Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LUAS: A Tale of Two Trams. RTÉ 1, Tuesday, 09 July 2013. 9.35pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

I hope you never make eye contact with the wrong junkie who hops on ... He might change your mind about the red line more than I ever can.

I'll be fine, I've been getting it at least twice a day for the last 5 years and nothing bad has happened to me yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

Saab Ed wrote: »
    How many crimes? What type of crime? God you're easily sold a pup. I doubt anybody every bankrupted a country on the Luad red line. 100% of net emigration is caused by crimes committed along the green line. Wouldn't make ignorant easily sold telly though would it.

Yes Jail the bankers blah blah...you're destracted from what is being talked about. The fact of the matter is you are far more likely to be assaulted on the red line than the green line. But you keep up your - Working class Good, Rich fat cats Bad mantra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

I'll be fine, I've been get it at least twice a day for the last 5 years and nothing bad has happened to me yet.

Ah poor Lucas leads a sheltered, pampered life. He probably does a little poo if he hears someone talking without marbles in their mouth. His Mammy still looks after all the big calls in his life . The last man to be giving advice.

Yes Jail the bankers blah blah...you're destracted from what is being talked about. The fact of the matter is you are far more likely to be assaulted on the red line than the green line. But you keep up your - Working class Good, Rich fat cats Bad mantra.

Ah sure if that's what they said on the telly it must be right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

I hope you never make eye contact with the wrong junkie who hops on ... He might change your mind about the red line more than I ever can.

Most junkies are incapable of making eye contact to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

spurious wrote: »
    25% of all LUAS crime happens on the leafy southside line?
    I'm shocked. How do they account for it, visitors?

There is occasional anti-social behaviour from youths from town to Balally and also around Leopardstown Valley to Ballyogan Wood. That said, never have those acting the bollíx been over the age of 14 that I have seen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

Lithuanian guy running his mouth about OUR dole scroungers, after he took their jobs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Well that was train crash tv anyway.

srm23 wrote: »
    Lithuanian guy running his mouth about OUR dole scroungers, after he took their jobs!

I think there was no fear of those particular people ever looking for jobs to begin with. :D

How many crimes? What type of crime? God you're easily sold a pup. I doubt anybody every bankrupted a country on the Luad red line. 100% of net emigration is caused by crimes committed along the green line. Wouldn't make ignorant easily sold telly though would it.
    Ah sure if that's what they said on the telly it must be right!

I am now convinced you are Joe Duffy ... Or some similar champion of the working class. It seems convenient for you to ignore the higher crime rates on the red line the programme remarked upon. The luas red line is the playground for the unemployed, travellers, junkies, skanks and the great unwashed in general.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

^^^^ Do Not Feed ^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Carnegie

Yeah like the dole scroungers want a job when they are getting 190 per week plus housing plus medical cards plus free transport plus childrens allowance. Time to scrap all those allowances and introduce food stamps for those leeches.

How did he manage that?

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    I think there was no fear of those particular people ever looking for jobs to begin with. :D

yeah not when they can get money, food, houses & methadone for free.
    the jealousy of that guy, as if he should be entitled to OUR state benefits.

He was complaining about the system and as a taxpayer who helps fund their benefits hasn't he every right to comment.

He also said he was lucky to have a job in spite of the challenges of the job

If he was made redundant now he would be entitled to some, he has paid taxes. You have to remember he gets racist shíte from these people everyday, it makes you spiteful. That programme was an absolute joke, assuming all red line passengers are scumbags, all green line passengers are affluent and that the staff are all lovely, some are a*holes like every other profession.

I am now convinced you are Joe Duffy ... Or some similar champion of the working class. It seems convenient for you to ignore the higher crime rates on the red line the programme remarked upon. The luas red line is the playground for the unemployed, travellers, junkies, skanks and the great unwashed in general.

That program was made for you :-)

He doesn't think he should be entitled to any state benefits but made a reasonable point that people who do get everything for free are unlikely to be motivated to work.

He is working and contributing to OUR economy and his kid is learning English & Irish OUR languages. He was happy about this meaning his child will be able to integrate well with us and that he is most likely not anti-Irish.

That program was made for you :-)

I suggest you bury your head in the sand in case you see something else which contradicts your social ideals. - no guard, 'twas a rich banker who held a syringe to my neck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Can't believe Pat Kennys son is a Luas fare evader

I suggest you bury your head in the sand in case you see something else which contradicts your social ideals. - no guard, 'twas a rich banker who held a syringe to my neck!

It was a guy from Louth who once threatened me with a punh in the face thus Louth is a pool of vermin, right! Course not ya mug.

Get out more, see the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 208 ✭✭Norfolk Enchants

Bit rich of our Lithuanian friend to be complaining about anti social crime and welfare rates in Ireland. According to the cso, 23% of Lithuanians resident here are on the dole. Thats nine points above the national average. "Lithuania is different" as if its a crim free zone. It has one of the highest crime rates in the EU. Not to mention the recent spate of murders and Lithuanians up in our courts for knife crime. Two articles in todays Indo about them alone.
    Irony overload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Is this thread still about the luas?

