Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti Austerity Protestors @ House of Waterford Crystal

• 08-07-2013 4:46pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭

See these guys are outside House of Waterford Crystal again this afternoon. I was standing at pedestrian crossing beside 6 U.S tourists who decided amongst themselves they would not cross the road and visit the tourist attraction(that looked like it was been picketed) because of it. I know the council offices are above it but they don't know that even though I did say this to them.

Fair play guys, that's how to revive the economy, drive tourists away.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Might have something to do with a number of government ministers and the Taoiseach being around for some non-jobs announcement. Maybe they did a tour of the factory? There is a conference, according to WLR, in the Tower later with Richard Bruton and Billy Mc was interviewing Joan Burton this morning about a wide range of issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Dopes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

S28382 wrote: »
    Dopes.

YET how dare they get out and do something about it ,they should just bitch and moan online like everyone else....
    ****ers.....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    YET how dare they get out and do something about it ,they should just bitch and moan online like everyone else....
    ****ers.....

I think its more because they were having a negative impact (possibly) on the City / local economy. They were counterproductive (possibly).

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭albert kidd

Sully wrote: »
    I think its more because they were having a negative impact (possibly) on the City / local economy. They were counterproductive (possibly).

yes sully,we should just continue to bend over and take it up the roger from them cretins in the dail..yes sir,three bags full sir.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

I'd happily see any of our scumbag government ministers being hassled, in this case though it seems the protesters were outside the wrong building

• Site Banned Posts: 118 ✭✭Addictedtogolf

Wow, Our major tourist attraction in Waterford and this is the impression that they want to show our overseas visitors and guests.

What a great way to make the country look like a pack of fools.

If they want to get a message across to the government then go up to government building in Dublin or to the local clinics that the TD'S, etc. attend.

I never comment on things like this but this is just pure stupid.
    I bring golfers and tourists into Ireland for a living and trust me this is not what they want to see when they come here to have a good time and pump money into our economy. IDIOTS

yes sully,we should just continue to bend over and take it up the roger from them cretins in the dail..yes sir,three bags full sir.

Do enlighten me as to where I said that.

What is the point in gathering outside a major tourist attraction and protesting thus resulting in tourists avoiding the place just to have a go at a government (rightly or wrongly about protesting is not what I am getting at)?

It would have been money well spent in the area, badly needed may I add in a City that is on its knees as has been rightly pointed out, that has now vanished and considering that our image is important to us for other tourists to consider us, this protests does a lot more harm than good. It has absolutely no benefits, apart from the feeling of delight with the protesters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭ex_infantry

this is why foreign investors won't come to waterford either be unions or anti austerity protests, there is a view of waterford being too hostile and this is the proof!!! bit of cop on is what was needed here and why not go out to eistech where all the TD's and media were, TOOLS!!!!

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    ****ers.....

Jesus come down off it will ya all those fools out protesting in front of something that Waterford prides itself on are muppetts, they are making themselves look stupid in front of tourists on whom Waterford City depends on. They are the same people who would protest against the City Council if there was no tourist attraction in Waterford and their argument would be the Council doesnt do enough for the city.

Again they are a bunch of dopes.

BTW before you think im pro FG im not in anyway supportive of FG or any political party so im not defending any politician i couldnt give a rats arse about em.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭jennygirl

Wow, Our major tourist attraction in Waterford and this is the impression that they want to show our overseas visitors and guests.

What a great way to make the country look like a pack of fools.

If they want to get a message across to the government then go up to government building in Dublin or to the local clinics that the TD'S, etc. attend.

