Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Getting someone inbetween two car seats

• 03-07-2013 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭

Right - baby number two arrived a few weeks ago and our previously spacious first gen (05) Skoda Superb is suddenly looking tight.

We've got two seats:
    A rear facer for the two year old (which he will be in up to approx four)
    2way-elite01.jpg

And a maxi cosi baby seat plus base
    maxi-cosi-easybase-2-car-seat-base-5.jpg

The realisation now hits that:
    1) For a person to get in/out of the centre back seat, the baby seat has to be taken in and out.
    and
    2) For anyone but my super svelte wife, there isn't enough room to get more than one ass cheek on the seat or to buckle the belt.

Has anyone come across any solutions to this? Like some sort of extendable buckle that would make the belt buckle easier to close?

We've just bought a house as well as having a new baby, messing around with a new car doesn't bear thinking about.

Quad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Stop using the seat? Probably not what you want to hear...

If someone can't sit in the seat properly, it's not safe. Particularly with 2 kids either side of that badly secured person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Stop using the seat? Probably not what you want to hear...

If someone can't sit in the seat properly, it's not safe. Particularly with 2 kids either side of that badly secured person.

Had this before a few years ago, solution was to put the wider baby seat in the passenger seat (turned off airbag), usually enough place in the rear for two adults, especially if one of them is "super svelte". Not sure though if the law has changed in any way regarding babies in rear facing seats in car passenger seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Yet again, the Irish "need a bus to carry babies around" approach baffles me; I have family members and friends who get around absolutely fine with 2 kids in an hatchback (Peugeot 309, VW Golf, new shape Megane to name some).

The Superb is a huge car, I can almost stretch my legs when sitting in the back - 6'2" and accordingly wide. Even if you wanted to change your car, you'll hardly find something significantly bigger unless you go the "people carrier" route - which, for 2 kids, is absolute overkill.

As Challengemaster suggested, you might want to rethink your seats strategy...do you absolutely need to carry a 5th passenger in the middle of the two seats? If you need to go somewhere without the kids, you can just remove the seats...annoying for sure, but definitely workable.

Out of curiosity, where does the elder child put his legs while traveling in that seat? It looks like something you see in a torture chamber!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,699 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

The rear facing seat puzzles me too. Had the older fella forward facing from 9 months, and he was really cramped from 6 months onwards.

We've a forward facing seat for the 20 month old and a rear facing seat for the 5 month old, but not a fancy maxi cosy base. Still pretty tight in the middle of the XC60 (Which is wider than the Superb in the back seats) and hard enough to get past the seats.

I'd be looking for a couple of slimline seats. Bin the rear facing toddler seat and go for a normal forard facing. Not long off needing a new seat for the baby so get another slimline forward facing seat when the time comes. Should make it a lot easier for someone in the centre seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Put the bigger child in the front passenger seat.
    You will have to get a forward facing seat for the bigger child.
    My daughter has been in the front for the last year and a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,578 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Kids not legally allowed in front seat... Even with airbags switched off... Rear facing car seat for up to 4s ,a lot safer (and dearer and a bit bigger) ... Not sure what the op can do .... Except breath in .

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭XsApollo

It's not illegal.
    Any child can be in the front in the correct seat.
    Only thing illegal is havin rear facing car seats in the front with an airbag on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Markcheese wrote: »
    Kids not legally allowed in front seat... Even with airbags switched off... Rear facing car seat for up to 4s ,a lot safer (and dearer and a bit bigger) ... Not sure what the op can do .... Except breath in .

Find me the piece of legislation to say that and not some guidelines from the RSA. How do you think kids get round in the cab of a van/jeep....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭quad_red

Thanks for the replies folks.

I think the best option is to just remove the easy fix base for the maxi cosi when we have a passenger in the back. I'll give it a try tomorrow but hopefully that should leave enough room.

In regards to the bigger toddler seat, it's actually quite spacious. It's quite deep so as of now, the wee lad is two and he's able to touch the back seat with his feet only by stretching. You can continue to move it and even turn it to face forward as time moves in.