Can't believe Pat Kennys son is a Luas fare evader

He struggles without the auto-cue just like his Dad
    eh eh eh

DrumSteve wrote: »

Was it ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I thought it was interesting.

It's not looking that way

• Site Banned Posts: 31 Maggotz

Sir Oxman wrote: »
    Red line passenger here, this show is a bloody joke!
    They have interviewed no-one but a deluded whiney culchie who thinks no-one uses a smartphone or tablet or kindle on the Red Line out of fear or poverty and who almost creams himself about the Green line passengers (cue close up of an iPad) and a junkie with a free pass.

Green Line, loads interviewed! Ooh, a kindle reader, someone with a designer bag - look! a dope who leaves her bag unattended but that's okay - it's the Green line!

What a joke - I've seen one racially motivated old drunk bastard give abuse to a few Indians on the Red Line, the odd kid fare dodging and almost everyone is on a smrtphone/tablet/kindle and no problems (10 x 30min journeys a week)

I'm fuming!

It's a good summation of the scum that inhabit the environs the red Luas travels through

i have had to take both for work at different stages and anyone who doesn't think the red line is rougher needs their heads checked!

ive never been hassled on either, but the general rough/knacker/junkie contingent is way higher on the red line, especially around that abbey street area the lads were standing on.

i have had to take both for work at different stages and anyone who doesn't think the red line is rougher needs their heads checked!

ive never been hassled on either, but the general rough/knacker/junkie contingent is way higher on the red line, especially around that abbey street area the lads were standing on.

How dare you! All people are created equally! There is no such thing as good or bad people. We are all the same beautiful creatures. There is no social division around here. There are no areas with higher crime. I find your comments disgusting

Bit rich of our Lithuanian friend to be complaining about anti social crime and welfare rates in Ireland. According to the cso, 23% of Lithuanians resident here are on the dole. Thats nine points above the national average. "Lithuania is different" as if its a crim free zone. It has one of the highest crime rates in the EU. Not to mention the recent spate of murders and Lithuanians up in our courts for knife crime. Two articles in todays Indo about them alone.
    Irony overload.

If you actually listened to what he said
    He said Lithuania is different, here everyone knows you can't touch them
    -implying that security in Lithuania could use brute force if they wanted to.
    Then he went on to speak about the social welfare system here something which doesn't exist in Lithuania.
    So was he not completely correct? That is two differences between Ireland and Lithuania and part of the reason that his job exists

I didn't hear him discuss crime rates at all you're the one that seems to be running stats reports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 leftwing cos youre broke

it's amazing that Veolia can make a profit on the lines despite having to employ a small army of security guards and having high instances of fare evasion. Meanwhile those bone idle, subsidised sods in Irish Rail are increasing parking fees by up to 30% next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭dealhunter1985

Irony overload.

A bit off topic but don't see the need starting a new thread for such a basic question. For foreigners from E.U member states who immigrate to Ireland.. can they immediately apply for job seekers allowance/benefit or must they have been employed in Ireland at some stage before being able to qualify. And finally, how long can they receive this welfare for? My friend mentioned a limit of 12 months but I didnt think its something which ceases.. unless of course employment is found..

thanks

A bit off topic but don't see the need starting a new thread for such a basic question. For foreigners from E.U member states who immigrate to Ireland.. can they immediately apply for job seekers allowance/benefit or must they have been employed in Ireland at some stage before being able to qualify. And finally, how long can they receive this welfare for? My friend mentioned a limit of 12 months but I didnt think its something which ceases.. unless of course employment is found..

thanks

trying to avoid work are we? :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

It was when I started it. :(

Although I'm beginning to wonder if the documentary itself had anything about the Luas, or rather just using the tram system as a conduit to propogate the stereotypical social divisions in the capital in particular and the country in general.

Lapin wrote: »
    It was when I started it. :(

Although I'm beginning to wonder if the documentary itself had anything about the Luas, or rather just using the tram system as a conduit to propogate the stereotypical social divisions in the capital in particular and the country in general.

Not to worry - the unemployed can talk about whatever they like through the night.

They're all gone to Oz or Canada (thanks green line users for fcukin the country) so they're asleep already.

You're growing tiresome

And you as repetitive, insular and narrow minded as the drivvle that defined you from the start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Too many arty camera shots and not enough substance on the people who actually use the trams,bar the typical stereotypes of the posh kids going shopping in Dundrum and the homeless lad going to collect his methadone in the city centre.Nothing about the differences LUAS has made to the city for residents/businesses along both lines etc.

Pity they didn't ask why the lines weren't linked when the system was built in the first place too.

Lazy stuff from RTE,unsurprisingly.Obviously nobody in Montrose bothered watching any of the BBC's recent (excellent) productions about public transport in London and the UK.

Too many people also appeared to have fallin into the trap set by the program makers which was get people tut tuting about one thing and smiling bout another. Its not hard to find volunteers.

