Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arc 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

2/1 in such a competitive race is way too short.

that is true so ill be looking for another good thing
    to double it with (rebel fitz ) which works out
    at 7/2

I'm far too confident but I still hate that price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

I hope these guys are recorded again! :D

http://youtu.be/RzNXkDBwrLY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Your heading over? You dawg!

I wish I was, just can't believe how much we get ripped off time and again over here, if only there ever was a card in Ireland with the quality of 8 Group 1's on it we'd be paying E50 into it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Totally agree. The price of entry to an Irish racecourse is daft, the worst offender is Ballybrit for the week long festival. €25 for the Monday night just to get in the door is a complete rip off, never mind the rest of the week. Thankfully, people are voting with their feet and attendences have plummeted so the penny might drop with the organisers at some stage. The facilities are topnotch but I hate paying through the nose just to take a step through a turnstile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

2/1 in such a competitive race is way too short.

5/2 with Paddy and Ladbrokes this morning.

Lads were 7/4 last night, did he lose a leg?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

thanks
    that'll do just fine
    single it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Treve Treve Treve.

Better than Zarkava

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Treve Treve Treve.

Better than Zarkava

Better than zarkava?? Hmmmm, couldnt agree with that. I,m not saying theres a country mile between them, but zarkava for me was that bit zippier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

For me just on the performance Treve is the best staying filly ive ever seen.Dont know lads if you remember Princess Pati she was class[talking through my pocket].I bought a very broken down house on my win on her.

Looking in behind Intello confirmed the promise he showed earlier in the year and he improved for the trip he should pick up a couple of group 1s next year.

Big run by the Godolphin horse, Al Kazeem really outran my expectations in sixth.

Looking in behind Intello confirmed the promise he showed earlier in the year and he improved for the trip he should pick up a couple of group 1s next year.

Big run by the Godolphin horse, Al Kazeem really outran my expectations in sixth.

Al Kazeem might have even finished a bit closer if Doyle wasn't so intent on trying to nudge Treve out of the way for most of the early part of the race. Intello should make up into a really decent 10-12f horse next year. His owners were messing him about by running in the Jacques Le Marois during the summer. Madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Excellent win by Treve. If she runs as a 4yo we will learn more.
    My interest was in Penglai Pavilion at 80s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Better than Zarkava

Maybe for you at the moment with all the bookies money in your pocket.

If Treve and Zarkava were in the same Arc and side by side in the straight Zarkava would win every time imo, I have seen rockets slower than Zarkava.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Just looking at the race again, its sick how easily Treve won the race. Frightening stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

What was the time of the race?

Well done UrbanSea, super win.

Slattsy wrote: »

Well done UrbanSea, super win.

3:15 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Al Kazeem ran a blinder to come 6th from that draw.

hucklebuck wrote: »
    3:15 :o

Ah jaysus!!
    Finishing time you clown :P

Off Time: 15:15:39

So it was 39 seconds late, not bad really. Hope that helps Slattsy.

Fine. Dont really care!!!

Johner wrote: »
    Al Kazeem ran a blinder to come 6th from that draw.

Treve didn't run bad from hers either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

Treve ran wide of Al Kazeem for the first mile, so more distance covered, she also got a few bumps from him. As a small 3 year old filly, she certainly wasn't intimidated.

What I want to know is, wtf I didn't back her!!!!!!!!!!!!

Treve is a machine. Al Kazeem hasn't got the credit he deserves this season though, to come back from a bad injury and run in 6 Group 1's winning three and finish it off with a good run in the Arc. He is a very good horse and might well have placed with a better draw.

Don't think he would have placed they were two solid horses in second and third Intello comfortably holds Al Kazeem through Marois form

Slattsy wrote: »

2.32 or there abouts. 1.5secs slower than standard

Don't think he would have placed they were two solid horses in second and third Intello comfortably holds Al Kazeem through Marois form

Well you did say he wouldn't be in the first 8. :pac: He also stumbled 5 out so it's not that far fetched to say with a better draw he might have been placed, perhaps 4th might have been more realistic though, wasn't a great ride by Doyle either but the draw for him made it tough.

