Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Korea is not happy. *Mod warning 1st post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

dj jarvis wrote: »
    i did not and wont watch it , don't need what sounds dreadful in my head,
    but if i were them , the reaction at home would be the least of my concerns

Korean and Asian prisons are a different animal to our cushy numbers and will be a new kind of hell when they are hopefully banged up, some hard time would be sweet revenge

also i would be watching my back while in the country - they do revenge like an art form in Asia - especially when is a foreigner attacking women

hope they get some local street justice before getting some time in a Korean slammer

lowest form of man the lot of them.
    i think you've watched too many movies :pac:

This is disgusting. they will probably get away with it. But that one guy has 100% an irish accent. reminds me of a few pompus D4s i went to school with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

prove it otherwise?
    I heard someone mention that before but doesn't that accent sound like some strong west Ireland accent whereas the one in the video sounds like a Dublin twang to me. Though I have to confess that I really don't have an ear for accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Katunga

How can people behave like this and treat someone like that. some people shouldn't be let out at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

having lived in korea for a year i can say that the irish community there is very, very small. It looks like its in a korean 'nightclub', a different animal altogether not like an irish nightclub, where guys get tables and rooms and all the drinks, and girls are moved by ushers from table to table every 15 mins until they meet someone they like. kind of like a weird forced speed dating.

It looks like these guys got some girl in one of the private booths/rooms. Those places are usually well run to stop harrassment like this happening, and they are always very wary of any foreigners as a lot of places would usually be korean only.

At least 2 of them are Irish, and they will be found out. My fiance is korean and she was aware of this before I was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Bollocks

I think they're Irish but he's right about the Canadian-Irish accent. Mostly Newfoundland.

EDIT: But it sounds strong Waterford. One if these guys had that country accent with a bit of American like Chris o'Dowd. I don't get the D4 type American twang.

The Newfoundland accent sounds Irish-Cornwall.

http://www.city-data.com/forum/united-kingdom/1288862-how-does-newfoundland-accent-sound-uk.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭MOC88

I think they're Irish but he's right about the Canadian-Irish accent. Mostly Newfoundland.

EDIT: But it sounds strong Waterford. One if these guys had that country accent with a bit of American like Chris o'Dowd. I don't get the D4 type American twang.

Yeha parts of newfoundland have very strong Waterford accents -its a link going back over 200 years ago -

As for this you;d see about the same on jersey shore osmetimes, God only knows what they cut out - if thbey're working in Korea not in an embassy/military or something theyll be told to f off id imagine and rightly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭skyfall2012

retalivity wrote: »
    having lived in korea for a year i can say that the irish community there is very, very small. It looks like its in a korean 'nightclub', a different animal altogether not like an irish nightclub, where guys get tables and rooms and all the drinks, and girls are moved by ushers from table to table every 15 mins until they meet someone they like. kind of like a weird forced speed dating.

It looks like these guys got some girl in one of the private booths/rooms. Those places are usually well run to stop harrassment like this happening, and they are always very wary of any foreigners as a lot of places would usually be korean only.

At least 2 of them are Irish, and they will be found out. My fiance is korean and she was aware of this before I was.

I was going to say its looks like she might be a call girl, but had no way of proving it. Fair play to her, she gave them the finger and walked away.

My point is that people's attitude towards call girls etc. is extremely bad and they often feel that these girls who go into this business are asking for it, but have no understanding of the circumstances that drives women into the sex industry.

I often wonder even if they did understand the circumstances would they care.

I am concerned of the change of attitude of men (particularly from privileged communities) towards women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

I am concerned of the change of attitude of men (particularly from privileged communities) towards women.

I wonder is it a change or has it just become more open nowadays? more acceptable and mainstream to express it??

There is a general contempt and vulgarity in the language used today towards women which concerns me....what kinds of attitudes does it reflect?

