then.

I read something recently that really hit home. 'You might not be able to change the world, but you can change the world for 1 animal'. I think that if people saw the true reality of pound life, no matter how well any pound is run, then they might well reconsider how badly they want that pedigree puppy from the breeder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

I have nothing but respect for those who get their best buddy from a pound but I don't feel guilty supporting responsible breeders breeding my favourite dog type. It is totally disingenuous to make people who buy a puppy feel bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭TooManyDogs

as they are more understanding that a person in their mid-20's can actually have had more than a dog or two in their life!

I just find it bizarre that the rescue would end an interview simply because of the number of dogs she'd had in her lifetime!! Things are never so black and white. When I'm homechecking I'd be more concerned about the person who told me they'd 'gotten rid' of their single dog cos it wasn't toilet trained/too big/dug the garden etc etc than I would be cos someone has a soft spot for oldies or there were 4 dogs in her life time before she had any decision in getting them. ie her parents adopted/bought them.

So does that mean that cos I've had 8 dogs by my mid 30's I wouldn't be suitable either????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭saltyporridge

I just find it bizarre that the rescue would end an interview simply because of the number of dogs she'd had in her lifetime!!

So does that mean that cos I've had 8 dogs by my mid 30's I wouldn't be suitable either????

I don't get the point of such a question. I've owned (or co-owned) at least 20 dogs in my lifetime (and I've a fair bit to go yet!). My dog (only one at the mo) is better looked after than her human housemates. She came from a breeder who actually asked for a reference from our vet but we didn't get asked how many dogs we'd had before.

I just find it bizarre that the rescue would end an interview simply because of the number of dogs she'd had in her lifetime!! Things are never so black and white. When I'm homechecking I'd be more concerned about the person who told me they'd 'gotten rid' of their single dog cos it wasn't toilet trained/too big/dug the garden etc etc than I would be cos someone has a soft spot for oldies or there were 4 dogs in her life time before she had any decision in getting them. ie her parents adopted/bought them.

She rang me wanting to know was it normal procedure with rescues. I was stunned. Her dogs have always be strays that found them, or rescues bar one. Her mother always felt sorry for the scraggy older dog that most people would not even look at so of course they aren't going to be the youngest and as a result may not have the longest lives with the family. But sadly it is not the only case I have heard of personally where there have been odd questions or situations similar to this with some groups. As I stated, my partner has been to a few practises and the personal experiences some people have told him and the vets there are ridiculous. As OldNotWise said, you'd adopt a human child faster.

Dog killer!!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

From reading this thread and the one on adopting greyhounds I just said I'd give my own experience….
    I'll put my hands up and I'll say that yes....I am an animal nut! I have two setters at home and they mean so much to me.
    When it came to picking a course to do in college I picked Vet Nursing as I love animals and science. I went into first year and loved every second of it until I got to placement. It was only a few weeks but its stuck with me ever since, and that was four years ago.

People can be so thick, so stupid and so selfish sometimes that you'd be concerned for the fate of humanity. I'll share with you three incidents in particular that have stuck with me to this day.

1. A mature Springer Spaniel presented with a lump the size of a tennis ball on one of its mammary glands, the owners elected for surgery and the lump was promptly removed under anaesthetic. The dog was discharged that day....I walked the dog out to the owners SUV to find her with the boot open and looking at the dog as if to say 'come on Benson, up you get!' the poor dog didn't even try. I was staring at her for the bones of 10 seconds before I realised that I actually was.

2. Cleaning the reception one morning I saw I guy pull up outside the vets in a Land Cruiser. He went around to the back of the jeep and emerged with 3 greyhounds. He comes in and asked the vet on duty 'can you do a job on these for me'. I had to hold each of them as they were killed, look into their eyes to comfort them only to see them gradually loose focus and go dark. I've remembered every single dog that I've helped kill.

3. A family came in one day with a little red setter puppy (well when i say puppy it was more the gangly teenage pup as opposed to the little ball of fluff). Long story short it transpired that they picked it up in the pound....the original owners (a couple without children) bought it and them dumped it when they discovered it was too lively. I'm terribly sorry but a red setter kind of goes hand in hand with giddiness, just like a Ferrari and (a lack of) fuel consumption do.

After 3 years of college, of studying for exams, of getting up early for placement etc it got to the point where I said "no, I can't do this' Each nice experience I had made me happy, each crap one made me pi$$ed off with the world, and that feeling started becoming more and more constant as time went on. People seem to stop thinking when it comes to animals, they seem to loose all rational selfless thought.

Friends and family often ask will I ever go back to VN (I persevered and got my qualification), and I always fob them off with an excuse like 'pay isn't great', or 'hours aren't for me' etc, but the truth is I just can't let go of some of the things I've seen and knowing I may have to do it agin in future.. Its a shame as for every bad apple in the bag, there's another 9 perfectly decent ones. I've met some amazing and fantastic people, and had some really amazing times but like I said, its the bad stuff that screws with your head. Roll on the day when i can get myself a rescued greyhound.

