Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

TD's salaries are cut...

• 04-07-2013 3:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭BreakingBadLad

Hi all, as most of you know the poor TD's & senators have had there salaries cut (sarcasm). I found some extra facts about how much they are REALLY paid. I hope J.Rudd from thejournal doesnt mind me using his interesting research :)
    Just to give you a heads up, you may find these figures upsetting....

here are the pay and perks that Enda Kenny and the other 225 members of Leinster House receive.
    1 – Basic wage of a TD: € 92,672
    2 – Basic wage of a Senator: € 65,621
    Additional payments for TDs are as follows:
    3 – Additional payment for a Minister of State: €37,370
    4 – Additional payment for super Ministers of State: € 17,205 (plus € 37,370 above)
    5 – Minister (€ 76,603)
    6 – Tanaiste (€ 91,733)
    7 – Taoiseach (€ 107,328)
    8 – Ceann Comhairle (€ 76,603)
    9 – Leas Ceann Comhairle (€ 37,370)
    10 – Chairpersons of Oireachtas committees (Andrew Doyle, Ciarán Lynch, Dominic Hannigan, Alex White, Pat Breen,Jerry Buttimer, Joanna Tuffy, Peadar Tóibín, Damien English, David Stanton, Thomas Pringle, Seán Barrett, John McGuinness , Tom Hayes): €9,500
    11 – Member of Oireachtas Commission (Senator John Whelan, Senator Tom Sheahan, Senator Marc MacSharry, Deputy Frank Feighan, Deputy Dan Neville, Deputy John Browne, Deputy Catherine Byrne, Deputy Jack Wall ): €9,500
    Chief whips
    12 – Chief Whip (Paul Kehoe): no payment specified in One Stop Shop
    13 – Assistant Government Whip (Emmet Stagg): €15,000
    14 – Whip to Labour Party (Emmet Stagg): no payment specified in One Stop Shop
    15 – Asst Whip to Fine Gael (Joe Carey): €7,500
    16 – Asst Whip to Labour (John Lyons): €6,000
    17 – Whip to Fianna Fail (Sean O’Fearghail): €19,000
    18 – Asst Whip to Fianna Fail (John Browne): €9,500
    19 – Whip to Sinn Fein (Aengus Ó Snodaigh): €6,000
    20 – Asst Whip to Sinn Fein (Jonathan O’Brien): €3,000
    21 – Whip to Socialist Party : €6,000
    22 – Whip to People Before Profit : €6,000
    Additional payments for Senators are as follows
    22 – Cathaoirleach (Paddy Burke): €44,336
    23 – Leas-Chathaoirleach (Denis O’Donovan): €24,429
    24 – Leader of the Seanad (Maurice Cummins): €19,439
    25 – Deputy Leader of the House (Ivana Bacik): €9,500
    26 – Government Whip (Paul Coghlan): €6,000
    27 – Assistant Government Whip (Susan O’Keeffe): €4,000
    28 – Fianna Fáil Leader (Darragh O’Brien): €9,500
    29 – Independent Group of Nominee Senators’ Leader (Jillian Van Turnhout): €6,000
    30 – Independent Group of University Senators’ Leader (Ronan Mullen): €6,000
    31 – Fianna Fáil Whip (Diarmuid Wilson): €6,000
    32 – Independent Group of Nominee Senators’ Whip (Katherine Zappone): €4,000
    33 – Independent Group of University Senators’ Whip (Sean Barrett): €4,000
    34 – Select Committee on Members’ Interests of Seanad Éireann (Ivana Bacik, Deirdre Clune,David Cullinane, Maurice Cummins, Ronan Mullen, Darragh O’Brien, Jillian Turnhout) : €3,100 per annum
    Pensions
    35 – TDs and senators contribute 6% of their salary a year for up to a maximum of 20 years in order to benefit from the Dail pension scheme. It is a final salary scheme which allows for a maximum of ½ the final salary to be paid for life from aged 65 – 1/40th of final salary is accrued for each year of service. It provides for a lump sum upon retirement and it is possible to take early retirement from age 50.
    Allowances
    36 – Travel and Accommodation: €12,000 – €37,850 per annum depending on distance from the Leinster House. Senators get paid €7,000 – €32,850 per annum and so-called “office holders” get paid €8,400 – €36,150 per annum
    Public Representation Allowance: €15,000 for TDs (no evidence of expenditure required – unvouched) or up to €25,700 (supported by invoices and receipts – vouched); Ministers €12,000 (unvouched) to €20,000 (vouched); Senators €9,250 (unvouched) to €15,000 (vouched)
    37 – Dual abode allowance: This applies to ministers only and allows Ministers to claim tax deductions on mortgages, rental or hotel accommodation PLUS tax deductions for maintaining property and other expenses which can be up to €6,500.
    38 – Ministers can claim a tax deduction on the interest on any loan required to purchase a second residence.
    39 – Ministers can claim a tax deduction on maintenance required on any second residence. € 6,500
    40 – Ministers can claim the entire cost of rental accommodation if their second residence is rented.
    41 – Ministers can claim a tax deduction on the cost of maintaining a second rented residence.
    42 – As an alternative to 41 Ministers can claim a tax deduction of €4,500
    43 – If Ministers use a hotel or guest house as a second residence they an claim for the entire cost IN ADDITION to €72.66 for subsistence.
    44 – If Ministers use a hotel or guest house as a second residence they an claim for maintenance costs (e.g. laundry)
    45 – As an alternative to 44 Ministers can claim €3,500
    46 – Allowance for Independent TDs
    € 41,152 per annum each for the 18 independent TDs (Stephen Donnelly, Luke Flanagan, Mick Wallace, Shane Ross, Thomas Pringle, Michael Healy-Rae, Michael Lowry, Finian McGrath, Mattie McGrath, Tom Fleming, Noel Grealish, John Halligan, Catherine Murphy, Maureen O’Sullivan PLUS four TDs who have had the party whip removed Tommy Broughan, Willie Penrose, Denis Naughten and Patrick Nulty ).
    47 – Allowance for Independent Senators
    € 23,388 for 11 independent senators (John Crown, David Norris, Sean Barrett, Martin McAleese, Feargal Quinn, Ronan Mullen, Fiach Mac Conghail, Marie-Louise O’Donnell, Jillian van Turnhout, Katherine Zappone, Mary Ann O’Brien.
    48 – Termination payments:
    These are due to of a lump sum upon termination PLUS a monthly payment for up to a year. As long as you have at least six months service in either the Dail or Seanad, you get a termination payment of two months salary. The monthly payment depends on how many years you’ve been a TD or senator eg for five years, you get three months at 75% of your salary. If you have over 14 years service, then you’d be entitled to 6 months at 75% of salary plus the following six months at 50% of salary.
    49 – Mileage Allowances
    50 – Each minister and minister of state, except An Taoiseach, An Tanaiste and justice minister, is entitled to recruit two drivers apiece at a cost which is charged to each department.
    51 – Attendance of a TD at a “parliamentary assembly” carries hotel expenses and a subsistence allowance for “entertaining”
    52 – Parliamentary assistants allowance (no requirement by Oireachtas members to report appointing members of their own families)
    Up to €41,092 per TD for secretarial assistance, PR, IT and training
    €8,000 per TD to set up and kit out a constituency office
    Additional perks
    53 – Free parking in central Dublin (normal cost €12 per day approx)
    54 – Free gym
    55 – Free subsidised restaurant
    56 – Private members bar with subsidised drinks
    57 – Free tax advice service
    58 – Free language lessons
    59 – Postage: – 1,500 free postage items per month for TDs and 1,000 for senators.
    60 – Free ink cartridges: up to the value of €2000 annually
    61 – Free unlimited telephone calls (landline)
    62 – Mobile phone allowance: €750 every 18 months
    63 – Free office in Leinster House for TDs & Senators
    64 – VHI free
    65 – Free Automobile A insurance
    66 – Free car insurance.
    67 – Free personal accident and death insurance
    68 – Individual state funding for political parties.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭xpletiv

