Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monster 80s Power Ballads.

• 03-07-2013 4:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

They don't make 'em like they used to eh?

I'm blasting out Nazareth, Cinderella, Warrant and Night Ranger (great names too) with 5,000 watts of raw power here, and I can see a mob of people coming over the horizon to join me for a party.:)

So who likes the old glamtastic rock ballads? Go on, admit it, I won't tell anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Not a big fan of poodle rock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Jennifer Rush, Power of love comes to mind also Brian Adams was number one for fe cking years with that robin hood tune that would put years on ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

There's a reason some things should just allowed to die out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

They are the worst thing to come out of the 'hair metal era'.

You wonder why grunge laid waste to the entire genre ?

I blame Aerosmith's 'Angel' for starting the entire mess.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

For the ladies and the boys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Ah man, we need to preserve timeless classics like this for our kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

jesus, I hate 80's music!

Tabnabs wrote: »

For the ladies and the boys.

Lana.

Lana.

LAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

• Registered Users Posts: 516 ✭✭✭wuzziwig

They don't make 'em like they used to eh?

I'm blasting out Nazareth, Cinderella, Warrant and Night Ranger (great names too) with 5,000 watts of raw power here, and I can see a mob of people coming over the horizon to join me for a party.:)

So who likes the old glamtastic rock ballads? Go on, admit it, I won't tell anyone.

Where's the party BM? I'm so there with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭bullpost

Ah dont know - quite fond of the Smiths and The Stone Roses meself.
    Pixies as well come to think of it.
    FatherLen wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

They are the worst thing to come out of the 'hair metal era'.

You wonder why grunge laid waste to the entire genre ?

I blame Aerosmith's 'Angel' for starting the entire mess.

But its not metal!

This is 80's Metal... Jebus get yer music genre correcto!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

But Glam is the is the bane of all metal

in any case I am growing out of metal, but still clinging on like that manchild and have narrowed down my interest to to like 3 bands or something who are on the verge of retirement anyhow so good luck with that too.

wuzziwig wrote: »
    Where's the party BM? I'm so there with you.
    At my gaff. The mob are getting closer now, I can see the whites of their teeth, they must be smiling. It's gonna be a hell of a party, some of them are carrying gardening utensils to help with the clean up after.:) This is what I'm blasting out now;

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Don't forget:

We're no good together -Tesla
    Home Sweet Home - Motley Crue
    You're all I need - Motley Crue
    Something to believe in - Poison
    Sweet Child - Guns n Roses
    Heaven Tonight - Waysted
    I Remember You - Skid Row
    Never Say Goodbye - Bon Jovi
    The Flame - Cheap Trick

Get that hairspray out!

You got to love a bitta Poison.

Can we have some Aerosmith next?

MonaPizza wrote: »
    Don't forget:

We're no good together -Tesla
    Home Sweet Home - Motley Crue
    You're all I need - Motley Crue
    Something to believe in - Poison
    Sweet Child - Guns n Roses
    Heaven Tonight - Waysted
    I Remember You - Skid RowNever Say Goodbye - Bon Jovi
    The Flame - Cheap Trick

Get that hairspray out!

Skid Row!! I had totally forgotten about them. What was their other one?? Oh yeah, 18 and life! I spent a summer in the States listening to them. Ah the memories.

Foreigner always comes after Poison. It's like an unwritten rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

There is nothing better than listening to rock ballads on a midweek night whilst drinking alone in your boxer shorts.

Foreigner always comes after Poison. It's like an unwritten rule.

Sawry! I'm a bit overexcited here. ;)

There is nothing better than listening to rock ballads on a midweek night whilst drinking alone in your boxer shorts.

While weeping.

Why 80s Power ballads.. ugh

I'm going back to listen to my Justin Beaverface compact discs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Speaking of poison. Alice cooper great song

There's one thing better, whip out the oul air guitar and sing along!!

Nemeses wrote: »
    Why 80s Power ballads.. ugh

I'm going back to listen to my Justin Beaverface compact discs...
    We'll include the 70s for you older folks too then.:p

Here's the grandaddy of all rock ballads;

Ballad/Ballet.

Coincidence?

And this bird you'll never changengengengengengenge!

Ballad/Ballet.

Coincidence?

Who cares, just sing along!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

The ultimate ballad from the era of shoulder pads and frizzy perms

changengengengengengenge!

Is that not Ini Kamoze or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Prefer this kind of music myself for that kind of occasion

Is that not Ini Kamoze or something

Not if you sing it through your nose. :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Wanna listen to Electric by The Cult now.

This kind of raw energy is something that is seriously amiss in pop music / radio these days. I dare say the world would be a much better place with it.

What about this one. A classic. I was in love with David Coverdale back in the day. :o

Not if you dont sing it through your nose. :D

FYP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

caustic 1 wrote: »

Brian Adams was number one for fe cking years with that robin hood tune that would put years on ye.

You may have proven you own point about the song putting years on you - it was a 1990s song not 1980s. But I wouldn't disgree with you on the song.

Awesome Geetar solo work at the end

Nemeses wrote: »
    Awesome Geetar solo work at the end
    Think that was the last concert before the crash too.

I've no idea to be honest with you - I'd have to check wiki for that info.

Still. Awesome song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

As far from Poodle Rock as you could possibly get.

The fact their latter day audience are Nascar loving good ole' boys does them a disservice imo.

Anything post plane-crash is unlistenable though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,090 ✭✭✭SeanW

BOOOOO.
    FatherLen wrote: »
    BOOOOOOOO. HERETIC. BURN HIM :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,081 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Absolutely brilliant thread, fair play :)

Keep them coming, can't upload any as am useless at that..

This is one of my most favourite songs;:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Taco Chips wrote: »

Can't beat a bit of Heart

They covered Led Zeppelin recently. It was amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

cutting crew - I just died in your arms tonight
    Roxette - Must have been love
    Patrick Swayze - She's like the wind
    Waterboys - The whole of the moon
    Bryan Adams - Heaven
    Guns n roses - Sweet child of mine
    Kate Bush - Hounds of love
    Run DMC/Aerosmith - Walk this way
    Bon Jovi - Living on a prayer
    Prince - When doves cry
    Foreigner - I wanna know what love is
    Whitesnake - Is this love
    INXS - Never tear us apart
    Berlin - Take my breath away
    Jim Diamond - Shoulda know better

Of course I'm not including all the truly brilliant stuff from the pixies, new order, depeche mode, psychedelic furs, Echo and the bunnymen,the cure, the smithsetc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭Elessar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

cutting crew - I just died in your arms tonight
    Roxette - Must have been love
    Patrick Swayze - She's like the wind
    Waterboys - The whole of the moon
    Bryan Adams - Heaven
    Guns n roses - Sweet child of mine
    Kate Bush - Hounds of love
    Run DMC/Aerosmith - Walk this way
    Bon Jovi - Living on a prayer
    Prince - When doves cry
    Foreigner - I wanna know what love is
    Whitesnake - Is this love
    INXS - Never tear us apart
    Berlin - Take my breath away
    Jim Diamond - Shoulda know better

Of course I'm not including all the truly brilliant stuff from the pixies, new order, depeche mode, psychedelic furs, Echo and the bunnymen,the cure, the smithsetc

It's like you nicked the playlist off my mp3 player (also known as my phone, which is useless as far as YouTube is concerned, half the videos here - "not available on mobile"), but how did we get six pages in and forget about the epitome of rock ballads -