Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did something to my car (volume 2)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭cletus

Just back from the Nct, failed on "advanced corrosion rear brake pipes".

Will jack it up in the morning and see if my car is about to piss brake fluid all over the road, or are they just dirty

• Registered Users Posts: 12,346 ✭✭✭✭blade1

cletus wrote: »
    Just back from the Nct, failed on "advanced corrosion rear brake pipes".

Will jack it up in the morning and see if my car is about to piss brake fluid all over the road, or are they just dirty

If needed you can get braided lines for all four calipers for around €70.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,984 ✭✭✭cletus

blade1 wrote: »
    If needed you can get braided lines for all four calipers for around €70.

Cheers but I assume its the actual steel pipe as opposed to the brake hose

cletus wrote: »
    Cheers but I assume its the actual steel pipe as opposed to the brake hose

Ouch!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,649 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

nd wrote: »
    [...]

Anyone know what material a 98 almera gearbox is likely to be made from and if it's weldable?

[...]

Try to stick a magnet to it - it will tell you if it's iron or aluminium.

Anyway, the welder I used to work with years ago, kept saying everything is weldable, it's just a matter of equipment and experience. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,313 ✭✭✭blackbox

nd wrote: »
    not initially. but I've now taken it apart and turns out it has a crack.

afeM5vl.jpg
    other side
    ruR4RSJ.jpg

Anyone know what material a 98 almera gearbox is likely to be made from and if it's weldable?

If not, chemical metal type stuff? It's obviously not a very valuable car.

It's almost certainly aluminium alloy, which is tricky to weld. You could do an adequate bodge by draining the box completely, thoroughly cleaning the area (outside) and using chemical metal or plastic padding, going at least 3 cm beyond crack all around. It would be best to roughen the surface if you can, but main thing is to ensure there is absolutely no trace of oil. I once did this to the sump of a Fiat Uno and it never leaked again during my ownership.

The worrying thing is that from the photo this looks like it got a bang from inside!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Thanks. Yeah I found this at the bottom of the gearbox.
    ii9o4P7.jpg

I'm not sure where exactly it came from! But all the gear cogs seem to be there and the gears still seemed to be working fine.

The car is only something the brother got to take him from a - b for a few months, so I guess no harm in trying the chemical metal type stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I was doing a clutch on a Micra of that era, and noticed a crack in the box. I let your woman know about it, and she came and took the box away, presumably to get a replacement. The next day she brought the original box back, with the crack welded up. It worked perfectly and didn't leak, so definitely it can be welded.

As well as that, those boxes weren't the longest lasting, and so are in short supply second hand. So if your one isn't whining or anything, I would try to repair it if it was mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

The newer red FIAT badges are notorious for delaminating and fading to a pinkish colour. The badges on my '11 Panda are no exception.
    I ordered a badge kit recently to replace them. The front goes first...

vp8etq2.jpg
    Faded pink and patchy due to delamination

MOoKdHB.jpg
    Grille removed. Easy enough to remove - 4 phillips screws, 3 torx screws, and pull. Refitting was even easier! The badge is held on by a single nut. Twas a doddle to remove once the grille was off. Note to self, replace Roadrunner "meep meep" horn at some stage.

jvDYMpx.jpg
    Old v New.

QU0YE1X.jpg
    Back together with the new badge! :)

Only 5 more badges to go! I got the wrong size wheel badges so that'll take a while.
    The rear will need some floss and a hairdryer. I wish it was as easy as the front.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Did a few bits of housekeeping with the focus today, replaced 2 bulbs around the heater dials, and managed to get the light working on the cigarette lighter, never worked before!

Resprayed the end of the seat rails in a matt black, gone rusty in spots, tidied them up a bit.

Pics aren't that crisp, but they give the idea

After pics were taken before drying, hence the shine. Sometimes it's the little things that give the most satisfaction.

4l3lhg.png

2j451js.png

31506bq.png

148ll4w.png

16ksuf6.png

So, after getting rode last week off Audi by paying around €20 for 2 bushes for caliper sliding pins, I thought i'd try getting another 2 somewhere else.

I got this kit delivered from England for around €13.
    I suppose the rubber won't be as good quality wise as the genuine ones but no harm giving them a go.

9A69D223-F4C7-4BFF-A3D7-3668ECBDDDE1_zpsb0xsdgha.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

^ I need the exact same thing. When I called Ford they said you can't get them from Ford anymore (for my car at least).

GvidoR wrote: »
    ^ I need the exact same thing. When I called Ford they said you can't get them from Ford anymore (for my car at least).