Overpaid freeloaders. I think that a cap on politicians should be 100k. Noone needs more than that a year. They dont do a good enough job to deserve these perks/bonuses/wages in general.

At least take all expenses away and make them pay for all themselves. See the bills go down hugely then. No more chartered helicopters, no more 4 and 5 star hotels, no more expending expensive meals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

What's a 'super minister of state'?

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭BreakingBadLad

€80,000 cap very maximum imo. Also The seanad should close, waste of resources and money

Boombastic wrote: »

A made up 'role' for a person who does f#ck all..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

That David Mitchell from peep show reckons they should be paying politicians more in the UK, he thinks it will attract a better quality of politician and reduce corruption as politicians will be so rich they won't sucum to bribery. I had a good laugh out of that one, he's a funny guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Sure they're all super :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Did they not tell you, they have to pay that to get the best candidates into politics!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

How do I get a refund?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Free access to a gym? I don't really believe that there now...

Chucken wrote: »
    Sure they're all super :pac:

I think so to, that's why the role confused me!

A made up 'role' for a person who does f#ck all..

Introduced in 2012, are these the only people who received it?

Labour Jan O’Sullivan....
    ....government chief whip, Paul Kehoe, who also sits at Cabinet meetings. O’Sullivan’s predecessor in the housing brief, Willie Penrose, received a similar payment for the eight months he held the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Hah they vote for their own perks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Dartz

Try and cut their salaries and the bastards might go on strike.

Not that anyone'd notice

Free access to a gym? I don't really believe that there now...

I cant beleive the perks no. 54 to 68 - should be completely gotten rid of :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭gazzer

Do they really get free VHI??? :eek: Fcuks sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

How can you have a free subsidised restaurant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

why do they have free car insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

why do they have free car insurance?