Didn't think he would be. Decent run but still can't believe he was a one time favorite imagine people holding their 4/1 dockets yesterday they must have felt like mugs

Well you did say he wouldn't be in the first 8. :pac: He also stumbled 5 out so it's not that far fetched to say with a better draw he might have been placed, perhaps 4th might have been more realistic though, wasn't a great ride by Doyle either but the draw for him made it tough.

Ok Johner, if he had a better draw and a furlong headstart he might have finished infront of her

Didn't think he would be. Decent run but still can't believe he was a one time favorite imagine people holding their 4/1 dockets yesterday they must have felt like mugs

They were left holding their c0ck$

Al Kazeem ran a cracker considering his circumstances, definitely a better animal over 12f and with a bit of cut in the ground. Will Treve stay in training next year lads, I know fillies are quirky but if she keeps her head she will be very hard to beat next year, she is a freak!

Confirmed she stays in training as does ruler of the world and leading light

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Ok Johner, if he had a better draw and a furlong headstart he might have finished infront of her

I never said he'd have gotten near Treve just said with a better draw he might have been placed.

Confirmed she stays in training as does ruler of the world and leading light
    It is going to take something special to get near her next year, still shocked how easily she got to the front, I have never seen a middle distance horse with a turn of foot like that. I reckon Motivators price will shoot up now he currently stands for only 7 grand :eek:

Then Frankel can ride her in a few years.

The only worry next year for Treve is Dettori, he could somehow get her beat.

The only worry for Treve is that she has "exploded" in the Arc, and ends up getting bottomed out too quickly. That has happened before to horses. Hope the run didn't take too much out of her. I know there was talk of her going to the BC. Hope she's put away, given a rest & allowed come back next season.

I never said he'd have gotten near Treve just said with a better draw he might have been placed.

Surely would get near with a furlong start?

Were there excuses from Aidan about his horses yesterday lads?

Don't think so.

7 gr.1 winners for Ballydoyle this year, imagine a few years ago they had 20+, crazy

Fancied ROTW myself, thought LL would be lapped !

Is that all? Jesus poor enough all things considered as i thought they had a decent bunch to go to war with this year.

Leading Light might win an Ascot Gold Cup next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Itziger wrote: »
    The racecourse is a helluva lot more than 10 minutes walk from the metro station. There are two basic shuttle services, the Porte d'Auteuil and the Porte Maillot. The first named is busier, much busier in my experience but the second one is in the middle of an enormous roundabout thingy that can take an age to get around. I've done both and would say the Maillot is quieter and quicker but it depends a little (only a little mind) where you're coming from. I honestly haven't tried walking from either metro but I'd be amazed if you did it in under 45 minutes. Others will know as well here. This year should be my 12th of the last 13 years.

This is the best info ive ever got. How many blithering idiots i read on forums and info websites saying its a 10 minute walk is just so wrong. It takes over that to drive there. I'd speculate that it would take at least 1hr 20m to walk from Porte d'Auteuil. How can they even say that.

Longchamp was class. The place is just so big. The free shuttle was so necessary!. Pints were €10 and were brit magnets!. I would go again and be better prepared. Its just a bit too packed and if I went again id get a €25 enclosure entry and hope that’s a better deal viewing and space wise because getting a possy in the stands is impossible unless you are camped there for the day.

It’s really not a racing crowd that goes and that includes not only the French and internationals as you’d expect but also the British in general. Not that theres anything wrong with that!.

People were sitting on the concrete stands like it was a picnic even during races essentially taking up 2 places because their 2 feet were in the slab in front of them. Imagine people sitting in the stands at Leopardstown at Christmas or the Curragh on Derby day!.

Youd miss the rails bookies as queing to bet on pari-mutual isnt betting. I did all my bets before racing anyway so it didn’t affect me but not having rails bookies in the ring makes it a bit soulless. The French do most things the best but they missed a trick there!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

califano wrote: »
    The French do most things the best but they missed a trick there!.

Great post until you came out with this. Food and striking are the only things I can think of that they do the best.

To qualify that statement I've been living here for almost 3 years.

Great post until you came out with this. Food and striking are the only things I can think of that they do the best.

Mmmmmmmmm confit duck.

califano wrote: »
    Youd miss the rails bookies as queing to bet on pari-mutual isnt betting. I did all my bets before racing anyway so it didn’t affect me but not having rails bookies in the ring makes it a bit soulless. The French do most things the best but they missed a trick there!.