I never comment on things like this but this is just pure stupid.
    I bring golfers and tourists into Ireland for a living and trust me this is not what they want to see when they come here to have a good time and pump money into our economy. IDIOTS

its crazy that every time we have a minister et al down for a visit - all tv cameras & press around - we always have 6 or 7 muppets shouting at them - its counter-productive for the business' trying to engage with them - and makes Waterford look like a black spot to attract industry and jobs - well done lads - 6 or 7 guys ruining our City even more! hope ur proud!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

I wish there was a fg equivalent of tayto park, where you all could run free in your bluer than blue shirts before the evening assembly where you all could have a joint orgasm looking at pictures of kenny, thatcher, pinochet, franco, mussolini and hitler. we could call it traitor park, maybe? or fascist bastards park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

nice_very wrote: »
    I wish there was a fg equivalent of tayto park, where you all could run free in your bluer than blue shirts before the evening assembly where you all could have a joint orgasm looking at pictures of kenny, thatcher, pinochet, franco, mussolini and hitler. we could call it traitor park, maybe? or fascist bastards park.

1290165886_rsd4rn.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 3,510 ✭✭✭Max Powers

Some moronic posts on here, the socialist workers (i presume) are the real morons protesting outside our best tourist attraction. That was the issue, it was 100% clear that that was the issue/reason for the post. It has nothing to do with Sully, FG or anything else, citing dictators like above just seems to be the post of a immature 15 yr old. If you are 15 and posting that I would be embarrassed.

I have confronted the socialist workers about this behaviour before, it didnt occur to them to move accross the street so as not to deter visitors but hey as i said, morons!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Wonder if Martin Cullen is in there today?
    Or is he still in sunny Florida bursting his ass at those in Waterford that made him a millionaire.:D:D

washman3 wrote: »
    Wonder if Martin Cullen is in there today?
    Or is he still in sunny Florida bursting his ass at those in Waterford that made him a millionaire.:D:D

since the posts in this thread have reached new levels of irrelevance, anyone see father ted episode last night? Its about as applicable a post as some of the previous posts here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Am Chile

The they were protesting outside a tourist spot line seems to be just an excuse to have a go at dissenters to me- when the council workers had a picket in that spot 2 years ago while on strike people on this forum complained about it- when the lads were down the quay doing the occupying waterford thing people on this forum complained about it- when the waterford crystal workers had a sit in protest inside the tower hotel a few yrs ago when mary coughlan was there people on this forum complained about it-when the anti austerity protesters protested outside the tower hotel when enda kenny came a few months ago people on this forum complained about it- when I see people constantly complaining about one protest or another protest- it just comes across as people taking a dislike to dissenting voices.

I just looked at a video of yesterdays protest someone posted on facebook

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=466908166739429&set=vb.331916703571910&type=2&theater

Am Chile wrote: »
    The they were protesting outside a tourist spot line seems to be just an excuse to have a go at dissenters to me- when the council workers had a picket in that spot 2 years ago while on strike people on this forum complained about it- when the lads were down the quay doing the occupying waterford thing people on this forum complained about it- when the waterford crystal workers had a sit in protest inside the tower hotel a few yrs ago when mary coughlan was there people on this forum complained about it-when the anti austerity protesters protested outside the tower hotel when enda kenny came a few months ago people on this forum complained about it- when I see people constantly complaining about one protest or another protest- it just comes across as people taking a dislike to dissenting voices.

To be fair, most people don't mind if there not impacting on our local economy or being aggressive in their approach. There is a lot of anger in Waterford so its unfair to suggest that people just dislike these type of voices when its more about the negative impact they are having.

The examples above all impacted outside Waterford Crystal or a tourist spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭Hoffmans

thomasm wrote: »
    See these guys are outside House of Waterford Crystal again this afternoon. I was standing at pedestrian crossing beside 6 U.S tourists who decided amongst themselves they would not cross the road and visit the tourist attraction(that looked like it was been picketed) because of it. I know the council offices are above it but they don't know that even though I did say this to them.

Fair play guys, that's how to revive the economy, drive tourists away.
    how do you know they were us tourists?did you speak to them? id say the real reason they didnt cross was to avoid the gang of guards spread around the area like flies on ####.......

Why didnt the 6 tourists cross the road? answers on a postcard to enda kenny tucker street castlebar co mayo...:P

Hoffmans wrote: »
    how do you know they were us tourists?did you speak to them? id say the real reason they didnt cross was to avoid the gang of guards spread around the area like flies on ####.......

