Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Arcade and Retro General Chat in Karkariko Village Tavern: Live Ocarina Music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭Steve X2

waveform wrote: »
    What is the highest amount of RAM you have used on the 32GB machine?

Have you ever monitored it to see how far she would go?

Also, I'm guessing you have the Page file disabled for better performance, as you're probably unlikely to ever exceed 32GB usabe?

I've used as much ram as I've had available when doing video editing with After Effects(very complex jobs eat up the ram and as they say "Adobe loves RAM"). With multi processor rendering and assigned the required ram to each rendering core you can use 16GB/32GB/64GB or whatever you have.

I do have a small pagefile as some applications/processes require or want it and its just easier to leave one there. I've experimented a lot with and without pagefiles and in my experience its beneficial to have one(even when running with loads of RAM and fast SSD's).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,065 ✭✭✭Doge

Steve SI wrote: »
    I've used as much ram as I've had available when doing video editing with After Effects(very complex jobs eat up the ram and as they say "Adobe loves RAM"). With multi processor rendering and assigned the required ram to each rendering core you can use 16GB/32GB/64GB or whatever you have.

I do have a small pagefile as some applications/processes require or want it and its just easier to leave one there. I've experimented a lot with and without pagefiles and in my experience its beneficial to have one(even when running with loads of RAM and fast SSD's).

Its great to hear feedback about the Page File.

I know that on my 3GB machine it did make a big improvement turned off, but I would run out of memory eventually.

I guess when you have SSD's the difference is far less noticeable than with old HDDs.

waveform wrote: »
    Its great to hear feedback about the Page File.

I know that on my 3GB machine it did make a big improvement turned off, but I would run out of memory eventually.

I guess when you have SSD's the difference is far less noticeable than with old HDDs.

I use a RevoDrive 3 X2 PCI Express SSD as my boot drive and a couple of other SSD drives as cache drives for apps(after effects, photoshop etc) and then a hand full of large capacity normal SATA III drives for the bulk stuff.

Still use a pagefile :)

Edit:
    And just to keep this on retro topic. 3DO rocks, CDi smells

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,634 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

I dozed off there but the mention of the glorious 3DO brought me back.
    Must play some Return Fire to celebrate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,245 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Here's an odd question.

I was working on the cab last night (I've been neglecting her for a while) trying to get the gun calibration right. I finally got it to a point where it was working quite well.

I was playing HOTD2 the PC version and the experience was very arcadey.

One thing that bothered me though, there's no option to turn off the crosshairs in the menu! Anybody know of any way to get rid of them?

Deleting a texture file or something perhaps?

Cheers in advance folks.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Dr Bob wrote: »
    feck..think its the day after mine...not sure I'll get a pass for 2 days in a row!
    ah everyone relax , work do's the week after so I'm back in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Dr Bob wrote: »
    ah everyone relax , work do's the week after so I'm back in :)

Snip:- language Timothy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,271 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Yesterday I had to travel out to the folks house as they noticed some cracks and warping on the ceiling beside the attic door :eek:

Simply too much stuff up there. Lucky it didn't collapse - it was over the top of the staircase. Some poor unsuspecting soul could have ended up with a deluge of CRTs, VHS tapes, videogames, books, comics and a whole other load of crap on their head.

Had to take a load of stuff down. Mountains of VHS tapes destined for the recycling centre. Really cool retail stuff too, not taped from the telly. All the old Manga Entertainment stuff I used to buy in Virgin Megastore. When I was getting rid of them I thought 'ah sure, no use now, nothing to play them on' - then find a VHS player a few minutes later :D

My first PC and CRT monitor. An old IBM yolk. Didn't test the CRT for fear of it still working and then me getting ideas to keep it.

Piles of PS1 gaming mags gone too.

I did find a bag with 4 Playstations. To my delight, one of them is my original Playstation I bought on release - going to clean it up, still seems to be working fine.

N64 up there too and a Gamecube. Two boxes of n64 games (must be about 50 in total) - about 20 of them are boxed. Don't really know whether to keep the n64 stuff or sell it.

Worst of all, I found that some eejit had piled loads of crap on top of my degree show artwork. (which was on big 6-8 foot long rolls of paper). So had to take down about 20 gigantic ink drawings and reroll them. Thank feck they didn't get damaged and should be okay now that they've been rolled up again (here's to high quality Fabriano paper!)