From reading this thread and the one on adopting greyhounds I just said I'd give my own experience….
    I'll put my hands up and I'll say that yes....I am an animal nut! I have two setters at home and they mean so much to me.
    When it came to picking a course to do in college I picked Vet Nursing as I love animals and science. I went into first year and loved every second of it until I got to placement. It was only a few weeks but its stuck with me ever since, and that was four years ago.

People can be so thick, so stupid and so selfish sometimes that you'd be concerned for the fate of humanity. I'll share with you three incidents in particular that have stuck with me to this day.

1. A mature Springer Spaniel presented with a lump the size of a tennis ball on one of its mammary glands, the owners elected for surgery and the lump was promptly removed under anaesthetic. The dog was discharged that day....I walked the dog out to the owners SUV to find her with the boot open and looking at the dog as if to say 'come on Benson, up you get!' the poor dog didn't even try. I was staring at her for the bones of 10 seconds before I realised that I actually was.

2. Cleaning the reception one morning I saw I guy pull up outside the vets in a Land Cruiser. He went around to the back of the jeep and emerged with 3 greyhounds. He comes in and asked the vet on duty 'can you do a job on these for me'. I had to hold each of them as they were killed, look into their eyes to comfort them only to see them gradually loose focus and go dark. I've remembered every single dog that I've helped kill.

3. A family came in one day with a little red setter puppy (well when i say puppy it was more the gangly teenage pup as opposed to the little ball of fluff). Long story short it transpired that they picked it up in the pound....the original owners (a couple without children) bought it and them dumped it when they discovered it was too lively. I'm terribly sorry but a red setter kind of goes hand in hand with giddiness, just like a Ferrari and (a lack of) fuel consumption do.

After 3 years of college, of studying for exams, of getting up early for placement etc it got to the point where I said "no, I can't do this' Each nice experience I had made me happy, each crap one made me pi$$ed off with the world, and that feeling started becoming more and more constant as time went on. People seem to stop thinking when it comes to animals, they seem to loose all rational selfless thought.

Friends and family often ask will I ever go back to VN (I persevered and got my qualification), and I always fob them off with an excuse like 'pay isn't great', or 'hours aren't for me' etc, but the truth is I just can't let go of some of the things I've seen and knowing I may have to do it agin in future.. Its a shame as for every bad apple in the bag, there's another 9 perfectly decent ones. I've met some amazing and fantastic people, and had some really amazing times but like I said, its the bad stuff that screws with your head. Roll on the day when i can get myself a rescued greyhound.

I wanted to do veterinary and stayed away from it for thisd reason. Even the small exposure I get through a very tiny amount of volunteer work makes me hate people! That guy with the greyhounds was clearly disposing of ex racers (thanks an Bord cGon :rolleyes:) but you know, alhtough he was an a**hole, I have seen and heard horror stories about greyhound disposal that have left a mark. Often they have their ears cut off so they cannot be traced. They are often bricked/hung/drowned. Mass grave discoveries are fairly frequent. Try telling that to the happy stadium goers with their five euro bet and a basket of cocktail sausages and chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

Having also done vet nursing, I totally agree with you on that front. Some people are so stupid when it comes to their pets. The amount of greyhounds I've seen come through those doors only to leave in a bag is just heartbreaking. 2 particular incidents stick with me, one was an attempt to create (yes this one was done intentionally) a labra-russell. With a female Jack. It was just sick, they had left the poor mother dog with the paw of the puppy sticking out for a good 24 hours before they thought of phoning the vet. I won't go into detail about what happened once they came in but the image will stick in my mind forever. Another incident that I will always remember was a little chihuahua cross that was handed in to be put to sleep because she wouldn't breed anymore. Poor thing had cushings disease so shouldn't have even been attempted to breed from in the first place. The vets cleaned her up and got her sorted thank god but it's just so heartbreaking. And of course the 4 kittens who were handed in to be killed at 3 days old, thankfully I was on placement then so I hand raised them with the help of a lovely woman who took them when I had to move to a new placement. But I just can't let myself get too bogged down in all of that, otherwise how could I go about even looking for a job? I just remember that for every idiotic owner that there are 10 more good ones who do care for their animals, and if I can help even one of the animals who has a less than excellent owner well at least that's the difference made for one animal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Uberbeamerman

Thats what I loved about it.....animals really do thank you for making them better...it has happened once or twice when I'd be out walking in the local park, a dog has recognised me from placement and came bouncing over to me.. Thankfully I managed to branch out of the whole nursing thing with a banner science qualification cos really I couldn't deal with it anymore...