Why didnt the 6 tourists cross the road? answers on a postcard to enda kenny tucker street castlebar co mayo...:P

The knee length denim shorts, flower shirt, cap, white socks + runners with a big camera hanging off them gave it away. :D

I have spoken with many tourists, Irish and foreign, at different protests (and in pubs etc), who were curious as to the nature of the different protests.. the overwhelming response has been positive once they have been informed of the reasons behind said protests. It has been said to me on more than one occasion "about time you guys are doing something". A good many people with cameras both Irish and as described in the post above stopped to take photos yesterday from both sides of the street. We are being seen abroad as a nation of non protesters while millions europe and world wide are out in the streets every day. We get a visit from the head of government who is imposing a fascist regime bit by bit, and those of us who were at the protest are accused of damaging the local economy..?? get a grip, the SW funeral march along the quay blocked more traffic than 6 americans who decided not to visit "the glass" and who probably did so today.

BTW I am not part of, or affiliated to, any political party, and I was there as an Irish person who sees wrongs being done to my country and wanted to EXERCISE MY CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO PEACEFUL PROTEST.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

Hoffmans wrote: »

I know they were American because I spoke to them. Also there were no guards when I passed

I have spoken with many tourists, Irish and foreign, at different protests (and in pubs etc), who were curious as to the nature of the different protests.. the overwhelming response has been positive once they have been informed of the reasons behind said protests. It has been said to me on more than one occasion "about time you guys are doing something". A good many people with cameras both Irish and as described in the post above stopped to take photos yesterday from both sides of the street. We are being seen abroad as a nation of non protesters while millions europe and world wide are out in the streets every day. We get a visit from the head of government who is imposing a fascist regime bit by bit, and those of us who were at the protest are accused of damaging the local economy..?? get a grip, the SW funeral march along the quay blocked more traffic than 6 americans who decided not to visit "the glass" and who probably did so today.

BTW I am not part of, or affiliated to, any political party, and I was there as an Irish person who sees wrongs being done to my country and wanted to EXERCISE MY CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO PEACEFUL PROTEST.

you exercise your constitutional right and to hell with the rest of us concerned about tourism, local economy etc. 'fascist regime' give me a break, its like listening to a 10yr old. truly pathetic.

I know they were American because I spoke to them. Also there were no guards when I passed

And we are supposed to just take the word at face value from an unknown anonymous poster that you spoke to american tourists?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

And we are supposed to just take the word at face value from an unknown anonymous poster that you spoke to american tourists?

Leave it out Am Chile it's the middle of the summer, there are wall to wall American tourists there day and night this time of year and You know that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

Yeah your right, I came on here to make up lies about speaking to the rare unsighted creature that is the American tourist outside a big tourist attraction for same rare creature to make your friends in the protest look bad, not that they need any help considering the location of protest and the effect it had that I witnessed first hand. Do feel free to trawl all past posts by me to see if your protest buddies are a regular topic of interest for me if you want to waste your time

The fact is your op is just one side/version of events-another poster on this thread gave this version of events-

[QUOTE=nice_very;". A good many people with cameras both Irish and as described in the post above stopped to take photos yesterday from both sides of the street.

.[/QUOTE]

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=85458375&postcount=23

As i wasnt there the other day Im not inclinced to just believe one side of things without hearing other side- nice very- since you were there- what is your side of things- did you see or witness any tourists turning away from the visitor centre because of the protest?
    your friends in the protest look bad, not that they need any help considering the location of protest and the effect it had that I witnessed first hand. Do feel free to trawl all past posts by me to see if your protest buddies are a regular topic of interest for me if you want to waste your time

I dont personnaly know the people that were protesting- however I refuse to condemm them for protesting- as i havent heard their side of events in detail.

I certainly didnt see any tourists or locals turning away and I was there from before 4.30 to around 8pm. Plenty of people went in and out of the building. to max powers: you seem to have a fascination with my age and picking 1 phrase from my posts to insult me about, also you didnt comment on the fact that the SW (1st) funeral march blocked half the quay for a couple of hours

• Registered Users Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

In all fairness though if you were having a protest on the day, where would you have held it, up in the park:D