Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 20/7/2013 to 12/10/2013

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I'm around the same age as that original caller and the drinking culture was exactly the same fifteen years ago as it is now. The current generation didn't pull it out of their arses. The problem here sounds like the airport/airline/travel agency trying to make a quick buck by peddling as much drink as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

They had to apologise to me Joe and I sayz to them:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I'm around the same age as that original caller and the drinking culture was exactly the same fifteen years ago as it is now. The current generation didn't pull it out of their arses. The problem here sounds like the airport/airline/travel agency trying to make a quick buck by peddling as much drink as possible.

Also a similar age, and I also remember the drink culture to be about the same.

Ah jesus, back to Jim Larkin.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

FFS:mad:

Here we go again............

• Registered Users Posts: 6,873 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Ould fart on now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

No point in ringing the DAA Joe.

Their CEO was one of the judges at the Rose of Tralee last night.

I reckon he has a hangover the size of Cairo today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

As soon as he opened his mouth I knew it.

Why doesn't Joe say "don't do the accent" now? :rolleyes:;);)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

Going to the Euros last year - 5 men from Cork in their late 50s/early 60s brought cans on board with them and drank steadily all through the flight. They were harmless and laughing about bush drinking on the plane. It's not just the kids!

FFS Larkin! Who cares what his accent was?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Lapin wrote: »
    Joe's idea of a post Leaving Cert celebration would be a trip to the model railway museum followed by a nice long mass read by Fr Brian D'Arcy and then a meal in Burdock's washed down with a cheeky glass of shandy.

I nearly spat out me jagermeister laughing at that:D

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Because he was from Liverpool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭turtleshead

Ah here, going to save myself the ear ache

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Bloody Jim Larkin again. Does Joe really need to keep this one going?

Why is it only salt a dee irth men who are authorities on Jim Larkin?

We need David Norris to balance out this Dublinese.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

I think the obligatory sun holiday is newish though.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,721 ✭✭✭sudzs

Just tuned in... I don't believe he's still banging on about Jim Larkin's accent. :eek:

lazygal wrote: »
    Bloody Jim Larkin again. Does Joe really need to keep this one going?

There's a flippin week of it next week across all of Radio 1 - did you miss the promo before Lahv Lahn?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,569 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I think we established yesterday that Peter O'Toole sounded nothing like Larkin, ffs.
    Neither did Kirk Douglas, Charlie Chaplin or Rudolf Valentino.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Next week. What did Jim Larkins farts smell like

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

Oh gawwdd, kill me now..

The Cult of Larkin is growing again.....only in Clontarf and Montrose Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,873 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Get back to the lads getting sloshed on da plane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Who gives a toss what Larkin sounded like?

The most important thing to know about anyone from Liverpool is whether they are a red or a blue.

Although if someone told Joe tha Larkin the socialist was a blue toffee, it might confuse him.

belch

• Registered Users Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

"The Cult of Larkinism". They meet every Saturday night on the Hill of Tara and dance naked around a fire!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,569 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Who the feck would give a sh!t what he sounded like?
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

We need answers to the important questions:
    What were his favourite pair of socks?
    How many sugars did he take in his tea?
    When did he have his first bowl a coddle?
    When did he first meet Bang Bang?
    Did he get any Cheeky Charlies for Christmas?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Someone should ring in to do a Rashers Tierney voice.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

I couldn't give a sh1te about some dead Trade Unionist.