Mark6 yeah?
    It seems to be the exact same one as mine alright .
    As long as you have ate calipers.
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/FORD-ESCORT-MK5-MK6-ATE-FRONT-BRAKE-CALIPER-SLIDER-PINS-GUIDE-BOLTS-BCF1306FD-/261391949591?hash=item3cdc2c9f17:g:TuoAAOSwB4NWvFpK

Yes, MK6. It looks right and all but my current pins have require an allen key, not a torx. Not that it makes much of a difference.

Shouldn't matter I think.
    Probably worth a shot at that price anyway.
    Are your calipers noisy?

Shouldn't matter I think.
    Probably worth a shot at that price anyway.
    Are your calipers noisy?

No, the rubber tore apart when changing pads.

Ah, tight enough sqeeze getting the new ones in but worth.
    I'd say i had the noisiest caliper in the world and even though I couldn't see much difference between the new bushes and the old ones, it so far seems to have been the root of the problem alright!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Well... it seems that the petrol pump has died today :(

20160405_182035.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Savage car, the failures are absolutely worth it! Get her fixed and you'll be a happy one again :)

shietpilot wrote: »
    Savage car, the failures are absolutely worth it! Get her fixed and you'll be a happy one again :)

When I was buying the car I knew it will need few things sorted (so I pushed the price down as much as possible when negotiating) and I was expecting some expenses. Since I bought few months ago I got a new battery, 3x ball joints, 2x front wheel bearings, bonnet strut, thermostat. Second hand parts: fuel filler neck and a windscreen wiper motor. Bill so far is around 500 euro (labour costs: zero zero nothing).

Now the petrol pump isn't working (unfortunately it seems that I will have to get the whole unit, not just the pump - see picture below), then front bushings (I will get the M3 eccentric - it will move the wheels a bit forward so the handling will improve), both front brake caliper splash guards are needed (33e each OEM parts from BMW dealership) .Some welding is required (front corner behind the wheel doesn't look good plus 2-3 small spots here and there - nothing major but it has to be done to make it perfectly rigid) which a friend of mine will do (so again major saving) ... unfortunately new tyres are needed before the NCT so that is antoher 400 euro approx. Other than that it's all small things really (dashboard lights, interior lights won't turn on when doors are open) ... heater blower motor is noisy sometimes, but that's not important so I will get it before winter. Hopefully it won't be too much money now to make the car reliable.

The thing is it's a 318is (I came across a term like "mini M3" or "M3 for the poor"). According to E30zone.com there were approx. 1687 of these cars registered in the UK in 2001. That's 15 years ago. So now it is much lower number and in Ireland there are much less of these left. I don't know how many but roughly I would say maybe 100? Just a guess. You can see few of them on donedeal at the moment.

I see it as a mission to save this car, because it is quite solid car and needs only few things to make it a good car. I will use it everyday so it won't deteriorate in some shed. I heard a lot about them before but now when I own it I know why. It is such a great car to drive! Handling is great, goes nicely into corners... accelerates really well for being only a 4 cylinder. It has a sunroof (that will have to be sorted as well at some stage in the future) which is a nice extra thing to have. And the design, simple and good looking car that's what it is... Definitely happy to own this car no matter the hassle it puts me through. It might sound strange but all the trouble is a great way how to bond with a car. To look after it and in return the car offers a lot of great moments behind the steering wheel. Everytime I drive it somewhere is like a small special occasion (it's something new cars just can't offer). No matter how far, it always feels good to drive it. One of the best cars that have been made.

Now the pics

I removed the pump today

20160406_161944.jpg

this is how the tank looks like inside, I made sure nothing falls in when pulling the pump out but this apparently was all there before.

20160406_161954.jpg

So this is the reason why I will need a whole new unit. This bottom part isn't available separately. OEM unit costs 700 euro from Germany. Ebay units are for something close to 200 euro (from France, Poland, US and Germany too). It's a lot of money but it would be better to buy a new one rather than second hand one because I don't want to get stuck again like yesterday.

20160406_164711.jpg

I noticed that the hose under the fuel filter didn't look good so I replaced it with a new one. It says BMW on it so could be the original?

20160406_163847.jpg

Good news? Just the pump and the sieve for 130 euro. So better than the whole unit that costs 200 euro. Strange, he is saying it's for M42 engine (4cyl twin cam) but the OEM number refers to a unit that's used in larger tanks (6cyl cars). Will ask him about this, because the 55L units and 63L units are different. 55L have two pipes at the top, 63L only one. Which means the pumps could be different.

