Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well Said Eamon Dunphy!

• 01-07-2013 12:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

Eamon Dunphy has branded Taoiseach Enda Kenny a “village idiot”.

And the controversial commentator insisted no one with a “brain” would get involved in Irish politics.
    Eamo — famed for his rants — said our “dysfunctional” political system started after the Civil War and doesn’t serve the people.
    He raged: “How did we end up with a village idiot as Taoiseach?
    “The answer is that nobody with integrity, or a brain, would go near most of the Irish political parties.

Someone who calls it as it is instead of pussy footing around it. We talk about fighting the English for 800 years then we fcuk it up ourselves in less than 100!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

'If you're unemployed, then you're one the many who still can't find work'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The drunk at the end of the bar calls the Taoiseach an idiot. Hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

politics >>>>>>>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Anyone can be an Armchair politician.

Yet no one actually does a damn thing about it. If you think you are better than the "village idiot" well, then prove it..

If not, then go back to your armchair in front of the TV yelling left right and centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

An opinionated person has a questionable opinion of someone.

In other news, I put my socks in the washing machine with my continental quilt and everything has come out pink.

Further investigation reports thats the damage is irreversible.

There are no leads yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Nemeses wrote: »
    Further investigation reports thats the damage is irreversible.

There are no leads yet.

on closer examination it was discovered that using colour remover sometimes did the trick ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Anyone can be an Armchair politician.

Yet no one actually does a damn thing about it. If you think you are better than the "village idiot" well, then prove it..

If not, then go back to your armchair in front of the TV yelling left right and centre.

The only way you get anywhere in politics is from brown nosing and waiting your turn until the lads ahead of you get their turn at the golden goose.

It's a family business and if you're not related to or know someone in politics then you aren't going anywhere.

Caliden wrote: »
    The only way you get anywhere in politics is from brown nosing and waiting your turn until the lads ahead of you get their turn at the golden goose.

It's a family business and if you're not related to or know someone in politics then you aren't going anywhere.

I don't believe so.

I believe if you put your mind to it. Then a lot can be achieved.

Also this is known as motivation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Dunphy's everyman shtick is wearing very thin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Good man dunfers, wha- pfff...

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

Ha continental quilt haven't heard that in years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Pot kettle black.

Its very easy to sit on the side lines and criticise the tactics played.

The irish people are waiting for someone to stand up and lead them out of this mess. Either stand up and take ownership or shut the F^%k up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,471 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

He's right about us being unable to run the country though in fairness,it's been mass emigration interupted by occasional prosperity since independence.

IM0 wrote: »
    on closer examination it was discovered that using colour remover sometimes did the trick ;)

"A suspect has been placed in custardy by the gardai in relation to the Act of non-use of protection whilst handling cloth goods.

Gardai have not given out any further information at this time but leads indicate it is The Backwards Man under questioning.."

Source : The Independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,349 ✭✭✭Ardent

And Brian Cowen was an intellectual, sophisticated, charming, inspirational leader?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 297 ✭✭Clemenza

Had a spliff once with Eamo at Johnny Giles book launch

Good lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

continental quilt

Wow, it's been 20 years since I heard it called that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

It's Dunphys usual tactics. Same thing with the national soccer team.

I despise Kenny but Dunphys public ejaculations are always based on self promotion than any personal political or sporting conscience i believe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

The man calls Enda a village idiot and the states that nobody should enter politics..... Hmmm Eamon, I wonder why!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

he made this remark in an phoblacht,he also addressed youngsters at the sinn Fein summer school down in cork at the weekend,is dunphy a shinner now?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Does anyone know how Kenny became Taoiseach? Oh yea, we elected him

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭beaver111

so what if he is, there going to be in power with one of them in the next ten years fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

snubbleste wrote: »
    Does anyone know how Kenny became Taoiseach? Oh yea, we elected him

Well we didn't have a great selection to choose from really, now did we?