Anyway, just had to vent. That was some evening yesterday. By the end of it we were wading through stuff knee deep in the landing which had to be thrown out. I almost fell down the stairs after tripping over the box my guitar came in (dated 1996!)

I need to lie down just thinking about it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,894 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Did you really get that PS1 at launch? I wouldn't go playing it at all then. The plastic drives on them are a disaster.

Master of the Universe

Ah, when I said 'on release' I meant when it was the current gen of hardware. Didn't mean a release launch model.

I bought it for £129. I think it was a year or two after launch? If it's still working almost 20 years later it must be a half decent one :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,894 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

So PS4 out tonight. I'm getting absolutely no buzz at all from it. Still have my pre-order as well. Not going to bother picking it up tonight since I've no money, it's in the bank. Might try and trade it for a Wii-U tomorrow or something see if they will do it.

Master of the Universe

Haven't even considered buying any new console myself yet. Too busy with other games to even think about it.

Will hang on for the inevitable price drop I think.

o1s1n wrote: »
    Haven't even considered buying any new console myself yet. Too busy with other games to even think about it.

Will hang on for the inevitable price drop I think.

I'm such a hypocrite. I always tell people launches are crap and to wait and what do I go ahead and do :)

Feeling really stupid now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Mario is out tomorrow. That's where my priorities lie... also need to get the new Zelda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Retron 5 delays, I know some people were talking about them.
    http://hyperkin.com/blog/2013/11/hyperkin-to-delay-retron-5-release/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    So PS4 out tonight. I'm getting absolutely no buzz at all from it. Still have my pre-order as well. Not going to bother picking it up tonight since I've no money, it's in the bank. Might try and trade it for a Wii-U tomorrow or something see if they will do it.

There was a Wii U flashsale deal on Amazon this morning. The 32GB model with Lego City & Rayman Legends for £199 I think

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

The lack of buzz might just be you getting older dude. Happens to us all at some stage. Except Cidey, his appetite for new stuff knows no bounds it seems. :)

Of the 3 next gen machines I do like the look of the PS4, but there's no games worth the asking price right now, imo anyway.

Actually playing a big of Megadrive in 60Hz the last few days. Good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Yeah not much buzz about the PS4, same for the Xbox One really. Getting older could certainly be a part of that, but the launch line ups are pretty dire so I'm putting it down to that :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,500 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Myrddin wrote: »
    Yeah not much buzz about the PS4, same for the Xbox One really. Getting older could certainly be a part of that, but the launch line ups are pretty dire so I'm putting it down to that :o

I couldn't even tell you what the launch line up is. Assassin's Creed is one I think and no doubt Fifa 20. It's mad how quickly you can fall behind with the gaming scene when you're free time vanishes. I'd no idea when either of the big two machines were out. Same with GTA IV release date etc.

Although every now and then I do check to make sure I haven't missed The Last Guardian release though. Sony feckers. :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,634 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Hey, hold your horses there! !
    The PS4 and Xbox One hold no fascination for me, I have the WiiU and an starting to play something other than Wii Games on it but the other two won't have anything, well, cool until next year, so I can wait til then.
    As for which one, don't know that either, I'll see which has the best games to play next summer.
    I have a feeling that, beyond a handful of exclusives, the machines will play much the same games at much the same performance.
    I'll end up with both, but it's a bit like Ant'n Dec, freely interchangeable and who cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Andrew76 wrote: »
    I haven't missed The Last Guardian release though. Sony feckers. :mad:
    This!

Master of the Universe

The lack of buzz might just be you getting older dude. Happens to us all at some stage. Except Cidey, his appetite for new stuff knows no bounds it seems. :)

I was going to completely agree with you there but then thought - if The Last Guardian or Fallout 4 had been announced as launch titles for either, I'd have been queuing up with the rest of them.

I think it's more to do with the slowdown in technological leaps forward. There's nothing really unique to consoles anymore. Before we were all excited as we had amazing advances in visual technology etc. It's extremely hard to be as excited about tessellation as it is going from 2d to 3d etc.

To me, new console releases now are like new iphone releases. You get the hardcore nuts who want the new one for the sake of having the latest and greatest - but until there's something of actual value from upgrading, I'll gladly sit back and wait until a time where there is.
    Actually playing a big of Megadrive in 60Hz the last few days. Good craic.

