Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

J4/J5 [Social Rugby] Season 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

chris theres no hope of it going ahead dont worry, dunno if ya seen one of your fellow teamates facebook today (dont want to name him on here) prop one of three brothers playing junior rugby down there one of the brothers is the scrum half.......broke 2 ribs in saturdays game.......was it a big hit????

Yeah just seen a little bit ago. Pity as he got a try and all and was pity for him to come off at half time. I didn't really see the hit, I think I may have been keeping warm and stretching down the other end. Initally he played on but subbed at HT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

chris85 wrote: »
    Yeah just seen a little bit ago. Pity as he got a try and all and was pity for him to come off at half time. I didn't really see the hit, I think I may have been keeping warm and stretching down the other end. Initally he played on but subbed at HT.

He rang me today, he had to see the cardiologist in the mater as his heart was racing he said, and his chest hurt......he said sneezing and coughing was agony....i only cracked ribs in an accident before but to have two broken ribs must be a nightmare! fecker never said he scored........thats his first one for the club!!!

Yeah first one is always sweet. Pity he was forced off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

FFS, why can't the weather be like this for the rest of the week? Atleast for tomorrow.

Never mind, Clontarf v Monkstown div10 called off tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

.ak wrote: »

Hardly a surprise, sure the pitch is currently marked out by a rope and some buoys.

Hopefully the pitch will be good for Friday game.

chris85 wrote: »
    Hopefully the pitch will be good for Friday game.

Considering the forecast for tomorrow and Thursday, it's doubtful. Although Friday is supposed to be okay.

Well, training in THAT was fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭MRTULES

Just wondering what positions are in most and least demand.
    I'm not asking about the quality of players on your teams, I more after the numbers.
    So do you have 5 scrumhalfs and only 1 hooker? Just curious, particularly in the lower metro divisions.
    Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Well, training in THAT was fun...

Good lord, it actually went ahead? I didn't even like driving in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

MRTULES wrote: »
    I'm not asking about the quality of players on your teams, I more after the numbers.
    So do you have 5 scrumhalfs and only 1 hooker? Just curious, particularly in the lower metro divisions.
    Thanks in advance.

Traditionally, there were more forwards in my club then backs. The two exceptions to this rule were props (who are hard to come by) and wingers (who are usually in abundance due to it being a relatively easy position for beginners) This year for whatever reason it has gone the other way around! We generally have 2 guys to fill every position, but some lads would cover more then one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Thanks in advance.
    Hard to say as it will vary from club to club but at this level there generally will be more forwards and less backs IMO. positions like scrum half, hooker will be more in demand than wingers, back-rows

danthefan wrote: »
    Good lord, it actually went ahead? I didn't even like driving in it.

Yep, it was on the astro so we put it to the 'any weather' title test.

When I left to get on the dart home I saw debris flying around, like sheet metal and stuff. If there was cows in Clontarf they'd have been flying.

Hard to say as it will vary from club to club but at this level there generally will be more forwards and less backs IMO. positions like scrum half, hooker will be more in demand than wingers, back-rows

Yeah, think there's only one specialist hooker and one or two specialist scrummies on our team. I suppose the problem with certain positions, i.e hooker, scrumhalf, outhalf, centre, they're all very much specialist positions and new people can't jump into them even if they have a natural skillset, takes time to learn the position, and with J4/5 rugby a lot of people are fairly new to the game.

My experience is generally new guys that are backs are put on the wing, new guys that are forwards are put in as backrow unless they're bigger then they're tight 5.

Thanks in advance.
    Yeah, think there's only one specialist hooker and one or two specialist scrummies on our team. I suppose the problem with certain positions, i.e hooker, scrumhalf, outhalf, centre, they're all very much specialist positions and new people can't jump into them even if they have a natural skillset, takes time to learn the position, and with J4/5 rugby a lot of people are fairly new to the game.

My experience is generally new guys that are backs are put on the wing, new guys that are forwards are put in as backrow unless they're bigger then they're tight 5.

You are using the term specialist very lightly there. :o:o

I wasn't too annoyed I was stuck up in Belfast, lying in a nice warm hotel room, listening to the howling wind and driving rain last night, knowing that you guys were suffering on the astro.

Fair play for going to it, especially when you had to get the dart there and back.

cloneslad wrote: »
    You are using the term specialist very lightly there. :o:o

I wasn't too annoyed I was stuck up in Belfast, lying in a nice warm hotel room, listening to the howling wind and driving rain last night, knowing that you guys were suffering on the astro.

Fair play for going to it, especially when you had to get the dart there and back.

Well, as you say, throwers are hard to come by! ;)

Yeah don't think I'll ever be warm again. :pac:

Well, as you say, throwers are hard to come by! ;)

Yeah don't think I'll ever be warm again. :pac:

Someday I hope to be able to throw the ball, I fear it's just a pipe dream....so do our jumpers at 2 and 4.