In regards to why - basically, because it's safer. There's stuff about it online but was told a pretty scary story about the effect a serious collision had on a child who was strapped into a forward facing seat (you read about 'internal decapitation once and it sort of sears it's way into your head). I got that seat from a place in Belfast and we're very happy with it. The wee man knows no different so the skeptical friends who said 'he'll never tolerate that' etc were wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,741 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

A rear facing seat is safer, there's no doubt about it. But there are other factors to take into consideration, perhaps some you haven't thought about. Rear facing in the back means the child has no visual interaction with the parent. And vice versa (parent can't check if the child is ok). Unless there is a parent in the back or you setup a system with mirrors (tried that myself - it doesn't really work)

Also, the child will have far less things to see and experience, which will no doubt limit their development, particularly over the age of 2. You say your child doesn't get bored rear facing, which is miraculous enough, but I doubt that will last much longer :)

unkel wrote: »
    A rear facing seat is safer, there's no doubt about it. But there are other factors to take into consideration, perhaps some you haven't thought about. Rear facing in the back means the child has no visual interaction with the parent. And vice versa (parent can't check if the child is ok). Unless there is a parent in the back or you setup a system with mirrors (tried that myself - it doesn't really work)

Actually, we've set up two mirrors that mean both the driver and front passenger can see and interact with the toddler. He's able to chat away to us and has a pretty good view out the window. Also, just recently realised that he's able to see out the front of the car with the mirror (didn't realise he could do that). He's comfortable out to read his books, sing away to himself (or with us) or look out the window on longer journeys.

And I actually think it's good for him to develop some patience!
    Also, the child will have far less things to see and experience, which will no doubt limit their development, particularly over the age of 2. You say your child doesn't get bored rear facing, which is miraculous enough, but I doubt that will last much longer :)

Limit their development! :p Sorry unkel, don't agree with that. He's two now and he's still happy out with the seat. His mental development is well ahead of the curve (language etc.)

The significant safety advantages and smooth out experience we've had would leave me with no hesitations in recommending one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

H3llR4iser wrote: »
    Yet again, the Irish "need a bus to carry babies around" approach baffles me!

We're actually not that bad. Looking at what the Yanks say they "need" just to haul themselves and a couple of young 'uns around is enough to make your jaw drop.

Having said that, I don't really see what the OP's issues are. He's got two small kids, not three. How often does he have another person sitting in between his kids in the back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

I've seen a suzuki alto with 3 seats across the back and one in front.

And you say a superb is too small.

Jesus. wrote: »
    We're actually not that bad. Looking at what the Yanks say they "need" just to haul themselves and a couple of young 'uns around is enough to make your jaw drop.

Funnily enough, those ridiculous SUVs often have feck all internal space. My sis in law in the US has a big one and the Superb has far more internal room leg room.
    Jesus. wrote: »
    Having said that, I don't really see what the OP's issues are. He's got two small kids, not three. How often does he have another person sitting in between his kids in the back?

When my folks or folks in law come to stay with us it's for a few weeks at a time.

I'm not suggesting getting a new vehicle. I don't want a new MPV or whatever.

I grew up with two other siblings and we had an 3 door escort. But child seats have turned into thrones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,741 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

quad_red wrote: »
    Limit their development! :p Sorry unkel, don't agree with that. He's two now and he's still happy out with the seat.

He's only two and you haven't any experience with how kids develop after that age. I do and imho what they see through the windows when travelling in a car adds considerably to their development

I totally agree with you though that you don't want and don't need an MPV! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

A 2 year old should be forward facing by now,turn that seat around and get the child comfortable before thinking about fitting someone in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,794 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I totally agree with you though that you don't want and don't need an MPV! :)

A superb is bigger than an MPV in many ways.

I had a rear-facer in the front of my old 911, and herself in the back with the other child - buggy in the front 'boot' - how a Superb cannot be deemed big enough just escapes me..........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,699 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

galwaytt wrote: »
    A superb is bigger than an MPV in many ways.

I had a rear-facer in the front of my old 911, and herself in the back with the other child - buggy in the front 'boot' - how a Superb cannot be deemed big enough just escapes me..........

It's plenty enough for 4, it's just the 5th person that's a pain.

Going to be narrow enough for someone to sit between the 2 baby seats, but it's physically getting to that seat which will be the biggest issue - especially with 2 rear facing seats.

Looking in the back of my car this morning, there is no way anyone would get past the rear facing seat without it coming back. Might just squeeze by the forward facing one if it was empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Just out of curiosity, is it even legal to carry a 5th passenger in the middle of two baby seats? I can think endless scenarios where either the kids or the adults sitting in between can meet a rather gruesome death due to the circumstances (e.g. kid crushed by the adult in an impact, the adult being trapped in the middle in a burning car and on and on...).