I'm not sure men (especially young men) even realise this or has it just become normalised,
    also because it is often presented in the guise of humour it is difficult to address and challenge without being accused of being too serious etc (or a crazy feminazi to use AH jargon)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Is anyone genuinely shocked at that behaviour? Really?

I'm not. Sadly.
    They've been called every name, scumbag etc in this thread and proper order but this is the most sensible post of the lot!
    With hard core pornography as easy to obtain as the weather forecast these days I'm not in the slightest bit surprised at this behaviour.
    It's astonishing that this is the only post to connect porn and this kind of behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

carolmon wrote: »
    I wonder is it a change or has it just become more open nowadays? more acceptable and mainstream to express it??

There is a general contempt and vulgarity in the language used today towards women which concerns me....what kinds of attitudes does it reflect?

I'm not sure men (especially young men) even realise this or has it just become normalised,
    also because it is often presented in the guise of humour it is difficult to address and challenge without being accused of being too serious etc (or a crazy feminazi to use AH jargon)
    Saw a thing about several tweets re the woman who won Wimbledon - some of it was obviously just silly trolling (in which case should be ignored IMO) but some of it was really dark and hate-filled.
    I reckon though, if it seems like that stuff is on the rise, most of it is probably just on the internet and being said by people who wouldn't dream of saying such stuff in real life - or even genuinely think it. Much of it is purely for a rise I'd guess.
    With hard core pornography as easy to obtain as the weather forecast these days I'm not in the slightest bit surprised at this behaviour.
    Yeh the really hardcore stuff is disturbing as hell. Yes, the women choose to work in it (although who knows what their circumstances are) but the way they are depicted is just... grim. You're gonna get people defending hardcore porn to the hilt but I see your point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I was going to say its looks like she might be a call girl, but had no way of proving it. Fair play to her, she gave them the finger and walked away.

My point is that people's attitude towards call girls etc. is extremely bad and they often feel that these girls who go into this business are asking for it, but have no understanding of the circumstances that drives women into the sex industry.

While I've never been to one it's my understanding that the girls aren't prostitutes and are completely free to leave. The girl in the video is simply very drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

It looks like a Juice Bar. The girls working there are not prostitutes. The way it works is, a man buys a drink for himself and the girl. His drink is normal price, her drink is about €12. She chats to the customer and tells him he's fantastic but nothing physical happens.

The guys in that are definitely Irish. If they work as English teachers, which is what 95% of the Irish out there do, they'll be fired if the school or Office of Education hear about it. It's in all public school contracts that behavior unbefitting is a sackable offense. Not sure about private schools.

I cannot stress strongly enough that unlike Australia, Canada and other parts of the world, practically all the Irish in Korea are sound. In 2 years I only met 1 or 2 dicks. Good close knit community.

Also, Korean law can be very different to western law. I doubt she'd have to press charges for something to happen. The police could make a move regardless. If they can identify them that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

One sounds like a blackrock Lorcan, the other like a posh bogger. They do not sound like newfies to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭skyfall2012

I couldn't have expressed it better. What kind of attitude does it reflect?

In my town recently a 15 year old boy (from very good family) raped a 22 year old girl. I couldn't believe it, he was so young, how could he commit such a violent crime. I was discussing it with my nephew and his view was that girls are not taught to be classy anymore. I didn't continue the conversation with him (he is a great kid), but I was a bit shocked at his answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Eramen

It's not more or open or acceptable, nor should this video be taken as symptomatic of men antagonizing women, or vice versa. These people in the video are of the same ugly character type that wouldn't treat a dog well, never mind a living person.

The contempt and vulgarity we see today is society-wide, top to bottom. People no longer hold to the same values or norms any more, and so aren't held accountable for their actions. This in turn has bred the social disassociation that we have in our community (and that is taken abroad with them) on a massive scale. I think that this is the root cause of this level of disrespect toward others.

Look at the anti-social activity in this country, it affects all facets of Irish life, from what we've seen in the Dail this week, to the idiocy a minority people get up to just because the sun comes out, they feel they are entitled to do anything to anybody.