I think it took me about a week to recover from the cold endured against Railway in the abandoned game, you don't realise how scared I am looking at the weather for the next few days and thinking that I might have to roll around in the mud again, then go and sit in the Aviva afterwards and continue to freeze for another couple of hours.

Hah, you were shivering so much I thought your teeth were gonna fall out.

Anyway don't worry, I'll look after those tickets for you - I'm good like that.

What division are you in AK?

Pudsy33 wrote: »

Division 10.

Hah, you were shivering so much I thought your teeth were gonna fall out.

Anyway don't worry, I'll look after those tickets for you - I'm good like that.

The change of underarmour and jersey, the hat placed on my head, the hoody, and the guys trying to warm up my hands, all while the ref decided if he was able to carry on, were not enough.
    Pudsy33 wrote: »

he's in a league of his own.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Given the forecast, can't see any games going ahead this weekend either, you Clontarf lads have a real log jam of fixtures now.

stephen_n wrote: »
    Given the forecast, can't see any games going ahead this weekend either, you Clontarf lads have a real log jam of fixtures now.

Would be surprised to see the Friday game go ahead but not the worst today so hopefully will be ok.

Yeah, if this weekend gets cancelled we'll have 5 games between the weekends of February 15th and March 1st. Should have been February 22nd but they moved our games against you guys to March 1st. March 8th is not a good weekend for us to play either, so hopefully we can get it sorted with mid week games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

We're supposed to play Barnhall on Friday night, but I'm not too confident that it'll go ahead. We've already 2 games in hand to play as it is.

he's in a league of his own.

Unfortunately the club decided against starting a J6 team just for me. :(

Eoin wrote: »
    We're supposed to play Barnhall on Friday night, but I'm not too confident that it'll go ahead. We've already 2 games in hand to play as it is.

The way it's raining up here I'm not even too confident Friday will happen. I'm pretty sure I just saw a man throwing 2 of each animal into a ship down at harland and wolff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Wouldn't this weekend be the the last game of the league?
    It is in ours but because of the weather and games being cancelled we've still to play old belvo and clondalkin. If the game goes ahead this weekend it's aib

Think our fixture against Clontarf has now been moved to March 8th going by a text I got earlier?

Wouldn't this weekend be the the last game of the league?
    It is in ours but because of the weather and games being cancelled we've still to play old belvo and clondalkin. If the game goes ahead this weekend it's aib

Where do aib play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Last time we played them, it was out in DCU's grounds in Ballymun.

Think our fixture against Clontarf has now been moved to March 8th going by a text I got earlier?

Still down on the 1st here

We are on tour that weekend. It's also possible that the J4 team may have their final that weekend too, due to the games called off.

AK...this is your chance to shine and play in all 15 positions (in two games) while we are away.

I could handle that. Contested scrums, I take it?

Of course, sure you've already played hooker once this year and we won that game by about 50 points.

The rain has stopped up here hopefully it can hold off for a few days and we can play some matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Of course, sure you've already played hooker once this year and we won that game by about 50 points.

Sure no sooner did he come on than they got their only score.

Don't worry ak I'll be on the bench in case you get tired....

molloyjh wrote: »
    Sure no sooner did he come on than they got their only score.

Don't worry ak I'll be on the bench in case you get tired....

Funny, I seem to remember to missing a tackle around the same time... :pac:

Nah dude. I was on the wing. Nothing ever happens out there.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Nah dude. I was on the wing. Nothing ever happens out there.

Certainly no tackling anyway. :D

Still down on the 1st here

Secretary got it wrong :) still the 1st

Clontarf v RU div10 tomorrow is off. Pity as I thought we had a bit of stretch of good weather over the last 24 hours, pitch must be knackered.

Gonna be playing a game 2 or 3 times a week at this stage :P

Clontarf v RU div10 tomorrow is off. Pity as I thought we had a bit of stretch of good weather over the last 24 hours, pitch must be knackered.

Gonna be playing a game 2 or 3 times a week at this stage :P

Yeah mental! But I'm glad it's off. Didn't fancy the thought of an 11am kick-off after a couple of weeks with no training. The next few weeks will be hectic though.

I hope we have no midweek game next week, I'm back up in nordy land again and I think it'll be Wednesday and thursday this time, so I'll miss it.

Though with the weather that's forecast over the weekend, we prob wouldn't be able to use the pitch anyway.

At least I can have a bit of a relaxing morning tomorrow before the Wales game.

Also, fair play to the Railway Union lads for calling it off with ample notice. It's much better than finding out the morning of the game.

Yeah that's the silver lining allright, get to have a lie in. :D

Clontarf V Monkstown Division 6, scheduled for tonight, is also cancelled

Surprised at that, pitch must be in rag order cuz there hasn't been a drop today or yesterday.

there was a lot of rain in the last week and the firsts have a game there next friday night. Combine that with the poor weather forecast for tonight, I'd say they didn't want to ruin it.

Anyone from Belvo know if Belvo-Tallaght is going ahead tomorrow morning?