People are genuinely shocked as well when you tell them that the (non existent to begin with) 7 day rule in the pound is only for animals picked up by the dog warden, not for dogs surrendered (which could in theory face a 7 hour rule). The level of ignorance in this country is unreal, and then people don't want to know if you go telling them....the parents were collecting me one day from placement when the knackers truck was driving out...that was a fun conversation on the way home!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭For Paws

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    I have nothing but respect for those who get their best buddy from a pound but I don't feel guilty supporting responsible breeders breeding my favourite dog type. It is totally disingenuous to make people who buy a puppy feel bad.

No one is 'making' anyone else feel bad.
    If after reading this thread you feel bad, then ask yourself why.
    If, as i believe, it is because you love dogs, then good for you.

How do you feel about those people who choose to 'get their best buddy' from a breeder ?
    Do you have 'nothing but respect' for them also ?

The problem is simple really. Too few caring & responsible owners for the numbers of dogs bred. The answer : regulate & enforce.

We, as a society, want good, responsible, caring & knowledgeable breeders.
    We need their efforts so that dog lovers can have someone to go to when they want to bring a dog into their lives.

We don't want pounds, sanctuaries & rescue centers.
    They exist only to cover up for our mistakes, carelessness & cruelty.

I applaud your choice.
    I too would prefer to choose my 'best buddy' from a responsible, caring breeder.

But until we stop or at least slow down this cycle of buy, abandon, buy again I'd ask that people consider looking for their best buddy in the pound.

For Paws wrote: »

The problem is simple really. Too few caring & responsible owners for the numbers of dogs bred. The answer : regulate & enforce.

And herein lies a HUGE problem. We have regulated. We brought in the Dog Breeding Establishments Act a couple of years ago.
    It was hailed as being the end of puppy farming and irresponsible breeding in Ireland. And it could have been, had the original working group formulating the new legislation been left in its original format. But it was gradually morphed from a genuinely concerned group of people, to a group of breeders, dealers, and people who had no interest in formulating legislation that would put hardship on them, or put them out of business.
    And so we ended up with legislation which legalised puppy farming, and allowed back-yard-breeders total exemption from any regulation at all.
    The only people who got hit in any meaningful way by this wonderful new legislation were the breeders who were already doing things right.
    It's pretty typical of what can happen with animal legislation in Ireland... Those that stand to be most affected manage to wheedle their way in to actually manipulate how that legislation is shaped, so that it's shaped in their favour. Rescue groups, dog welfare and behaviour specialists, concerned vets, barely got a look in.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭tigerblob

The sad fact is that the people who need to read the OP, never will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I have adopted 5 cats and 2 dogs this year and all of them treat meas if I had them since they were born
    I've had dogs and cats from very young and in you bond there is no difference
    Also rescue dogs often come house trained lead trained and vaccinated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

anniehoo wrote: »
    Yesterday i got a BIG wakeup call. I spent quite some time trying to "make friends" with this terrifed lurcher yesterday morning.She literally was frozen in fear and would not budge. "Not to worry" i thought, "i'll take her photo and she'll be ok in a few days,they always are". I was politely informed by the pound staff, she probably won't be making it out of the pound and her photo was not to be advertised.

I bawled the whole way home and it was the biggest reminder me of why i do this. :(

I'm in tears again,in a happy way!!! I just found out this scared lady WILL be making it out of the Pound and is going to a rescue on Monday and will be rehabilitated and hopefully be rehomeable. :D:D:D:D

Thanks to the amazing staff (one great guy in particular,who was let go and is now back.He is as nice to us annoying volunteers as he is to these dogs)."N" you're a legend.

I'm on hols from my real life job this week, but am transporting someone elses foster dog to get chipped tomorrow and taking Pound photos on Sat morning.

My hols are well spent as far as I'm concerned. :p:p

Get involved people!!! It's not hard, I swear. If this thread has got you thinking, then contact your local rescues and just ask "what can I help with"?

It sounds soooo cheesey....but "every little bit helps"!! It really does. It can be completely overwhelming seeing all the updates (esp on facebook), but just do what i do.

Think local, do local and help local
    . :)

For me personally, that is literally ALL I CAN DO. End of. If that's all you can do....then that's more than enough.You might get a "no thanks" or "we need experienced people only" responses, but keep asking.As DBB mentioned, the littlest thing means a HUGE amount to someone else,especially to the smaller rescues who have little to no funding.

The dog I'm transporting tomorrow was a Pound dog, owner doesn't drive but is excellent at RB behaviour and is fostering a Rottweiler who has come on leaps and bounds since he was taken out of the Pound. I'm bringing him to the vets to get chipped and back again. That's it. Nothing flashy or spectacular..but time well spent for me as far as I'm concerned. If you appreciate the little things in life...then this is what volunteering is about.

I knew nobody when I volunteered for my charity 2 years ago, but i decided to step out of my comfort and find out. I researched, enquired, got some or zero responses, some I liked, some I didn't.

Although we can't promote any particular rescue/charity or organisation on here...there is so many that need help.

Our charter can help you if you feel volunteering is something you'd like to do.Give it a try. ;)