These people are that minority. They are found as the top as well as the bottom, as well as the middle. Although their pervertedness and despicable nature takes on different outer forms, it has the same origin. We need to once again take responsibility for our own actions, and learn new (or old) norms, or face the new lows that are awaiting us on the horizon..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I hope the papers pick this up and these cnuts are identified. A few ruined lives from showing up in internet searches of their names would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I'm assuming you're referring to words like "slut" and "whore".

If that's the case then I think the use of those words being more common today is not a major reflection on anything. Men, and women, have always judged women who either dressed or acted in a "provocative" manner. It's just being expressed more openly today than 50 years ago, which is presumably as a result of communication being a lot different today than decades ago.

I'd be inclined to believe that far fewer people judge women based on their clothes and habits today than in our parents or grandparents days. In particular I'd suspect that victim-blaming in rape cases is far less frequent nowadays, even if those who hold that view do so more openly and vocally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Camera guy is a bit of a UCD, wanna-sound-american-but-from-loike-Drundrum accent. Not sure many americans would decribe something as "rancid".

Other sounds like a yank.

Either way, permanent damage required as a lesson methinks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

They sound very nova scotian to me rather than Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

People who like to have a type of power over somebody and degrade them is common in all walks of life and around the world.

Mix that in with a drunken dickhead group mentality and this type of pathetic stuff happens.

At least they were stupid enough to record and upload it to the web, make it that bit easier for authorities to catch them / people to identify them. If the girl decided to press any charges, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Roose

This is extremely sinister stuff.
    I'd like to see them identified, these guys are not safe to be around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭pharmaton

They sound like Jedward to me. . .
    disgusting privileged male crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

There are scum from all walks of life, all backgrounds, privileged or not.

As for these heroes, I will have a big smile on my face if I hear that these wastes of oxygen are found down some Korean alleyway with their heads cracked open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭GottaGetGatt

The guy sitting down is definitely Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I was angry when i thought they were being assholes...

I obviously didn't hear or see the video properly earlier (My Nephew was beside me and i didn't want him to hear).

He says "Why the f*ck don't you get plastic surgery like every other Korean little bitch"

And a 1:12 in the video he pushes her away, which (luckily) causes her to leave.

I don't hope he dies, or prison, but i do hope he gets a light few smacks - enough that will teach him not to disrespect anyone again.

Ironic that he thinks he's not the one that people should be disgusted by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

One sounds like a blackrock Lorcan, the other like a posh bogger. They do not sound like newfies to me.

Yeah I said that. In the part you didn't quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

I hope they get whats coming to them. My god, probably going to sound like some sort of keyboard warrior but god help them if i had been sitting in that bar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭carolmon

Eramen wrote: »
    It's not more or open or acceptable, nor should this video be taken as symptomatic of men antagonizing women, or vice versa. These people in the video are of the same ugly character type that wouldn't treat a dog well, never mind a living person.

The contempt and vulgarity we see today is society-wide, top to bottom. People no longer hold to the same values or norms any more, and so aren't held accountable for their actions. This in turn has bred the social disassociation that we have in our community (and that is taken abroad with them) on a massive scale. I think that this is the root course of this level of disrespect toward others.

Look at the anti-social activity in this country, it affects all facets of Irish life, from what we've seen in the Dail this week, to the idiocy a minority people get up to just because the sun comes out, they feel they are entitled to do anything to anybody.