As for the rear facing seat...fortunately there was no such thing as a child seat when I was little, as I would most definitely have hated every single instant spent traveling and facing rearwards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I love how when it comes to kids, everyone has an opinion and they're all convinced that they're right.

Can anyone point to any hard research which outlines the developmental benefits of a rear-facing -v- a front facing child car seat? Or good reason why a two year "should" be forward facing, which isn't based on gut feeling?

5 people= 5 seats = MPV. Sorry to break it to you, but you've a family now. You need 5 proper seats. Period.

I was in a pre and post MPV (Opel Zafira) family growing up, and there's no comparison. If all you can have is 1 car, get an MPV that you'll hold on to till you're driving the youngest to her/his grad.

B*ll*x to "style", you've a family now. Far more important, and more rewarding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Peanut2011

seamus wrote: »
    I love how when it comes to kids, everyone has an opinion and they're all convinced that they're right.

Can anyone point to any hard research which outlines the developmental benefits of a rear-facing -v- a front facing child car seat? Or good reason why a two year "should" be forward facing, which isn't based on gut feeling?

Ask and you shall receive:

http://www.anec.eu/attachments/ANEC-PR-2011-PRL-017.pdf

It is not a development benefit but a safety benefit!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

A child shouldn't "be forward facing at 2", just because it's the norm does not mean it is the best. Rear facing up to 4 is recommended where possible, it's 5 times safer, its just not as common here as the shops don't stock normally stock a good range of rear facing seats, most people get their seats from up north or from Sweden where it's the norm to forward face a child until 4 or so. A parent who has a extended rear facing seat in Ireland has put a lot of time and effort into researching the safety, you just don't dump it out. As for not seeing out the windows? A child rear facing can see out the rear window as well as out the side window like a front facing child would.
    http://www.carsafetyrules.com/swedes-save-more-lives-with-policy-of-keeping-one-year-olds-with-rear-facing-car-seats/0403/
    The US has changed its recommendations too http://www.carseat.se/us-changing-rear-facing-recommendations/ and AFAIK it's going to change here too soon to no forward facing until 15 months.
    Here's some info http://www.carseat.se/rearfacing/safety-benefits/ and videos

Thats A TWE am I right? Is there any reason you can't put the Maxi Cosi in the middle seat, as it has the arm it should be as safe, would it cause buckle crunching? or is there still no room in the remaining seat? You can put the seat in the passenger seat once the air bag is off AFAIK. http://www.carseat.se/are-car-seats-in-front-seat-safe/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 19 Immolation

We've 3 little ones all in various baby/child seats across the back of our Primera.
    I had to buy 2 seatbelt extenders off ebay otherwise you'd go mad fumbling for the clasp end under the booster seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,794 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

5 people= 5 seats = MPV. Sorry to break it to you, but you've a family now. You need 5 proper seats. Period.

I was in a pre and post MPV (Opel Zafira) family growing up, and there's no comparison. If all you can have is 1 car, get an MPV that you'll hold on to till you're driving the youngest to her/his grad.

B*ll*x to "style", you've a family now. Far more important, and more rewarding.

B*ll*x to that, tbh.

There's a Superb outside the door right now - it has 5 seats and 5 seat belts. There is no reason it couldn't be used.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Ginny wrote: »
    Thats A TWE am I right? Is there any reason you can't put the Maxi Cosi in the middle seat, as it has the arm it should be as safe, would it cause buckle crunching? or is there still no room in the remaining seat?

The Superb has a very high 'pillar' on front of the middle seat which would rule out the easy click base. As for whether the maxi cosi would just be belted in there - that's something I must try!
    Ginny wrote: »
    You can put the seat in the passenger seat once the air bag is off AFAIK.

I must do some more reading about this. I don't even know how to disable the passenger airbag in our car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭whippet

I have the Superb II Combi and on a recent trip to the south of france my wife sat quite comfortably in the middle of the back between two child seats entertaining the kids. I'd be fairly sure that if needed a third child seat would fit in the middle .. mind you if that did happen I'd be having a different conversation with someone else ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

R.O.R wrote: »
    It's plenty enough for 4, it's just the 5th person that's a pain.

Aye but how often does someone travel with a fifth passenger stuck in between their two kids? You mentioned that you have your in-laws around every month mate but even without the kids seats, you still wouldn't be able to fit six in a car.

Do they not have their own motor?