It's swings and roundabouts though. You pay about a tenner to get in to watch several Group Ones at Longchamp on Arc day because the Pari Mutuel subsidises your cost of admission. On the other hand, you pay about 30 euro to watch rubbish at the Galway Festival for the luxury of being able to have a bet with a bookie.

Not to mention a 100 page fully illustrated race card that is more like a book. They must cost an absolute bomb to print

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭faoile@n

Not to mention a 100 page fully illustrated race card that is more like a book. They must cost an absolute bomb to print
    Well they charge you €5 for it :mad:

While I wouldn't be a massive fan of the pari-mutuel on a going day it has clear advantages over our system for the thoroughbred industry.

You only have to compare the prize money of Australia, US, France with the UK to see why.

faoile@n wrote: »
    Well they charge you €5 for it :mad:

While I wouldn't be a massive fan of the pari-mutuel on a going day it has clear advantages over our system for the thoroughbred industry.

You only have to compare the prize money of Australia, US, France with the UK to see why.

Did they charge a fiver for it this year, was free last year along with the caps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Its amazing the differing opinions. Ok i was only there 2 days but in all the exchanges we had with the french over this time we experienced nothing but good hospitality and kindness. An example below is a copy/paste of an email i sent to someone.

Paris was great and the races at Longchamp too!. Its a cool city and the Paris metro phone app worked great for us. Great until it went wrong on back to airport and found ourselves lost and abandoned virtually in the sticks with time against us to make the flight. On the regional RER-B line the train took a spur we didnt figure on away from Charled De Gaulle. When it terminated in Mitry-Claye the place was practically abandoned. We somehow got help by a couple from two french locals that spotted us flapping outside Mitry-Claye!. This station had no town or taxi transport and it was on the edge of farming community. When all seemed lost and the last of the commuters dissapeared out of sight a young guy and standing beside him a wary looking woman appeared before us. She let him do the talking as she was without a word of English. The younger guy a student type was actually behind us getting off the train and seen our miss step with some english must had told the woman(his lift) about our misfortune. I asked him what he thought of our chances of getting a train back to Aulnay-Sous-Bois and make the next connecting CDG train but he said it didnt look good with the time we had and with that said that his lift the local woman would give us a lift to Charles De Galle. Couldnt believe it!. Imagine that both had the good nature and pitied us sufficiently to offer to drive us the 12k drive to the airport from the middle of nowhere!. It seemed like the minor miracle that was needed happened, it was our only out of this to make the 1pm flight and it comes up!.

Before setting off she double folded the back seat rug as it was full of dog hairs but we were beyond being fussy at that stage. On the drive the wary French woman really perked up when she discovered we were Irish and not English as she admired the Irish provinces of Munster and Leinster and the Irelands Call pre game song made the hair on her arms stand up. All this translated by the young guy. It was translated that she give this lift on condition we lose to France in the next six nations game, a deal we readily accepted!. We sung a few bars of Irelands call in the car to keep her sweet, all the time Dermot looking at his watch negatively as it still wasnt looking good time wise! cursing our luck under his breath for getting in the first place("Were officially in the red zone ya know").

In the end we got to Charles De Galle, i slipped some money on her driver seat out of her sight as as she got out to let Dermot out of the back and told the guy to tell herwhen she sees it that its just for diesel as she wasnt the type to accept anything and i didnt want to embarras or insult her. I felt like Palin when we said our goodbyes before rushing over to the departure times window and it turns out we were going to make the flight because as luck would have it the flight happened to be delayed!. The security screener guy had a chuckle when we recounted our last ditch attempt to get there on time!. Amazing the good nature of those local French people all the same.
    Other than that mishap it was generally plain sailing!.

Vive la France!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

I thought the 5er for the race card was a bit of a shame. I suppose it being free was never going to last. Also, the crowd can be a bit of a pain but it's worth it to see a Treve job like we did on Sunday. I went once in June with my then 7 year old daughter and it was much more pleasant. We even ate in the fancy panoramic restaurant up on top. Think it was the French Derby or 2,000 Guineas, can't quite remember.