Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can I stop anti-social behaviour outside my home?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,963 ✭✭✭✭listermint

GarIT wrote: »
    I'm saying putting a limiter on every car in the country is apparently going too far with punishing drivers because some speed. But hurting all young people to punish a few is ok.

Young people are punished with insurance policies to reflect how statistics indicate their driving habits.

Your comparisons are flawed to say the least.

Operating a short distance device to deter anti social people sitting on your front wall damaging someones quality of life as nothing to do with this crusade you appear to be on about the broader use of such devices.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Green Diesel

Those mosquitos are awful, they make me feel physically sick and I'm 28!

I wouldn't like to see them spread up outside every second house to piss off a few kids.

Put up a real (or fake) CCTV instead.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Ok. I dunno what GarIt is on about but he is making some really stupid points and going off on tangents and then suggesting that the OPs husband should declare himself a pedo, stoopidest thing I've ever heard on boards.

Anyways, lets forget about human rights of scum and get back to how we can help the OP in her situation.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

listermint wrote: »
    Young people are punished with insurance policies to reflect how statistics indicate their driving habits.

Your comparisons are flawed to say the least.

Operating a short distance device to deter anti social people sitting on your front wall damaging someones quality of life as nothing to do with this crusade you appear to be on about the broader use of such devices.

I can't see how the use of the device in one case verses everywhere is much of a different argument. If the OP used such a device it would hurt innocent young people around her that don't deserve the pain that these devices cause.

These devices are not short distance in any way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

GarIT, you're being melodramatic to say the least.

From the wikipedia page about the Mosquito:
    The Mosquito was released to the mainstream market in 2006, through Stapleton's company Compound Security Solutions.[9] The current device has two settings: the high frequency sound targeted at youth, and another that can be heard by everyone. The range of the sound is 140 feet (43 m) with the sound baffle, and 200 feet (61 m) without. It requires a 24-volt DC or 15-volt AC power supply.

The mosquito is sold with an inhibitor (sound baffle) to address concerns like yours.

61m (max range of the Mosquito without the inhibiter) is hardly 1km.

GarIT, you're being melodramatic to say the least.

From the wikipedia page about the Mosquito:

The mosquito is sold with an inhibitor (sound baffle) to address concerns like yours.

61m (max range of the Mosquito without the inhibiter) is hardly 1km.

That's one device, the one used in my local area could be heard in a playground about 1km away, obviously it wasn't nearly as bad from that distance, it was mildly annoying at most but could still be heard (that's why it was protested). And the one in Heuston can be heard about 100m away and that's through walls.

Being brutally honest here, ive never heard them and been in these places myself travelling etc.

My hearing is spot on and ive listened to the 'app style versions'. Id imagine you are making a bigger deal out of it than it is, as it doesnt appear to effect custom in supermacs. Would you not agree?

Being brutally honest here, ive never heard them and been in these places myself travelling etc.

My hearing is spot on and ive listened to the 'app style versions'. Id imagine you are making a bigger deal out of it than it is, as it doesnt appear to effect custom in supermacs. Would you not agree?

That's a common mistake people make, it's noting to do with how good your hearing is, its more the development of your ear. You could be nearly deaf and 16 and still hear it.

I don't know how the apps work, it might not be the same thing, I'm not sure. I haven't been to Supermacs in Heuston so I'm not sure what their custom is like. In a way it might seem like I am making a bigger deal than it is and in one way you could be right as it's affected me on maybe 2-3 hours of my whole life but on the other people generally ignore how immensely painful it is. Sitting beside it when it comes on (in the big main waiting area of Heuston) is possibly the most painful thing I have experienced in life, It's easily worse than breaking a bone and I'm not in any way exaggerating. Repeatedly poke a cotton bud against your eardrum and you might kinda get the idea of what its like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭theUbiq

If these kids are making life difficult for the OP she's perfectly entitled to make their life difficult. Obviously asking them nicely hasn't worked so why should she have to spend time building a case against them to present to the Gardai or her TD. Her time is precious and her's to spend doing thing's she wants to do, not worrying about some delinquent teens acting the maggot outside her house... This problem needs fixing now so the mosquito should be used.

I've seen what happens when you try to reason with morally bankrupt teens whose parents don't care... it's not pretty and usually involves someone getting badly hurt.