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

The gene pool of politicians is so poor its like an inbred royal lineage. We cant be held responsible for that. They say politics corrupts what have we achieved under our politicians, all we do is copy other countries particularly the uk and european countries we might as well pick a country that governs itself properly and join it.

kneemos wrote: »
    He's right about us being unable to run the country though in fairness,it's been mass emigration interupted by occasional prosperity since independence.

Pretty much every country is like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Now if Gilesy said it, I'd listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Enda Kenny and Trappatoni should swap jobs, just to see Eamos reaction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Dunphy has been a member of FG, the PD's, the Communist Party of Great Britain and now, it appears, SF.

The only constant is his need to use hyperbole to generate a bit of controversy.

syklops wrote: »
    Pretty much every country is like that.

France has mass emigration due to unemployment?Britain?Germany?Netherlands?Austria?Norway?Sweden?Finland?Iceland?Italy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Sergeant wrote: »
    Dunphy has been a member of FG, the PD's, the Communist Party of Great Britain and now, it appears, SF.

The only constant is his need to use hyperbole to generate a bit of controversy.

He's rivalling Eoghan Harris at this stage for the title of 'most political ideologies held'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Sergeant wrote: »
    Didn't he also have a bit of a dalliance with the Green Party?

France has mass emigration due to unemployment?Britain?Germany?Netherlands?Austria?Norway?Sweden?Finland?Iceland?Italy?

You're using Italy and Iceland in your argument? Really?

Britain is in recession as well.

Pretty much every country goes through periods of boom and periods gloom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Fuck off Eamon Dunphy.

You know nothing about football and you know even less about politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

At least Enda has some skills unlike Dunphy who just moans

Jester252 wrote: »
    At least Enda has some skills unlike Dunphy who just moans

Thats not true. Dunphy is a skilled drinker. Good singing voice as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

It's Dunphys usual tactics. Same thing with the national soccer team.

I despise Kenny but Dunphys public ejaculations are always based on self promotion than any personal political or sporting conscience i believe.

*Files away in "insults that are guaranteed to silence" folder* :D

IM0 wrote: »
    politics >>>>>>>>

Nah you're grand thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

His credentials as a political analysts are even more tenuous than as a soccer one.

Hard to refute any of that.

Then again, he's a democratically elected official, so one must turn one's attention to the electorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Isn't Dunphy just a professional armchair footballer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

we should outsource the government to India. will be cheaper and easier to communicate with......

syklops wrote: »
    You're using Italy and Iceland in your argument? Really?

Britain is in recession as well.

Pretty much every country goes through periods of boom and periods gloom.

Iceland has always been an extremely prosperous country,Italy is the third biggest economy in the EU.

krudler wrote: »
    Isn't Dunphy just a professional armchair footballer?

We also established he's an armchair politician as well.

The more you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

"Village idiot" is unfair, but you do get the impression that Kenny is operating way above his level of competence and would probably prefer to be running a hardware shop in Castlebar or something.

goose2005 wrote: »
    "Village idiot" is unfair, but you do get the impression that Kenny is operating way above his level of competence and would probably prefer to be running a hardware shop in Castlebar or something.

My point of view is this..

The man is smart, He knows exactly what he is doing.

Problem is, we as the public don't. We've no idea if the guy has genuine interest in the people he is serving or for his own agenda.

That is the problem, Time will tell.

Iceland has always been an extremely prosperous country,Italy is the third biggest economy in the EU.

Have you read the news any time in the past 4 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

My point of view is this..

The man is smart, He knows exactly what he is doing.

Smart men don't make nigger jokes in front of a room full of journalists and then grovel with them not to repeat it, nor do they trip over flower pots and cry assault when faced with a few questions from reporters.

Village idiot may be harsh, but Kenny has looked like one on more than a few occasions.

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭shankespony

Jester 252 what skills does Enda have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I'm no fan of Kenny, but I will give him this, he's the only leader this country has had in recent times who told the church where to go in regards to staying out of public and political affairs, wish more politicians would.