Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road tyre question

Options
  • 05-07-2013 11:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭

Hi Guys,

Firstly, sorry if this thread is incorrectly posted as I am a newbie to the cycling thread here on Boards.

Now I have a quick question regarding advice on a set of new tyres for my bike.

I recently bought a G. Defy 2 and not sure if the tyres are all that great (from what I have been told). Given I am new to cycling also I am completely helpless at knowing where to buy and what to buy regarding tyres as this is all new to me but perhaps somebody could point me in the right direction? :confused:

I am looking to purchase 2 tyres that would be durable and reasonably puncture resistant as I plan on doing 150-200k a week commuting to and from work and cycles at the weekends with friends. I am looking to find out where to look and what to look for. also any tips from past experiences would be great!

thanks in advance for any help on this!

:)

Cheers!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭jgreene83

chainreactioncycles.com best value all around and very fast delivery, this is where I buy most of my gear.

I have Continental Gatorskin on my Defy 3, can't really go wrong in my opinion, excellent puncture resistance and have a nice roll to them, plus they've pretty good life in them, 1500km done on mine so far. Keeping the pressure up around 110psi is advisable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭maniac2000

Cheers for the reply! Ye my next question was how much to inflate the tyres to! Will check out the link!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer