Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LG 42 inch 3d smart tv €399

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Soarer wrote: »
    I thought selling anything on the BA thread was against the rules? Aren't people normally pointed towards Adverts?
    I was leaning more towards the idea of profiteering..

.. but personal selling is definitely not permitted alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

No not really. I have something people want, if they really want it then they'll pay for it. Common business sense really.

Being wide to the demand of certain people. You on the other hand, are probably just jealous you didnt avail of this deal. Ah well :rolleyes:

Why didn't you post this offer using your regular user name then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭jamesd

Got my wife to go to galway and collect the tv and the wireless dongle, the 2 staff lads that brough the tv out for her said it was a great deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Chael The Spider Sonnen

Why didn't you post this offer using your regular user name then?

That is my real name. Chael Sonnen from Togher. My nickname is The Spider due to me being bit my a radioactive spider and......actually if I told you the rest you wouldn't believe me

Anyway I digress, that's my name and I don't see the confusion???????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,035 ✭✭✭Soarer

jamesd wrote: »
    Got my wife to go to galway and collect the tv and the wireless dongle, the 2 staff lads that brough the tv out for her said it was a great deal.

Well if 2 staff lads said it was a great deal, I'm all in! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭kmb

Hi All,
    Does anyone know the size of the outer box as I am travelling to Killarney tomorrow to collect one.

Regards,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Have a spare code for the Cavan store vaild until tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Chael The Spider Sonnen

Have a spare code for the Cavan store vaild until tomorrow.

Will send you a pm ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭CBRLizzie

Aw, I just sent a PM too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,035 ✭✭✭Soarer

Take no notice of CTSS. He's obviously on a wind-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭soyawhatsup

Does anyone know if more stock will be available soon or is it a once off?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,295 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

There is a new version of this TV so Id say its a once off, selling off old stock.

Having said that check argos again tomorrow night, as if people dont use thrie reservation codes the TV will come back into stock.

Use this link... http://www.checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=9089163

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭kindalen

Box is 118 cm long and 76cm high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭rocksolid

if anyone has a spare code ill gladly take it off them, not really fussy where it is for..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭mun1

audi02 wrote: »
    As above from argos. Reduced from €879. Wifi dongle required. Lg dongle also half price with argos. Looks good to me!

Thanks very much Audi 02, picked one up in Tralee today. Have it set up now and the picture is absolutely amazing compared to the 3 year old Sony I had.
    Girl in Argos said that the other one available in Tralee was taken by a woman who came down on the bus from Dublin and had to get a taxi back to the bus station with TV in tow:D

Really enjoy this thread and this is my first time posting here. Thanks again Audi02

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭audi02

Hi guys,
    Ye're all very welcome. I never really post either but I thought this was a bargain to be shared!!! I was gutted I missed the one on ibood the other day...but everything happens for a reason!! Worked out better off in the end. Just set mine up. I love it!!! Ideal for my bedroom!!! Happy watching peeps!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭thegift06

if anyone changes their mind and has a reservation code for any store in or around Dublin PM me please, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭clio_16v

That's an outrageous deal. Well spotted OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

mun1 wrote: »
    Girl in Argos said that the other one available in Tralee was taken by a woman who came down on the bus from Dublin and had to get a taxi back to the bus station with TV in tow:D

now thats bargain hunting taken to extremes

don't think i'd ever do that no matter how much i wanted an item

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

599.99 now. Refuse to honor the price on the reservation e-mail. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭loremolis

Did you go to the counter and were refused?

loremolis wrote: »
    Did you go to the counter and were refused?

Yes- I was told that prices change, and while you can make a reservation, that the in-store price when you're collecting the item is the price you will be charged. If the items costs less, you get charged less, if the item costs more- you get charged more.

Also- no fans, paddling pools or playsand left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭reni10

Which store were you refused the 399 price in?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,295 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

reni10 wrote: »
    Which store were you refused the 399 price in?

Its 599 on the website. The newer version of this TV is only £589 on Amazon so I wouldn't pay 599 for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭E30i

Tks for the Heads up OP. I reserved in Wexford v early yesterday morning (1 left). Seems they were even scarcer in the UK looking at HDUK.