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/BMW-3-E30-318-is-1989-09-1991-08-M42-B18-184S1-100kW-ELECTRIC-FUEL-PUMP-/271987655662?hash=item3f53ba43ee:g:6v4AAOSwFnFV-R81

Motor factors might have something , will ring tommorow.

It's not the correct one, I gave him my VIN number and he said he can send me the right one for £50 plus something for postage. Including that filter at the bottom. Not bad! Fair price for the pump and new filter.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Oil, oil filter and air filter service for the 525i

Old filter:

IMG_20160404_201028_zpskulnvzud.jpg

New:

IMG_20160404_201020_zpsi2emscl1.jpg

IMG_20160404_204515_zpsngeq0giy.jpg

Oil looked very healthy after 10k miles!

New non rusty bootlid was delivered today along with her tax:

IMG_20160408_160640_zpsszrgeihb.jpg

IMG_20160408_162816_zpssbdtza21.jpg

520i got new wiper blades, brake hose and Bumper:

IMG_20160408_185234_zpslml4ut3b.jpg

IMG_20160408_191514_zpsyltlu6j6.jpg

IMG_20160408_192348_zpsl5lwziul.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Changed front indicator bulbs in the civic.
    You would not believe how much of the car has to come off to get to them..

Wheel arch trims
    Bumper
    Grille
    Plastic panel over bonnet latch
    Reinforcements under headlights.

And I slag Meganes off...

Sorted out a little thing which had been annoying me. When you pushed down on the boot opening lever, it would stay down so when you tried to close the boot it would not lock/close, so you had to push it down to open it and then go back to push it up and then close the boot.

The fix turned out to be simpler than I thought. Took the side plastic off and pulled the carpet up to give me access to that thing, unbolted it, gave it a little clean with WD40, put it back and voila! It "jumps" back perfectly now. I should have done this earlier...

26259718031_8b12b294ec_c.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Heat gunned my side skirts today.
    Rear skirt still to do in this pic.

IMG_1411.jpg

Use a protectant afterwards if you do this.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

In preparation for 3000km around France in June, the 740 is getting some preventative maintenance.

At 87,000 miles, it was time for a new accessory belt, tensioner pulley and idler pulley. The idler was actually chipped too which I noticed some time ago; pretty sure it happened when the car was being worked on by a garage.

IMG_3609_zps1znaah4o.jpg~original

IMG_3610_zpszdhixsvl.jpg~original

All plastic and intake parts have to come out.

IMG_3611_zpswreo5tsy.jpg~original

Belt as it was:

IMG_3613_zpso4a94gpj.jpg~original

Chipped pulley:

IMG_3612_zps0p1enw1f.jpg~original

Slight bit of wear on the belt, nothing major:

IMG_3614_zps5uemh9aj.jpg~original

This should be a T55 torx, but I only had a 50 allen to hand, worked just fine for untensioning the tensioner with a breaker bar:

IMG_3616_zpslc9jcksl.jpg~original

Old parts and new:

IMG_3619_zps61zwnkdj.jpg~original

IMG_3618_zps6ww74irg.jpg~original

Threading in the new pulley, threadlocked too:

IMG_3620_zps2uq9xmuh.jpg~original

Tightening down the tensioner:

IMG_3621_zpsvxtrt4q1.jpg~original

All done:

IMG_3622_zpsbrwthsw3.jpg~original

Looping the new belt around the pulleys and accessories, tricky enough:

IMG_3623_zpsvh5ym6qx.jpg~original

New belt fully installed:

IMG_3624_zpstdepbhhf.jpg~original

Job done:

IMG_3627_zpsqmygnf0m.jpg~original

Also had an annoying scrape on the front right alloy, so I did a temporary touch up with a rolled up toothpick-like cylinder of masking paint, dipping it into silver alloy wheel spray paint and applying. Works quite well and is slightly less noticeable.

Before:
    IMG_3626_zpsfiz7uyjx.jpg~original

After:

IMG_3630_zpsho3cekqm.jpg~original

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Said it before multiple times at this stage but your car is just stunning. Hard to believe it is 11 years old!

En route to Dublin last week from the North and needed to get tyres so stopped into McManus tyres there in Dundalk. I remember you recommending them a while back. Excellent service in there and the lads are sound out.

Thanks! Did I recommend them? It was one of their lads that drove my E38 at motorway speeds in a 60kph zone to "test the alignment". :)

But I shouldn't hold it against them, the young chap in question is an absolute d1ck and is since gone. They have a good setup alright.