Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaelforce newbie - pacing question

Options
  • 16-07-2013 12:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭

Hi All
    I am an adventure race newbie, 2 weeks ago i signed up for Gaelforce west (6.30 am wave)

I started exercising again 18 months ago after my weight peaked at 108kg after hitting 40!!! I'm now down to 90kg (and hope to lose another couple by staying off the gargle between now and Gaelforce).

I have been predominately running and cycling to get back in shape. Earlier in the year I did a 10k road race in 42.30 and a 10 mile road race in 71.40. I recently did the Ring of Kerry charity cycle (which I found relatively easy) and last night I did a slowish 13k in 62 mins in the heat. I plan to do a brick session on Saturday - 13k run and 30k cycle so hopefully this will be a good barometer of my overall fitness. I will be giving it holly on the training front for the next coupe of weeks to improve my fitness coming into Gaelforce..

So, my question - could anyone give me a sense for what time I should be aiming for in Gaelforce? Should I be aiming for around 6 hours or 5.30 or even 5 hours (perhaps I am dreaming here!!)
    E.g. Will the difference in terrain mean that I will be expending as much energy doing a 6 min KM in the opening run as I would be in doing 4.45 Km's on the road? How much less (%) should I be running than race pace ? Etc...
    I have never even walked C Patrick and I doubt there are many soft trails at the moment so am clueless.
    After doing ROK I am thinking that my stamina is not too bad (as long as I feed the engine)