Haven't opened or set up yet but will get to it later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭long_b

Is there any point in arriving with a reservation and arguing to get it at the old price ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭jamesd

Did you reserve at 399.99?

Edit : read the next posts - that's sickening isn't it.

jamesd wrote: »
    Did you reserve at 399.99?

Edit : read the next posts - that's sickening isn't it.

Disappointing- though every cloud having a silver lining- I probably didn't have the money to spend, it just seemed like ridiculously good value- so my poor credit card, doesn't get hammered yet again.

Branch- Liffey Valley. Don't know why I'm surprised- they've done this a few times to me already (though I have also gotten a couple of products at less than the price on my reservation).

I guess I'll keep an eye out, something else will come along in due course.

Pretty poor form from Argos, would completely put off using them at all. I could deal with a small increase but bumping the price €200 overnight is a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭jmch81

Hey guys, I've a code for Limerick of someone wants it. First to pm me.
    I can send on the text and email if they give me there details and they can try to get out at the lower price. It's for cruises street.

Edit: gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭chopsey

I was in blackpool in cork a few minutes ago and was told that there is one on reserve until 6pm at 399 but she wouldn't let me have it. She said it will go back up at 6pm at the 599 price. Does anyone have that reserved and can I have it pretty please?

She said that the reserved item would be 399 but once expired would go back to 599

Interesting, going to head put to Nutgrove now to see what price they will be looking for.

wish argos would scrap that reserve item bollix...it should be first come first served esp for these one-off offers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Feeder

jmch81 wrote: »
    Hey guys, I've a code for Limerick of someone wants it. First to pm me.
    I can send on the text and email if they give me there details and they can try to get out at the lower price. It's for cruises street.

PM sent

fryup wrote: »
    wish argos would scrap that reserve item bollix...it should be first come first served esp for these one-off offers

Nonsense. You'd only say that if you missed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭loremolis

I have a reservation for Carlow if anyone wants it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭murtyd17

Just picked up one of these, got it for the 400. needed the manager to key that price in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭lau1247

loremolis wrote: »
    I have a reservation for Carlow if anyone wants it.

can you PM me the code.. thx

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

it is. first to reserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭The lips

I have a reservation for Kilkenny if anyone wants it. Closes at 7pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Alligator Wine

Took the trip to Navan today to pick mine up. Came up as 599 at the till, but once I showed the guy the email confirmation he called the manager over and they did a price change to the €399, no questions asked, manager was very friendly about it. Bargain and a half.

Just in the middle of setting it up. If I chose Ireland as my country will this affect me later on for getting UK channels + US version of netflix or is that dealt with down the road? If anyone has a link to optimal settings let me know. cheers

Nonsense. You'd only say that if you missed out.

i'm not sayin it because i missed out :rolleyes:

seriously alot people out there are exploiting the reserve item feature, by reserving in multiple stores to increase their chance of obtaining the item and then in some selfish cases selling the same item for a profit as evidence in this thread (pg3)......i mean how about people who don't have access to a PC/smart phone why should they miss out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 eggnog98

The lips wrote: »
    I have a reservation for Kilkenny if anyone wants it.

It would be much appreciated man i missed out on a great panasonic deal so this would make up 4 it! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭DubDJ

Anybody want a code for Omni (Dublin). Decided to not bother. Has to be collected by end of day today.

Edit: Code gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭kilkennykitten

Same happened to me but they honoured the price in Kilkenny, nearly had a heart attack when I saw it.

i'm not sayin it because i missed out :rolleyes:

seriously alot people out there are exploiting the reserve item feature, by reserving in multiple stores to increase their chance of obtaining the item and then in some selfish cases selling the same item for a profit as evidence in this thread (pg3)......i mean how about people who don't have access to a PC/smart phone why should they miss out

Well that's just people abusing what is a good system, can't really blame Argos for that..

^^^^^^^^^^^^

well its not a good system if it can be abused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭robk24

Good few in stock around the place now but priced at 599

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

a few have become available now that it has gone to 600. There must have been a few who reserved and did not collect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Roger00

11 in stock now countrywide, wonder how many of these are because of the price increase, seems argos greedyness backfired.
    I dont know if this link works postin with my phone.
     http://www.checkargos.com/StockCheckPage.php?productId=9089163

Edit: link works grand