Some people are so easily fooled its pathetic. Everyone knows what side of the city is what. Its sad that the Makers had to play into the hands of the lowest common denominator all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭dealhunter1985

trying to avoid work are we? :rolleyes:

not at all.
    Just don't believe my friend is correct when he says foreign E.U nationals are only entitled to job seekers allowance for 12 months..
    So would love if someone could clarify to me how it works exactly..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

it's amazing that Veolia can make a profit on the lines despite having to employ a small army of security guards and having high instances of fare evasion. Meanwhile those bone idle, subsidised sods in Irish Rail are increasing parking fees by up to 30% next week.

I'm not sure that they have higher levels of fare evasion than other open systems tbh. Most people have valid tickets.

They just do rather more effective and visible ticket checking than CIE do.

I'd much rather see Dublin Bus and Cork City busses etc moving towards that system and having way more doors. It is how busses work in many European cities and it works fine (as does the luas)

CIE and some British operators are obsessed with checking tickets at the door.

Imagine how quickly busses could pull in/out with the Luas style ticketing.

Cork busses are even more extreme where they give change and have no electronic ticketing so they actually obstruct traffic while they do the whole crazy shopkeeper routine with a whole stop load of passengers onto a double decker bus.

Only in Ireland! (really)

I do think they overplayed the social thing. There was a driver attacked on the Green line not too long ago for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

The abuse the foreigner workers take is unbelievable in this day and age. Very low and scummy.

Disgraceful. Was embarrassed hearing about the abuse the foreign workers got. Absolute scumbags.
    I don't see what your problem is??? The red luas line is a cesspit, crawling with some of the lowest forms of life imagineable. This programme is an accurate representation.

I use the red & green lines and I think thats a fair comment. Feel uneasy and unsafe on the red line, always watching my back. Anytime I use it theres hassle, especially at the weekends. Theres a far safer atmosphere on the green line, you just dont feel like somebody could run you through with a box cutter at any moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

Lapin wrote: »
    They really are emphasising the differences between the social status of passengers on both lines.

Almost to the point that this is the motive of the whole programme.

The clue is in the name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

From a technical point of view it would fail any TV production course at the most junior level. The sound quality was abysmal - did anybody even watch a rough edit of the footage broadcast - interviewing people no matter how well spoken on a noisy tram will not produce audible results. Transfer this to a soft spoken interviewee (the guy with the tattoo) and a mumbling junkie and the results (didn't) speak for themselves.
    An outsider would have learned that the Red line is a nightmare journey into the heart of darkness. The Green line is a tranquil haven of peace and goodwill. Both are exaggerated codswallop.
    The Luas workers pretending they were in Hill Street Blues or Darfur didn't help.
    Was the show about abandoned stops, shopping centres, Abbey Street, the disconnect between the two lines, Dublin's drug problems or foreign workers adapting to casual Irish racism ? The documentary didn't appear to know itself so it covered a little bit of everything resulting in a show so poor as to be embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nicowa

And you as repetitive, insular and narrow minded as the drivvle that defined you from the start.

You do realise that the people using the Green Line are hard working people going about their daily business If they have a bit more spending power than those on the Red Line who's fault is that (I'm not blaming the people or location - though you seem to be). "Those People" you're blaming for everything that's happening with banks and such, don't take public transport. They own big cars and they drive them to work. They don't rub shoulders with any of us.

I've been on both lines, usually on my own, daytime hours and I've rarely felt any unease. But then I've walked down some really bad areas of London with barely any unease. You react how you're expected to react most of the time. I didn't know I was in a bad area of London. I didn't know that as a regular Green Line user I wasn't expected to feel safe on the Red Line.

The only harassment I've had (on either) was a (possibly drunk/stoned) old guy asking for some chips off me (near Heuston st.) and a bunch of kids begging for luas fare on the green line - something that's happened me a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Hematocyte

I wonder how happy are Veolia themselves with this documentary?

You can bet when they were approached initially they were told they'd be getting involved with an RTE version of BBC's "The Tube" from last year. In fact you can actually see the core elements still there in the finished RTE production (eg interviewing foreign born night workers, following teams as they inspect the lines etc).

However, clearly somewhere along the line (pun not intended) the decision was taken to turn it into "Joe Duffy fodder" by emphasising class division between red and green and then slap a title like "A Tale of Two Trams" on top in order to ram the point home.
    seiphil wrote: »
    Lazy stuff from RTE,unsurprisingly.Obviously nobody in Montrose bothered watching any of the BBC's recent (excellent) productions about public transport in London and the UK.

I'd suspect whoever made this program was fully aware of The Tube (and more than likely watched every single minute of it too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Not sure they meant it to be humourous at times but it was.

Cannot believe the scum that refuse to pay and walk off into the sunset cannot be detained by a ticket inspector or better still one of the STT lads in black. Something v wrong there.

As for the little scobie telling yer wan his da was Pat Kenny, FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,652 ✭✭✭celt262

Leslie91 wrote: »

As for the little scobie telling yer wan his da was Pat Kenny, FFS.

He could be telling the truth there is more than one Pat Kenny in the Phonebook.