Been doing the same myself the last few days, testing out the 1084s monitor to see if I can cope with living with a 14 in monitor and getting rid of the monster Trinitron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

Except Cidey, his appetite for new stuff knows no bounds it seems. :)

:D He buys, sells it and buys it again. A real loose cannon:pac:

I hope everyone is looking forward to my Xbox One/PS4/3DO comparison and review. It'll focus mainly on which is the better machine to go for right now.

I'm not sure your advice of 'sure you might as well buy all 3 and then buy them again just to be sure' is feasible for the majority of us here :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,756 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Someone posted this up in work, a nice retort to all those 'Xbox vs Playstation' comparisons. This is the comparison we all wanted to hear :p

http://www.newstalk.ie/Playstation-4-vs-Hungry-Hungry-Hippos:-all-you-need-to-know

I'm not sure your advice of 'sure you might as well buy all 3 and then buy them again just to be sure' is feasible for the majority of us here :p

Oh Retr0, you are silly. My advice is to buy 2 PS4 and 2 Xbox One's.
    All your 3DO are belong to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

finally someone who did a launch right :L

Master System FTW!

Sure, everyone knows there's nothing on the new machines that comes close to Mark Hamills acting in Wing Commander III! Except maybe the wooden palette the consoles are packed on ;)
    Actually I'd say I'll playing the best on the 3DO long after the PS4 is retro!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Actually I'd say I'll playing the best on the 3DO long after the PS4 is retro!

and me and Richy will still be waiting for Shenmue 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

jvtjx09.jpg

Speaking of 3DO and Wing Commander 3. I still find it funny that they had an active porn star as one of the main characters.

Edit:
    And holy crap, after a quick google I see she is still active, as a "mature":eek:

Ginger Lynne I think she was.....
    The game looked better on the 3DO than the PS, better colour depth apparently

"How do you feel about people who go Hadouken" :D

holy_thread_resurrection_batman.jpg

Well thats a fine mess of the main A&R forum.
    Stupid spammers (who didnt post spam :0/ )

4lx5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

There was another spammer the other day too.

We're under attack!

There was another spammer the other day too.

We're under attack!

Roman_soldiers_defensive_formation.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Steve SI wrote: »
    holy_thread_resurrection_batman.jpg

Well thats a fine mess of the main A&R forum.
    Stupid spammers (who didnt post spam :0/ )

4lx5.jpg
    Is this Irene any relation to this one?

u55e.jpg

I had my first conference today,
    Person Centred Care and Behaviours that Challenge.
    Oddly little or no Dark Souls discussed.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I had my first conference today,
    Person Centred Care and Behaviours that Challenge.
    Oddly little or no Dark Souls discussed.

I found conferences are extraordinarily good excuses for a piss up and not much else.

I must have missed that bit.
    It was pretty interesting and I was gratified to see just how progressive my workplace had become, enshrining best practice in most of our methods.
    Also some helpful insights into both the genesis of behaviours that challenge in service users and, unexpectedly, staff.

No discussion on the workplace stress of nurses, using my study of the nursing staff of Silent Hill as the source. Pity that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,756 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Very funny Top 50 games of all time in the Irish Times Ticket today. Some brilliantly ridiculous exclusions / inclusions (e.g. Zelda / Dance Central, Metroid / Heavy Rain).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Call of Duty number one?

People who know jack **** about games should be arrested for attempting to write a 'top whatever' list.I never thought I'd see a list that could top a screwattack list for stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

People who know jack **** about games should be arrested for attempting to write a 'top whatever' list.I never thought I'd see a list that could top a screwattack list for stupidity.

"The writer clearly knows what they are talking about

I mean Tetris, Space Invaders and Pac Man are all there :P"

It's the most obvious trilogy of token retro games!

Seriously though, was not expecting to see The Last Ninja 2 in there...

Ah I know the guy that wrote it (not personally). He does a lot of the videogame writing in Ireland, kind of has a monopoly on it. He also hasn't got a clue about games.

From crap videogame journalism to some of the best. I nearly pissed myself laughing reading Ellie Gibson's eurogamer review of Fighter Within. To quote:
    It's like Tampax launching an ad campaign fronted by Danny Dyer.

Ah I know the guy that wrote it (not personally). He does a lot of the videogame writing in Ireland, kind of has a monopoly on it. He also hasn't got a clue about games.

Same deal as a lot of the film critics in Irish magazines etc

Master of the Universe

I gave in to all common sense and clicked that link - all I can do is laugh.