That's a common mistake people make, it's noting to do with how good your hearing is, its more the development of your ear. You could be nearly deaf and 16 and still hear it.

I don't know how the apps work, it might not be the same thing, I'm not sure. I haven't been to Supermacs in Heuston so I'm not sure what their custom is like. In a way it might seem like I am making a bigger deal than it is and in one way you could be right as it's affected me on maybe 2-3 hours of my whole life but on the other people generally ignore how immensely painful it is. Sitting beside it when it comes on (in the big main waiting area of Heuston) is possibly the most painful thing I have experienced in life, It's easily worse than breaking a bone and I'm not in any way exaggerating. Repeatedly poke a cotton bud against your eardrum and you might kinda get the idea of what its like.

Theres nothing common about it, and no im not making a mistake. I understand enough and experience enough audio to demonstrate the difference. There is no issue with custom in supermacs equally there is no issue with hueston waiting area.

Have you considered you may actually have a hearing issue ?

We are dragging this slightly off thread, but honestly I genuinely believe you might have other aural problems. Its certainly not the equipment there.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,990 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

I can't see how the use of the device in one case verses everywhere is much of a different argument. If the OP used such a device it would hurt innocent young people around her that don't deserve the pain that these devices cause.

These devices are not short distance in any way.

Restricting all vehicles to 120km/h won't stop people speeding, all it'll do is stop people exceeding the limit on motorways which is not what you want. A device to stop people loitering outside a premises will only affect the people outside the premises, or close to it, so it's allowed. If the device affected the whole country then it'd be a different issue.

If these devices are causing you pain I'd be getting my ears/hearing checked, they are only supposed to annoy not hurt.

Theres nothing common about it, and no im not making a mistake. I understand enough and experience enough audio to demonstrate the difference. There is no issue with custom in supermacs equally there is no issue with hueston waiting area.

Have you considered you may actually have a hearing issue ?

We are dragging this slightly off thread, but honestly I genuinely believe you might have other aural problems. Its certainly not the equipment there.

If it is a mistake a lot of people make how is it not common, unless you are in the age range that the device is meant for it is highly unlikely you could hear it however good your hearing is. I know myself I don't go to supermacs in heuston and don't get the train since they put those in so they have lost some business anyway.

I had my ears checked after the incident and everything is fine. My girlfriend was the exact same too so its not just me. I just needed a letter from my doctor to send into the management of heuston.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

T It's easily worse than breaking a bone and I'm not in any way exaggerating. Repeatedly poke a cotton bud against your eardrum and you might kinda get the idea of what its like.

I have no idea what you are talking about but this is ridiculous. As bad as breaking a bone?

OP install CCTV, keep a diary and report it weekly and keep reporting it. If something out of the norm happens report that immediately with footage.

If it is a mistake a lot of people make how is it not common, unless you are in the age range that the device is meant for it is highly unlikely you could hear it however good your hearing is. I know myself I don't go to supermacs in heuston and don't get the train since they put those in so they have lost some business anyway.

I had my ears checked after the incident and everything is fine. My girlfriend was the exact same too so its not just me. I just needed a letter from my doctor to send into the management of heuston.

As pointed to above, the devices are meant to be nuisance not cause severe pain. Which is why i suggested and specialist. Your GP would have minimal assistance with an Aural issue such as this (seriously)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭theUbiq

petes wrote: »
    I have no idea what you are talking about but this is ridiculous. As bad as breaking a bone?

OP install CCTV, keep a diary and report it weekly and keep reporting it. If something out of the norm happens report that immediately with footage.

Why should the OP waste her time doing this? I'd install the mosquito and turn it on whenever they are there...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

theUbiq wrote: »
    Why should the OP waste her time doing this? I'd install the mosquito and turn it on whenever they are there...

This bit.
    ELISHA82 wrote: »
    I've shouted at them resulting in them trying to burn down my fence, kicked my gate to pieces, tried to hit my dog with a plank of wood through the fence. my window has been broken and im constantly having to pick up there rubbish.,

• Registered Users Posts: 25,952 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

flutered wrote: »
    the trouble is you will have to do a little research, to find a name and a supplier.

No they won't.

The council housing office will be well acquainted with it, know where to get it, and may even supply it to the OP.