These people are that minority. They are found as the top as well as the bottom, as well as the middle. Although their pervertedness and despicable nature takes on different outer forms, it has the same origin. We need to once again take responsibility for our own actions, and learn new (or old) norms, or face the new lows that are awaiting us on the horizon..

yes this behaviour does affect all facets of life I agree top/ middle and bottom but this is exactly my point re the normalisation of this attitude.

also I think there is no denying that what we've seen in political life this week only supports my theory that there is a disturbing misogyny at play in everyday language.........when you have the like of David Norris describing a political opponent as "talking out of her fanny" and Tom Barry's manhandling of Aine Collins during a highly sensitive abortion vote being downgraded to "horseplay" it is evident that there is a deeply ingrained and questionable attitude to women running through society.

when you have the like of David Norris describing a political opponent as "talking out of her fanny" and Tom Barry's manhandling of Aine Collins during a highly sensitive abortion vote being downgraded to "horseplay" it is evident that there is a deeply ingrained and questionable attitude to women running through society.

I'm sorry, but they are morons - You can't say I hope that they don't represent a "deeply ingrained attitude to women running through society"
    When a couple of morons have power, and make everyone equally angry.

Those two (which have so many other issues you don't seem to mention), and many others definitely don't speak for me, and i wouldn't imagine account for a deeply ingrained attitude in society.
    If that is the case, then there is also a deeply ingrained attitude to many other things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

They've been called every name, scumbag etc in this thread and proper order but this is the most sensible post of the lot!
    It's astonishing that this is the only post to connect porn and this kind of behaviour.

Scan, I love porn.
    I would never do what these guys did.

Porn does not make you act like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Fack this is so bad it doesn't seem real, like its a viral add or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

That's one of the most f'd up things I've seen from people who are likely on a night out to have fun. What a pack of a-holes.

I think the speculation of where they are from should stop until it's confirmed. One of them does sound Irish alright but I think it's not fair to throw around nationalities...I'm sure most people in Korea and around the world will realize it's just a few bad apples but putting a nationality to these guys could tarnish the perception of tourists from that country at least in that town or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

Jesus I found that video hard to watch. I cant believe vermin like this exist. Absolutely sick, degrading specimens. Why did they upload it to the net? They hardly thought the video would be well received....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Link the in OP didn't work for me, it said content unavailable, is it taken down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

looks to be pulled. idk whats going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

LiveLeak

It's not a nice video to watch. The guys are incredibly mean. They do not deserve a lynching, but they do deserve serious criminal charges and big civil damages suits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Guy sitting down is Irish, it's a midlands accent that's been affected by both South Dublin and American/Canadian accent exposure. It dips between the 3, I'd guess he is from somewhere in the midlands, most likely Laois or Carlow and went to school in one of the south dublin colleges and now lives/works with american/canadian expat in Korea and has picked up both accents, but he still has a very broad vowel pronunciation and very soft/flat "th" sounds and his t's aren't very sharp.

Camera guy is from either the west of Canada (Alberta or B.C. would be my guess).

I actually think I pick up a 3rd voice and accent in there too that for some reason makes me think of the pacific northwest of the US but it could be the Canadian camera man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Tis a small world
    IrishExpat wrote: »
    Unfortunately, I can pinpoint one of them - not a 'friend' by any means, and it's worth noting he's taken his Facebook offline.

He's known to be an asshole to women closer to home, so as disgusted as I am, far from shocked at the behaviour.

What a dick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

gctest50 wrote: »
    Tis a small world

Names with the police I hope! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

How bad is this girls treatment, it is made it sound like a dagestan beheading. how Irish are they..

I want our hands washed of em; if the case and apologies to Korea with all of my heart n seoul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

There's a possibility it's a viral video with actors, this was posted on Dave's ESL Korea forum.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/worldviews/wp/2013/07/15/koreas-web-community-roiled-by-shocking-video-of-western-men-tormenting-a-local-woman/
    http://bit.ly/12A92WS
    It's made the Washington Post now and there is someone on there saying he was in the video and the first comment I see is......

thelastknownsurvivor wrote:
    July 16, 2013 at 11:14 AM
    This is a video made in Bedlam bar in Itaewon in January 2011. All the people were paid actors / actresses. The director is Korean and wanted to get famous for doing some edgy viral videos. This is one of them. He tried to release this over 2 years ago and nothing happened all the websites took it down for its graphic content. I know all this because I am one of the men in this video. I do not condone the actions that I did. But this was a paid acting job no one was hurt. The actress was wearing fake gums to make her teeth look bad and everyone left the shoot smiling and shaking hands.
    I have passed on this webpage to the director asking him to come forward. It is up to him if he wants to reveal himself. 2 and a half years ago he wanted this kind of fame I do not know if it will do his current career any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

maninasia wrote: »

I hope it is a viral video by paid actors.

