Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

THIS IS A THREAD ABOUT WEATHER. ALLLLLL THE WEATHER. WEATHER WEATHER WEATHER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

ive drank so much water today , bring back the cold

It's a good job the water charges arn't in yet as i am, at this moment, an ugly giant bag of mostly water according to this life-form, as i have drank the reservoir dry today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Highest official temp recorded by Met Eireann was 28 degrees.

BBC recorded 29.5°C just over the border in N. Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Academic

It's pretty cool over at the Westin:

http://www.starwoodhotels.com/westin/property/area/weather.html?propertyID=1314

The best weather money can buy ...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Summer 1999 and 2003 had a few scorcher July/August weeks - comparable to this week.

What made Summer 1995 so exceptional was that the heat wave lasted from July all the way through to early October. It was hotter that year in Dublin than in California.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

JupiterKid wrote: »
    It was hotter that year in Dublin than in California.

Depends what part. I highly doubt Dublin was hotter than Death Valley. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

It was so hot I ate my dad's girlfriend's crisps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I remember lovely summers growing up. Maybe I just remember them because I was happy and they stood out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

was so hot I thought i saw aqua coloured deckchairs out the back

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭viota

it was 34 degrees here in cork.How can you call it not that hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

34c, is that not hot

is too hot to trot.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's going to be another scorcher today. You could sit out there already at 6am and tan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

viota wrote: »
    it was 34 degrees here in cork.How can you call it not that hot?

Nowhere near 34 degrees. 29c, 30 max and it probably only felt like 30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Nowhere near 34 degrees. 29c, 30 max and it probably only felt like 30.

"Nowhere near" ?

Yeah, 4 degrees off is pretty close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

It was so warm, that even your ma looked hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

It's going to be another scorcher today. You could sit out there already at 6am and tan.

Oh Isn't it lovely, I have two lots of washing out already :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Seriously considering breaking my legs and calling in sick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

I'd give my right arm for a job to break my legs to call in sick to.
    How's my grammar?
    Is this the right thread??

Often wondered why people go by what met says. Can't they only record the temp exactly where their sensors are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

Would kind of defeat the purpose, no?

9959 wrote: »
    I'd give my right arm for a job to break my legs to call in sick to.
    How's my grammar?
    Is this the right thread??

Grammars good lol. Thread? Ok i guess. But ease up on the "you think you have it bad?" or they'll eat you alive:D Sorry to hear youre unemployed though. Gave two and a half years lookin for work myself, wasnt good. But for a man that suffers heat as I do, That just doesnt matter...
    And if ypu gave your right arm for the honour of breaking both your legs I dare say youd be in trouble!

Liamario wrote: »
    Would kind of defeat the purpose, no?

Id feel guilty if I lied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Think more Irish people went to Australia for the winter there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Grammars good lol. Thread? Ok i guess. But ease up on the "you think you have it bad?" or they'll eat you alive:D Sorry to hear youre unemployed though. Gave two and a half years lookin for work myself, wasnt good. But for a man that suffers heat as I do, That just doesnt matter...
    And if ypu gave your right arm for the honour of breaking both your legs I dare say youd be in trouble!

I'd give my right testicle to be in a position to chide someone for suggesting that they would give their right arm for a job in order to break both their legs so as to call in sick to same.

P.S. Please don't reply or I'll have no body parts left.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Oakpark in Co Carlow was the hottest place in the country yesterday as the mercury climbed to a sweltering 28.7 degrees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Thats funny right there:D
    For the record,though , I went in:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Seen a young chap wearing a wholly hat on his head.

(One of those silly expensive i'm a tosser hats).

Guess he was too cool, to be too hot....or something like that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

pebbles21 wrote: »
    I seen people buying Mc Donalds coffee and thowing it over themselves just to cool down..

What did you see?

You mean 'I saw' ,sorry i'm not a grammer nazi but that annoyed me :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Kazooie

Left the ripe banana I had brought to work on the front seat of the car. The skin was completly blackened when I was going home. Picked it up and it dissolved all over the floor.

Lesson: eh..Fruit should not be left in a car without the windows cracked. Same as for Dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

Give it a week and it`ll be " Will somebody please think of the crops"

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

SV wrote: »
    "Nowhere near" ?

Yeah, 4 degrees off is pretty close.
    Well the highest temperature ever recorded in Ireland was 33.3°C...
    So those 4 degress do make a big difference!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I saw a five legged donkey bítch slap and orange goat with wings earlier. I remember when hot weather used to make me hallucinate, now it's just all this animal on animal cruelty. The horror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Everytime I get off the couch I am not sure if I am just a bit sweaty or if my waters have broken!!!!

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    Everytime I get off the couch I am not sure if I am just a bit sweaty or if my waters have broken!!!!

TMI.

it was 34 degrees here in cork.

No it wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

This is disgusting. I can't hack it, the fecking sun hits my flat all day long and it is like a sauna. I don't even need to put water in my ice as it melts by the time I lift the glass to my mouth.
    I genuinely hate hot weather, and I am not even ginger.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭viota

hmm so you are calling my thermometer wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Worst thing about this weather is having to work, a public holiday should be called when we get weather like this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭JonSnuuu

Yes. hottest recorded temperature yesterday was around 28 degrees in Carlow. If it had been 34 degress in Cork it would have been all over the news as it would have been the hottest recorded temperature in Ireland since some time in the late 1800s.

Your thermometer was wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Not verifiable

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Cuchulainn90

kfallon wrote: »
    Worst thing about this weather is having to work, a public holiday should be called when we get weather like this!!

Thinking the exact same thing!, Looking out my offices bay windows right now having a silent huff to myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

pebbles21 wrote: »
    I seen people buying Mc Donalds coffee and thowing it over themselves just to cool down.
    lufties wrote: »
    You mean 'I saw' ,sorry i'm not a grammer nazi but that annoyed me :-)

Sorry, I'm not one of those people that comes on Boards to correct people who make factual errors but must point out that you are the very definition of a grammar nazi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

It was so hot yesterday that Bill Clinton's pants came off and we understood ....

:P

I'll get my coat ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

I am sweltering. I hate the heat. I like the sun but the heat can **** right off. Early mid 20s grand not anything more.

32 in tipp! My sweat patches have made,contact with each other!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

JonSnuuu wrote: »
    Yes. hottest recorded temperature yesterday was around 28 degrees in Carlow. If it had been 34 degress in Cork it would have been all over the news as it would have been the hottest recorded temperature in Ireland since some time in the late 1800s.

Your thermometer was wrong

/shrug - he could've had the thermometer resting on some spot that was absorbing in a lot of the heat out in the sun... like the bonnet of the car.

32 in Tipp !!!!!

Wow hotter then Barcelona !!!!

and im coming home in a week to "cool" down .... hmmmm...

BeerWolf wrote: »
    /shrug - he could've had the thermometer resting on some spot that was absorbing in a lot of the heat out in the sun... like the bonnet of the car.

Exactly, thermometers always need to be in the shade, sure we get readings of 47ºC here some summers from the street thermometers, it's bollix, the thing is in a suntrap at the corner of some square...

the_monkey wrote: »
    32 in Tipp !!!!!

Wow hotter then Barcelona !!!!

and im coming home in a week to "cool" down .... hmmmm...

Good for you monk, you seem agitated. Full irish should sort that right out.

its horrible, i have to get up 2,3 times a night to shower, so im getting broken sleep ... plus there's a ****ing mouse running around between the roof and ceiling