Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to get old tattoos covered

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭kingaaa

OK, so now I'm in limbo.....besides Skin City, are there any other quality shop? Dublin Ink looks fantastic - but the customer reviews are shocking, and I'm a bit too long in the tooth to be dealing with some diva...I just want to make appointments, arrive when I'm supposed to and the place be open, and have some quality work done???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Wildcat, Spilled Ink, Snakebite.

anybody had experience with Zulu Tattoo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

kingaaa wrote: »

They're very good for laser, from what I've seen of the laser they're doing on my friend, and my favourite of my five tattoos was done in there last september. I'd go to snakebite or wildcat for an intricate piece, though

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    They're very good for laser, from what I've seen of the laser they're doing on my friend, and my favourite of my five tattoos was done in there last september. I'd go to snakebite or wildcat for an intricate piece, though

A lot of people are saying that, but when I check out they're galleries they dont seem to be all that ?? I've just been looking at Dublin Ink's work and they seem to be streets ahead - if only there weren't so many bad reviews!! they are also doing lazer at €40 a session!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

A lot of people are saying that, but when I check out they're galleries they dont seem to be all that ?? I've just been looking at Dublin Ink's work and they seem to be streets ahead - if only there weren't so many bad reviews!! they are also doing lazer at €40 a session!!

Dublin ink are grand for laser, their tattoos I would call over priced for what they are, although they have fabulous guest artists now and then. For more up to date pictures, always check the studio's facebook, I know zulu's site hasn't been updated in god knows how long

• Registered Users Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

To be honest Dublin Ink are from streets ahead off Widcat, Skin City or Hydraulix in fact they would be behind them in terms of the work they produce they are far from streets ahead. Never mind there rep there work is good but there is better in Dublin and Ireland.

Really?? the photo's in their facebook gallery are by far the best I've seen, maybe they are mainly photo's of the guest artists work?

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Borboletinha

Did you check Kris barnas and Attila's galleries on wildcat''s website? They are very much all that.
    I have a friend who got a tattoo done in dublin ink which she wants covered. After seeing her tattoo I would never go there its that bad.

Did you check Kris barnas and Attila's galleries on wildcat''s website? They are very much all that.
    I have a friend who got a tattoo done in dublin ink which she wants covered. After seeing her tattoo I would never go there its that bad.

Just checked them out a couple of minutes ago, excellent work...would I be right in saying Wildcat in Stephens Green would be the better of the two?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

Marcin in Zulu does some amazing work IMO. I only came across him a while back when I spotted a tattoo he'd done on another artist who was tattooing me. Himself and his GF are sound people to deal with also. If you want to see examples of his work you need to check the albums on his personal page, not the zulu one: https://www.facebook.com/marcinsonski/photos

TheBellJar wrote: »
    Marcin in Zulu does some amazing work IMO. I only came across him a while back when I spotted a tattoo he'd done on another artist who was tattooing me. Himself and his GF are sound people to deal with also. If you want to see examples of his work you need to check the albums on his personal page, not the zulu one: https://www.facebook.com/marcinsonski/photos

Now that's impressive work...I rang Zulu yesterday and they couldn't have been nicer on the phone...seem to be really customer focused. I did arrange to call back to Skin City today, maybe I'll call into Zulu on the way. What is it with all the Eastern European lads? they all seem to be naturals at tattooing....by far the most talented around these parts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

Now that's impressive work...I rang Zulu yesterday and they couldn't have been nicer on the phone...seem to be really customer focused. I did arrange to call back to Skin City today, maybe I'll call into Zulu on the way. What is it with all the Eastern European lads? they all seem to be naturals at tattooing....by far the most talented around these parts...

You might have a bit of a wait for Marcin, when I spoke to him in May his next apt wasn't until July. But the waiting list for some artists can be over a year long so if you like his work I'd sit tight :)

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Borboletinha

Just checked them out a couple of minutes ago, excellent work...would I be right in saying Wildcat in Stephens Green would be the better of the two?

Dont know how good the guys in jervis are. I would recommend Stephens green though. The 3 guys there are awesome, kris did mine and I love it. Good price too as kris is fast which is good when you are paying per hour.

Well I called into Zulu yesterday, started lazer there and then - impressed with the outcome after just one session. There is about a 5 week waiting list for Marcin I was told, might work out well as I'm off work for a week in October

Think I've narrowed it down to these 2 designs for both arms

• Registered Users Posts: 11 primus105

I had a tattoo about the same size as yours covered up without any laser by zsolt sarkozi who specialises in cover ups. He is actually doing a guest spot in dublin ink at the mo. might be worth asking him about it. you can see some of his cover ups on his site . circletatt.hu

primus105 wrote: »
    I had a tattoo about the same size as yours covered up without any laser by zsolt sarkozi who specialises in cover ups. He is actually doing a guest spot in dublin ink at the mo. might be worth asking him about it. you can see some of his cover ups on his site . circletatt.hu

I'll wait until after the lazer to see how the removal turns out...if at all passible I just want to keep the new ones black and grey.