Have you got in touch with your local Sinn Fein? In no way am I trying to promote them as a party

I'm absolutely not promoting violence.

But this is correct in some areas. It can even be worth electing a few SF councillors to deal with issues like this using, umm, local relationships.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

jobless wrote: »
    Couple of chicken breasts, dig up a bit of the grass where they congregate and put the breasts under it.... the rotting chicken smell will soon have them gone :)
    Why not just bury a dead body, that would really get the message across. :P

Would be good if state benefits could be cut for the family, only way this kind of people respond.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

theUbiq wrote: »
    I've seen what happens when you try to reason with morally bankrupt teens whose parents don't care... it's not pretty and usually involves someone getting badly hurt.

^ this!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭chrismon

What are you thinking of doing so OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,716 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I used to live in a bit of a dodgy neighborhood and every time I had problems with kids or teenagers I went to the parents. After a month or two I never had problems again.
    Id have been nervous enough approaching them but the more dodgy looking the parent the more serious they took the complaint. Downside is im very suspicious I might have gotten some kids beaten by their parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

FutureGuy wrote: »
    The Mosquito sounds the business.

Any suggestions where to pick up one of these?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

So if there are teenagers/children/27 year olds like me living next door who can all hear these awful mosquito things they can all lump it then?

If a neighbour refused to get rid of it I'd be off to the gardai / introducing it to a hammer. Seriously though, do people who can hear them have no right to peacefully enjoy their homes/backgardens?

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭ScottStorm

So if there are teenagers/children/27 year olds like me living next door who can all hear these awful mosquito things they can all lump it then?

In that case I would suggest that the teen, sub 27 year old neighbour assist in moving the anti social presence away, it should serve to improve the lives of all neighbours, no? That would be the neighbourly thing to do, or you could go ahead and rub salt in the wounds of a woman run ragged by these summers.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,891 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

which council area are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

That's a common mistake people make, it's noting to do with how good your hearing is, its more the development of your ear. You could be nearly deaf and 16 and still hear it

If you can't hear above 16khz it won't affect you. Someone nearly deaf can't hear above 16khz unless, somewhat strangely, they're deaf to the lower range instead of the higher range. The reason many adults can't hear it is because as humans get older, their sensitivity to higher frequencies diminishes. That doesn't mean all adults can't hear it though. I'm 30 and I can still identify sine waves of up to 21khz though studio speakers, though from about 18khz it's more "feeling" than hearing.

The theory behind those devices isn't to cause pain, but rather irritation and annoyance, the ones you mention are obviously very badly made, however, being a qualified sound engineer, I can say with confidence that you're SERIOUSLY exaggerating, either that or you have an inherent problem with your ears that you need to have looked at, or they're playing those tones at incredibly high levels (130+db) - which they're not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Forest Demon

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Downside is im very suspicious I might have gotten some kids beaten by their parents.

Not seeing the downside there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Take up beekeeping?
    Nice swarm near the front wall will keep them away.

Anti climb paint really does work. You can definitely do a lot with attractive looking, spikey plants too

• Registered Users Posts: 43 ELISHA82

Thank u all so much for your replys nd sorry for not replying sooner have been so busy

Ive had a few more sleepless ngts since, but to my surprise one parent who lives right nx door came to me nd apoligsed for all the noise at ngt aparently she hadnt known so thats good. But the problem with alot of the kids who sit otside on the wall is ther not from the estate i live in and i dont no who ther parents are.

I had to laugh but one other day i came home to find theyd put an old armchair right outside my house so they could sit on it, my bf threw it over a wall only to find it back again a few days later so this time he took it away.

Jus to update ive used the greese idea altho it has backfired somewat as they rubbed it all over my bf,s van and my newly painted wall, but i think ill keep tryin and they will eventually give up hopefully..i think i mite also get either a real camera or a dummy one to see if it deters them.

Thers a lot of debate over the musquito idea and altho i think its a good idea my estate is too small wit alot of oter kids playing about so this idea wouldnt work in this case. It really is a pity that so many ppl have to put up with this sort of thing, i hav a teenage daughter myself but she is never left to run about other peoples estates till all hours annoying ppl.

Elisha x

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

Head up Elisha.

They are some pricks the way they rubbed that grease on your bfs van and wall. What the hell is wrong with these people !!!