Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FourStar Pizza - 4 EURO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭vickers209

Friend of mine from finglas had up on facebook that there local four star have run out of dough for the pizzas lol

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

vickers209 wrote: »
    Friend of mine from finglas had up on facebook that there local four star have run out of dough for the pizzas lol

They ran out of 12" dough at about 5.30pm but were in the process of preparing more. In the mean time they were offering 16" pizzas for €8.

They closed from 7.30-9pm to give the staff a break etc as they were flat out since 12pm! They have 12" dough available now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

We got ours in finglas at 3.45 and they didn't let anyone in after us , said they ran out of dough and would open back up in half an hour but I think it was to clear the backlog. The place was manic , gangs of young lads buying a pizza each. Our chicken and bacon pizza was lovely and well worth €4. Can't say the same for the wedges though. Knowing how cheap a bag of frozen wedges are I felt ripped off to get a handful of wedges in a box for €4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭deegs

ordered mine online at 4pm yesterday, picked them up at 8.30 last night :) no queue :)

People left and right of me were crazy for the deal, and the staff were under pressure telling them that they have ran out of 12"'s they were offereing 16's for 10Euro though.

Lovely pizza's :) savage for the price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

deegs wrote: »
    ran out of 12"'s they were offereing 16's for 10Euro though.
    10 for 16" is a lot in comparison, thats just a regular readily available offer in many places.

More pizza places should quote the areas, its hard to gauge the difference in sizes. You square the radius to get a "unit", no need to work out the actual area.

e.g.
    9" is 4.5*4.5= 20.25 units
    12" is 6*6= 36 units
    14" is 7*7= 49
    16" is 8*8= 64

So they could have been cutting the 16" bases in half and doing them for €4, possibly with 3 toppings as its a bit smaller than half a 12". Or 2x9" for a fiver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

krieture wrote: »
    Absolute mess of a promotion. Didn't answer the phone for 30 mins so walked down to the branch. Queued for 50 mins to get two pizzas. Prices and size availible was changing all the time. I ended up getting 2 14" for €12. It wasnt what was offered but i was starving and said feck it. They ran out of dough just after my order so around 7ish.

The pizza was absolute muck. Very little cheese, sauce and toppings. Id say a whole pizza ended up in the bin. Im not gonna bother eating it tomorrow it was that rank.

The Staff are not to blame. Completely unrealistic promotion that just shouldnt be done. Big let down.

you queued for 50 minutes for a pizza from four star? the only person being unrealistic in this is you. What did you expect?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Went to the shop in Roselawn, Dublin 15 yesterday about 6pm expecting some sort of a que but my god it was mental so I just walked away.

You would have been waiting close to an hour I'd say. People were leaving with stacks of pizza's.

Fair play to those with patience.

To save a couple of quid. Eh no thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

krieture wrote: »
    Absolute mess of a promotion. Didn't answer the phone for 30 mins so walked down to the branch. Queued for 50 mins to get two pizzas. Prices and size availible was changing all the time. I ended up getting 2 14" for €12. It wasnt what was offered but i was starving and said feck it. They ran out of dough just after my order so around 7ish.

The pizza was absolute muck. Very little cheese, sauce and toppings. Id say a whole pizza ended up in the bin. Im not gonna bother eating it tomorrow it was that rank.
    The Staff are not to blame. Completely unrealistic promotion that just shouldnt be done. Big let down.

Should hope not since it's in the bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

The 4-Star on Washington Street, Cork opens at 4 o'clock. I rang at 5.30 to be told that they were sold out of the €4 pizzas. I didn't realise there would be such a demand but surely 4-Star should have been better prepared than that! I then rang the Wilton branch, which was also sold out. In fairness, Wilton is open from 12.00, so being sold out at 5.30 is more understandable/acceptable in their case.

rubadub wrote: »
    10 for 16" is a lot in comparison, thats just a regular readily available offer in many places.

More pizza places should quote the areas, its hard to gauge the difference in sizes. You square the radius to get a "unit", no need to work out the actual area.

e.g.
    9" is 4.5*4.5= 20.25 units
    12" is 6*6= 36 units
    14" is 7*7= 49
    16" is 8*8= 64

So they could have been cutting the 16" bases in half and doing them for €4, possibly with 3 toppings as its a bit smaller than half a 12". Or 2x9" for a fiver

Hi, please fix your quote bubbles. I did t say it was €10. In Finglas, they sold 16" pizzas for €8 as I stated in my original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

He obviously changed the name as it was another user that said the 16 inch ones were 10 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭CBRLizzie

Thanks to OP for that, I get texts from Four Star, but I hadn't heard anything about that offer. I rang in my order at 5, collected on the way home from Phibs - mental queue out the door, I just walked in, got me grub & left. Lovely pizzas, dins for a couple of days sorted ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭Danger781

I'm freaked. Tried ringing in ahead for an order for collection but they insisted i needed to be in store to order. She insisted there was plenty of pizza left.

Got there 20 minutes later and guess what.. no pizza left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭kristok 2

Phibsboro had sign up at 8 saying out if stock and Finglas had sign up saying come back after half 9 very bad promotion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Got this deal in fairview yesterday. One for myself, and one for the misses.
    50c parking €8 and €15 euro on flower, equal a really good night.
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

I tried to call finglas and fairview on the way home from work yesterday but seemed like they took the phones off the hook so I just left it.

Last novemebr pizza hut had a very similar offer for a 12" with 3 toppings for a fiver and there was none of the madness.

If I was one of four stars competitors I'd be running the offer this weekend and showing them hows its done correctly.

Seems like a single euro difference is what caused all the craziness yesterday.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=81980505

n1ck wrote: »
    He obviously changed the name as it was another user that said the 16 inch ones were 10 euro.

Yeah that was obvious, I was wondering why he put my name in the quote bubbles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

kceire wrote: »
    Yeah that was obvious, I was wondering why he put my name in the quote bubbles?

He obviously just copied and pasted the quote then wrote the bubble code himself then forgot and flicked back to see and just saw you write something similar.

n1ck wrote: »
    He obviously just copied and pasted the quote then wrote the bubble code himself then forgot and flicked back to see and just saw you write something similar.

Yeah that's fair enough. I just asked him to fix it, as I didn't say it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭johnnykilo

Managed to get one in Ballsbridge yesterday at lunchtime. Rang it in about an hour beforehand but still had to wait about 40 minutes in the shop. Can't complain too much about the Pizza for €4 but I can complain about the woman who called in to collect 32 Pizzas slap bang in the middle of lunch hour.