Somehow I don't think we're likely to find out. I think the video will linger for a few days before dropping off and nothing to be heard again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Korea has the largest gender imbalance, so if viral they're still acting out derogatory stereotypes to exacerbate that

maninasia wrote: »
    There's a possibility it's a viral video with actors, this was posted on Dave's ESL Korea forum.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/worldviews/wp/2013/07/15/koreas-web-community-roiled-by-shocking-video-of-western-men-tormenting-a-local-woman/
    http://bit.ly/12A92WS
    It's made the Washington Post now and there is someone on there saying he was in the video and the first comment I see is......

thelastknownsurvivor wrote:
    July 16, 2013 at 11:14 AM
    This is a video made in Bedlam bar in Itaewon in January 2011. All the people were paid actors / actresses. The director is Korean and wanted to get famous for doing some edgy viral videos. This is one of them. He tried to release this over 2 years ago and nothing happened all the websites took it down for its graphic content. I know all this because I am one of the men in this video. I do not condone the actions that I did. But this was a paid acting job no one was hurt. The actress was wearing fake gums to make her teeth look bad and everyone left the shoot smiling and shaking hands.
    I have passed on this webpage to the director asking him to come forward. It is up to him if he wants to reveal himself. 2 and a half years ago he wanted this kind of fame I do not know if it will do his current career any good.

I hope it is, and it worked.

But didn't someone on this thread know the guy in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Allyall wrote: »
    I hope it is, and it worked.

But didn't someone on this thread know the guy in it?

Well, if everything said on the internet is to be believed...

:confused::confused: WHAT?

Are you going to sit there and try and tell me that there are some things on the net that aren't?

Next you'll be trying to say that wikipedia is just a load of random people adding bits to articles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

mikom wrote: »
    Scan, I love porn.
    I would never do what these guys did.

Porn does not make you act like this.
    I doubt anyone rational is suggesting anyone who watches hardcore porn featuring women being verbally and physically abused and degraded (although it's beyond me how normal people can "love" and be turned on by this stuff - it's misogyny in film form; but hey... you're a "prude" or a "feminist" if you make that point ;)) would behave like this as a result. But I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest that a minority of younger lads who have grown up with this stuff and who have a sh1tty attitude in the first place might be influenced somewhat by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,194 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

I think you're right FF. Porn was once the preserve of the dirty mac brigade hanging around seedy sex shops - at least it was limited to adults then but now any age can access extremely nasty porn and it would be very naive to think that there are no consequences.
    No one even notices soft porn anymore, Britney Spears in a school uniform, Shakira crawling around a cage on all fours, Rihanna in S&M gear etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I doubt anyone rational is suggesting anyone who watches hardcore porn featuring women being verbally and physically abused and degraded (although it's beyond me how normal people can "love" and be turned on by this stuff - it's misogyny in film form; but hey... you're a "prude" or a "feminist" if you make that point ;)) would behave like this as a result. But I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest that a minority of younger lads who have grown up with this stuff and who have a sh1tty attitude in the first place might be influenced somewhat by it.

Would you have it banned?

Verbally and physically abused is not my bag, baby.
    No one even notices soft porn anymore, Britney Spears in a school uniform, Shakira crawling around a cage on all fours, Rihanna in S&M gear etc etc

Caligula would have blushed.

GiftofGab wrote: »
    I hope it is a viral video by paid actors.

I hope so too.

Hopefully it's not just a hastily thought of cover story to excuse that behaviour, but that was my first thought when I read that supposed explanation.