Why do they have free anything? They should be paying like the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pandaboy

Lisa needs braces...

seems like a good paid job doesn't it. Would you vote to cut it if you were a TD? hardly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭gazzer

Im actually fuming reading this. I knew they took the piss with their expenses they received but not to that extent.

Thousands of families stuggling to pay car insurance and foregoing their health insurance and these swines get it all for free :eek:

Also the amount of people who have to commute massive distances each day and the crowd in the Dail can claim all their rent back if they are renting somewhere to be near to work. Its disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I guess many of them dont take up the language lessons considering most of the politicians can barely speak english, yes Healy-Rae I am looking at you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Jesus. I'm in the wrong job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

its a minister of state that is weak against kryptonite

vitani wrote: »
    Jesus. I'm in the wrong job.

I wouldn't do it for twice the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I'm fine with those salaries. Most of those expenses make me feel a little ill, however. What exactly the mentality behind a lot of them beyond giving perks to powerful people is I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

I can't say I'm angered by many of the benefits, frankly. Most of them we already know about, and the majority are justifiable.

But I would say the fact that we give our legislators private health insurance appears the most unethical.

and the most perplexing
    32 – Independent Group of Nominee Senators’ Whip (Katherine Zappone): €4,000
    33 – Independent Group of University Senators’ Whip (Sean Barrett): €4,000
    why would independent senators need whips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Them telling the rest of the country to 'tighten the belts' is pure and utter hypocritical.

If they want to save money, that list right there is a good place to start.

What were their salaries and expenses three years ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Dartz wrote: »
    Try and cut their salaries and the bastards might go on strike.

Win win

Caliden wrote: »
    Them telling the rest of the country to 'tighten the belts' is pure and utter hypocritical.

If they want to save money, that list right there is a good place to start.

Will the belts be tax deductible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Mahogany

How about, paying them according to how well they perform in office?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

And this one was obviously created just to give Paul Gogarty a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Would that be English language lessons for the Healy-Raes?

• Registered Users Posts: 426 ✭✭Baneblade

it should be high salary and no expenses or half the salary with expenses. you dont need both

What is the "public representation" allowance all about? is that not their job?

we used to berate them in days gone by for their ivory back stratchers but this seriously takes the piss - a 6K whip? surely they could have gotten a less expensive one than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

We have a population of six million yet some of our TDs are on figures that would make some German politicians envious. This isn't a left wing or right wing complaint it's just inexcusable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

They shouldn't be getting any expenses on those wages. And they should lose the TD wage if they become a minister or whatever.

As for the perks at the end, they shouldn't get any of them!

You're right OP, i'm quite angry after that! :mad: Think i need to punch a kitten!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

This is why I want to run in the next election, my slogan will be: "I'm only in it for the money".

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    This is why I want to run in the next election, my slogan will be: "I'm only in it for the money".

I'll do it for more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Are people really surprised by this? Is this news? We've known this for years have we not... :confused:

Do ministers and above get the basic salary PLUS the ministerial salary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Way too generous , at least they're falling. How much higher were they under Bertie/Cowan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

You could do away with their base salary and they could live comfortably on all the perks they get!

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Do ministers and above get the basic salary PLUS the ministerial salary?
    Yes

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭sdanseo

There are some things there which are understandable and others which are totally unnecessary. A subsidised bar and resteraunt are probably run at cost and don't actually cost the exchequer a huge amount. Free VHI at group rates etc is free or subsidised in a huge number of public and private sector jobs these days, and mileage is expensable in just about every job too.

On the other hand, providing every independent TD €41,000 may well be cash for the boys. I'm not sure why Emmet Stagg needs €15,000 extra to crack an imaginary whip and I can't for the life of me understand what superhuman burdens lie upon the Ceann Comhairle to almost double his salary.
    steddyeddy wrote: »
    We have a population of six million yet some of our TDs are on figures that would make some German politicians envious. This isn't a left wing or right wing complaint it's just inexcusable.

4.6 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

TD's salaries are cut...

But they still remain a shower of overpaid gombeen idiots.

Dáil 166 TD's / Irish Republic population 4.6 Million

= 1 TD for every 27,710 people.

House of Commons 650 MP's / UK pupulation 63.2 Million

= 1MP for every 97,230 people.

If we had the same level of representation as the UK, we'd have 47 TD's. Now that would save us some money/waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

yeppydeppy wrote: »

Get into private industry instead if you really want the moolah, you can make up to €42,000 a day.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/aryztas-killian-pockets-155m-29210685.html

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/icon-chiefs-7m-is-best-pay-package-in-country-29355403.html

I've just said this in another thread but TD's salaries should be benchmarked against their previous employment. Expenses should be processed through a central payment system. The money for expenses should never end up in the hands of the TD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

die sollen alle in einen sack gehauen werden und mit einem riesen stock gehauen werden