Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Is there any way to get into actuary through part time course?

• 18-07-2013 2:50am

Hi all. I am a primary teacher and am looking to change careers. I have a few ideas in mind one (career guidance) which I could do part time as well as remaining a primary school teacher. This would be a good option however I have thought of the possibility of being an becoming an actuary for many years now and feel it is a line of work that would really appeal to me. Is there any way of doing this course part time? I don't want to leave my current job unless I am going into one with equal money (30k). The third idea is medicine (this was the career I always wanted but parents though it was a terrible idea because of the hours so I was persuaded to go for primary teaching instead). I still think of it as my dream career but cannot ever seeing any way I could financially afford to go back to college for 4 years as a grad student to do this :( Any information would be greatly appreciated in relation to the actuary job....any way of doing part time courses to break into this field of work?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

To qualify as as actuary, you study at weekends and in the evenings so it's pretty much part time anyway.